DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/006,766. Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Claims 4-12 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Election/Restrictions
A restriction requirement was sent to the Applicant on October 8, 2025. The Applicant was required to elect among several groups of inventions. The Applicant responded to the restriction requirement on November 26, 2025 and elected Group I, claims 1-3. Since the election was not made with traverse, it is treated as being made without traverse.
Accordingly, claims 4-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maruta (US 6,472,100) in view of Song et al (US 2014/0227594).
Maruta teaches a precursor for a positive electrode active material comprising a nickel-aluminum alloy (col. 2, lines 43-50). The molar amount of aluminum or cobalt in the active material is less than or equal to 30 % (col. 2, lines 61-65). Nickel-aluminum alloy with 30 % aluminum satisfies formula 1 with a=0.7, b=0.3, c=0, d=0. It would have been obvious to use up to 30 % aluminum in the precursor since the active material contains up to 30 % aluminum.
Maruta does not teach that the precursor is a particle.
However, Song et al teaches a precursor for a positive electrode active material wherein the precursor is a particle having an average diameter of 5-40 µm (abstract, par. 13, 16).
Maruta teaches a precursor for an active material and further teaches that the active material is a particle. However, Maruta is silent regarding the form and size of the precursor. Song et al teaches that the precursor is a particle having a size. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the precursor particle size of Song et al with the precursor of Maruta in order to obtain a precursor having known suitable size and shape.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Maruta (US 6,472,100) in view of Song et al (US 2014/0227594) and McDonald (US 5,824,166).
Maruta in view of Song et al teaches a Ni-Al precursor as described above. Maruta in view of Song et al does not teach the crystal structure of the precursor.
However, McDonald teaches that nickel-aluminum alloys have a face-centered cubic structure (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 12). It would have been obvious to combine the FCC crystal structure of McDonald with the Ni-Al precursor of Maruta in view of Song et al because FCC is the known crystal structure of Ni-Al alloys.
Examiner’s Information