DETAILED ACTION
Claims 39-41, 44-56, and 58 are pending. Claims 1-38, 42, 43, and 57 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 2/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 39-41, 44-56, and 58 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ETSI 138 331 V15.9.0 (see attached PTO-892 and prior art rejection, below). In particular, ETSI teaches the configuration of measurement reporting events through particular RRC messages (see pgs. 329-336), where the messages themselves contain parameters that are used to trigger the measurement reporting. Further rationale and the combination of this reference with previously cited ones may be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-41, 46-49, 51, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0314828, which was cited in a previous office action) in view of ETSI TS 138 331 V15.9.0 (see PTO-892) and Li et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0377625, which was cited in a previous office action).
Regarding Claim 39, Kim teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 12 [0314,315] shows a wireless UE), comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig. 12, [0319] The modules can be stored in the memory 1220 and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 12, [0319] The modules can be stored in the memory 1220 and executed by the processor 1210)
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (Fig. 9, [0264-0271] the interaction between the network (i.e., serving cell) and the UE is as follows. UE receives a RRC Reconfiguration message),
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes measurement configuration information; (Fig. 9, [0264-0271] UE receives a RRC Reconfiguration message including a measurement configuration.), and
perform a measurement procedure based on the measurement configuration information; ([0267] The measurement configuration includes configuration of measurement objects and measurement identities. The measurement configuration includes a measurement reporting configurations. [0268] The UE performs neighbor cell measurements (based on the configurations))
determine whether the one or more reporting events are satisfied, ([0268] As a result of neighbor cell measurement, it is determined that neighbor cell A satisfies entering condition of event A3. The UE performs measurement reporting to the network (i.e., measurement reporting #1). The measurement reporting includes information that the neighbor cell A enters event A3. ([0214] Event A3 is an event that neighbor cell quality becomes offset better than SpCell quality))
in response to satisfying a reporting event of the one or more reporting events, transmit the measurement report. (Fig. 10, [0274] In step S1000, the wireless device transmits a measurement report based on a first event for a first cell)
Though Kim teaches the measurement configuration from the network and UE transmitting measurement report based on the trigger events, Kim does not disclose the location based trigger:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes reporting configuration information that comprises one or more reporting events that trigger transmission of a measurement report; and
wherein the reporting event comprises a location based trigger condition, including:
a first distance between the apparatus and a serving cell is greater than a first distance threshold, and
a second distance between the apparatus and a neighbor cell is less than a second distance threshold.
ETSI, however, discloses:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes reporting configuration information that comprises one or more reporting events that trigger transmission of a measurement report (pgs. 329 – 336, ReportConfigInterRAT and ReportConfigNR messages include configurations for B1/2 events and A1/2/3/4/5/6 events. The configuration information for the events includes threshold information and hysteresis information.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC signalling of of Kim with RRC parameters for measurement reporting events as taught by with ETSI. Doing so allows for properly triggering measurement reporting events according to standard event scenarios. (ETSI, pgs. 329 and 331)
Li, however, discloses:
wherein the reporting event comprises a location based trigger condition, including: (Li Fig. 4, 5 [0107] the terminal device receives measurement configuration information sent by the network device before measuring; for example, the measurement configuration information includes: measurement event information based on a channel measurement parameter and/or a location measurement parameter) [0106] step 101: a terminal device measures channel measurement parameters and location measurement parameters of a current serving cell and at least one first adjacent cell. Fig. 5, [0155] discloses measurement reporting condition is a measurement value of the location measurement parameter. [0154] These measurement results may be reported via a measurement report.)
a first distance between the apparatus and a serving cell is greater than a first distance threshold, (Li [0138] a distance between the terminal device and the ground reference point of the current serving cell is greater than or equal to the second (equivalent to first in the claim) location measurement threshold.) and
a second distance between the apparatus and a neighbor cell is less than a second distance threshold. (Li [0138] a distance between the terminal device and the ground reference point of the first adjacent cell (neighbor) is less than or equal to the first (equivalent to second in the claim) location measurement threshold.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Regarding Claim 40, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes reporting configuration information comprising the one or more reporting events. (Fig. 10, [0276] the measurement configuration may include information on the events that may be any one of event A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 and/or A6, indicates one or more reporting events. Fig. 10, [0274-0275] In step S1000, the wireless device transmits a measurement report based on the measurement configuration.)
