Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 11, and 13-28 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
Note that an “off-axis dye” is defined as a dye having a first maximum
absorption or excitation wavelength that is an absolute maximum over an entire spectrum of the dye and having a second maximum absorption or excitation wavelengths that is a local
maximum and is separated from the first maximum absorption or excitation wavelength by at
least 60 nanometers (specification, paragraph [0072]). And note that an “on-axis dye” is defined as any dye that is not an off-axis dye (specification, paragraph [0072]).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“chromatically dispersive optical element” in claim 24;
“dispersive optical element” in claim 26.
In this case, “chromatically dispersive optical element” of claim 24 is being interpreted as a prism, diffractive optical element, spectrometer, or spectrophotometer (specification, paragraph [0056]) or equivalents thereof; and
“dispersive optical element” of claim 26 is being interpreted as a prism, diffractive grating or holographic grating (specification, paragraph [0059]) or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 13, 12, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites the limitation “the respective absorption spectrum”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the limitations "the second emission spectral element” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites the limitation "the first filter and the second filter " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 recites “the emission spectral element” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if which emission spectral element is being referred to since claim 14 establishes a first emission spectral element and a second emission spectral element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 4, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 4 recites “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions”; claim 19 recites “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions”; and claim 28 recites “determine an amount…based on the measured emission(s)”.
In accordance with MPEP 2106, the claims are found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) and are analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A: Prong 1).
In the instant application, the limitations of “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 4), “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 19), and “determine an amount…based on the measured emission(s)” (claim 28) covers performance of a limitation in the mind, i.e. mental process or mathematical calculation. Other than a processor and memory, if the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. processor and memory), then the claim limitations fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims recite abstract ideas (Step 2A: Prong 1: Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any additional elements that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way (Step 2A, Prong 2: No). In claim 1, once the processor and memory “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 4), “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 19), and “determine an amount…based on the measured emission(s)” (claim 28), no further action is performed. Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The processor and memory limitations are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Additionally, the preceding steps and limitations are used for data gathering in the abstract idea; wherein, data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
The claims 4, 19, and 28 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Regarding the abstract idea, the claims merely recites a processor and memory, wherein the claimed limitations of the computing device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Claim 4, 19, and 28 further recite limitations, however these limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), which alone or in combination do not amount to significantly more. Additionally, the limitations of claims 4, 19, and 28 are well-understood, routine and conventional activities as evidenced by the prior art of Unger (US 20060006067 A1), Mao et al. (US 20090305410 A1). See MPEP 2106.05(d). The additional elements of the claims 4, 19, and 28 do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 6, 14, 20-23, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Unger (US 20060006067 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Unger teaches a system (abstract; Fig. 1A), comprising:
a radiant source (Fig. 1A, light source 242 and excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by an average excitation wavelength (paragraphs [0104]-[0107]);
a sample (Figs. 1A and 1C teaches microfluidic device 205 including sample array 206, therefore the microfluidic device includes a sample; paragraph [0015], “samples in the at least one chamber of the at least one microfluidic device”; paragraph [0132] teaches fluorescent emissions from first, second, and third dyes, therefore the microfluidic devices at least comprises a sample including dyes) disposed to receive radiation from the radiant source (Fig. 1A), the sample comprising:
a first dye (paragraph [0132], “first fluorescent dye”);
a second dye (paragraph [0132], “second fluorescent dye”); and
a detector (Fig. 1A, CCD 260) configured to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A; paragraph [0135]);
a first emission spectral element characterized by a first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], “a first section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a first fluorescent dye”);
a second emission spectral element characterized by a second average emission wavelength that is different than the first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], a “second section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a second fluorescent dye”, wherein the fluorescent emissions by the second fluorescent dye is interpreted as a second average emission wavelength different than the first average emission wavelength of the first fluorescent dye; paragraph [0173] teaches different filters that pass different wavelength regions);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal) including instructions to:
illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal; therefore, it is implied that the computer 270 includes a processor and memory including instructions to perform the steps as claimed in order to properly control the optical elements to illuminate and measure emissions of the sample in the microfluidic device 205 using the respective filters of the filter wheels).
In the alternative, if Unger fails to teach: at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element, Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]); a computer controlling the filters wheels (paragraphs [0104],[0133]); and a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal (paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of a computer adapted to illuminate the microfluidic array device, control the filter wheels, and detect signals from a CCD (Fig. 1A, paragraphs [0023],[0104],[0133],[0139]) and detecting targets based on different fluorescent signals from different labeled probes (paragraph [0070]) to provide: at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and automation of performing sample analysis using appropriate excitation and emission filters.
Regarding claim 6, Unger a system (abstract; Fig. 1A), comprising:
a first radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0105]);
a second radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106],[0107] light source 242 and a second or third filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0106] or [0107]);
a nucleic acid sample (Figs. 1A and 1C teaches microfluidic device 205 including sample array 206, therefore the microfluidic device includes a sample; paragraph [0015], “samples in the at least one chamber of the at least one microfluidic device”; paragraph [0076] teaches samples containing target DNA, i.e. nucleic acid sample; paragraph [0132] teaches fluorescent emissions from first, second, and third dyes, therefore the microfluidic devices at least comprises the sample including dyes) disposed to receive radiation from the radiant sources (Fig. 1A), the sample comprising:
a first dye (paragraph [0132], “first fluorescent dye”) configured to bind to a first target molecule (paragraph [0070] teaches multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target; therefore, the sample would include at least a first dye to bind to a first target molecule);
a second dye (paragraph [0132], “second fluorescent dye”) configured to bind to a second target molecule (paragraph [0070] teaches multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target; therefore, the sample would include at least a second dye to bind to a second target molecule); and
a detector (Fig. 1A, CCD 260) configured to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A; paragraph [0135]);
an emission spectral element (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0132], emission filter wheel 213) characterized by an average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132] teaches the emission filter wheel includes sections to pass specific fluorescent emissions, therefore is characterized by at least an average emission wavelength);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal) including instructions to:
illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal; therefore, it is implied that the computer 270 includes a processor and memory including instructions to perform the steps as claimed in order to properly control the optical elements to illuminate and measure emissions of the sample in the microfluidic device 205 using the respective filters of the filter wheels).
