DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 07/20/2026. Claims 56-75 are pending for examination.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claim 67 has been amended; Claims 56-75 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 9-10 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, the combination of Lee/Li/Chin does not render the claimed subject matter of Claims 56 and 75 obvious, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it attacks the references individually rather than addressing the combined teachings of Lee, Li, and Chin. Lee is relied upon for the CHO framework, including configuring and evaluating execution conditions for autonomous handover to a candidate cell; Li is relied upon for the use of location information in determining handover; and Chin is relied upon for determining handover based on a distance between an apparatus and a candidate cell. Li and Chin therefore need not independently disclose Lee’s CHO procedure or expressly characterize their respective teachings as CHO execution conditions.
Moreover, Chin’s distance-based handover condition is withing the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited location-based CHO execution condition because it is a handover condition associated with the distance between the apparatus and the candidate cell.
Further, Applicant’s further argument that Chin is not directed to NTN or moving satellite cells is not commensurate with the scope of Claims 56 and 75, which do not require an NTN or moving-satellite environment.
Accordingly, when considered together as set forth in the rejection, the system of Lee/Li/Chin teach or suggest the claimed location-based CHO execution condition in Claims 56 and 75.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pg. 10 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, there is no articulated motivation to combine Lee/Li/Chin in the manner required to reach Claims 56 and 75, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, the motivation to combine arises from the teachings of the references themselves, rather than from Applicant’s disclosure. Lee teaches a CHO framework for improving handover robustness, while Li expressly teaches the use of location information to facilitate timely handover to a target cell during movement of a terminal and thereby maintain service continuity. Thus, one of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to incorporate Li’s location-based handover teachings into Lee’s SHO framework as an additional basis for determining when handover should occur. Chin further teaches a known implementation of such a location-based handover determination in which the distance between the UE and candidate cell is used in determining whether to perform the handover. Applying Chin’s known distance-based criterion to the location-based handover teachings of Li within Lee’s CHO framework would therefore have been a predictable use of know handover techniques for their established purpose. The fact that Lee already employs validity-time parameters does not negate this motivation, as the proposed combination supplements Lee’s CHO execution criteria with an additional location-based criterion rather than replacing Lee’s existing mechanism.
Accordingly, the proposed combination is supported by the express teachings and recognized purposes of the prior art and does not depend upon impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
In conclusion, the system of Lee/Li/Chin teaches Claims 56 and 75. Accordingly, the rejection of Claims 56 and 75 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is upheld.
Applicant’s arguments presented with respect to Claim(s) 67 and the dependent claims are substantively the same as those set forth for Claims 56 and 75. Accordingly, the same reasoning and supporting explanation provided for Claims 56 and 75 are equally applicable to Claim 67 and the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 56, 57, 65, 67-69, and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0167221, previously presented) in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0377625, previously presented), Li hereinafter, and further in view of Chin et al. (US 2012/0269172)
Regarding Claim 56, Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (Fig. 2, Para. [0076-0087]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]):
at least one memory (Fig. 2, elements 104 and 204; Para. [0078, 0079, 0081-0082]; Para. [0115-0121]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 2, elements 102 and 202; Para. [0078 - 0083, 0085-0086]; Para. [0115-0121]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]):
receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes conditional handover (CHO) configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells and a set of parameters of CHO execution conditions associated with the one or more target candidate cells (Para. [0305] - In the CHO procedure, the network can configure multiple candidate cells with CHO triggering condition to UE via RRC dedicated signalling. UE may perform access to one of the candidate cells which satisfies the CHO triggering condition; Fig. 16, step 1601; Para. [0342-0349] - FIG. 16 shows an example of a method for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In particular, FIG. 16 shows an example of a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells satisfying the condition. [0343] For example, if a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period. [0344] Referring to FIG. 16, in step 1601, a UE may acquire CHO configuration. For example, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration, when the UE is in connected mode, [0345] For example, CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO. [0346] For example, each candidate cell in the CHO configuration may be configured with CHO triggering condition. [0347] For example, in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured. [0348] For example, in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured. [0349] For example, absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Para. [0080, 0124, 0127, 0131, 0137, 0140, 0144-0146, 0241, 0245-0248]);
The examiner interprets an RRC reconfiguration message to be RRC dedicated signaling as in Para. [0305].
