DETAILED ACTION
The IDS submitted on 05/15/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner.
The amendment submitted on 08/05/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 1, 14, 19, and 20 have been amended, claims 2-13 and 15-18 were cancelled, claims 21 and 22 were newly added, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14, and 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: it contains several incorrectly conjugated verbs, such as: “the communication method comprising ... perform a first uplink data transmission”, “the communication method comprising ... create a second timing advance value”, and “the communication method comprising ... perform a second uplink data transmission”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20200337010 A1, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (US 20180242319 A1, hereinafter “Akkarakaran”), and Lei et al. (US 20220377801 A1, hereinafter “Lei”).
As to Claim 1:
Wang describes a method for configuring two separate timing alignment timers which correspond to different uplink carriers.
Specifically, Wang teaches:
A transceiver; a Time Alignment Timer (TAT); another timer; and control circuitry configured
(“[T]he first UL carrier 111 is configured with a first TAT and a second UL carrier 112 is configured with a second TAT” (Wang, 0088). Also, Fig. 11 in Wang shows an example UE.
Here, the “Radio Interface” 3337 in Fig. 11 maps to “a transceiver”,
“a first TAT” maps to “a Time Alignment Timer (TAT)”,
“a second TAT” maps to “another timer”, and
“Processing Circuitry” 3338 in Fig. 11 maps to “control circuitry configured”).
Receive, from another communication device, a timing advance value; upon receiving the timing advance value, start the TAT
(“[T]he eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “the eNB needs to send” maps to “receive, from another communication device” from the perspective of “the UE”,
“a TA command” maps to “a timing advance value”,
“when a TA command is received” maps to “upon receiving the timing advance value”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “start the TAT”).
While the TAT is running: perform a connection request/set up process with the other communication device
(“A random access procedure is initiated with the obtained system information for several purposes including mainly. 1) Initial radio link establishment which moves the UE from the Radio Resource Control (RRC) IDLE status to the RRC connected status.... Uplink synchronization between the UE and the network: a timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network ... [A] TA command is received when the TAT timer is running” (Wang, 0039, 0052).
Here, “when the TAT timer is running” maps to “while the TAT is running”,
“a random access procedure is initiated” maps to “perform a connection request/set up process”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receive a timing advance value correction information from the other communication device
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “assigned to the UE” maps to “receive”,
“a timing advance (TA) value” maps to “a timing advance value correction information”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
After performing the first uplink data transmission, stop the TAT
(“The UE 120 may then start its TA timer for the NR UL carrier after performing a RACH access.... Later on, when the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0134-0135).
Here, “later on” maps to “after”,
“performing a RACH access” maps to “performing the first uplink data transmission”, and
“stop the first timer” maps to “stop the TAT”).
While the TAT is stopped: calculate a correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and create a second timing advance value
(“The timing advance command for a TAG indicates the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing for the TAG ... [W]hen the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0030, 0135).
Here, “when ... the UE 120 ... stop[s] the first timer” in “location B” maps to “while the TAT is stopped”,
“the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing” maps to “calculate a correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“the current uplink timing” maps to “the previously received correction information”, and
“the change of the uplink timing” maps to “create a second timing advance value”).
Upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied, start the other timer based on the second timing advance value
(“The timing advance command for a TAG indicates the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing for the TAG ... [T]he UE 120 starts or restarts another TA timer for the SUL carrier according to the TA configuration for SUL carrier after switching to SUL carrier” (Wang, 0030, 135).
Here, “after switching to SUL carrier” maps to “upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied”,
starts ... another TA timer” maps to “start the other timer”, and
“the timing advance command ... indicates” maps to “based on the second timing advance value”).
While the other timer is running: ... update and restart the other timer
(“[T]he UE 120 starts or restarts a new TA timer such as the TA timer according to the TA configuration for NR UL carrier while keeping the TA timer and/or configuration of the SUL carrier running” (Wang, 0136).
Here, “while keeping the TA timer ... running” maps to “while the other timer is running”,
“restarts a new TA timer ... according to the TA configuration” maps to “update and restart the other timer”).