In the alternative, if Unger fails to teach: the first dye configured to bind to a first target; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; and at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element, Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]); three different fluorophores (paragraph [0116]); a computer controlling the filters wheels (paragraphs [0104],[0133]); and a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal (paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of a computer adapted to illuminate the microfluidic array device, control the filter wheels, and detect signals from a CCD (Fig. 1A, paragraphs [0023],[0104],[0133],[0139]) and detecting targets based on different fluorescent signals from different labeled probes such as three fluorophores (paragraphs [0070],[0116]) to provide: the first dye configured to bind to a first target; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; and at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and automation of performing sample analysis using appropriate excitation and emission filters and improving analysis of multiple target analytes.
Regarding claim 14, Unger a system (abstract; Fig. 1A), comprising:
a first radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0105]);
a second radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106] light source 242 and a second filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0106]);
a nucleic acid sample (Figs. 1A and 1C teaches microfluidic device 205 including sample array 206, therefore the microfluidic device includes a sample; paragraph [0015], “samples in the at least one chamber of the at least one microfluidic device”; paragraph [0076] teaches samples containing target DNA, i.e. nucleic acid sample; paragraph [0132] teaches fluorescent emissions from first, second, and third dyes, therefore the microfluidic devices at least comprises the sample including dyes) disposed to receive radiation from the radiant sources (Fig. 1A), the sample comprising:
a first dye (paragraph [0132], “first fluorescent dye”) configured to bind to a first target molecule (paragraph [0070] teaches multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target; therefore, the sample would include at least a first dye to bind to a first target molecule);
a second dye (paragraph [0132], “second fluorescent dye”) configured to bind to a second target molecule (paragraph [0070] teaches multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target; therefore, the sample would include at least a second dye to bind to a second target molecule); and
a third dye (paragraph [0132], “third fluorescent dye”) configure to bind to a third target molecule (paragraph [0070] teaches multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target; therefore, the sample would include at least a third dye to bind to a third target molecule);
a detector (Fig. 1A, CCD 260) configured to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A; paragraph [0135]);
a first emission spectral element characterized by a first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], “a first section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a first fluorescent dye”);
a second emission spectral element characterized by a second average emission wavelength that is different than the first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], a “second section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a second fluorescent dye”, wherein the fluorescent emissions by the second fluorescent dye is interpreted as a second average emission wavelength different than the first average emission wavelength of the first fluorescent dye; paragraph [0173] teaches different filters that pass different wavelength regions);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal) including instructions to:
illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal; therefore, it is implied that the computer 270 includes a processor and memory including instructions to perform the steps as claimed in order to properly control the optical elements to illuminate and measure emissions of the sample in the microfluidic device 205 using the respective filters of the filter wheels).
In the alternative, if Unger fails to teach: the first dye configured to bind to a first target; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; the third configure to bind to a third target molecule; and at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element, Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]); three different fluorophores (paragraph [0116]); a computer controlling the filters wheels (paragraphs [0104],[0133]); and a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal (paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of a computer adapted to illuminate the microfluidic array device, control the filter wheels, and detect signals from a CCD (Fig. 1A, paragraphs [0023],[0104],[0133],[0139]) and detecting targets based on different fluorescent signals from different labeled probes such as three fluorophores (paragraphs [0070],[0116]) to provide: the first dye configured to bind to a first target; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; the third configure to bind to a third target molecule; and at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element; illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and automation of performing sample analysis using appropriate excitation and emission filters and improving analysis of multiple target analytes.
Regarding claim 20, Unger further teaches wherein each of the radiant sources is characterized by radiation having a maximum wavelength and/or average wavelength in the visible light spectrum or the infrared wavelength band and/or ultraviolet wavelength band (paragraphs [0104]-[0106] teaches the center wavelengths of 485 and 530, which are in the visible light spectrum).
Regarding claim 21, Unger further teaches wherein at least one of the radiant sources comprises a light emitting diode (LED) or a laser (paragraph [0103]).
Regarding claim 22, Unger further teaches wherein:
the first radiant source comprises a radiant generator (Fig. 1A, light source 242) and a first filter (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator (paragraphs [0104],[0105]); and
the second radiant source comprises the radiant generator (Fig. 1A, light source 242) and a second filter (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106] a second filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator (paragraphs [0104],[0106]).
Regarding claim 23, Unger further teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the first and second filters (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104], filter wheels 244, 213, which includes spectral filters).
Regarding claim 27, Unger further teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the emission spectral elements (paragraph [0132] and Fig. 1A teaches emission filter wheel 213), the filter wheel being configured to sequentially place the emission spectral element along an optical path between the sample and the detector in order to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0132]-[0133], [0166],[0168]-[0169]).
Regarding claim 28, Unger further teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising:
providing a third radiant source (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0107] light source 242 and a third filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a third average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source or the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source (paragraphs [0107]);
illuminating the sample with radiation from a third radiant source and, in response, measuring an emission from the sample using one or more of the first emission spectral element or the second emission spectral element (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; paragraph [0104] teaches the excitation filter wheel including the third filter filters light emitted by the optical source for exciting a sample; Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal; therefore, the system is capable of illuminating the sample with the third filter of the excitation filter wheel 244 and measuring an emission from the emission filter wheel 213 using CCD 260);
determining an amount of one or more of target molecules is based on the measured emission(s) from the sample in response to illuminating the sample with radiation from the third radiant source (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; paragraph [0034] teaches single cell macro molecule quantification; paragraph [0066] teaches determining the quantity of a target nucleic acid; paragraph [0070] teaches detecting several targets based on fluorescence signals; therefore, the system is capable of being used for determining an amount or quantifying a target molecule based on emission by illumination using the third filter of the excitation filter wheel 244).
Claims 2, 4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Mao et al. (US 20090305410 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Unger fails to teach: wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength, optionally wherein one or more of the first maximum absorption wavelength or second maximum absorption wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum.
Mao teaches fluorescent dyes and kits for labeling biomolecules for research and development, forensic identification, environmental studies, diagnosis, prognosis, and/or treatment of disease conditions (abstract). Mao teaches probes labeled with fluorescent groups for use as a PCR probe are well known to one skilled in the art (paragraph [0310]). Mao teaches the use of tandem dyes are useful for multi-color detections where only a limited number of excitation light sources may be available (paragraph [0304]) and in order to detect multiple targets, each target may be stained with a different fluorescent group having a different emission and the different fluorescent groups all need to be efficiently excited by a common excitation source (paragraph [0304]), wherein different tandem dyes having the same excitation maxima but different emission maxima can be readily prepared (paragraph [0304]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first dye and the second dye to incorporate the teachings of different fluorescent dyes having the same excitation maxima but different emission maxima of Mao (paragraph [0304]) to provide: wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength, optionally wherein one or more of the first maximum absorption wavelength or second maximum absorption wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving detection of multiple targets efficiently using a common light source as taught by Mao.