The examiner interprets the “multiple candidate cells” in Para. [0305] and the “list of candidate cells” in Para. [0345] as the one or more target candidate cells.
The examiner interprets the triggering condition and the associated contents of the triggering condition described in Para. [0346-0349] as a set of parameters of CHO execution conditions associated with the one or more target candidate cells.
evaluate one or more CHO execution conditions associated with each of the one or more target candidate cells (Fig. 16, steps 1602 and 1603; Para. [0350-0353] - [0350] In step 1602, the UE may perform measurement on cells. For example, the UE may perform measurement on the cells in the list included in the CHO configuration. 0351] In step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition. For example, if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition. [0352] For example, CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell. [0353] For example, the remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold.; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]);
The examiner interprets the “measurement on cells” in step 1602 of Fig. 16 and Para. [0350] and the description of “select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition” in step 1603 of Fig. 16 and Para. [0351-0353] as evaluating one or more CHO execution conditions.
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach determine whether a location-based CHO execution condition associated with a target candidate cell is satisfied; and in response to satisfying the location-based CHO execution condition, perform a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell.
However, Li teaches
determine whether a location-based CHO execution condition associated with a target candidate cell is satisfied (Fig. 8; Para. [0225] - As shown in FIG. 8, a source network device (i.e., the network device of the current serving cell) prepares for conditional handover (CHO); the source network device performs measurement configuration, and configures multiple corresponding measurement events (at least one measurement event based on a channel measurement parameter and at least one measurement event based on a location measurement parameter) for each candidate first adjacent cell, and configures multiple handover conditions corresponding to each candidate first adjacent cell. The terminal device measures the channel measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell according to the conditional handover command from the network side, and measures the location measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell. The terminal device selects one of the second adjacent cell(s) to be handed over which satisfies the handover condition as the target cell according to the measurement results of the channel measurement parameters and the measurement results of the location measurement parameters, and performs handover, that is, leaves the current serving cell and accesses the target cell. The terminal device establishes a connection with the target network device of the target cell, for example, an RRC connection. Among them, the parameters such as a preset time period and a threshold in respective measurement events may be different; See also Para. [0226-0229]; Fig. 9, Para. [0230-0247]);
and in response to satisfying the location-based CHO execution condition, perform a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell (Fig. 8; Para. [0225] - As shown in FIG. 8, a source network device (i.e., the network device of the current serving cell) prepares for conditional handover (CHO); the source network device performs measurement configuration, and configures multiple corresponding measurement events (at least one measurement event based on a channel measurement parameter and at least one measurement event based on a location measurement parameter) for each candidate first adjacent cell, and configures multiple handover conditions corresponding to each candidate first adjacent cell. The terminal device measures the channel measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell according to the conditional handover command from the network side, and measures the location measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell. The terminal device selects one of the second adjacent cell(s) to be handed over which satisfies the handover condition as the target cell according to the measurement results of the channel measurement parameters and the measurement results of the location measurement parameters, and performs handover, that is, leaves the current serving cell and accesses the target cell. The terminal device establishes a connection with the target network device of the target cell, for example, an RRC connection. Among them, the parameters such as a preset time period and a threshold in respective measurement events may be different; See also Para. [0226-0229]; Fig. 9, Para. [0230-0247]).