Regarding Claim 41, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
the measurement procedure is used to measure a serving cell and one or more neighbor cells, and (Fig. 7, [0161-0165] measurement procedures distinguish the following types of cells: NR serving cell(s) - these are the SpCell and one or more SCells, Listed (neighbor) cells—these are cells listed within the measurement object(s), Detected cells - not listed but are detected by the UE. For NR measurement object(s), the UE measures and reports on the serving cell(s), listed cells and/or detected cells. [0213] Ms is the measurement result of the serving cell, [0219] Mn is the measurement result of the neighbouring cell)
at least one of the serving cell and the one or more neighbor cells is a non terrestrial network (NTN) cell. (Fig. 8, 9 [0240, 0250] illustrates UEs are served by at least one satellite (NTN) within the Data Network ([0241] One or several sat-gateways that connect the NTN to a public data network). [0255] the network supports the mobility (e.g., HO) based on the measurement report transmitted from the UE. Because, in NTN, UE with maximum 1000 km velocity is considered, indicates measurement procedure includes NTN.)
Regarding Claim 46, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a timer to trigger (TTT), and (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] To decide the most proper cell to handover, the source cell may configure the wireless device in the measurement configuration with one more event condition for the given carrier frequency, e.g., event A3. the source cell may also provide a new validity timer (in the meas Config, see FIG. 11))
wherein, to determine whether the one or more reporting events are satisfied, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] discloses determining reporting events are satisfied)
in response to a duration time of satisfying an entering condition of a reporting event being equal to or longer than the TTT, (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] The wireless device may confirm that cell A is satisfied with the entering condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3)
determine that the reporting event is satisfied. (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] The wireless device may confirm that cell A is satisfied with the entering condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3. The wireless device may transmit measurement report message including that the cell A enters event A3 to the source cell, indicates the reporting event satisfied prior to transmitting the report.)
Regarding Claim 47, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
where the reporting event further comprises a measurement based trigger condition, ([0160] A UE in RRC_CONNECTED maintains a measurement object list, a reporting configuration list, and a measurement identities list according to signaling and procedures. [0276] measurement configuration may include any one of event A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 and/or A6, described in [0204, 0209, 0214, 0220, 0224, 0230])
the measurement based trigger condition is at least one of:
a measurement result of a neighbor cell is offset better than a measurement result of a serving cell; and ([0230] Event A6 is an event that neighbour cell quality becomes offset better than SCell quality ([0162] The NR serving cell(s)—these are one or more SCells).)
the measurement result of the serving cell is worse than a first threshold and the measurement result of the neighbor candidate cell is better than a second threshold. ([0224] Event A5 is an event that SpCell ([0162] The NR serving cell(s)—these are the SpCell and one or more SCells) quality becomes worse than threshold1 and neighbour cell quality becomes better than threshold2.)
Regarding Claim 48, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a timer to trigger (TTT), (Kim Fig. 11, [0305] the wireless device may confirm that the cell A is satisfied with the leaving condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3. The wireless device may decide the cell A to report leaving event A3.) and
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
in response to a leaving condition of the reporting event being satisfied during the TTT, transmit the measurement report to the serving cell. (Kim Fig. 11 [0305] the wireless device may keep performing neighbor cell measurement based on the measurement configuration. the wireless device may confirm that the cell A is satisfied with the leaving condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger (TTT) defined for the event A3. The wireless device may decide the cell A to report leaving event A3. the wireless device may confirm that the cell B is now satisfied with the entering condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3. The UE may decide the cell B to report entering event A3.)
Regarding Claim 49, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim and Li do not teach:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: in response to the first distance between the apparatus and the serving cell being less than a configured distance value, transmit the measurement report to the serving cell.