Regarding claim 4, while Unger teaches single cell macro molecule detection and quantification (paragraph [0034]), determining the quantity of a target nucleic acid present in a sample by measuring the amount of amplification product formed during or after the amplification process itself (paragraph [0066]), and detecting several targets based on fluorescence signals (paragraph [0070]), Unger fails to teach: wherein the at least one memory includes instructions to determine an amount of any target molecules present in the sample based on the measured emissions.
Mao teaches fluorescent dyes and kits for labeling biomolecules for research and development, forensic identification, environmental studies, diagnosis, prognosis, and/or treatment of disease conditions (abstract). Mao teaches probes labeled with fluorescent groups for use as a PCR probe are well known to one skilled in the art (paragraph [0310]). Mao teaches contacting a labeled polynucleotide with a target nucleic acid and detecting or quantifying the nucleic acid target by measuring a change in fluorescence of the probe (paragraph [0311]). Mao teaches quantitative fluorescence analysis performed with software (paragraph [0380]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one memory of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of quantifying a target nucleic acid (paragraphs [0034],[0066],[0070]) and Mao’s teachings of quantifying a nucleic acid target based on measured fluorescence and software for quantitative analysis (paragraphs [0310]-[0311],[0380]) to provide: wherein the at least one memory includes instructions to determine an amount of any target molecules present in the sample based on the measured emissions. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of calculation of target molecules.
Regarding claim 19, while Unger teaches single cell macro molecule detection and quantification (paragraph [0034]), determining the quantity of a target nucleic acid present in a sample by measuring the amount of amplification product formed during or after the amplification process itself (paragraph [0066]), and detecting several targets based on fluorescence signals (paragraph [0070]), Unger fails to teach wherein the at least one memory further comprises instructions to determine an amount of any target molecules present in the sample based on the measured emissions.
Mao teaches fluorescent dyes and kits for labeling biomolecules for research and development, forensic identification, environmental studies, diagnosis, prognosis, and/or treatment of disease conditions (abstract). Mao teaches probes labeled with fluorescent groups for use as a PCR probe are well known to one skilled in the art (paragraph [0310]). Mao teaches contacting a labeled polynucleotide with a target nucleic acid and detecting or quantifying the nucleic acid target by measuring a change in fluorescence of the probe (paragraph [0311]). Mao teaches quantitative fluorescence analysis performed with software (paragraph [0380]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one memory of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of quantifying a target nucleic acid (paragraphs [0034],[0066],[0070]) and Mao’s teachings of quantifying a nucleic acid target based on measured fluorescence and software for quantitative analysis (paragraphs [0310]-[0311],[0380]) to provide: wherein the at least one memory further comprises instructions to determine an amount of any target molecules present in the sample based on the measured emissions. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automation of calculation of target molecules.
Claims 3, 5, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger as applied to claims 1, 6, and 14 above, and further in view of Natt et al. (US 20110097716 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Unger further teaches the first dye is an on-axis dye (paragraph [0132] teaches the first fluorescent dye is Cy3 Fluor; wherein, Cy3 Fluor dye is interpreted as an on-axis dye since it is a dye without a first and second maximum absorption or excitation wavelength that is separated by at least 60 nm).
Unger fails to teach: wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye.
Unger teaches detection including oligonucleotides and FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). Unger teaches dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes are used for real time quantitative PCR (paragraph [0066]). Unger teaches fluorophores such as Rox, Vic, and Fam (paragraph [0116]).
Natt teaches methods and compositions for detecting and quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides in a biological sample (abstract). Natt teaches a need exists to develop more rapid, sensitive methods for detecting small RNA molecules (paragraph [0005]). Natt teaches signal emitting probes that bind with oligonucleotide molecules include FAM, VIC, JOE, NED, CY5 dye, CY3-dye, TAMRA labeled probe; and a preferred embodiment of a FAM/TAMRA detection group (paragraph [0014]). Natt teaches real-time quantitation comprises reporter probes including FAM/TAMRA (paragraph [0040]). Natt teaches reporter probes can be singly labeled or doubly labeled, where dual probe systems comprise FRET between adjacently hybridized probes (paragraph [0045]). Natt teaches multi-element interacting reporter groups include fluorophore-quencher pairs, such as a FAM-TAMRA pair (paragraph [0057]). Natt teaches the invention improves sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (paragraph [0015]). Note that FAM-TAMRA is interpreted as an off-axis dye since the instant specification, paragraph [0115] includes FAM-TAMRA as an off-axis dye.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second dye of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair and dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]) and Natt’s teachings of signal emitting probes, i.e. dyes, including FAM-TAMRA, i.e. off-axis dye, for quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides (paragraphs [0014],[0045],[0057]) to provide: wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known dyes for improving sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (Natt, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Unger further teaches: wherein:
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to ± 12 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244, wherein the center wavelength of 485 nm with a spectral bandwidth of 20 nm).
Unger fails to teach: the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 20 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength;
the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength; and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength;
or
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 682 +-5 or 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-16 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength.
Unger teaches a section of the emission filter is adapted to pass fluorescence emission from Alexa Fluor 488 (paragraph [0132]). Unger teaches a spectral filter of the emission filter having an average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the spectral filter is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the average emission wavelength (paragraph [0168] teaches a spectral filter centered at 518 nm with a bandwidth of 25 nm). Unger teaches detection including oligonucleotides and FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). Unger teaches dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes are used for real time quantitative PCR (paragraph [0066]). Unger teaches fluorophores such as Rox, Vic, and Fam (paragraph [0116]).
