DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 10/10/2025, has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 11 is new. Claims 1-11 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the outer case… an outer case”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; “the outer case” should now be “an outer case” and “an outer case” should now be “the outer case”. Correction is required.
Claims 2-11 are rejected in view of dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US-20120288738-A1) in view of Ichiro (US-20090233161-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Yasui teaches a battery case (Fig. 2(a), 30; Fig. 3(a), 40; [0052]) comprising:
an inner case (Fig. 2(a), 30; [0030]) including a battery accommodating chamber (Fig. 2(a), chamber within 30 accommodating 10) that accommodates a plurality of batteries (Fig. 2(a), 10; [0030]),
an inner gas discharge part (Fig. 2(a), 33; [0040]) through which a gas generated [0040] in the plurality of batteries 10 is discharged [0040] to an outside of the battery accommodating chamber (see Fig. 2(a), gas arrow indicating discharge outside of chamber within 30; [0040]);
and a plurality of positioning parts (Fig. 3(a-b),41; [0033]; wherein there is an instance of 41 at least for each instance of 100, see also Fig. 5) disposed from an outer surface of the inner case (Fig. 3(b), leftmost surface of 30) to directly contact an inner surface of the outer case (Fig 3(b), surface directly left 30, disposed parallel to 30), to position the inner case with respect to the outer case (Fig. 3(b), wherein 41 positions 30 with respect to 40), and disposed at intervals from each other (see Fig. 5, wherein 61, and thus 41 and 31, are disposed at intervals from each other)
an outer case (Fig. 3(a), 40; [0031]; wherein 40 surrounds and protects battery modules 100 such that it is a case) including an inner case accommodating chamber (Fig. 3(a), space inside 40 that accommodates inner cases 30; [0032]);
and an outer gas discharge part through which the gas is discharged to an outside (Fig. 4, 60; [0034]);
and one or more gas guide passages (Fig. 2(a), 33; Fig. 3(b), arrow between 41, Fig. 7, 82) defined by an outer surface of the inner case (Fig. 2(a), 31), an inner surface of the outer case (Fig 3(b), surface near 61;Fig. 7, surface near 80a, 80b, and 80c), and the plurality of inner case positioning parts and configured to guide a gas from the inner gas discharge part to the outer gas discharge part (Fig. 3(b), arrow path between 41; [0033], wherein 31 defines gas passage 33, and wherein the surface near 61 and positioning member 41 defines arrow path between 41, and wherein the inner surface of outer case 80a, 80b, and 80c defines path 82).
Yasui fails to teach that the positioning parts are inner case positioning parts (as 41 is depicted as separate from the inner case 30). Ichiro teaches inner case (Fig. 4, 2; [0042]) positioning parts (Fig. 4, 6; [0042]; wherein 6 is integrally formed with 2 and positions 2 with respect to 1 as shown in Fig. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to integrally form the plurality of positioning parts 41 of Yasui with the inner case 31, as Ichiro suggests that an integrally formed positioning part can provide an anti-shock function [0042].
Regarding claim 2,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the plurality of inner case positioning parts include a plurality of ribs (Fig. 7, 81; [0059], wherein 81 is a rib because it is a long, thin, protruding member).
Regarding claim 3,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), the battery case further comprising one ridge part (Fig. 7, base plate 80a, 80b, 80c that 81 is attached to; [0059]) and a plurality of protrusions (Fig. 7, protruding portion of 81; [0059]) wherein each of one or more gas guide passages is located between a corresponding pair of the plurality of ribs adjacent to each other at a distance (Fig. 7, wherein 82 is between corresponding pairs of ribs adjacent to each other at a distance), and when a direction from the inner gas discharge part toward the outer gas discharge part is a gas flow direction (Fig. 7, 82), at least one of the plurality of ribs includes the one ridge part and the plurality of protrusions protruding from the one ridge part to be away from the one ridge part as going toward the outer gas discharge part (Fig. 4, 60, wherein protruding portions of 81 can protrude in the direction of 61) in the gas flow direction (annotated Fig. 7, arrow along protrusion) and located at intervals from each other (wherein protruding portions of 81 are located at intervals from each other along 80a, 80b, 80c; [0059]).
Regarding claim 4,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein each of the plurality of inner case positioning parts includes a plurality of columnar protruding parts disposed at intervals from each other (annotated Fig. 7, arrow along protrusion, wherein the protrusions have a columnar shape and are disposed at intervals from each other).
Regarding claim 5,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the battery accommodating chamber accommodates a plurality of cylindrical batteries (see rejection of claim 1 above), and the outer case includes the outer gas discharge part only at one end in a height direction of each of the plurality of cylindrical batteries accommodated in the battery accommodating chamber (Fig. 4, 60; [0057]), and the inner case includes the inner gas discharge part (see rejection of claim 1 above) only at another end in the height direction (Fig. 4, wherein 33 is only at the another end in a height direction of battery modules 100 and thus battery cells 10, relative to the outer gas discharge part 60). The examiner notes that the limitation “a height direction” can be arbitrary and dependent on the viewing angle of the observer.