Li, however, teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: in response to the first distance between the apparatus and the serving cell being less than a configured distance value, transmit the measurement report to the serving cell. ([0130] measurement reporting condition is: measurement value of the measurement parameter of the current serving cell is less than a measurement threshold; Li teaches the measurement be a distance in [0136] measurement reporting condition is: a measurement value of the location measurement parameter of the first adjacent cell is less than or equal to a first location measurement threshold. [0126] the location measurement parameter includes a distance between the terminal device and a ground reference point.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Regarding Claim 51, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach the apparatus of claim 39. Kim further teaches:
wherein a RRC layer of a user equipment (UE) transmits, to an upper layer of the UE, the measurement configuration information associated with an entering condition and a leaving condition of the reporting event and a TTT value. ([0079] A radio resource control (RRC) layer belongs to L3. The main services and functions of the RRC layer include UE measurement reporting and control of the reporting, indicates upper layer management and control of the measurements. Fig. 11, [0303-0305] discloses measurement configuration in the RRC Reconfiguration includes timer-to-trigger for entering and leaving condition. [0085] NAS layer is located at the top of the RRC layer. The NAS control protocol performs the mobility management. [0108] As part of the RRC reconfiguration procedure, NAS dedicated information may be transferred from the Network to the UE, indicates upper layer interaction with the RRC based on the trigger conditions.)
Regarding Claim 58, Claim 58 is directed to a method claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 58 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claims 44, 45, and 52-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0314828, which was cited in a previous office action) in view of ETSI TS 138 331 V15.9.0 (see PTO-892), Li et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0377625, which was cited in a previous office action), and Ohnaka et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0389458).
Regarding Claim 44, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach claim 39. Kim and Li further teach:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a distance hysteresis parameter, the first distance threshold, and the second distance threshold, (Kim discloses Fig. 9, 11 [0148, 0153-0154] measurement configuration includes Reporting configurations that includes Reporting criterion: The criterion that triggers the UE to send a measurement report. [0208] discloses hysteresis is defined within reportConfigNR in the measurement configuration. Li discloses [0110] the network device may configure the terminal device with: measurement event information based on a channel measurement parameter, measurement event information based on a location measurement parameter, or measurement event information based on a channel measurement parameter and a location measurement parameter. Li in [0136] discloses a first location (distance) measurement threshold for adjacent (neighbor) cell and second location (distance) measurement threshold for current serving cell)
wherein the location based trigger condition comprises an entering condition, and (Li [0094] event triggering: the terminal will trigger sending of the measurement report only upon a satisfaction that a measurement event configured by the network enters a threshold and lasts for a period of time, indicates configuration for entering condition for the reporting trigger.)
Kim and Li do not specifically disclose:
wherein the entering condition comprises one of: a difference between the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the first distance threshold; and a sum of the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the second distance threshold.
Ohnaka, however, discloses:
wherein the entering condition comprises one of:
a difference between the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the first distance threshold; and a sum of the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the second distance threshold. (Ohnaka [0123] as a result of the determination in Step S227, when the distance value CDa ([0115] CDa is an average distance value) is not equal to or larger than the sum of the distance threshold value and the hysteresis value Vhys (same as the difference of distance and hysteresis parameter being greater than the threshold, by rearranging the equation), the determination unit 51 sets the output as ON (S229), indicates the entering condition can be triggered with the difference of distance and the hysteresis greater than the threshold.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kim and Li with the use of distance based hysteresis for entering or leaving condition based measurement report as taught by Ohnaka. Doing so allows the ability to have a width (margin) in determination by the hysteresis value, and it is possible to inhibit too sensitive reaction to a change in distance value calculated. (Ohnaka [¶0012])