Natt teaches a need exists to develop more rapid, sensitive methods for detecting small RNA molecules (paragraph [0005]). Natt teaches signal emitting probes that bind with oligonucleotide molecules include FAM, VIC, JOE, NED, CY5 dye, CY3-dye, TAMRA labeled probe; and a preferred embodiment of a FAM/TAMRA detection group (paragraph [0014]). Natt teaches real-time quantitation comprises reporter probes including FAM/TAMRA (paragraph [0040]). Natt teaches reporter probes can be singly labeled or doubly labeled, where dual probe systems comprise FRET between adjacently hybridized probes (paragraph [0045]). Natt teaches multi-element interacting reporter groups include fluorophore-quencher pairs, such as a FAM-TAMRA pair, which emits fluorescence at 580 nm (paragraph [0057]). Natt teaches the invention improves sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (paragraph [0015]). Natt teaches alternative reporter groups with an emission wavelength of 584 nm (paragraph [0058]). Note that FAM-TAMRA is interpreted as a suitable dye with an emission band of 587 +-10 nm since the instant specification, paragraph [0111], table 1, includes FAM-TAMRA as having an emission band of 587 +-10 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first emission spectral element and the second emission spectral element of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair and dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]), emission filter to pass emission from Alexa Fluor 488 (paragraph [0132]), and an emission filter of 518 nm +-25nm (paragraph [0168]) and Natt’s teachings of signal emitting probes, i.e. dyes, including FAM-TAMRA, i.e. off-axis dye, for quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides (paragraphs [0014],[0045],[0057]) to provide: the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 20 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing the spectral elements to properly filter desired emission wavelengths of desired dyes, therefore improving sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (Natt, paragraph [0015]).
Note that the limitations of “the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength; and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength; or the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 682 +-5 or 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +16 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength” are interpreted as not required.
Regarding claim 9, Unger fails to teach: wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye.
Unger teaches detection including oligonucleotides and FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). Unger teaches dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes are used for real time quantitative PCR (paragraph [0066]). Unger teaches fluorophores such as Rox, Vic, and Fam (paragraph [0116]).
Natt teaches methods and compositions for detecting and quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides in a biological sample (abstract). Natt teaches a need exists to develop more rapid, sensitive methods for detecting small RNA molecules (paragraph [0005]). Natt teaches signal emitting probes that bind with oligonucleotide molecules include FAM, VIC, JOE, NED, CY5 dye, CY3-dye, TAMRA labeled probe; and a preferred embodiment of a FAM/TAMRA detection group (paragraph [0014]). Natt teaches real-time quantitation comprises reporter probes including FAM/TAMRA (paragraph [0040]). Natt teaches reporter probes can be singly labeled or doubly labeled, where dual probe systems comprise FRET between adjacently hybridized probes (paragraph [0045]). Natt teaches multi-element interacting reporter groups include fluorophore-quencher pairs, such as a FAM-TAMRA pair (paragraph [0057]). Natt teaches the invention improves sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (paragraph [0015]). Note that FAM-TAMRA is interpreted as an off-axis dye since the instant specification, paragraph [0115] includes FAM-TAMRA as an off-axis dye.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second dye of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair and dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]) and Natt’s teachings of signal emitting probes, i.e. dyes, including FAM-TAMRA, i.e. off-axis dye, for quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides (paragraphs [0014],[0045],[0057]) to provide: wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known dyes for improving sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (Natt, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 18, Unger fails to teach wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye.
Unger teaches detection including oligonucleotides and FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]). Unger teaches dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes are used for real time quantitative PCR (paragraph [0066]). Unger teaches fluorophores such as Rox, Vic, and Fam (paragraph [0116]).
Natt teaches methods and compositions for detecting and quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides in a biological sample (abstract). Natt teaches a need exists to develop more rapid, sensitive methods for detecting small RNA molecules (paragraph [0005]). Natt teaches signal emitting probes that bind with oligonucleotide molecules include FAM, VIC, JOE, NED, CY5 dye, CY3-dye, TAMRA labeled probe; and a preferred embodiment of a FAM/TAMRA detection group (paragraph [0014]). Natt teaches real-time quantitation comprises reporter probes including FAM/TAMRA (paragraph [0040]). Natt teaches reporter probes can be singly labeled or doubly labeled, where dual probe systems comprise FRET between adjacently hybridized probes (paragraph [0045]). Natt teaches multi-element interacting reporter groups include fluorophore-quencher pairs, such as a FAM-TAMRA pair (paragraph [0057]). Natt teaches the invention improves sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (paragraph [0015]). Note that FAM-TAMRA is interpreted as an off-axis dye since the instant specification, paragraph [0115] includes FAM-TAMRA as an off-axis dye.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second dye of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of FRET-based assays using donor/acceptor fluorophore pair and dual-labeled fluorogenic oligonucleotide probes (paragraphs [0064]-[0065]) and Natt’s teachings of signal emitting probes, i.e. dyes, including FAM-TAMRA, i.e. off-axis dye, for quantifying nucleic acid oligonucleotides (paragraphs [0014],[0045],[0057]) to provide: wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known dyes for improving sensitivity for quantifying oligonucleotide molecules (Natt, paragraph [0015]).
Claims 7-8, 11, 13, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger as applied to claims 6 and 14 above, and further in view of Oldham et al. (US 20060252079 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Unger fails to teach: wherein the first dye comprises a first emission spectrum comprising a first maximum emission wavelength and the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum emission wavelength.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second dye of Unger to incorporate the teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths of Oldham (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) to provide: wherein the first dye comprises a first emission spectrum comprising a first maximum emission wavelength and the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum emission wavelength. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing detection of emission wavelengths dyes as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Unger fails to teach: wherein one or more of the first maximum emission wavelength or second maximum emission wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]). Oldham teaches peak wavelength refers to peak wavelength that provides maximum energy released as radiation from a dye (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second dye of Unger to incorporate the teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths of Oldham (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) and the teachings of maximum or peak emission of Oldham (paragraphs [0022],[0024]) to provide: wherein one or more of the first maximum emission wavelength or second maximum emission wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing detection of emission wavelengths dyes as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Unger fails to teach: wherein one or more of the first maximum emission wavelength or second maximum emission wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective absorption spectrum.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]). Oldham teaches peak wavelength refers to peak wavelength that provides maximum energy released as radiation from a dye (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second dye of Unger to incorporate the teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths of Oldham (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) and the teachings of maximum or peak emission of Oldham (paragraphs [0022],[0024]) to provide: wherein one or more of the first maximum emission wavelength or second maximum emission wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective absorption spectrum. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing detection of emission wavelengths dyes as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 13, Unger further teaches wherein:
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to ± 12 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] teach light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244, wherein the center wavelength of 485 nm with a spectral bandwidth of 20 nm), the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 580 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to + 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0107] teach light source 242 and a third filter of an excitation filter wheel 244, wherein the center wavelength of 580 nm with a spectral bandwidth of 20 nm).
