DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2021/010001, filed on 07/30/2021, claiming priority to foreign application KR 10-2020-0095988, filed on 07/31/2020.
Claims Status
Claims 1-5, 7-8 are canceled. Claims 6 and 9-11 are pending and under examination. Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on August 19, 2026.
Action Summary
Claims 6 and 9-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al (US2019/0047993 A1) in view of Shivakrupa et al. (Cancer Research 63, 4412–4419, August 1, 2003) Jack Longley. et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 96, pp. 1609±1614, February 1999), and Crew et al (US2006/0063773 A1), are maintained.
The disclosure is objected to because the terminology “novel” appearing in paragraph [0007] is improper as it implies a conclusion regarding the patentability of the claimed invention, is withdrawn in light of the deletion of “novel.”
Claims 6 and 9-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. US10,442,796 B2 in view Shivakrupa et al. (Cancer Research 63, 4412–4419, August 1, 2003) Jack Longley. et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 96, pp. 1609±1614, February 1999), and Crew et al (US2006/0063773 A1), are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9-11 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al (US2019/0047993 A1) in view of Shivakrupa et al. (Cancer Research 63, 4412–4419, August 1, 2003) Jack Longley. et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 96, pp. 1609±1614, February 1999), and Crew et al (US2006/0063773 A1).
Sim teaches a teach a method for the treatment, prevention, and alleviation of acute myeloid leukemia, the method comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising as an active ingredient, a 2,3,5-substituted thiophene compound, preferably (S)-5-((3-fluorophenyl) ethynyl)-N-(piperidin-3-yl)-3-ureidothiophene-2-carboxamide
. (See claims 1, 9, 10, and paragraph [0299].)
This compound corresponds to compound of Example 22. Moreover, Sim teaches the 2,3,5-substituted thiophene compound is excellent in ability to inhibit activity of Kit among other proteins. (See paragraph [0023].)
Sim does not teach systematic mastocytosis wherein the systematic mastocytosis is caused by substitution of histidine for aspartic acid at amino acid position 816 of c-kit protein and by substitution of aspartic acid for valine at amino acid position 559 of c-kit protein.
Shivakrupa teaches Kit, a type III receptor tyrosine kinase, binds to ligand SCF3 and initiates signals critical for the growth and development of mast cells, melanocytes, hematopoietic stem cells, and the interstitial cells of Cajal. Gain-of-function mutations in Kit are associated with a number of cancers in humans. Substitution of tyrosine/valine/ histidine for aspartic acid in codon 816 of the catalytic domain of the human gene (codon 814 of the murine gene) is found in patients with mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia, as well as some patients with acute myelogenous leukemia and germ cell tumors. (See first paragraph under Introduction Section of the left column of page 4412.) Moreover, Shivakrupa teaches because many patients with mastocytosis have mutations in codon 816, identification of signaling components activated by this mutant in mast cells could lead to identification of pharmaceuticals useful in the treatment of this disease. (See third paragraph of the right column of page 4412.)
Jack Longley Jr. teaches human mastocytosis is characterized by increased mast cells. It usually occurs as a sporadic disease including systemic involvement that is often transient and limited in children and persistent or progressive in adults. The c-KIT protooncogene encodes KIT, a tyrosine kinase that is the receptor for mast cell growth factor. Because mutated KIT can transform cells, we examined c-KIT in skin lesions of 22 patients with sporadic mastocytosis and 3 patients with familial mastocytosis. All patients with adult sporadic mastocytosis had somatic c-KIT mutations in codon 816 causing substitution of valine for aspartate and spontaneous activation of mast cell growth factor receptor. (See Abstract and Table 1.) Moreover, Jack Longley Jr. teaches most known c-KIT mutations cause loss of function of KIT, resulting in piebaldism in humans and the W spotted phenotype in the mouse. However, c-KIT mutations in codon 816 causing substitution of aspartate or tyrosine for valine, and a codon 559 mutation causing substitution of valine for glycine, have been found in neoplastic mast cell lines and have been reported to cause constitutive phosphorylation and activation of KIT. (See last paragraph of the right column of page 1609.)