Li Figs. 8-9 and Para. [0225 and 0230] teach the limitation by disclosing that the source network configures CHO measurement events for each target candidate cell based on location measurement parameters. The terminal device determines when the location-based CHO execution condition is satisfied according to these measurements, and, in response, performs the CHO procedure from the source cell to the target candidate cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method and apparatus for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [0001]) with Li’s invention of “a non terrestrial network NTN handover method, a device and a storage medium” (Li Para. [0002]) because Li’s invention provides methods “to realize a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device” (Li Para. [0006]).
Yet, Lee nor Li expressly teach wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell.
However, Chin teaches
wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell (Para. [0043] - In one configuration, the apparatus 350 for wireless communication includes means for determining if a difference between a distance from the UE 350 to a neighbor Node B and a distance from the UE 350 to a serving Node B meets a criteria, and means for determining whether to perform a handover from said serving Node B to said neighbor Node B based on whether the determined difference meets the criteria. In one aspect, the aforementioned means may be the processor(s) 390 configured to perform the functions recited by the aforementioned means. In another aspect, the aforementioned means may be a module or any apparatus configured to perform the functions recited by the aforementioned means; See also Para. [0008-0013]; Fig. 4, Para. [0044-0046]; Fig. 5, Para. [0047-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0055]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0056-0058]; Fig. 8, Para. [0059-0065]; Fig. 9, Para. [0066-0077])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell as taught by Chin, in the combined system of Lee/Li, so that it would provide “handover trigger mechanisms using multiple metrics” (Chin Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 67, Lee teaches an apparatus, comprising (Fig. 2, Para. [0076-0087]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]):
at least memory (Fig. 2, elements 104 and 204; Para. [0078, 0079, 0081-0082]; Para. [0115-0121]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 2, elements 102 and 202; Para. [0078 - 0083, 0085-0086]; Para. [0115-0121]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0088-0092]; Fig. 4, Para. [0094-0096]; Fig. 5, Para. [0098-0122]):
receiving a measurement report (Fig. 14, Step 1410; Para. [0308] - In step S1400, the source gNB may provide measurement control information to the UE. In step S1410, the UE may transmit measurements reports based on the measurement control information; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Fig. 16, Para. [0342-0354]; Para. [0080, 0124, 0127, 0131, 0137, 0140, 0144-0146, 0241, 0245-0248]);
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes conditional handover (CHO) configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells (Fig. 14, Step 1430; Para. [0309-0310] – [0309] In step S1420, the source gNB may prepare condition based autonomous handover procedure with candidate cells (e.g., Cell1 and Cell2 in FIG. 14). In step S1430, the source gNB provides handover assistance information to the UE. [0310] The UE is provided with handover assistance information which includes set of candidate cells and conditions (e.g., RSRP) for handover. It may be possible the network prepares the candidate cells and provide the handover assistance information without the measurement report from the UE if the network is able to know the trajectory or location of the UE based on, e.g., location reporting. Additionally, the network may determine the set of candidate cells based on the received measurement report; Para. [0305]; Fig. 16, step 1601; Para. [0342-0349]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Fig. 16, Para. [0342-0354]; Para. [0080, 0124, 0127, 0131, 0137, 0140, 0144-0146, 0241, 0245-0248]);
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach and a set of parameters of CHO execution conditions associated with the one or more target candidate cells.
However, Li teaches
and a set of parameters of CHO execution conditions associated with the one or more target candidate cells (Fig. 8; Para. [0225] - As shown in FIG. 8, a source network device (i.e., the network device of the current serving cell) prepares for conditional handover (CHO); the source network device performs measurement configuration, and configures multiple corresponding measurement events (at least one measurement event based on a channel measurement parameter and at least one measurement event based on a location measurement parameter) for each candidate first adjacent cell, and configures multiple handover conditions corresponding to each candidate first adjacent cell. The terminal device measures the channel measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell according to the conditional handover command from the network side, and measures the location measurement parameters of the current serving cell and each first adjacent cell. The terminal device selects one of the second adjacent cell(s) to be handed over which satisfies the handover condition as the target cell according to the measurement results of the channel measurement parameters and the measurement results of the location measurement parameters, and performs handover, that is, leaves the current serving cell and accesses the target cell. The terminal device establishes a connection with the target network device of the target cell, for example, an RRC connection. Among them, the parameters such as a preset time period and a threshold in respective measurement events may be different; See also Para. [0226-0229]; Fig. 9, Para. [0230-0247]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method and apparatus for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [0001]) with Li’s invention of “a non terrestrial network NTN handover method, a device and a storage medium” (Li Para. [0002]) because Li’s invention provides methods “to realize a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device” (Li Para. [0006]).