Unger fails to teach: wherein:
the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-12 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein;
the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-18 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein;
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 640 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 682 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein;
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 662 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength; and the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength.
Unger teaches wavelengths produced including 621 nm (paragraph [0185]).
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes, such as 620 nm (paragraph [0024]). Oldham teaches examples of suitable dyes, including Alexa Fluor 594, which has an emission of 617 (paragraph [0032], table 1). Note that Alexa Fluor 594 is interpreted as a suitable dye with an emission band of 623 +-14 nm since the instant specification, paragraph [0111], table 1, includes Alexa Fluor 594 as having an emission band of 623 +-14 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first emission spectral element of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of wavelengths produced including 621 nm (paragraph [0185]), and Oldham’s teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) optimizing detection of emission wavelength of 620 nm (paragraph [0024]), and suitable dyes including Alexa Fluor 594 (paragraph 0032], table 1) to provide: the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing detection of emission wavelengths of known dyes, e.g. Alexa Fluor 594, as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Note that the limitations of “the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-12 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein; and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-18 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein; the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 640 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 682 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein; the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 662 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength; and the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength” are interpreted as not required due to the “or wherein” phrase.
Regarding claim 24, Unger further teaches wherein the radiant sources each comprise a radiant generator (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0104] teaches each of filter of excitation filter wheel 244 includes a light source 242).
Unger fails to teach the radiant sources each comprise a chromatically dispersive optical element configured to transmit or reflect radiation from the radiant generator, each radiant source including a different portion of a spectrum from the chromatically dispersive optical element.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]). Oldham teaches embodiments, where if a single source is used, one or more filters, prisms, diffraction gratings, other spectra-separating devices, or a combination thereof, can be used to independently provide radiation of a first peak wavelength range and radiation of a different, second peak wavelength range (paragraph [0049]; wherein “prisms, diffraction gratings” are interpreted as chromatically dispersive optical elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiant sources of Unger to provide: the radiant sources each comprise a chromatically dispersive optical element configured to transmit or reflect radiation from the radiant generator, each radiant source including a different portion of a spectrum from the chromatically dispersive optical element. Doing so would utilize known optical elements which would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving separation and transmission of desired wavelengths from the radiant generators.
Regarding claim 25, Unger further teaches wherein the radiant generator comprises a light source (Fig. 1A, light source 242).
Regarding claim 26, Unger further teaches system of claim 24, wherein:
- the radiant generator (Fig. 1, light source 242) comprises a white light source characterized by over at least a portion of the visible band of radiation (paragraph [0103] teaches a white light source producing optical radiation over a spectral range from about 400 nm to about 700 nm),
- the radiant generator comprises a light emitting diode or a halogen lamp (paragraph [0103]),
- the detector comprises an array sensor comprising an array of sensors or pixels (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0135], CCD camera array),
- the array sensor comprises a charge coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide- semiconductor (CMOS) (Fig. 1A and paragraph [0135], CCD camera array), or
- the emission spectral elements comprise a dispersive optical element configure to disperse emissions from the sample along a first optical path and second optical path, wherein the detector comprises a first detector configured to receive emissions along the first optical path and a second detector configured to receive emissions along the second optical path, optionally wherein the first detector comprises a first location on a CCD detector or CMOS detector and the second comprises a second location on a CCD detector or CMOS detector that is spatially separated from the first location, optionally wherein the first location comprises a pixel or a group of pixels, and the second location comprises a different pixel or group of pixels (interpreted as not required due to the “or” statement).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of McMillan et al. (US 20020034746 A1; cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2023).
Regarding claim 15, Unger fails to explicitly teach: wherein the first dye is covalently attached to a first probe, and the second dye is covalently attached to conjugate second probe, and the third dye is covalently attached to a third probe, wherein the first, second, and third probes are configured to bind to a first, a second, and a third target molecule, respectively.
Unger teaches multiplex amplification systems and multiple differently labeled probes each of which is designed to hybridize only to a particular target (paragraph [0070]).
McMillan teaches a method for determining a quantity of nucleic acid sequence in a test sample (abstract). McMillan teaches labeling of nucleic acid sequences may be achieved by a number of means, including by chemical modification of a nucleic acid primer or probe; where the use of covalently-binding fluorescent agents is preferred (paragraph [0140]). McMillan teaches indicators of nucleic acid concentration may be provided by labels that produce signals detectable by fluorescence; wherein suitable labels include fluorophores having specific binding partners for detecting a target nucleic acid (paragraph [0139]). McMillan teaches detecting three different targets (paragraph [0238]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first, second, and third dyes of Unger to incorporate the teachings of multiplex amplification systems using multiple different labeled probes designed to hybridize to particular targets of Unger (paragraph [0070]) and the teachings of nucleic acid probes with covalently-binding fluorescent agents and detecting three different targets of McMillan (paragraphs [0139],[0140],[0238]) to provide: wherein the first dye is covalently attached to a first probe, and the second dye is covalently attached to conjugate second probe, and the third dye is covalently attached to a third probe, wherein the first, second, and third probes are configured to bind to a first, a second, and a third target molecule, respectively. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving multiplexing of the system by allowing for labeling of multiple probes with the dyes for detecting three different targets.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unger as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mao et al. (US 20090305410 A1) and Oldham et al. (US 20060252079 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Unger fails to teach: wherein (1) wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength and (2) the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength and the third dye comprises a third emission spectrum comprising a third maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the second maximum emission wavelength.
Mao teaches fluorescent dyes and kits for labeling biomolecules for research and development, forensic identification, environmental studies, diagnosis, prognosis, and/or treatment of disease conditions (abstract). Mao teaches probes labeled with fluorescent groups for use as a PCR probe are well known to one skilled in the art (paragraph [0310]). Mao teaches the use of tandem dyes are useful for multi-color detections where only a limited number of excitation light sources may be available (paragraph [0304]) and in order to detect multiple targets, each target may be stained with a different fluorescent group having a different emission and the different fluorescent groups all need to be efficiently excited by a common excitation source (paragraph [0304]), wherein different tandem dyes having the same excitation maxima but different emission maxima can be readily prepared (paragraph [0304]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first dye and the second dye to incorporate the teachings of different fluorescent dyes having the same excitation maxima but different emission maxima of Mao (paragraph [0304]) to provide: wherein (1) wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving detection of multiple targets efficiently using a common light source as taught by Mao.