Receive a downlink data transmission with a timing advance (TA) command
(“[T]he network node such as the eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “the eNB ... send[s]” maps to “receive a downlink data transmission”, and
“a TA command” maps to “with a timing advance (TA) command”).
Based on the TA command, stop the other timer; apply the TA command to the TAT; and restart the TAT based on the TA command
(“[T]he network node such as the eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted ... Later on ... the UE 120 starts or restarts another TA timer ... At the same time the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0052, 0135).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “based on the TA command”,
“stop the first timer” maps to “stop the other timer”,
“to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE” maps to “apply the TA command to the TAT”, and
“when a TA command is received ... the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “restart the TAT based on the TA command”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
However, Akkarakaran does describe a method for a base station to deconflict uplink transmissions through grant scheduling.
Specifically, Akkarakaran teaches:
Transmit a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
(“[T]he method ... may include ... transmitting the capability table to the base station as the indication of a UE capability, wherein the capability table includes a time when the UE is able to process a grant having one or more of the grant characteristics, wherein the different grant characteristics include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” (Akkarakaran, 0056).
Here, “transmitting the capability table” for “a timing adjustment” maps to “transmit a timing advance correction capability message”,
“the base station” maps to “the other communication device”,
“include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” maps to “indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Akkarakaran’s method of signaling to a base station a UE’s ability to apply timing adjustments into Wang’s method for configuring multiple timing advance timers. The base station cannot configure a timing advance value if the UE doesn’t support it, so it makes sense to communicate this capability to the base station.
The combination of Wang and Akkarakaran also does not explicitly disclose:
Receive a first uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant
Receive a second uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second uplink grant
Receive a third uplink grant that includes a retransmission request from the other communication device
Perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device
However, Lei does describe a method for configuring uplink resources for a random access procedure.
Specifically, Lei teaches:
Receive a first uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant
(“Diagram 600a shows a scenario when the 2-step RACH procedure between UE 202 and BS 204 successfully establishes a connection. The BS 204 may broadcast downlink channel or signals 605 ... the downlink channel or signals 605 may include ... uplink grants ... Upon a completion of receiving the downlink data 605, UE 202 may wait ... before transmitting MsgA ... to BS 204” (Lei, 0078).
Here, “the BS 204 may broadcast ... uplink grants” maps to “receive a first uplink grant from the other communication device”,
“transmitting MsgA” maps to “perform a first uplink data transmission”,
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”, and
“upon completion of receiving the downlink data 605” which includes “uplink grants” maps to “based on the first uplink grant”).
Receive a second uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second uplink grant
(“The gNB responds with Msg 2 random access response (RAR) containing a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), timing advance (TA) and uplink resource grant upon Msg 1 success. In Msg 3, the UE transmits a radio resource control (RRC) connection request” (Lei, 0030).
Here, “the gNB responds” maps to “receive ... from the other communication device”,
“uplink resource grant” maps to “a second uplink grant”,
“in Msg 3, the UE transmits” maps to “perform a second uplink data transmission ... based on the first uplink grant”, and
“the gNB” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receive a third uplink grant that includes a retransmission request from the other communication device
(“In some embodiments, BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant for the UE 202 to retransmit MsgA payload” (Lei, 0123).
Here, “BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant” maps to “receive a third uplink grant”,
“includes” maps to “includes”,
“to retransmit” maps to “a retransmission request”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device
(“Upon receiving MsgB 620 from BS 204, UE 202 decodes the received MsgB 620.... UE 202 transmits a Msg3 630 ... [T]he Msg3 630 can be a retransmitted version of MsgA payload 610b that was not successfully decoded at BS 204” (Lei, 0088).
Here, “retransmitted version of MsgA” maps to “perform a third uplink data transmission”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s method for using multiple timers to maintain a timing adjustment value for uplink transmissions with Lei’s method for configuring a random access procedure with uplink grants. Random access procedures often communicate a timing advance (as taught in Lei – see, for example, Lei 0095) so it makes sense to use one to send the timing advances discussed in Wang.