Yet, Lee nor Li expressly teach wherein the location-based CHO execution conditions are associated with distances between a user equipment (UE) and the one or more target candidate cells..
However, Chin teaches
wherein the location-based CHO execution conditions are associated with distances between a user equipment (UE) and the one or more target candidate cells. (Para. [0043]; See also Para. [0008-0013]; Fig. 4, Para. [0044-0046]; Fig. 5, Para. [0047-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0055]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0056-0058]; Fig. 8, Para. [0059-0065]; Fig. 9, Para. [0066-0077])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the location-based CHO execution conditions are associated with distances between a user equipment (UE) and the one or more target candidate cells. as taught by Chin, in the combined system of Lee/Li, so that it would provide “handover trigger mechanisms using multiple metrics” (Chin Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 75, Lee teaches a method performed by an apparatus, the method comprising (Fig. 16, Para. [0342-0354]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Para. [0080, 0124, 0127, 0131, 0137, 0140, 0144-0146, 0241, 0245-0248]):
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message includes conditional handover (CHO) configuration information associated with one or more target candidate cells and a set of parameters of CHO execution conditions associated with the one or more target candidate cells (Para. [0305]; Fig. 16, step 1601; Para. [0342-0349]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Para. [0080, 0124, 0127, 0131, 0137, 0140, 0144-0146, 0241, 0245-0248]);
evaluating one or more CHO execution conditions associated with each of the one or more target candidate cells (Fig. 16, steps 1602 and 1603; Para. [0350-0353]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]);
Yet, Lee does not expressly teach determining whether a location-based CHO execution condition associated with a target candidate cell is satisfied; and in response to satisfying the location-based CHO execution condition, performing a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell.
However, Li teaches
determining whether a location-based CHO execution condition associated with a target candidate cell is satisfied (Fig. 8; Para. [0225]; See also Para. [0226-0229]; Fig. 9, Para. [0230-0247]);
and in response to satisfying the location-based CHO execution condition, performing a CHO procedure from a source cell to the target candidate cell (Fig. 8; Para. [0225]; See also Para. [0226-0229]; Fig. 9, Para. [0230-0247]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lee’s invention of “a method and apparatus for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system” (Lee Para. [0001]) with Li’s invention of “a non terrestrial network NTN handover method, a device and a storage medium” (Li Para. [0002]) because Li’s invention provides methods “to realize a timely handover to a target cell during a moving process of a terminal, thereby ensuring service continuity of the terminal device” (Li Para. [0006]).
Yet, Lee nor Li expressly teach wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell.
However, Chin teaches
wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell (Para. [0043]; See also Para. [0008-0013]; Fig. 4, Para. [0044-0046]; Fig. 5, Para. [0047-0053]; Fig. 6, Para. [0054-0055]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0056-0058]; Fig. 8, Para. [0059-0065]; Fig. 9, Para. [0066-0077])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the location-based CHO execution condition is associated with a distance between the apparatus and the target candidate cell as taught by Chin, in the combined system of Lee/Li, so that it would provide “handover trigger mechanisms using multiple metrics” (Chin Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 57, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 56.
