DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKER et al. (DE 102011054310) in view of BRAY et al. (US 2015/0327592).
Becker teaches a modular apparatus for performing a sequence of assembly operations on components of an inhalation device (abstract), wherein a cigarette reads on an inhalation device. Becker teaches the modular apparatus comprises a set of workstations (11, 12, 14, 16, 17), each workstation of the set of workstations being configured to perform a different assembly operation of the sequence of assembly operations (abstract). Becker teaches each workstation comprises a machine tray support (40 in figure 2) to locate a machine tray (20) in which components for assembly are received, the machine tray support being configured to guide the machine tray located in the machine tray support into a predetermined position in the workstation (see figure 2). Becker teaches each workstation comprises a controller configured to control each workstation (translation page 3 “Preferably, each transport vehicle is remotely controlled”).
Becker is silent to each workstation further comprises an interface unit; and a controller configured to control each workstation via the interface unit.
Bray teaches a modular apparatus for smoking article apparatus for performing a sequence of assembly operations on components of an inhalation device (abstract). Bray teaches the modular apparatus comprises a set of workstations (102a, 103), each workstation of the set of workstations being configured to perform a different assembly operation of the sequence of assembly operations (abstract). Bray teaches each workstation comprises an interface unit (abstract); and a controller configured to control each workstation via the interface unit (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the workstations of Becker to include an interface unit; and a controller configured to control each workstation via the interface unit because Bray teaches that the interface units includes input/output electronics to mediate communication between the module and the controller (para. 0014).
Regarding claim 2, figure 2 of Becker shows each workstation further comprise :a platform slidably mounted relative to the machine tray support for movement into an engaged position in which an assembly operation is carried out on components received in the machine tray located in the predetermined position; wherein the platform of each workstation is configured to mount a different assembly mechanism so that, when the platform is in said engaged position in a workstation, the assembly mechanism of that workstation performs one of the assembly operations of the sequence on the components received in the machine tray located in the predetermined position in that workstation.
Regarding claim 3, figure 2 of Becker shows the platform of each workstation is configured to slide between the engaged position and a disengaged position, in which the machine tray is insertable into, or is removable from, the machine tray support of the workstation.
Regarding claim 4, figure 2 of Becker shows the platform of each workstation is mounted on a pillar (40) for linear movement between the engaged and the disengaged positions.
Regarding claim 5, although Becker shows only one pillar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the platform of each workstation could be supported by four pillars arranged around the machine tray support because it would have been a simple duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding claim 6, figures 4 and 5 show each machine tray support comprises one or more rails (19) configured to support opposing sides of the machine tray so that the machine tray can be inserted into the predetermined position by sliding the machine tray along said rails.
Regarding claim 7, figure 8 shows each machine tray support includes a stop against which the machine tray abuts when inserted into the predetermined position.
Regarding claim 8, Becker teaches at least one workstation of the set of workstations comprises an actuator configured to move the platform between the engaged and disengaged positions (trans. page 6 “common drive 31”).
Regarding claim 17, Becker teaches the set of workstations are configured to perform a first sequence of assembly operations to assemble a first type of component for an inhalation device and wherein the set of workstations can be reconfigured to perform a second sequence of assembly operations, different from the first sequence of operations, to assemble a second type of component for the inhalation device (trans. page 5 “The invention relates…”).
Regarding claim 18, Bray teaches reconfiguring the set of workstations comprises repositioning workstations relative to one another and/or removing one or more workstations and/or adding one or more further workstations (para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the set of workstations of Becker as taught by Bray because Bray teaches that this avoids the need for replacing or extensively reconfiguring the main cabinet (para. 0083).
Regarding claim 19, Bray teaches reconfiguring the set of workstations comprises replacing the assembly mechanism of at least one workstation of the set of workstations, said assembly mechanism being configured to carry out a first assembly operation on components of an inhalation device, with a different assembly mechanism configured to carry out a second assembly operation on components of an inhalation device, different from the first assembly operation (para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the set of workstations of Becker as taught by Bray because Bray teaches that this avoids the need for replacing or extensively reconfiguring the main cabinet (para. 0083).
Regarding claim 22, Bray teaches a method of reconfiguring the modular apparatus by repositioning workstations relative to one another and/or removing one or more workstations and/or adding one or more further workstations (para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the set of workstations of Becker as taught by Bray because Bray teaches that this avoids the need for replacing or extensively reconfiguring the main cabinet (para. 0083).
Regarding claim 23, Bray teaches a method of reconfiguring the modular apparatus by replacing the assembly mechanism of at least one workstation of the set of workstations, said assembly mechanism being configured to carry out a first assembly operation on components of an inhalation device, with a different assembly mechanism configured to carry out a second assembly operation on components of an inhalation device, different from the first assembly operation (para. 0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reconfigure the set of workstations of Becker as taught by Bray because Bray teaches that this avoids the need for replacing or extensively reconfiguring the main cabinet (para. 0083).
Claim(s) 9, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKER et al. (DE 102011054310) in view of BRAY et al. (US 2015/0327592) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WEIS et al. (US 2018/0317375).
Becker as modified by Bray teaches a modular apparatus.
Weiss teaches a modular apparatus for performing a sequence of assembly operations. Weiss teaches that the apparatus comprises a set of workstations (22, 26), each workstation being configured to perform a different assembly operation of the sequence of operations; wherein each workstation comprises a machine tray support (18) to locate a machine tray (14) in which components for assembly are received, the machine tray support being configured to guide the machine tray located in the machine tray support into a predetermined position in the workstation (see figure 1).
Regarding clam 9, Weiss teaches each machine tray support further comprises a proximity switch to determine if a machine tray is located in the predetermined position (para. 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modular apparatus of Becker to include the proximity switch of Weis because Weis teaches that this allows the control system to monitor and system the location of each tray as each tray is transported along the conveyor system (para. 0059).
Regarding claim 11, Weis teaches each workstation comprises a wireless tag reader to detect information identifying a unique wireless tag associated with a machine tray inserted into the workstation, wherein said information is communicated to the controller by the interface unit (para. 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modular apparatus of Becker to include the wireless tag of Weis because Weis teaches that this allows the control system to monitor and system the location of each tray as each tray is transported along the conveyor system (para. 0059).
Regarding claim 16, Weis teaches the wireless tag comprises an RFID tag (para. 0059).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or suggest each workstation comprises a set of stop/go lights to indicate to an operator of the workstation whether to proceed to perform an assembly operation on components received in a machine tray inserted into the workstation, wherein said stop/go lights are configured to provide said indication to the operator on receipt of instructions from the controller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741