As to Claim 14:
From the list of:
The first, second, or third uplink data transmission includes at least one of transmission of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) including data mapped to a predetermined 5G QoS Identifier (5QI) and a transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal/Physical Uplink Command Channel (SRS/PUCCH)
Wang at least teaches:
The first, second, or third uplink data transmission includes ... a transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal/Physical Uplink Command Channel (SRS/PUCCH)
(“[W]hen the UE is in active mode, an eNB continuously measures timing of uplink signal, via PUSCH and/or PUCCH and/or SRS, transmitted from each UE” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “uplink signal” maps to “the first, second, or third uplink data transmission”, and
“PUCCH and/or SRS” maps to “a transmission of a Sounding Reference Signal/Physical Uplink Command Channel (SRS/PUCCH)”).
As to Claim 19:
Wang teaches:
Receiving, from another communication device, a timing advance value; upon receiving the timing advance value, start the TAT
(“[T]he eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “the eNB needs to send” maps to “receiving, from another communication device” from the perspective of “the UE”,
“a TA command” maps to “a timing advance value”,
“when a TA command is received” maps to “upon receiving the timing advance value”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “start the TAT”).
While the TAT is running: performing a connection request/set up process with the other communication device
(“A random access procedure is initiated with the obtained system information for several purposes including mainly. 1) Initial radio link establishment which moves the UE from the Radio Resource Control (RRC) IDLE status to the RRC connected status.... Uplink synchronization between the UE and the network: a timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network ... [A] TA command is received when the TAT timer is running” (Wang, 0039, 0052).
Here, “when the TAT timer is running” maps to “while the TAT is running”,
“a random access procedure is initiated” maps to “performing a connection request/set up process”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receiving a timing advance value correction information from the other communication device
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “assigned to the UE” maps to “receiving”,
“a timing advance (TA) value” maps to “a timing advance value correction information”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
After performing the first uplink data transmission, stopping the TAT
(“The UE 120 may then start its TA timer for the NR UL carrier after performing a RACH access.... Later on, when the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0134-0135).
Here, “later on” maps to “after”,
“performing a RACH access” maps to “performing the first uplink data transmission”, and
“stop the first timer” maps to “stopping the TAT”).
While the TAT is stopped: calculating a correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and create a second timing advance value
(“The timing advance command for a TAG indicates the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing for the TAG ... [W]hen the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0030, 0135).
Here, “when ... the UE 120 ... stop[s] the first timer” in “location B” maps to “while the TAT is stopped”,
“the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing” maps to “calculating a correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“the current uplink timing” maps to “the previously received correction information”, and
“the change of the uplink timing” maps to “create a second timing advance value”).
Upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied, starting the other timer based on the second timing advance value
(“The timing advance command for a TAG indicates the change of the uplink timing relative to the current uplink timing for the TAG ... [T]he UE 120 starts or restarts another TA timer for the SUL carrier according to the TA configuration for SUL carrier after switching to SUL carrier” (Wang, 0030, 135).
Here, “after switching to SUL carrier” maps to “upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied”,
starts ... another TA timer” maps to “starting the other timer”, and
“the timing advance command ... indicates” maps to “based on the second timing advance value”).
While the other timer is running: ... updating and restarting the other timer
(“[T]he UE 120 starts or restarts a new TA timer such as the TA timer according to the TA configuration for NR UL carrier while keeping the TA timer and/or configuration of the SUL carrier running” (Wang, 0136).
Here, “while keeping the TA timer ... running” maps to “while the other timer is running”,
“restarts a new TA timer ... according to the TA configuration” maps to “updating and restarting the other timer”).
Receiving a downlink data transmission with a timing advance (TA) command
(“[T]he network node such as the eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “the eNB ... send[s]” maps to “receiving a downlink data transmission”, and
“a TA command” maps to “with a timing advance (TA) command”).