Crew teaches a compound represented by the formula (I)
having cKIT activity for treating tumors or cancers such as mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia among others. (See Abstract, claim 1, and paragraph [0079].)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer the Kit inhibitory compound taught by Sim for treating mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia caused by activating c-KIT mutations, including substitution of histidine for aspartic acid at amino acid position 816 of c-KITt protein and by substitution of aspartic acid for valine at amino acid position 559 of c-kIT protein. Sime teaches the same compound recited in the instant claims and teaches that the compound is excellent in its ability to inhibit KIT activity. Shivakrupa and Jack Longley Jr. teach that mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia are associated with activating c-KIT, including codon 816 and 559 mutations and that such mutations result in constitutive activation of KIT signaling. Mast cell leukemia is a systemic mastocytosis. Crew is relied upon not for the claimed compound, but for the further teaching that cKIT activity is therapeutically relevant to mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia and that c KIT inhibitors are useful for treating such diseases.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Sim’s KIT inhibitor in a patient having mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia (systemic mastocytosis) caused by activating c-KIT mutations because the cited art identifies aberrant KIT activation as a cause or driver of mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia and teaches treatment of such diseases through inhibition of cKIT activity. The motivation is not based on bodily incorporation of Crew’s compound into Sim, but on the combined teachings that: (1) Sim provides the same claimed active compound and teaches KIT inhibition; (2) Shivakrupa and Jack Longley Jr. identity the claimed c-KIT mutations as activating mutations associated with mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia; and (3) Crew confirms that cKIT inhibition is a recognized therapeutic approach for mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonably expectation of success because the claimed disease is characterized by aberrant KIT activation, and Sim’s compound is expressly taught to inhibit cKIT activity. Thus, using Sim’s KIT inhibitor to treat a KIT-driven mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia would have been predictable use of a known KIT inhibitor for its established purpose, namely inhibiting KIT signaling in a disease in which KIT activation is implicated. The fact that Crew discloses different cKIT inhibitors does not detract from the rejection because Crew is cited to show the known therapeutic relevance of cKIT inhibition in mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia, not to supply the claimed compound.
Additionally, Crew’s compounds are noted to possess a structurally similar heteroaryl kinase-inhibitor scaffold and are likewise disclosed as possessing cKIT inhibitory activity useful for treating mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. Thus, Crew further evidences that compounds having kinase-inhibitory scaffolds and cKIT inhibitory activity were recognized in the art as useful for treating c-KTI-driven mastocytosis disorders including mast cell leukemia, a systemic mastocytosis.
Applicant’s arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of Applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on August 19, 2026. Applicant arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because Shivakrupa teaches away from the claimed invention because Shivakrupa states that “[t]here are no drugs that inhibit the activity of Kit catalytic domain mutants to a greater extent than wild-type kit.” Applicant further argues that, because D816H mutation recited in claim 6 is located in the KIT catalytic domain, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected Sim’s compound to successfully treat mastocytosis associated with the D816H mutation
In response, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant reads the cites statement more broadly that its express teaching. Shivakrupa does not state that KIT catalytic-domain mutants cannot be pharmacologically inhibited, that inhibition of such mutants would be therapeutically ineffective, or that persons of ordinary skill should refrain from pursuing pharmacological inhibition of signaling associated with such mutants. Rather, Shivakrupa states that, at the time of that study, there were no drugs that inhibit KIT catalytic-domain mutants to a greater extent than wild-type Kit. The statement concerns the relative degree or selectivity of inhibition of mutant Kit compared to Wild-type Kit, rather than an inability to inhibit mutant Kit. See Abstract.
Indeed, Shivakrupa expressly identifies gain-of-function mutation at codon 816 of the KIT catalytic domain as occurring in patients having mastocytosis and leukemia and explains that the purpose of studying signaling pathways activated by mutant KIT was to identify molecular targets for pharmacological intervention. Shivakrupa further concludes that its findings may provide insight into strategies for treatment of mastocytosis and other diseases associated with mutation in the KIT catalytic domain. (See pp. 4417 and 4418.) Accordingly, when Shivakrupa is considered as a whole rather than by isolating the sentence relied upon by Applicant, the reference does not criticize discredit, or otherwise discourage therapeutic intervention directed to signaling driven by KIT catalytic-domain mutations.