Regarding Claim 45, Kim, ETSI, Li and Ohnaka teach claim 44. Kim and Ohnaka further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: determine that a leaving condition of the reporting event is satisfied in response to at least one of: (Kim [0166, 0188] Measurement reporting triggering is described, if the leaving condition applicable for event is fulfilled)
a sum of the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the first distance threshold; and a difference between the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the second distance threshold. (Kim discloses [0207] Ms+Hys<Thresh [Inequality A1-2](Leaving condition) and [0228] Mp − Hys>Thresh1 [Inequality A5-3](Leaving condition 1). Ohnaka further discloses [0114, 0119] at step S220/S221/S222, the determination unit 51 determines a distance value CDa, a hysteresis value Vhys and a distance threshold value as input. [0123] as a result of the determination in Step S227, when the distance value CDa ([0116] CDa can be far side distance CDf (second distance)) is not equal to or larger than the sum of the distance threshold value and the hysteresis value Vhys (same as the difference of distance and hysteresis parameter being greater than the threshold, by rearranging the equation), the determination unit 51 sets the output as ON (S229), indicates the leaving condition can be triggered with the difference of distance and the hysteresis greater than the threshold.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kim and Li with the use of distance based hysteresis for entering or leaving condition based measurement report as taught by Ohnaka. Doing so allows the ability to have a width (margin) in determination by the hysteresis value, and it is possible to inhibit too sensitive reaction to a change in distance value calculated. (Ohnaka [¶0012])
Regarding Claim 52, Kim teaches An apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 2, [0050-0051] The first device 210 includes a base station in a wireless communication system.), comprising:
at least one memory; (Fig. 2, [0055] memory 212) and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (Fig. 2, [0055] memory 212 is connected to the processor 211 and may store various types of information and/or instructions)
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, (Fig. 9, [0264-0271] the interaction between the network (i.e., serving cell) and the UE is as follows. UE receives a RRC Reconfiguration message transmitted by the Network),
and wherein the measurement configuration information includes a distance hysteresis parameter, a first distance threshold, and a second distance threshold; (Kim [0208] discloses hysteresis (Hys) parameter and threshold (Thresh1 and Thresh2) parameters for the events within reportConfigNR (in the measurement configuration ¶0208))
receive a measurement report, ([0268] The UE performs measurement reporting to the network (i.e., measurement reporting #1))
wherein the measurement report comprises a result of a measurement procedure performed by a user equipment (UE), ([0268] The measurement reporting includes information that the neighbor cell A enters event A3 ([0214] Event A3 is an event that neighbour cell quality becomes offset better than SpCell quality), indicates the procedure performed by the UE for the reporting event.)
wherein the measurement procedure includes a determination that a reporting event is satisfied, (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] The wireless device may confirm that cell A is satisfied with the entering condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3. The wireless device may transmit measurement report message including that the cell A enters event A3 to the source cell, indicates the reporting event satisfied prior to transmitting the report.)
wherein the reporting event is satisfied when a leaving condition is satisfied, the leaving condition including: (Kim [0166, 0188] Measurement reporting triggering is described, if the leaving condition applicable for event is fulfilled)
a sum of the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the first distance threshold, or a difference between the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the second distance threshold; (Kim discloses [0207] Ms+Hys<Thresh [Inequality A1-2](Leaving condition) and [0228] Mp − Hys>Thresh1 [Inequality A5-3](Leaving condition 1).