Based on the TA command, stopping the other timer; applying the TA command to the TAT; and restarting the TAT based on the TA command
(“[T]he network node such as the eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted ... Later on ... the UE 120 starts or restarts another TA timer ... At the same time the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0052, 0135).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “based on the TA command”,
“stop the first timer” maps to “stopping the other timer”,
“to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE” maps to “applying the TA command to the TAT”, and
“when a TA command is received ... the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “restarting the TAT based on the TA command”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
However, Akkarakaran does teach:
Transmitting a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
(“[T]he method ... may include ... transmitting the capability table to the base station as the indication of a UE capability, wherein the capability table includes a time when the UE is able to process a grant having one or more of the grant characteristics, wherein the different grant characteristics include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” (Akkarakaran, 0056).
Here, “transmitting the capability table” for “a timing adjustment” maps to “transmitting a timing advance correction capability message”,
“the base station” maps to “the other communication device”,
“include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” maps to “indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Akkarakaran’s method of signaling to a base station a UE’s ability to apply timing adjustments into Wang’s method for configuring multiple timing advance timers. The base station cannot configure a timing advance value if the UE doesn’t support it, so it makes sense to communicate this capability to the base station.
The combination of Wang and Akkarakaran also does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant
Receiving a second uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second uplink grant
Receiving a third uplink grant that includes a retransmission request from the other communication device
Perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device
However, Lei does teach:
Receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant
(“Diagram 600a shows a scenario when the 2-step RACH procedure between UE 202 and BS 204 successfully establishes a connection. The BS 204 may broadcast downlink channel or signals 605 ... the downlink channel or signals 605 may include ... uplink grants ... Upon a completion of receiving the downlink data 605, UE 202 may wait ... before transmitting MsgA ... to BS 204” (Lei, 0078).
Here, “the BS 204 may broadcast ... uplink grants” maps to “receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device”,
“transmitting MsgA” maps to “perform a first uplink data transmission”,
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”, and
“upon completion of receiving the downlink data 605” which includes “uplink grants” maps to “based on the first uplink grant”).
Receiving a second uplink grant from the other communication device, and perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second uplink grant
(“The gNB responds with Msg 2 random access response (RAR) containing a temporary cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), timing advance (TA) and uplink resource grant upon Msg 1 success. In Msg 3, the UE transmits a radio resource control (RRC) connection request” (Lei, 0030).
Here, “the gNB responds” maps to “receiving ... from the other communication device”,
“uplink resource grant” maps to “a second uplink grant”,
“in Msg 3, the UE transmits” maps to “perform a second uplink data transmission ... based on the first uplink grant”, and
“the gNB” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receiving a third uplink grant that includes a retransmission request from the other communication device
(“In some embodiments, BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant for the UE 202 to retransmit MsgA payload” (Lei, 0123).
Here, “BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant” maps to “receiving a third uplink grant”,
“includes” maps to “includes”,
“to retransmit” maps to “a retransmission request”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device
(“Upon receiving MsgB 620 from BS 204, UE 202 decodes the received MsgB 620.... UE 202 transmits a Msg3 630 ... [T]he Msg3 630 can be a retransmitted version of MsgA payload 610b that was not successfully decoded at BS 204” (Lei, 0088).
Here, “retransmitted version of MsgA” maps to “perform a third uplink data transmission”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s method for using multiple timers to maintain a timing adjustment value for uplink transmissions with Lei’s method for configuring a random access procedure with uplink grants. Random access procedures often communicate a timing advance (as taught in Lei – see, for example, Lei 0095) so it makes sense to use one to send the timing advances discussed in Wang.
As to Claim 20:
Although Wang does not disclose the elements of Claim 20 as arranged in the Claim, Wang does teach:
Performing a first random access channel process with another communication device, to include receiving a timing advance value from the another communication device
(“[T]he initial UL synchronization between the UE and the network is obtained via Random Access Channel (RACH) access procedure” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “obtained via” maps to “performing”,
“RACH” maps to “a first random access channel process”,
“the network” maps to “another communication device”, and
“the initial UL synchronization” maps to “to include receiving a timing advance value”).