Lee further teaches
wherein at least one of the source cell and the target candidate cell is a non terrestrial network (NTN) cell (Fig. 13, Para. [0304] - Referring to FIG. 13, a handheld device and/or IoT device is connected to a spaceborne platform via a service link. The spaceborne platform is connected to a gateway via a feeder link; Fig. 16, Para. [0342] - FIG. 16 shows an example of a method for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system, according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. In particular, FIG. 16 shows an example of a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells satisfying the condition; See also Fig. 12, Para. [0301-0302]; Para. [0305-0306]; Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Para. [0343-0356]).
The examiner interprets Fig. 13 and Para. [0304] to mean that the handheld or IoT device is connected to a source cell which is a space borne platform, wherein a space borne platform is considered an NTN cell.
Regarding Claim 65, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 56.
Lee further teaches
wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes an absolute time of a user equipment (UE) (Para. [0320] - The baseline of the CHO triggering condition may be cell quality. In addition, regarding that the network can predict when a certain LEO satellite will appear to a UE, absolute validity time period may be considered for additional CHO triggering condition. The UE can trigger CHO to a configured candidate cell only if the cell quality condition is satisfied within the absolute validity time period; See also Para. [0321, 0343, 0348 - 0353, 0356 - 0359, 0365]).
Regarding Claim 68, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Lee further teaches
wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a first distance hysteresis parameter and a distance offset (Para. [0148] - Hereinafter, events for measurement report triggering will be described. It may be referred to as Section 5.5.4 of 3GPP TS 38.331 v15.5.1; Para. [0208] - The parameters of the reference signal(s) of the cell(s) that triggers the event are indicated in the measObjectNR associated to the event which may be different from the measObjectNR of the NR SpCell. Mp+Hys<Thresh1 Inequality A5-1 (Entering condition 1); Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh2 Inequality A5-2 (Entering condition 2); Mp−Hys>Thresh1 Inequality A5-3 (Leaving condition 1); Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh2 Inequality A5-4 (Leaving condition 2); Para. [0212-0214] - [0212] Ofn is the measurement object specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. offsetMO as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell). [0213] Ocn is the cell specific offset of the neighbour cell (i.e. celllndividualOffset as defined within measObjectNR corresponding to the neighbour cell), and set to zero if not configured for the neighbour cell. [0214] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event); See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]).
H
y
s
is interpreted as the first or second distance hysteresis parameter.
Regarding Claim 69, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Lee further teaches
wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a second distance hysteresis parameter, a first distance threshold, and a second distance threshold (Para. [0148] - Hereinafter, events for measurement report triggering will be described. It may be referred to as Section 5.5.4 of 3GPP TS 38.331 v15.5.1; Para. [0208] - The parameters of the reference signal(s) of the cell(s) that triggers the event are indicated in the measObjectNR associated to the event which may be different from the measObjectNR of the NR SpCell. Mp+Hys<Thresh1 Inequality A5-1 (Entering condition 1); Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh2 Inequality A5-2 (Entering condition 2); Mp−Hys>Thresh1 Inequality A5-3 (Leaving condition 1); Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh2 Inequality A5-4 (Leaving condition 2); Para. [0214-0216] - [0214] Hys is the hysteresis parameter for this event (i.e. hysteresis as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0215] Thresh1 is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a5-Threshold1 as defined within reportConfigNR for this event). [0216] Thresh2 is the threshold parameter for this event (i.e. a5-Threshold2 as defined within reportConfigNR for this event).; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]).
T
h
r
e
s
h
1
is interpreted as the second distance threshold;
T
h
r
e
s
h
2
is interpreted as the first distance threshold;
H
y
s
is interpreted as the first or second distance hysteresis parameter.
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li and Chin, and in further view of Yu and Chen (US 2021/0185634, previously presented), Yu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 58, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 56.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a first location based trigger condition, and wherein the first location based trigger condition is: a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is offset greater than a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell.