Applicant’s argument does not address the rejection based upon the combined teachings of the references. Sim expressly discloses the same active compound recited in claims 6 and 9, i.e., the compound of Example 22, and teaches that its 2,3,5-substituted thiophene compounds possess excellent KIT inhibitory activity. (See ¶ [0023], claims 1, 9 and 10, ¶[0299].). Shivakrupa establishes that gain-of-function mutations at KIT codon 816 are associated with mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia and result in constitutive mutant KIT signaling. Longley likewise establishes the relationship between activating KIT mutations and mastocytosis and identifies constitutively activating KIT mutations in neoplastic mast cells. Crew further evidences that c-KIT was recognized in the art as a therapeutic approach for mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. See Abstract, claim 1, and ¶ [0079].)
Thus, the rejection does not rely upon Shivakrupa as teaching that Sim’s particular compound had previously been tested against D816H, nor does the rejection rely upon Crew as disclosing Sim’s compound. Rather, Sim supplies the claimed active compound and its KIT inhibitory activity; Shivakrupa and Longley supply the biological relationship between activating KIT mutations and mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia; and Crew further establishes the recognized therapeutic relevance of c-KIT inhibition for mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. Considered together, these teachings would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reason to investigate and use Sim’s known KIT-inhibitory compound for treatment of mastocytosis driven by an activating KIT mutation.
Applicant further argues that D816H is an extremely rare clinical variant and that the cited prior art contains no experimental data demonstrating successful inhibition of D816H by Sim’s compound.
In response, this argument is not persuasive. The obviousness inquiry does not require the prior art to contain an actual working example of the precise claimed method, nor does it require absolute predictability of success. The relevant inquiry is whether the teachings of the prior art would have provided a person of ordinary skill with a reason to pursue the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Here, the cited art expressly identified codon 816 substitutions, including substitution of histidine for aspartic acid at codon 816, as gain-of-function mutations associated with mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. (See Introduction Section, p. 4412.) The fact that D816H may have been less prevalent than D816V does not negate its express identification in the prior art as a disease-associated activating KIT mutation. Obviousness is not determined by whether the claimed embodiment was the most prevalent or preferred embodiment in the art.
Moreover, the claims do not require that PHI-101 selectively inhibit mutant KIT over wild-type KIT, completely overcome resistance to conventional therapies, possess a particular nanomolar Kd value, produce a specified GI5 value, achieve a particular percentage of tumor-growth inhibition, or provide any particular magnitude of improvement over imatinib, sunitinib, or ponatinib. Those properties and comparative results therefore cannot be imported into claims 6, and 9-11 as limitations when determining the scope of the claimed subject matter.
Applicant’s reliance upon the experimental results reported in Tables 2-5 of the specification has also been considered. The Examiner does not dispute that the reported results may demonstrate that PHI-101 possesses substantial activity against certain KIT mutants. However, unexpected results are relevant to obviousness only to the extent that they are commensurate in scope with the claims and constitute a comparison having sufficient nexus to the claimed invention.
In particular, Applicant relies upon Kd of 4.8 nM for KIT (D816H), 13 nM for KIT (A829P), 16 nM for KIT (V559D), and 26 nM for KIT (V559D/V654A). Those absolute binding-affinity values establish potency, but an absolute result, without an appropriate comparison demonstrating what would have been expected from the closest prior art, does not by itself establish that the result was unexpected. The relevant question is not merely whether well, but whether it performs differently in kind or degrees from what one of ordinary skll reasonably would have expected based upon the prior art.
Applicant’s comparison with imatinib, sunitinb and ponatinib likewise do not establish that Sim’s compound, i.e., the closest compound relied upon in the rejection and the very compound administered by the claims, would have been expected to perform differently. Sim already teaches the claimed compound and identifies KIT inhibitory activity. Accordingly, superior performance relative to other KIT inhibitors does not, without more, rebut the prima facie case arising from the prior-art teaching of the same compound together with known disease-associated KIT pathway.