Upon receiving the timing advance value, starting the TAT
(“[T]he eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “upon receiving the timing advance value”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “starting the TAT”).
While the TAT is running: performing a connection request/set up process with the other communication device
(“A random access procedure is initiated with the obtained system information for several purposes including mainly. 1) Initial radio link establishment which moves the UE from the Radio Resource Control (RRC) IDLE status to the RRC connected status.... Uplink synchronization between the UE and the network: a timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network ... [A] TA command is received when the TAT timer is running” (Wang, 0039, 0052).
Here, “when the TAT timer is running” maps to “while the TAT is running”,
“initial radio link establishment” maps to “performing a connection request/set up process”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receiving a timing advance value correction information from the other communication device
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “assigned to the UE” maps to “receiving”,
“a timing advance (TA) value” maps to “a timing advance value correction information”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Calculating a first correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and creating a first update to the timing advance value
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “adjust the uplink timing” maps to “calculating a first correction value to the previously received timing advance ... and creating a first update to the timing advance value”, and
“from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”).
Upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied, updating and restarting the TAT
(“When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “upon determining that a predetermined condition related to the need for additional processing is satisfied”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “updating and restarting the TAT”).
Calculating a second correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and creating a second update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “timing adjustment” maps to “calculating a second correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“provides processing time ... to decode the received MsgB 620” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”, and
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “creating a second update to the timing advance value”).
Performing a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202. The time gap T.sub.1 is also determined such that the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted with the RAR window 615, but also greater than a lower bound value” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted” maps to “performing a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device”,
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “based on the second update to the timing advance value”).
Calculating a third correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and creating a third update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “timing adjustment” maps to “calculating a third correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“provides processing time ... to decode the received MsgB 620” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”, and
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “creating a third update to the timing advance value”).
Performing a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the third update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202. The time gap T.sub.1 is also determined such that the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted with the RAR window 615, but also greater than a lower bound value” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted” maps to “performing a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device”,
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “based on the third update to the timing advance value”).
Stopping the TAT
(“Later on, when the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0135).
Here, “stop the first timer” maps to “stopping the TAT”).
Performing a second random access channel process with the another communication device, to include receiving a second timing advance value from the another communication device
(“[T]he initial UL synchronization between the UE and the network is obtained via Random Access Channel (RACH) access procedure” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “obtained via” maps to “performing”,
“RACH” maps to “a second random access channel process”,
“the network” maps to “another communication device”, and
“the initial UL synchronization” maps to “to include receiving a second timing advance value”).
Restarting the TAT and performing a fourth uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second timing advance value
(“For a timing advance command received on subframe n, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing shall apply from the beginning of subframe n+6 ... When a TA command is received with the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0036, 0052).
Here, “the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “restarting the TAT”,
“uplink transmission timing” maps to “performing a fourth uplink data transmission to the other communication device”, and
“the corresponding adjustment” maps to “based on the second timing advance value”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
However, Akkarakaran does teach:
Transmitting a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
(“[T]he method ... may include ... transmitting the capability table to the base station as the indication of a UE capability, wherein the capability table includes a time when the UE is able to process a grant having one or more of the grant characteristics, wherein the different grant characteristics include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” (Akkarakaran, 0056).
Here, “transmitting the capability table” for “a timing adjustment” maps to “transmitting a timing advance correction capability message”,
“the base station” maps to “the other communication device”,
“include whether the grant includes a timing adjustment” maps to “indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Akkarakaran’s method of signaling to a base station a UE’s ability to apply timing adjustments into Wang’s method for configuring multiple timing advance timers. The base station cannot configure a timing advance value if the UE doesn’t support it, so it makes sense to communicate this capability to the base station.
The combination of Wang and Akkarakaran also does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device
Performing a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant and the first update to the timing advance value
Receiving a second uplink grant that includes a first retransmission request from the other communication device
Receiving a third uplink grant that includes a second retransmission request from the other communication device
Receiving a fourth uplink grant that includes a third retransmission request from the other communication device
However, Lei does teach:
Receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device
(“Diagram 600a shows a scenario when the 2-step RACH procedure between UE 202 and BS 204 successfully establishes a connection. The BS 204 may broadcast downlink channel or signals 605 ... the downlink channel or signals 605 may include ... uplink grants ... Upon a completion of receiving the downlink data 605, UE 202 may wait ... before transmitting MsgA ... to BS 204” (Lei, 0078).
