Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NADAU-FOURCADE (2016/0206590) in view of WO (2019/127001).
NADAU-FOURCADE discloses a composition that is a topical washing emulsion for treating skin, comprising: a) Benzoyl peroxide (BPO) b) At least one mild surfactant with cleaning and / or foaming properties compatible with BPO, selected from classes of anionic and / or non-ionic surfactants c) zinc gluconate d) dipotassium glycyrrhizate e) an oily phase f) at least one nonionic emulsifier from the family of sugar ester derivatives, and / or polyglycerol esters and / or twin surfactants (030-037). NADAU-FOURCADE discloses desirable foaming surfactants such sodium lauroyl glutamate, sodium cocoyl glycinate and alkyl sulfosuccinates, such as sodium dioctyl sulfosuccinate, alkyl ether sulfosuccinates, alkyl amido sulfosuccinates (047-055). NADAU-FOURCADE teach that said foaming surfactants are present from 0.2-20% actives and up to 10% by weight of the composition (063). In addition, it is suggested within the composition also comprises zinc gluconate. Zinc gluconate (also called zinc gluconium) is the zinc salt of gluconic acid. It is an ionic compound consisting of two moles of gluconate to one mole of zinc. Zinc gluconate is a popular way of administering zinc as a dietary supplement (066). Moreover, the concentration of zinc gluconate expressed by weight in relation to the total weight of the composition is between 0.1 and 1%, preferably between 0.15 and 0.3, and more preferably, 0.2 % (068). Notably, the composition of the invention is an oil-in-water emulsion, containing an aqueous phase with at least 5% water by weight of the total composition, and preferably between 5 and 90% (048) and also includes polyhydric alcohols such as glycerol or glycerin, the amount of polyol of the invention is between 0.1 and 40% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition (080-081). See claim 1.
NADAU-FOURCADE disclose all of the instantly required except the specific disodium lauryl sulfosuccinate surfactant and proportions of at least 20% by weight of said surfactants or 20.5% of total surfactants including anionic and amino based.
WO ‘001 disclose a makeup removing composition that comprises mixing water and the composition to deliver to the skin (page 24, lines 9-14) and comprising surfactants such as well-known anionic surfactants such as C6-C24 alkyl sulfosuccinates; C6-C24 acyl glutamates and C6-C24 acyl glycinates and mixtures thereof (page 17, lines 21-32 and page 20, lines 21-24).
It would have been obvious to the skill artisan in skin care, cleansing and make up removing to include anionic surfactants such as sulfosuccinates, glycinates and glutamates within the range of 20.5% by weight given the teachings of NADAU-FOURCADE and WO ‘001 where said surfactants are well known in the skin car and personal cleansing art for their foaming properties which is suggested in WO ‘001 and desired for formulation in the NADAU-FOURCADE composition. One skilled in the art, in the absence of a showing commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, would have been motivated to include the anionic surfactants as listed within their requisite proportions for the purpose of increasing foaming.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 4
3 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-6-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that NADAU-FOURCADE teach the salt of gluconate from 0.15-0.4%, outside of the amended 0.5-2.5%.
The examiner disagrees and directs applicants attention to the para 0068 and 0146 of NADAU-FOURCADE where the range is clearly suggested from 0.1-1.0% by weight of zinc (divalent salt) of gluconic acid and encompasses the broad range as amended. One skilled in the art would clearly envision component (c) of the tertiary composition as claimed given the specific teachings of each of the claimed ingredients utilized for the same purpose, in the absence of a showing to the contrary.
Applicant’s rep. points to examples 1-3 and comparative example 3 as criticality over the prior art of record.
The examiner contends that applicant’s claims are not commensurate in scope with the broad tertiary composition of the most comprehensive claim yet the examples relied upon require a myriad and plethora of components not suggested by the claims. Therefore, the claims are not commensurate in scope and criticality cannot be established.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761