Further, Applicant relies upon HMC-1.2 cellular and xenograft data involving the D816V/V560G double-mutant system, whereas claim 6 is directed to mastocytosis associated with D816H and amended claim 9 recites A829P, L576P, V559D, V559D/T670I, or V559D/V645A. The HMC-1.2 comparative results therefore do not correspond to several of the specific mutant populations presently claimed. Applicant has not established that the comparative results obtained from the D816V/560G model reasonably represent the full scope of the separately claimed mutant-defined patient populations.
Nor is Applicant’s hindsight argument persuasive. The rationale for the combination is supplied by the references themselves rather than Applicant’s disclosure. Sim provides the claimed compound and identifies its KIT inhibitory activity; Shivakrupa and Longley identify activating KIT mutations as associated with mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia; and Crew identifies c-KIT inhibition as therapeutically relevant to mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. Thus, Applicant’s specification is not required as a roadmap to identify either the claimed compound, KIT as the relevant biological target, the relationship between activating KIT mutations and mastocytosis, or the therapeutic relevance of KIT inhibition.
The Examiner further notes that notes that obviousness does not require a reasonable expectation that the claimed method would achieve the degree of efficacy subsequently demonstrated by Applicant. The pertinent question is whether one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected KIT inhibitor to provide treatment of mastocytosis associated with the activating KIT mutations identified by the cited art. Applicant’s showing that the compound subsequently exhibited unexpectedly high potency or superior efficacy does not, without showing commensurate with the claimed scope and appropriately compared with the closest prior art, establish that the claimed method of treatment itself would have been nonobvious.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments and evidence have been considered but are not sufficient to outweigh the evidence of obviousness presented by the combined teachings of Sim, Shivakrupa, Longley, and Crew. The rejection of claims 6 and 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is therefore maintained,
New Rejection necessitated by claim amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 6 and 9-11 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. US10,442,796 B2 in view Shivakrupa et al. (Cancer Research 63, 4412–4419, August 1, 2003) Jack Longley. et al (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA Vol. 96, pp. 1609±1614, February 1999), and Crew et al (US2006/0063773 A1).
The U.S. patent claims teach a method for the treatment, prevention, and alleviation of acute myeloid leukemia, the method comprising administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising as an active ingredient, a 2,3,5-substituted thiophene compound, preferably (S)-5-((3-fluorophenyl) ethynyl)-N-(piperidin-3-yl)-3-ureidothiophene-2-carboxamide
as the active ingredient. (See claims 1 and 10)
Although, the U.S. patent claims do not teach the compound is excellent in ability to inhibit activity of Kit among other proteins, the specification of the U.S. patent claims disclose the compound is excellent in ability to inhibit activity of Kit. (See paragraph [0023].)
The U.S. patent claims do not systematic mastocytosis wherein the systematic mastocytosis is caused by substitution of histidine for aspartic acid at amino acid position 816 of c-kit protein and by substitution of aspartic acid for valine at amino acid position 559 of c-kit protein.
Shivakrupa teaches Kit, a type III receptor tyrosine kinase, binds to ligand SCF3 and initiates signals critical for the growth and development of mast cells, melanocytes, hematopoietic stem cells, and the interstitial cells of Cajal. Gain-of-function mutations in Kit are associated with a number of cancers in humans. Substitution of tyrosine/valine/ histidine for aspartic acid in codon 816 of the catalytic domain of the human gene (codon 814 of the murine gene) is found in patients with mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia, as well as some patients with acute myelogenous leukemia and germ cell tumors. (See first paragraph under Introduction Section of the left column of page 4412.) Moreover, Shivakrupa teaches because many patients with mastocytosis have mutations in codon 816, identification of signaling components activated by this mutant in mast cells could lead to identification of pharmaceuticals useful in the treatment of this disease. (See third paragraph of the right column of page 4412.)