Here, “the BS 204 may broadcast ... uplink grants” maps to “receiving a first uplink grant from the other communication device”).
Performing a first uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the first uplink grant and the first update to the timing advance value
(“Diagram 600a shows a scenario when the 2-step RACH procedure between UE 202 and BS 204 successfully establishes a connection. The BS 204 may broadcast downlink channel or signals 605 ... the downlink channel or signals 605 may include ... uplink grants ... Before UE 202 transmits the acknowledgement message 625, UE 202 may apply ‘timing advance’ to adjust the timing offset on uplink” (Lei, 0078, 0095).
Here, “transmits the acknowledgement message 625” maps to “performing a first uplink data transmission”,
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”,
“upon completion of receiving the downlink data 605” which includes “uplink grants” maps to “based on the first uplink grant”, and
“apply ‘timing advance’ to adjust the timing offset on uplink” maps to “based on ... the first update to the timing advance value”).
Receiving a second uplink grant that includes a first retransmission request from the other communication device
(“In some embodiments, BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant for the UE 202 to retransmit MsgA payload” (Lei, 0123).
Here, “BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant” maps to “receiving a second uplink grant”,
“includes” maps to “includes”,
“to retransmit” maps to “a first retransmission request”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receiving a third uplink grant that includes a second retransmission request from the other communication device
(“In some embodiments, BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant for the UE 202 to retransmit MsgA payload” (Lei, 0123).
Here, “BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant” maps to “receiving a third uplink grant”,
“includes” maps to “includes”,
“to retransmit” maps to “a second retransmission request”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receiving a fourth uplink grant that includes a third retransmission request from the other communication device
(“In some embodiments, BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant for the UE 202 to retransmit MsgA payload” (Lei, 0123).
Here, “BS 204 includes in MsgB ... an uplink grant” maps to “receiving a fourth uplink grant”,
“includes” maps to “includes”,
“to retransmit” maps to “a third retransmission request”, and
“BS 204” maps to “the other communication device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s method for using multiple timers to maintain a timing adjustment value for uplink transmissions with Lei’s method for configuring a random access procedure with uplink grants. Random access procedures often communicate a timing advance (as taught in Lei – see, for example, Lei 0095) so it makes sense to use one to send the timing advances discussed in Wang.
As to Claim 21:
Although Wang does not disclose the elements of Claim 21 as arranged in the Claim, Wang does still describe, therefore rendering obvious:
A transceiver; a Time Alignment Timer (TAT); another timer; and control circuitry configured
(“[T]he first UL carrier 111 is configured with a first TAT and a second UL carrier 112 is configured with a second TAT” (Wang, 0088). Also, Fig. 11 in Wang shows an example UE.
Here, the “Radio Interface” 3337 in Fig. 11 maps to “a transceiver”,
“a first TAT” maps to “a Time Alignment Timer (TAT)”,
“a second TAT” maps to “another timer”, and
“Processing Circuitry” 3338 in Fig. 11 maps to “control circuitry configured”).
Perform a first random access channel process with another communication device, to include receiving a timing advance value from the another communication device
(“[T]he initial UL synchronization between the UE and the network is obtained via Random Access Channel (RACH) access procedure” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “obtained via” maps to “perform”,
“RACH” maps to “a first random access channel process”,
“the network” maps to “another communication device”, and
“the initial UL synchronization” maps to “to include receiving a timing advance value”).
Upon receiving the timing advance value, starting the TAT
(“[T]he eNB needs to send a TA command to maintain UL time synchronization of the UE for the TAG. When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “upon receiving the timing advance value”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “starting the TAT”).