However, Yu teaches
wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a first location based trigger condition, and wherein the first location based trigger condition is: a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is offset greater than a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell (Fig. 1, S120; Para. [0024] - The first beacon frame includes the first location information, and the first location information is used to characterize the location of the first base station. The second location information is used to characterize the location of a second base station corresponding to a second beacon frame received before the first beacon frame is received. The first base station and the second base station can be the same base station or can be different base stations. As an example, the first location information and the second location information can be GPS information of a corresponding base station, such as GPS latitude and longitude information; Para. [0027] - After the first beacon frame is received, it is possible to determine whether the distance between the first location information and the second location information is greater than a first predetermined threshold, and determine whether the difference between the first received signal strength information and the second received signal strength information is greater than a second predetermined threshold; See also Para. [0026, 0028-0031]; Fig. 2 Para. [0032-0044]; Fig. 3, Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 4, Para. [0054-0061]; Fig. 6, Para. [0071-0078]).
The examiner interprets a base station as a cell.
The examiner interprets Para. [0024] and Para. [0027] as a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is offset greater than a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell because the comparison to a threshold reflects a relative spatial relationship indicating whether the UE is closer to the candidate cell or the source cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a first location based trigger condition, and wherein the first location based trigger condition is: a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is offset greater than a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell as taught by Yu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods which “improve accuracy of determination and save the power consumption of the terminal” when determining base station location” (Yu Para. [0018]).
Claim(s) 62-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li, Chin, and Yu as applied to Claim 58 above, and further in view of Yiu (US 2021/0227442, previously presented).
Regarding Claim 62, Lee in view of Li, Lee, Chin and Yu teaches Claim 58.
Lee further teaches
a combination of a measurement based trigger condition (Fig. 14, S1430; Para. [0310] - The UE is provided with handover assistance information which includes set of candidate cells and conditions (e.g., RSRP) for handover. It may be possible the network prepares the candidate cells and provide the handover assistance information without the measurement report from the UE if the network is able to know the trajectory or location of the UE based on, e.g., location reporting. Additionally, the network may determine the set of candidate cells based on the received measurement report; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Fig. 16, Para. [0342-0356]).
The examiner interprets “conditions for handover” as trigger conditions.
a measurement based trigger condition (Fig. 14, S1430; Para. [0310]; See also Fig. 14, Para. [0307-0321]; Fig. 15, Para. [0324-0341, 0361, 0365]; Fig. 16, Para. [0342-0356]).
The examiner interprets RSRP as in Para. [0310] as a measurement based trigger condition.
Yu further teaches the
the first location based trigger condition (Fig. 1, S120; Para. [0024]; Para. [0027]; See also Para. [0026, 0028-0031]; Fig. 2 Para. [0032-0044]; Fig. 3, Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 4, Para. [0054-0061]; Fig. 6, Para. [0071-0078]).
a second location based trigger condition (Fig. 1, S120; Para. [0024]; Para. [0027]; See also Para. [0026, 0028-0031]; Fig. 2 Para. [0032-0044]; Fig. 3, Para. [0045-0053]; Fig. 4, Para. [0054-0061]; Fig. 6, Para. [0071-0078]).
The examiner interprets the second location based trigger condition to be the same as the first location based trigger condition.
Yet, Lee, Li, Chin, nor Yu expressly teach wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT).
However, Yiu teaches
wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT) (Fig. 1; Para. [0026] - In a first embodiment, a new event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT). For example, the UE may start a timer upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires; See also Para. [0027, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0150, 0156-0157, 0168]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT) as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin/Yu, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 63, Lee in view of Li, Lee, Chin, Yu, and Yiu teach Claim 62.
Yet, Lee, Li, Chin, nor Yu teach in response to duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT and duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT, determine that the CHO execution condition is satisfied.