Jack Longley Jr. teaches human mastocytosis is characterized by increased mast cells. It usually occurs as a sporadic disease including systemic involvement that is often transient and limited in children and persistent or progressive in adults. The c-KIT protooncogene encodes KIT, a tyrosine kinase that is the receptor for mast cell growth factor. Because mutated KIT can transform cells, we examined c-KIT in skin lesions of 22 patients with sporadic mastocytosis and 3 patients with familial mastocytosis. All patients with adult sporadic mastocytosis had somatic c-KIT mutations in codon 816 causing substitution of valine for aspartate and spontaneous activation of mast cell growth factor receptor. (See Abstract and Table 1.) Moreover, Jack Longley Jr. teaches most known c-KIT mutations cause loss of function of KIT, resulting in piebaldism in humans and the W spotted phenotype in the mouse. However, c-KIT mutations in codon 816 causing substitution of aspartate or tyrosine for valine, and a codon 559 mutation causing substitution of valine for glycine, have been found in neoplastic mast cell lines and have been reported to cause constitutive phosphorylation and activation of KIT. (See last paragraph of the right column of page 1609.)
Crew teaches a compound represented by the formula (I)
having cKIT activity for treating tumors or cancers such as mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia among others. (See Abstract, claim 1, and paragraph [0079].)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to administer the Kit inhibitory compound taught by Sim for treating mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia caused by activating c-KIT mutations, including substitution of histidine for aspartic acid at amino acid position 816 of c-KITt protein and by substitution of aspartic acid for valine at amino acid position 559 of c-kIT protein. Sime teaches the same compound recited in the instant claims and teaches that the compound is excellent in its ability to inhibit KIT activity. Shivakrupa and Jack Longley Jr. teach that mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia are associated with activating c-KIT, including codon 816 and 559 mutations and that such mutations result in constitutive activation of KIT signaling. Mast cell leukemia is a systemic mastocytosis. Crew is relied upon not for the claimed compound, but for the further teaching that cKIT activity is therapeutically relevant to mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia and that c KIT inhibitors are useful for treating such diseases.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use U.S. patent claims’ KIT inhibitor in a patient having mastocytosis and mast cell leukemia (systemic mastocytosis) caused by activating c-KIT mutations because the cited art identifies aberrant KIT activation as a cause or driver of mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia and teaches treatment of such diseases through inhibition of cKIT activity. The motivation is not based on bodily incorporation of Crew’s compound into Sim, but on the combined teachings that: (1) Sim provides the same claimed active compound and teaches KIT inhibition; (2) Shivakrupa and Jack Longley Jr. identity the claimed c-KIT mutations as activating mutations associated with mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia; and (3) Crew confirms that cKIT inhibition is a recognized therapeutic approach for mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonably expectation of success because the claimed disease is characterized by aberrant KIT activation, and the U.S. patent claims’ compound is expressly taught to inhibit cKIT activity. Thus, using the U.S. patent claims’ KIT inhibitor to treat a KIT-driven mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia would have been predictable use of a known KIT inhibitor for its established purpose, namely inhibiting KIT signaling in a disease in which KIT activation is implicated. The fact that Crew discloses different cKIT inhibitors does not detract from the rejection because Crew is cited to show the known therapeutic relevance of cKIT inhibition in mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia, not to supply the claimed compound.
Additionally, Crew’s compounds are noted to possess a structurally similar heteroaryl kinase-inhibitor scaffold and are likewise disclosed as possessing cKIT inhibitory activity useful for treating mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia. Thus, Crew further evidences that compounds having kinase-inhibitory scaffolds and cKIT inhibitory activity were recognized in the art as useful for treating c-KTI-driven mastocytosis disorders including mast cell leukemia, a systemic mastocytosis
Applicant’s arguments regarding the nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive for substantially the same reasons discussed above with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As explained above, Sim teaches the same compound recited in the instant claims and further teaches KIT inhibitory activity. Shivakrupa and Jack Longley Jr and Crew collectively teach that activating c-KT mutations are associated with mastocytosis/mast cell leukemia and that inhibition of cKIT activity is a recognized therapeutic strategy for such disorders. Therefore, one would expect the compound taught by Sim to successfully treat mastocytosis associated with the recited cKIT mutations claimed wither a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 6 and 9-11 are not allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN P CORNET/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628