While the TAT is running: perform a connection request/set up process with the other communication device
(“A random access procedure is initiated with the obtained system information for several purposes including mainly. 1) Initial radio link establishment which moves the UE from the Radio Resource Control (RRC) IDLE status to the RRC connected status.... Uplink synchronization between the UE and the network: a timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network ... [A] TA command is received when the TAT timer is running” (Wang, 0039, 0052).
Here, “when the TAT timer is running” maps to “while the TAT is running”,
“initial radio link establishment” maps to “perform a connection request/set up process”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Receive timing advance value correction information from the other communication device
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “assigned to the UE” maps to “receive”,
“a timing advance (TA) value” maps to “a timing advance value correction information”, and
“the network” maps to “the other communication device”).
Calculate a first correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and create a first update to the timing advance value
(“[A] timing advance (TA) value is estimated by the network from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission by a UE and assigned to the UE, included in the random access response message, for the UE to adjust the uplink timing” (Wang, 0039).
Here, “adjust the uplink timing” maps to “calculate a first correction value to the previously received timing advance ... and create a first update to the timing advance value”, and
“from a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”).
Upon determining that a predetermined condition related to a need for additional processing is satisfied, update and restart the TAT
(“When a TA command is received when the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0052).
Here, “when a TA command is received” maps to “upon determining that a predetermined condition related to the need for additional processing is satisfied”,
“the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “update and restart the TAT”).
Calculate a second correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and create a second update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “timing adjustment” maps to “calculate a second correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“provides processing time ... to decode the received MsgB 620” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”, and
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “create a second update to the timing advance value”).
Perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202. The time gap T.sub.1 is also determined such that the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted with the RAR window 615, but also greater than a lower bound value” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted” maps to “perform a second uplink data transmission to the other communication device”,
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “based on the second update to the timing advance value”).
Calculate a third correction value to the previously received timing advance value based on the previously received correction information, and create a third update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “timing adjustment” maps to “calculate a third correction value to the previously received timing advance value”,
“provides processing time ... to decode the received MsgB 620” maps to “based on the previously received correction information”, and
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “create a third update to the timing advance value”).
Perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the third update to the timing advance value
(“[T]he time gap T.sub.1 provides processing time for UE 202 to decode the received MsgB 620, and TA-based uplink timing adjustment for UE 202. The time gap T.sub.1 is also determined such that the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted with the RAR window 615, but also greater than a lower bound value” (Wang, 0084).
Here, “the acknowledgement message 625 is transmitted” maps to “perform a third uplink data transmission to the other communication device”,
“TA-based uplink timing adjustment” maps to “based on the third update to the timing advance value”).
Stop the TAT
(“Later on, when the UE 120 moves to location B ... the UE 120 may stop the first timer” (Wang, 0135).
Here, “stop the first timer” maps to “stop the TAT”).
Perform a second random access channel process with the another communication device, to include receiving a second timing advance value from the another communication device
(“[T]he initial UL synchronization between the UE and the network is obtained via Random Access Channel (RACH) access procedure” (Wang, 0043).
Here, “obtained via” maps to “perform”,
“RACH” maps to “a second random access channel process”,
“the network” maps to “another communication device”, and
“the initial UL synchronization” maps to “to include receiving a second timing advance value”).
Restart the TAT and performing a fourth uplink data transmission to the other communication device based on the second timing advance value
(“For a timing advance command received on subframe n, the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing shall apply from the beginning of subframe n+6 ... When a TA command is received with the TAT timer is running, the TAT timer is restarted” (Wang, 0036, 0052).
Here, “the TAT timer is restarted” maps to “restart the TAT”,
“uplink transmission timing” maps to “performing a fourth uplink data transmission to the other communication device”, and
“the corresponding adjustment” maps to “based on the second timing advance value”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
Transmit a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
However, Akkarakaran does teach:
Transmit a timing advance correction capability message to the other communication device that indicates that the communication device is capable of correcting the previously received timing advance value
(“[T]he method ... may include ... transmitting the capability table to the base station as the indication of a UE capability, wherein the capability table includes a time when the UE is able to pro