Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments, the previous rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Objection
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 should read “wherein the flat cleaning body is fixedly connected”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupuy (GB 191411744) in view of Yang (US 2011/0271472).
Regarding claim 1, Dupuy discloses a cleaning element, comprising:
a plurality of elongated fringes (Item 13) fixed at one end to an annular fringe holder (Item 12) , the annular fringe holder having an interior edge defining a receiver (Item 14):
a holder (Item 9) having a flat cover element (Item 10) and a peripheral rim (Item 11) extending transversely from a first side of the flat cover element, the flat cover element having a peripheral border region extending radially outwardly beyond the peripheral rim (Item 12 fits on the outside of Item 11);
a flat cleaning body of textile material (Item 23) fixedly connected to a second side of the flat cover element opposite the transversely extending peripheral rim and covering the entire second side of the flat cover element including the border region,
wherein the fringe holder is form-fittingly attached at the receiver to the holder so as to peripherally surround the peripheral rim, the fringe holder being disposed on the first side of the border region of the flat cover element; and
Dupuy discusses how the handle can be connected in any manner known. As such, Dupuy fails to explicitly disclose a support body releasably attachable to the holder via a snap closure.
Yang teaches a cleaning element, wherein a support body (Item 20) releasably attachable to the holder (Item 10) via a snap closure (Paragraph 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dupuy to include the snap closure as taught by Yang to connect the handle. Such a modification would allow a user to easily replace the fringe without the use of tools (Yang Paragraphs 16-17).
Regarding claim 9, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1 wherein the flat cover element comprises at least one through-opening (both Dupuy and Yang have an opening for the handle. Items 25/27 in Dupuy and Item 12 in Yang) .
Regarding claim 11, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1, wherein on a side opposing the receiver the support body has a recess with a connection for fastening a handle (best shown in Figure 3 of Yang).
Regarding claim 12, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 11, wherein at least one second through-opening, which produces a flow-conducting connection between the recess and the receiver, is incorporated in the recess (best shown in Figures 2 and 3 of Yang).
Regarding claim 14, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flat cleaning body is fixedly connected to the flat cover element via a stitched connection, an adhesively bonded connection, or by ultrasonic welding (from page 1 line 38- Page 2 Line 2, its discussed the mit is sewn together. Page 2 Lines 24-28 discuss adding a mat, Item 23, to the mit. One of ordinary skill would understand that this too is stitched together since its part of the cloth assembly).
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupuy (GB 191411744) in view of Yang (US 2011/0271472) in view of Channel (US 1,187,608).
Regarding claim 10, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1. Dupuy fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one slot is arranged in portions of a corner region between the peripheral edge rim and the cover element.
Channel teaches a cleaning element wherein at least one slot (Item 19) is arranged in portions of a corner region between the peripheral edge rim and the cover element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dupuy to include at least one slot as taught by Channel. Such a modification would lead to less material in the holder, thus a lighter cleaning element (Channel Lines 91-103).
Regarding claim 15, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1. Dupuy fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least three slots are arranged in portions of a corner region between the peripheral rim and the cover element so as to allow liquid located in the holder to drain through at least one of the three slots.
Channel teaches a cleaning element wherein at least one slot (Item 19) is arranged in portions of a corner region between the peripheral edge rim and the cover element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dupuy to include at least one (or three) slot as taught by Channel. Such a modification would lead to less material in the holder, thus a lighter cleaning element (Channel Lines 91-103). The number of slots (and or size of slots) is viewed as a change in shape of the holder (see MPEP 2144.04). By increasing the number of slots, the weight would decrease. But as every manufacturer well understands there is a balance to reduction in weight and rigidity of the tool. If there are too many slots, the tool could fail. When looking to the specification, there is no criticality discussed between one or three or more slots. Further with the presence of the slot of Channel that passes through the holder, would allow fluid to drain through.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dupuy (GB 191411744) in view of Yang (US 2011/0271472) in view of Maranghi (US 2011/0173767).
Regarding claim 16, Dupuy in view of Yang disclose the cleaning element as claimed in claim 1. Dupuy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of elongated fringes comprise thicker fringes arranged in first zones and thinner fringes arranged in second zones.
Maranghi teaches a cleaning element wherein the plurality of elongated fringes comprise thicker fringes arranged in first zones and thinner fringes arranged in second zones (Paragraph 25-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dupuy to change the fringe to have differing materials and differing thicknesses. Such a modification would affect the cleaning power (abrasive characteristics of the cloth) and the ability to retain fluid within the mop (Maranghi Paragraph 2-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 103- Dupuy in view of Yang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723