Modified Unger fails to teach: (2) the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength and the third dye comprises a third emission spectrum comprising a third maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the second maximum emission wavelength.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second and third dye of modified Unger to incorporate the teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths of Oldham (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) to provide: (2) the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength and the third dye comprises a third emission spectrum comprising a third maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the second maximum emission wavelength. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing detection of emission wavelengths dyes as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Unger fails to teach wherein one or more of the first maximum absorption wavelength, the second maximum absorption wavelength, second maximum emission wavelength, or third maximum emission wavelength, is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum.
Oldham teaches a system including at least two excitation sources to provide different wavelengths, at least one detector, and a plurality of spectrally resolvable dyes (abstract). Oldham teaches the detection system can include a set of dyes and one of more of a PCR detection system (paragraph [0005]). Oldham teaches a set of dyes for the system includes at least two dyes of the set having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelength ranges (paragraphs [0006],[0012]). Oldham teaches a set of energy transfer dyes including acceptor dye moieties of the same emission wavelength as acceptor dye moieties of other dyes of the set (paragraph [0006]). Oldham teaches embodiments using set of dyes, where each dye emits the same peak emission, can be beneficial; wherein the detector can be tuned for optimum detection of the shared emission wavelengths of the dyes (paragraph [0024]). Oldham teaches peak wavelength refers to peak wavelength that provides maximum energy released as radiation from a dye (paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Unger to incorporate the teachings of dyes having different absorption wavelengths but the same emission wavelengths of Oldham (paragraphs [0006],[0012],[0024]) and the teachings of maximum or peak emission of Oldham (paragraphs [0022],[0024]) to provide: wherein one or more of the first maximum absorption wavelength, the second maximum absorption wavelength, second maximum emission wavelength, or third maximum emission wavelength, is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully optimizing excitation and detection of dyes as taught by Oldham (paragraph [0024]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/006,559 (reference application) (herein, “App ‘559”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
Regarding claim 1, App ‘559 recites a system (claim 1), comprising:
a radiant source characterized by an average excitation wavelength (claim 1);
a sample disposed to receive radiation from the radiant source (claim 1), the sample comprising:
a first dye (claim 1);
a second dye (claim 1); and
a detector configured to measure emissions from the sample (claim 1);
a first emission spectral element characterized by a first average emission wavelength (claim 1);
a second emission spectral element characterized by a second average emission wavelength that is different than the first average emission wavelength (claim 1);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to (claim 1):
illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element (claim 1) and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, App ‘559 recites wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength (claim 1) and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength (claim 1), optionally wherein one or more of the first maximum absorption wavelength or second maximum absorption wavelength is an absolute maximum over an entirety of the respective spectrum (interpreted as not required).
Regarding claim 5, App ‘559 recites wherein:
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to ± 12 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-20 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-12 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength (claim 4);
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-12 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 520 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength; and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 18 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength (claim 4);
or
the average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the first emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the first average emission wavelength, and the second average emission wavelength of the second emission spectral element is 682 +-5 or 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-16 nanometers about the second average emission wavelength (interpreted as not required).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 6-7, 9, 13-16, 18, 22-23, and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/006,559 in view of Unger (US 20060006067 A1).
Regarding claim 6, App ‘559 recites a system (claim 1), comprising:
a first radiant source characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (claim 1);
a second radiant source characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (claim 1);
a sample disposed to receive radiation from the radiant sources (claim 1), the sample comprising:
a first dye (claim 1);
a second dye (claim 1); and
a detector configured to measure emissions from the sample (claim 1);
an emission spectral element characterized by an average emission wavelength (claim 1);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to (claim 1):
illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element (claim 1);
illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the emission spectral element (claim 1).
App ‘559 fails to recite the sample is a nucleic acid sample; the first dye configured to bind to a first target molecule; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule.
Unger a system (abstract; Fig. 1A), comprising: a first radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0105]); a second radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106] light source 242 and a second filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0106]); a nucleic acid sample (Figs. 1A and 1C teaches microfluidic device 205 including sample array 206, therefore the microfluidic device includes a sample; paragraph [0015], “samples in the at least one chamber of the at least one microfluidic device”; paragraph [0076] teaches samples containing target DNA, i.e. nucleic acid sample; paragraph [0132] teaches fluorescent emissions from first, second, and third dyes, therefore the microfluidic devices at least comprises the sample including dyes). Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified App ‘559 to incorporate Unger’s teachings of nucleic acid samples and labeled probes designed to hybridize to each target to provide: the sample is a nucleic acid sample; the first dye configured to bind to a first target molecule; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving analysis of nucleic acids and improving specificity of binding the dye with the desired target.
Regarding claim 7, App ‘559 recites wherein the first dye comprises a first emission spectrum comprising a first maximum emission wavelength and the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum emission wavelength (claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, App ‘559 recites wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye (claim 6).
Regarding claim 13, App ‘559 recites wherein:
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the first average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 587 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-12 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein (interpreted as not required);
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 480 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 580 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 623 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-18 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein (interpreted as not required);
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 640 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength, the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 682 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength, or wherein (claim 4);
the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source is 550 +-5 nanometers and/or the first radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 14 nanometers about the first average excitation wavelength, the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source is 662 +-5 nanometers and/or the second radiant source is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +- 12 nanometers about the second average excitation wavelength; and the average emission wavelength of the first emission spectral element is 711 +-5 nanometers and/or the second emission spectral element is characterized by a wavelength band that is less than or equal to +-16 nanometers about the average emission wavelength (claim 4).
Regarding claim 14, App ‘559 recites a system (claim 1), comprising:
a first radiant source characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (claim 1);
a second radiant source characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (claim 1);
a sample disposed to receive radiation from the radiant sources (claim 1), the sample comprising:
a first dye (claim 1);
a second dye (claim 1); and
a third dye (claim 1);
a detector configured to measure emissions from the sample (claim 1);
a first emission spectral element characterized by a first average emission wavelength (claim 1);
a second emission spectral element characterized by a second average emission wavelength that is different than the first average emission wavelength (claim 1);
at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to (claim 1):
illuminate the sample with the first radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (claim 1);
illuminate the sample with the second radiant source and, in response, measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (claim 1).
App ‘559 fails to recite the sample is a nucleic acid sample; the first dye configured to bind to a first target molecule; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; the third dye configure to bind to a third target molecule.