Regarding claim 6,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the battery accommodating chamber accommodates a plurality of cylindrical batteries (see rejection of claim 1 above), and the inner case includes the inner gas discharge part at one end and another end (Fig. 4, 33) in a height direction of each of the plurality of cylindrical batteries accommodated in the battery accommodating chamber (annotated Fig. 4, wherein the arrow depicts a height direction, wherein the height direction is situated along each of the plurality of cylindrical batteries 10 as depicted in Fig. 2(a); the examiner notes that the limitation “a height direction” can be arbitrary and dependent on the viewing angle of the observer), and the outer case includes the outer gas discharge part at a central part located other than both ends in the height direction (annotated Fig. 4, wherein 60 is along a central plate 40c which is other than both ends 40a and 40b in the height direction).
Regarding claim 7,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the inner case and the plurality of inner case positioning parts are integrated with an insulating material (Fig. 4, 41, [0033], wherein a rubber material is an insulating material such that the inner case 30 is integrated with rubber inner case positioning part 41 and thus integrated with insulating material).
Regarding claim 9,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches a battery pack comprising: the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and the plurality of batteries arranged in the battery accommodating chamber of the battery case (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a number of the plurality of inner case positioning parts 41 are more than two (Fig. 3(b) wherein each instance of 41 corresponds to an instance of 61, Fig. 5, wherein there are at least 3 instances of 61 and thus 41), the outer case 40 has a rectangular-parallelepiped shape (see Fig. 5, rectangular-parallelepiped shape of 40) and the plurality of inner case positioning parts (Fig. 3(b). 41) are in direct contact (Fig. 3(b), wherein 41 is in direct contact with 40) with four surfaces (wherein 61 a-d is along 4 separate surfaces of rectangular-parallelepiped shape of 40, and there is a 41 corresponding to each instance of 61) of the of the rectangular-parallelepiped shape (Fig. 5, rectangular-parallelepiped of 40), and each of the plurality of the inner case positioning parts 41 is in contact with only one surface (Fig. 5, separate surfaces on which 61a-d are disposed) of the rectangular-parallelepiped shape (Fig. 5, rectangular-parallelepiped of 40).
Regarding claim 11,
Yasui in view of Ichiro teaches the battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), three of the plurality of the inner case positioning parts (Fig. 3(b) wherein each instance of 41 corresponds to an instance of 61, Fig. 5, wherein there are at least 3 instances of 61 and thus 41) are in direct contact (Fig. 3(b), wherein 41 is in direct contact with the surface of 40) with a same surface of the rectangular-parallelepiped shape (Fig. 5, leftmost surface of parallelepiped shape of 40).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (US-20120288738-A1) in view of Ichiro (US-20090233161-A1), Yasui* (US-20120263982-A1), and Shiotsu (US-20160104923-A1).
Regarding claim 8,
Yasui in view of Ichiro battery case according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to teach a meshed member covering the outer gas discharge part or an air-permeable and waterproof member that allows the gas to pass therethrough, includes an air-permeable and waterproof material configured to prevent external water from entering the outer case, and covers the outer gas discharge part. Yasui*, analogous in the art of gas discharge members for batteries, teaches a member covering the outer gas discharge part (Fig. 10; member 56 covering gas release duct 42; [0102]), includes an air-permeable (see [0102], wherein 56 is permeable to water vapor) and waterproof material (see [0102], wherein 56 prevents condensation from entering and is thus waterproof) configured to prevent external water from entering the outer case, and covers the outer gas discharge part (Fig. 10, 56; [0102]) wherein the member 56 is made of a waterproof moisture permeable member in order for condensation within the battery module to be prevented [0102] because the member 56 is permeable to water vapor. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the outer gas discharge port 60 of Yasui to be covered with the air-permeable, water-proof member of Yasui* in order to prevent condensation from forming within the battery (Yasui*; [0102]).
However, Yasui in view of Ichiro and Yasui* still fails to teach the member is a meshed member. Shiotsu, analogous in the art of gas discharge members for batteries, teaches the gas discharge duct (Fig. 9, 51) be covered with a metal mesh member (Fig. 9, 58). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the member covering the outer gas discharge part 60 to be a meshed member, as Shiotsu teaches that a meshed member reduces the temperature of the discharged by contact with the mesh [0070], helping to prevent ignition by the exhaust gas [0074], thus improving the safety of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 10/10/2025, have been fully considered and, due to the amendments, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ichiro (US-20090233161-A1).
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach wherein the inner case includes the positioning parts as the positioning parts of Yasui are separate from the inner case. However, applicant’s arguments are moot in light of the updated rejection in view of Ichiro, wherein Ichiro is relied upon for teaching inner case (Fig. 4, 2; [0042]) positioning parts (Fig. 4, 6; [0042]; wherein 6 is integrally formed with 2 and positions 2 with respect to 1 as shown in Fig. 4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to integrally form the plurality of positioning parts 41 of Yasui with the inner case 31, as Ichiro suggests that an integrally formed positioning part can provide an anti-shock function [0042].
Applicant argues all other claims, including new claims 10 and 11, should be allowed at least due to their dependency on an allowable claim 1. However, this is not persuasive, as the rejections on all claims have been sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723