determine whether to perform a handover procedure based on the result of the measurement procedure. ([0093-0094] Step 1: The source gNB configures the UE measurement procedures and the UE reports according to the measurement configuration. Step 2: The source gNB decides to handover the UE, based on MeasurementReport and radio resource management (RRM) information)
Though Kim teaches the measurement configuration from the network and UE transmitting measurement report triggered based on meeting hysteresis and threshold criteria, Kim does not disclose
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes measurement configuration information
the location/distance based trigger:
and wherein the measurement configuration information includes a distance hysteresis parameter, a first distance threshold, and a second distance threshold;
wherein the reporting event includes a location based trigger condition having an entering condition, including:
a difference of a first distance between the apparatus, the UE, and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than a first distance threshold,
ETSI, however, discloses:
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes measurement configuration information (pgs. 329 – 336, ReportConfigInterRAT and ReportConfigNR messages include configurations for B1/2 events and A1/2/3/4/5/6 events. The configuration information for the events includes threshold information and hysteresis information.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRC signalling of of Kim with RRC parameters for measurement reporting events as taught by with ETSI. Doing so allows for properly triggering measurement reporting events according to standard event scenarios. (ETSI, pgs. 329 and 331)
Li, however, discloses:
and wherein the measurement configuration information includes a distance hysteresis parameter, a first distance threshold, and a second distance threshold; (Li Fig. 4, 5 [0107] the terminal device receives measurement configuration information sent by the network device before measuring; for example, the measurement configuration information includes: measurement event information based on a location measurement parameter. [0126] the location measurement parameter includes a distance between the terminal device and a ground reference point. [0138] discloses two distance thresholds, one for current serving cell and another for adjacent cell)
wherein the reporting event includes a location based trigger condition having an entering condition, including: (Li [0094] event triggering: the terminal will trigger sending of the measurement report only upon a satisfaction that a measurement event configured by the network enters a threshold and lasts for a period of time, indicates configuration for entering condition for the reporting trigger. [0135] The terminal device measures the location measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell. If a triggering condition for measurement reporting is satisfied, the terminal device reports the measurement results to the network device.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Though Kim teaches UE transmitting measurement report triggered based on meeting hysteresis and threshold criteria during entering and leaving condition, and Li discloses location based triggering condition (¶0135), Kim and Li do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the reporting event includes a location based trigger condition having an entering condition, including: a difference of a first distance between the apparatus, the UE, and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than a first distance threshold,
wherein the reporting event is satisfied when a leaving condition is satisfied, the leaving condition including:
a sum of the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the first distance threshold, or a difference between the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the second distance threshold;
Ohnaka, however, disclose:
a difference of a first distance between the apparatus, the UE, and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than a first distance threshold, (Ohnaka [0123] as a result of the determination in Step S227, when the distance value CDa ([0116] CDa can be near side distance CDn (first distance)) is not equal to or larger than the sum of the distance threshold value and the hysteresis value Vhys (same as the difference of distance and hysteresis parameter being greater than the threshold, by rearranging the equation), the determination unit 51 sets the output as ON (S229), indicates the entering condition can be triggered with the difference of distance and the hysteresis greater than the threshold.) and
wherein the reporting event is satisfied when a leaving condition is satisfied, the leaving condition including:
a sum of the first distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is less than the first distance threshold, or a difference between the second distance and the distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the second distance threshold; (Ohnaka [0114, 0119] at step S220/S221/S222, the determination unit 51 determines a distance value CDa, a hysteresis value Vhys and a distance threshold value as input. [0123] as a result of the determination in Step S227, when the distance value CDa ([0116] CDa can be far side distance CDf (second distance)) is not equal to or larger than the sum of the distance threshold value and the hysteresis value Vhys (same as the difference of distance and hysteresis parameter being greater than the threshold, by rearranging the equation), the determination unit 51 sets the output as ON (S229), indicates the leaving condition can be triggered with the difference of distance and the hysteresis greater than the threshold.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Kim and Li with the use of distance based hysteresis for entering or leaving condition based measurement report as taught by Ohnaka. Doing so allows the ability to have a width (margin) in determination by the hysteresis value, and it is possible to inhibit too sensitive reaction to a change in distance value calculated. (Ohnaka [¶0012])