Unger a system (abstract; Fig. 1A), comprising: a first radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] light source 242 and a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0105]); a second radiant source (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106] light source 242 and a second filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by a second average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength (paragraph [0106]); a nucleic acid sample (Figs. 1A and 1C teaches microfluidic device 205 including sample array 206, therefore the microfluidic device includes a sample; paragraph [0015], “samples in the at least one chamber of the at least one microfluidic device”; paragraph [0076] teaches samples containing target DNA, i.e. nucleic acid sample; paragraph [0132] teaches fluorescent emissions from first, second, and third dyes, therefore the microfluidic devices at least comprises the sample including dyes). Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified App ‘559 to incorporate Unger’s teachings of nucleic acid samples and labeled probes designed to hybridize to each target to provide: the sample is a nucleic acid sample; the first dye configured to bind to a first target molecule; the second dye configured to bind to a second target molecule; the third dye configure to bind to a third target molecule. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving analysis of nucleic acids and improving specificity of binding the dye with the desired target.
Regarding claim 16, App ‘559 recites wherein (1) wherein the first dye comprises a first absorption spectrum comprising a first maximum absorption wavelength and the second dye comprises a second absorption spectrum comprising a second maximum absorption wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the first maximum absorption wavelength (claim 1) and (2) the second dye comprises a second emission spectrum comprising a second maximum emission wavelength and the third dye comprises a third emission spectrum comprising a third maximum emission wavelength that is equal to or substantially equal to the second maximum emission wavelength (claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, App ‘559 recites wherein the second dye is an off-axis dye (claim 6).
Regarding claim 22, App ‘559 fails to recite wherein: the first radiant source comprises a radiant generator and a first filter are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator; and the second radiant source comprises the radiant generator and a second filter are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator.
Unger further teaches wherein: the first radiant source comprises a radiant generator (Fig. 1A, light source 242) and a first filter (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0105] a first filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator (paragraphs [0104],[0105]); and the second radiant source comprises the radiant generator (Fig. 1A, light source 242) and a second filter (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104],[0106] a second filter of an excitation filter wheel 244) are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator (paragraphs [0104],[0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiant sources of App ‘559 to incorporate the teachings of optical element configurations of Unger to provide: the first radiant source comprises a radiant generator and a first filter are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator; and the second radiant source comprises the radiant generator and a second filter are configured to filter radiation from the radiant generator. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully providing and allowing for desired wavelengths of light to be generated and directed towards a sample.
Regarding claim 23, App ‘559 fails to recite the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the first filter and second filter.
Unger further teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the first filter and second filter (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0104], filter wheels 244 , 213).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified App ‘559 to incorporate the teachings of filter wheels of Unger to provide: the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the first filter and the second filter. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and ease of changing filters for desired excitation and emission wavelengths.
Regarding claim 27, App ‘559 fails to recite the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the emission spectral elements, the filter wheel being configured to sequentially place the emission spectral element along an optical path between the sample and the detector in order to measure emissions from the sample.
Unger further teaches the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the emission spectral elements (paragraph [0132] and Fig. 1A teaches emission filter wheel 213), the filter wheel being configured to sequentially place the emission spectral element along an optical path between the sample and the detector in order to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A and paragraphs [0132]-[0133], [0166],[0168]-[0169]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified App ‘559 to incorporate the teachings of filter wheels of Unger to provide: the system of claim 14, further comprising a filter wheel comprising the emission spectral elements, the filter wheel being configured to sequentially place the emission spectral element along an optical path between the sample and the detector in order to measure emissions from the sample. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and ease of changing filters for desired excitation and emission wavelengths.
Regarding claim 28, App ‘559 recites the system of claim 14, further comprising:
providing a third radiant source characterized by a third average excitation wavelength that is different than the first average excitation wavelength of the first radiant source or the second average excitation wavelength of the second radiant source (claim 5);
illuminating the sample with radiation from a third radiant source and, in response, measuring an emission from the sample using one or more of the first emission spectral element or the second emission spectral element (claim 5).
App ‘559 fails to recite: determining an amount of one or more of target molecules is based on the measured emission(s) from the sample in response to illuminating the sample with radiation from the third radiant source.
Unger teaches single cell macro molecule quantification (paragraph [0034]); determining the quantity of a target nucleic acid (paragraph [0066]); detecting several targets based on fluorescence signals (paragraph [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified App ‘559 to incorporate the teachings of quantitative analysis of target nucleic acids of Unger to provide: determining an amount of one or more of target molecules is based on the measured emission(s) from the sample in response to illuminating the sample with radiation from the third radiant source. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving quantification of target molecules based on the three light sources.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of 02/24/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and persuasive expect for the following 112(b) rejections.
The following 112(b) rejections of 02/24/2026 are maintained:
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites the limitation “the respective absorption spectrum”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the limitations "the second emission spectral element” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites the limitation "the first filter and the second filter " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 recites “the emission spectral element” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if which emission spectral element is being referred to since claim 14 establishes a first emission spectral element and a second emission spectral element.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 4, 19, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the claim additionally recites physical measurement processes that cannot be performed in the human mind and therefore the claims are not directed to a mental evaluation of information (Remarks, page 11), the examiner disagrees.
The limitations of “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 4), “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 19), and “determine an amount…based on the measured emission(s)” (claim 28) covers performance of a limitation in the mind, i.e. mental process or mathematical calculation. Other than a processor and memory, if the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. processor and memory), then the claim limitations fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims recite abstract ideas (Step 2A: Prong 1: Yes).
MPEP 2106.04(d) states: accordingly, after determining that a claim recites a judicial exception in Step 2A Prong One, examiners should evaluate whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception in Step 2A Prong Two.
In claim 1, once the processor and memory “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 4), “determine an amount…based on the measured emissions” (claim 19), and “determine an amount…based on the measured emission(s)” (claim 28), no further action is performed. Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The processor and memory limitations are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Additionally, while the preceding steps and limitations are physical elements and steps, they are used for data gathering in the abstract idea; wherein, data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a particular practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
Regarding Step 2B, the claims 4, 19, and 28 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims merely recites a processor and memory, wherein the claimed limitations of the computing device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Claim 4, 19, and 28 further recite limitations, however these limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), which alone or in combination do not amount to significantly more. Additionally, the limitations of claims 4, 19, and 28 are well-understood, routine and conventional activities as evidenced by the prior art of Unger (US 20060006067 A1), Mao et al. (US 20090305410 A1). See MPEP 2106.05(d). The additional elements of the claims 4, 19, and 28 do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). The claims are not patent eligible.
