Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Receipt of the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 C.F.R. 1.114, filed 31 July 2026, and the Amendment and Applicants’ Arguments/Remarks, filed 2 July 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-8, 11-15, and 93-95 are currently pending. Claims 9-10 and 16-92 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 93-95 have been amended. Claims 1-8, 11-15, and 93-95 are examined on the merits within.
Continued Examination Under 37 C.F.R. 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
3. Applicants’ arguments, filed 2 July 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejection of claims 1-8, 11-15, and 93-95 has been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection of claims 1-8, 11-15, and 93-95 has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection is made in view of French (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0162236), DeMark et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0081030) and Morales-Ramos et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,628,979) as evidenced by Arch.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 93-95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0162236) in view of DeMark et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0081030) and Morales-Ramos et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,628,979) as evidenced by Arch.
French is directed to a bait station for use in the elimination of termites comprising a cellulosic matrix and a termiticide. See abstract. A cellulosic feed, such as alpha-methyl cellulose, water, and a chitin synthesis inhibitor are combined to form a paste. See paragraph [0013]. Chitin synthesis inhibitors include hexaflumuron. See paragraph [0009]. A licensed operator then mixes a batch of cellulosic feed such as alpha methylcellulose with water and an appropriate toxin such as a chitin synthesis inhibitor or a stomach poison to form a stiff paste which is loaded into the open body of the baiting station. See paragraph [0013]. Thus the binder is uniformly distributed throughout the composition around all other particles. Suitably, a termite attractant composition may be incorporated in said cellulosic matrix. See paragraph [0024].
French does not teach a gel.
DeMark et al. teach a termite bait comprising cellulose (filler), at least one sugar, at least one acid, and at least one insecticide. See abstract. The composition may also comprise binders. See paragraph [0032]. Example 1 comprises an insecticide concentrate including water. See paragraphs [0038-0041]. Insecticides include noviflumuron or hexaflumuron. See paragraphs [0009-0013]. Optional ingredients include preservatives such as 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one (PROXEL GXL.RTM. Arch Chemicals, Inc.). See paragraph [0036]. PROXEL GXL comprises a solution of 1,2-benzisothiazolin-3-one in dipropylene glycol and water as evidenced by Arch. See page 2. The insecticide is present in amounts of 0.0001 to 20 weight percent. See paragraph [0033].
Morales-Ramos et al. teach that subterranean termites prefer moist foods to be more attractive than other available foods. Enough water should be used to allow mixing of the matrix material and/or completely hydrate the particulate or solid cellulose materials and to provide excess water to maintain a humid environment. Water content should range from 20% to 90 % by weight of the composition. See column 6, lines 21-30. The termite bait matrix consists essentially of cellulose, 9,10-anthracenedion, 1,4-bis[(2-ethylhexyl)amino], and a termite toxicant (i.e., chitin synthesis inhibitor). See claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add the alpha cellulose of DeMark to the composition of French as an additional filler component known to be effective in insecticide compositions comprising binders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amount of each ingredient to achieve the desired viscosity and therapeutic effect. One would have been motivated, with a reasonable expectation of success, to produce a moist and effective formulation that is preferred by termites. Since the prior art makes obvious the same combination of ingredients, the properties should be the same, i.e., gel.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 2 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
6. Applicants argued, “DeMark does not disclose the binder is insoluble in water above a predetermined gelation temperature or the binder is uniformly distributed throughout the composition around particles of the active ingredient and the filler. Morales-Ramos fails to disclose a composition that is a gel having a viscosity of at least 200 Pas, and does not disclose any binder or associated gelation or the binder is uniformly distributed throughout the composition around particles of the active ingredient and the filler.”
In response to applicants’ argument, “insoluble in water above a predetermined gelation temperature” is a property of a compound. Thus, if the prior art teaches the same compound, it should have the same property. In the instant case, French teaches a cellulosic matrix comprising alpha-methyl cellulose. Since methyl cellulose is the same binder used in the dependent claims, it should have the same property of insoluble in water above a predetermined gelation temperature. French also teaches a licensed operator then mixes a batch of cellulosic feed, such as alpha methylcellulose, with water and an appropriate toxin, such as a chitin synthesis inhibitor or a stomach poison, to form a stiff paste which is loaded into the open body of the baiting station. See paragraph [0013]. Suitably, a termite attractant composition may be incorporated in said cellulosic matrix. See paragraph [0024]. Thus the components of the composition should be uniformly distributed. Since the alpha methyl cellulose is the matrix material, it should be distributed around the particles of the active ingredient and filler. The prior art of DeMark is provided to make obvious the use of the additional agent, an alpha cellulose filler. The prior art of Morales-Ramos is provided to make obvious the use of 20 to 90% water including motivation to modify the amount of water because termites prefer moist foods. Thus it would have been obvious to add alpha cellulose to the composition of French because DeMark teach the effective combination of binders and fillers in insecticide compositions and obvious to modify the amount of water to provide a more desirable product for termites to eat while also containing an effective amount of active ingredient. Since the prior art makes obvious the same combination of ingredients, the properties, i.e., gel, should be the same. In response to applicants’ argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., adhesive) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Thus this rejection is maintained.
Examiner’s note: If claim 1 were amended to include the type of binder and type of filler (incorporate the limitations of claim 8), potential prior art could be eliminated. Since applicant argued gelation temperature, is there a process of heating/cooling which is required for a gel to form? If so, a limitation regarding this may be beneficial.
Correspondence
13. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615