Regarding Claim 53, Kim, ETSI, Li and Ohnaka teach the claim 52. Kim and Li further teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a distance offset. (Kim discloses Fig. 9, 11 [0148, 0153-0154] measurement configuration includes Reporting configurations that includes Reporting criterion: The criterion that triggers the UE to send a measurement report. [0208] discloses hysteresis is defined within reportConfigNR in the measurement configuration. [0149] (1) Measurement objects (MOs): A list of objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements. [0150] the network may configure a list of cell specific offsets in measurement object. Li discloses [0110] the network device may configure the terminal device with measurement event information based on a location measurement parameter. Li in [0136] discloses a first location (distance) measurement threshold for adjacent (neighbor) cell and second location (distance) measurement threshold for current serving cell. Therefore, Kim and Li in combination teaches the offset can be for distance used in the equation.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim and Ohnaka with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Regarding Claim 54, Kim, ETSI, Li and Ohnaka teach the apparatus of claim 53. Kim and Li further teach:
wherein the distance offset is associated with at least one of a measurement object of the UE and a satellite. (Kim teaches [0149] (1) Measurement objects (MOs): A list of objects on which the UE shall perform the measurements. [0150] the network may configure a list of cell specific offsets in measurement object. [0241] Fig. 8 discloses one or several sat-gateways that connect the NTN to a public data network. Fig. 9, [0264-0271] shows example of mobility support for UEs in NTN with measurements. Li discloses [0110] the network device may configure the terminal device with measurement event information based on a location measurement parameter. Li in [0136] discloses a first location (distance) measurement threshold for adjacent (neighbor) cell and second location (distance) measurement threshold for current serving cell. Therefore, Kim and Li in combination teaches the offset can be for distance used in the equation.))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim and Ohnaka with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Regarding Claim 55, Kim, ETSI, Li and Ohnaka teach the apparatus of claim 52. Kim and Li further teach:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a second distance hysteresis parameter. (Kim discloses Fig. 9, 11 [0148, 0153-0154] measurement configuration includes Reporting configurations that includes Reporting criterion: The criterion that triggers the UE to send a measurement report. [0208] discloses hysteresis is defined within reportConfigNR in the measurement configuration. Li discloses [0110] the network device may configure the terminal device with measurement event information based on a location measurement parameter. Li in [0136] discloses a first location (distance) measurement threshold for adjacent (neighbor) cell and second location (distance) measurement threshold for current serving cell. Therefore, Kim and Li in combination teaches the hysteresis can be for distance used in the equation.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kim and Ohnaka with the ability to provide an NTN handover method from the current serving cell to the target cell based on location measurement parameters as taught by with Li. Doing so allows realizing a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device. (Li, [¶0006, 0011])
Regarding Claim 56, Kim, ETSI, Li and Ohnaka teach the claim 52. Kim further teaches:
wherein the measurement configuration information includes a timer to trigger (TTT). (FIG. 11, [0299-0303] To decide the most proper cell to handover, the source cell may configure the wireless device in the measurement configuration with one more event condition for the given carrier frequency, e.g., event A3. the source cell may also provide a new validity timer (in the meas Config, see the diagram). The wireless device may confirm that cell A is satisfied with the entering condition of event A3 during the timer-to-trigger defined for the event A3))
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0314828, which was cited in a previous office action) in view of ETSI TS 138 331 V15.9.0 (see PTO-892), Li et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0377625, which was cited in a previous office action) and Maattanen et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0086713, which was cited in a previous office action).
Regarding Claim 50, Kim, ETSI, and Li teach claim 39. Kim and Li do not specifically teach:
wherein an upper layer of a user equipment (UE) maintains at least one of: ephemeris of the UE; and location information of the UE.
Maattanen, however, teaches:
wherein an upper layer of a user equipment (UE) maintains at least one of:
ephemeris of the UE; and location information of the UE. (Maattanen [0055] Processes 400A and 400B set forth in FIGS. 4A and 4B. UE terminal generates and transmits a reporting message containing positioning information indicating an index or indices of one or more reference locations that are estimated or otherwise determined to satisfy a position criterion relative to a current position of the UE terminal (block 406). UE terminal may monitor or continue to monitor its location and responsive thereto, may trigger an update and/or cause a reporting message based on the triggering/reporting criteria, as set forth at block 408. [0078] UE location report can be included in Radio Resource Control (RRC) messages, indicates UE upper layer maintains the location of the UE for the estimations and use RRC for the reporting to network.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Kim and Li with the ability for keeping positioning information as taught by Maattanen to enable reduced signaling load with respect to user equipment (UE) location reporting in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) environment interoperable with one or more terrestrial cellular communications networks, by reporting index-based location information that match a specific reporting criterion configured in the UE. (Maattanen, [¶0006])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Yiu et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0227442), teaches a measurement report configuration including location and associated distance (see at least fig. 5 and paragraphs [0026] – [0027]).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417