In response to applicant’s argument that the claims provides an integrated improvement to the technology (Remarks, page 11, 7th paragraph), the examiner disagrees that the improvement is reflected in the claims.
As elaborated by MPEP 2106.04(d)(1), if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement; that is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. For example, the instant specification, paragraph [0085] discusses determining amounts using “deconvolution methods”; paragraph [0087] discusses a system of equations that are simultaneously solved to determine the amounts; paragraph [0093] teaches determining amounts from data from on-axis and off-axis channel combinations. The claims do not recite additional elements from the specification as discussed above and therefore the claims do not appear to reflect all of the elements that lead to the improvement in the technology. MPEP 2106.05(a)(II) discusses that an improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology; and to show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. In conclusion, the examiner disagrees with the applicant’s argument since the claims do not recite any additional elements that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Unger does not disclose claim 1 (Remarks, page 12, first paragraph), the examiner disagrees for the same reasons as discussed below regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 in view of Unger.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-13, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Unger fails to teach: at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (Remarks, pages 12-13), and that the office action has not identified where Unger discloses the claimed architecture (Remarks, pages 12-13) the examiner disagrees.
Unger teaches: at least one processor comprising at least one memory (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal) including instructions to:
illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element (Fig. 1A teaches a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260; paragraph [0023] teaches a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device; paragraphs [0104],[0133] teaches a computer controls the filters; paragraph [0139] teaches a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal; therefore, it is implied that the computer 270 includes a processor and memory including instructions to perform the steps as claimed in order to properly control the optical elements to illuminate and measure emissions of the sample in the microfluidic device 205 using the respective filters of the filter wheels).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Remarks, page 12, last paragraph, “coordinated fluorescence measurement architecture”; Remarks, page 12, last paragraph - page 13, first paragraph, “a specific operational relationship among the radiant source, detector, processor, and emission spectral elements”; Remarks, page 13, first full paragraph, “measurement sequence” and “optical configuration”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to the claimed radiant source, detector, processor, and emission spectral elements, Unger teaches:
a radiant source (Fig. 1A, light source 242 and excitation filter wheel 244) characterized by an average excitation wavelength (paragraphs [0104]-[0107]);
a detector (Fig. 1A, CCD 260) configured to measure emissions from the sample (Fig. 1A; paragraph [0135]);
a first emission spectral element characterized by a first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], “a first section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a first fluorescent dye”); and
a second emission spectral element characterized by a second average emission wavelength that is different than the first average emission wavelength (paragraph [0132], a “second section of the emission filter wheel is adapted to pass fluorescent emissions produced by a second fluorescent dye”, wherein the fluorescent emissions by the second fluorescent dye is interpreted as a second average emission wavelength different than the first average emission wavelength of the first fluorescent dye; paragraph [0173] teaches different filters that pass different wavelength regions).
Additionally, note that applicant does not argue against the alternative rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Unger, with respect to the processor limitations.
In the alternative, if Unger fails to teach: at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element, Unger teaches: a computer with a database 270 which is coupled to the light source 242, filter wheels 244,213, and CCD 260 (Fig. 1A); a computer adapted to illuminate a microfluidic array device (paragraph [0023]); multiple differently labeled probes each designed to hybridize to a particular target and detecting each target based on different fluorescent signals (paragraph [0070]); a computer controlling the filters wheels (paragraphs [0104],[0133]); and a CCD in communication with processors to detect a signal (paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Unger to incorporate Unger’s teachings of a computer adapted to illuminate the microfluidic array device, control the filter wheels, and detect signals from a CCD (Fig. 1A, paragraphs [0023],[0104],[0133],[0139]) and detecting targets based on different fluorescent signals from different labeled probes (paragraph [0070]) to provide: at least one processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to: illuminate the sample with the radiant source and, in response, (1) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the first emission spectral element and (2) measure emissions from the sample using the detector and the second emission spectral element. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving control and automation of performing sample analysis using appropriate excitation and emission filters.
In response to applicant’s argument that the rejection relies upon reconstruction of the claimed invention from isolated disclosures rather than disclosure of the claimed arrangement (Remarks, page 13, second full paragraph), the examiner disagrees. As discussed above, Unger teaches the claimed arrangement of elements in the figures (Figs. 1A, 1C) and corresponding portions of the specifications which discuss the elements of Unger’s apparatus. Unger’s teachings are directed towards and reads on the claimed invention and does not rely on reconstruction from isolated disclosures.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provides a general conclusory argument that: “the rejections appears to identify known elements individually and conclude that the claimed invention would therefore have been obvious. Such reasoning does not explain why a skilled artisan would have configured the optical system to include the claimed processor-controlled measurement sequences utilizing first and second emission spectral elements characterized by different average emission wavelengths” (Remarks, page 13). Therefore, applicant argues that the additional prior art references likewise fails to teach the limitation of the “processor comprising at least one memory including instructions to…” of claim 1. The examiner disagrees. As discussed above, Unger is used to teach the processor limitations of claim 1.
Note that applicant does provide arguments against the specific rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). As discussed in the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, the prior art provides teachings and suggestions to have modified Unger to arrive at the claimed limitations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant's arguments, see page 14, filed 07/24/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of the amended claims: Claims 1-2 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/006,559 (reference application) (herein, “App ‘559”); and Claims 6-7, 9, 13-16, 18, 22-23, and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/006,559 in view of Unger (US 20060006067 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Colston et al. (US 20100173394 A1) teaches systems for performing assays (abstract). Colston teaches steps of the method are generally computationally intensive, and accordingly are typically performed with the aid of a digital processor programmed with suitable instructions ([0975]). Colston teaches detection may include (a) exciting first and second dyes with a same wavelength of excitation light and (b) detecting emitted light from the first and second dyes at least substantially independently from one another in respective first and second detector channels ([1044]).
Tao et al. (CN 109655437 A; cited in the IDS filed 06/10/2026) teaches a two-parameter dynamic fluorescent detection system and method including a light source, a first and second photomultiplier, a first and second receiving optical filter, and a data collector; wherein after light excitation, i.e. illumination of the sample with a radiant source, fluorescent intensities of two different wavelengths are respectively detected through the first and second multipliers, i.e. measured emissions with two emission spectral elements (abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758