However, Yiu teaches
in response to duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT (Para. [0150] - Example 20 may include the method of example 15-19 or some other example herein, wherein the measurement report configuration further indicates a time-to-trigger (TTT) timer duration for which the entering or leaving condition should be met to trigger the measurement report; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126])
and duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT (Para. [0025] - In regular handover, the network configures measurement configuration by configuring one of the events. When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. Currently, all the events are based on measurement value or comparison in RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR between serving cell and neighboring cell. In Aerial WI in LTE, event based on height (elevation) is introduced to trigger measurement report for Aerial UE. However, existing events will not work for NTN UE due to the low variation in signal and long propagation delay; Para. [0028] - In some embodiments, the event triggers of the first and/or second embodiments may be combined with another event using an “AND” condition. For example, the UE will send measurement report if an existing event and one of the conditions in the first embodiment (e.g., entering condition) or the second embodiment (e.g., leaving condition) are satisfied; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]),
The examiner interprets “if the events hold” in Para. [0025] as a duration of time satisfying an entering condition.
The examiner interprets Para. [0028] as the event triggers, which include the TTT timer, can be combined with other types of events, such as the measurement events described in Para. [0025]. Since the location-based triggers include TTT, it is reasonable to interpret that the measurement-based triggers can also include TTT.
determine that the CHO execution condition is satisfied (Para. [0028] - In some embodiments, the event triggers of the first and/or second embodiments may be combined with another event using an “AND” condition. For example, the UE will send measurement report if an existing event and one of the conditions in the first embodiment (e.g., entering condition) or the second embodiment (e.g., leaving condition) are satisfied; Para. [0150] - Example 20 may include the method of example 15-19 or some other example herein, wherein the measurement report configuration further indicates a time-to-trigger (TTT) timer duration for which the entering or leaving condition should be met to trigger the measurement report; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]).
The examiner interprets “to trigger the measurement report” in Para. [0150] as determining that the CHO execution condition is satisfied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT and duration time of satisfying an entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT, determining that the CHO execution condition is satisfied as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin/Yu, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 64, Lee in view of Li, Chin, Yu, and Yiu teach Claim 62.
Yet, Lee, Li, Chin, nor Yu teach determine that the CHO execution condition is not satisfied in response to one of: a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the first location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; or a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; and determine that at least one of the entering condition of the first location based trigger condition, the entering condition of the second location based trigger, and the entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition is not satisfied during the TTT.
However, Yiu teaches
determine that the CHO execution condition is not satisfied in response to one of: a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the first location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT (Para. [0150]; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]);
or a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT (Para. [0150]; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]);
or a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT (Para. [0025]; Para. [0028]; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]);
and determine that at least one of the entering condition of the first location based trigger condition, the entering condition of the second location based trigger, and the entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition is not satisfied during the TTT (Para. [0150]; See also Para. [0024-0025, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0156, 0157, 0168]; Fig. 5, Para. [0116-0118]; Fig. 6, Para. [0119]; Fig. 7, Para. [0120-0121]; Fig. 8, Para. [0122-0124]; Fig. 9, Para. [0125-0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determine that the CHO execution condition is not satisfied in response to one of: a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the first location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the second location based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; or a duration time of satisfying a leaving condition of the measurement based trigger condition being equal to or longer than the TTT; and determine that at least one of the entering condition of the first location based trigger condition, the entering condition of the second location based trigger, and the entering condition of the measurement based trigger condition is not satisfied during the TTT as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin/Yu, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 59-61, 72, and 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li, Chin, and Yiu.
Regarding Claim 59, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 56.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a second location based trigger condition, and the second location based trigger condition is at least one of: a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is greater than a first distance threshold; and a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell is less than a second distance threshold.
However, Yiu teaches
wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a second location based trigger condition, and the second location based trigger condition is at least one of:
a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is greater than a first distance threshold (Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0117] - At 504, the process 500 may further include determining that the UE is within the distance of the location. Accordingly, the UE may determine that it has entered an area defined by the location and the distance; See also Fig. 1; Para. [0026-0028, 0029-0064]);
and a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell is less than a second distance threshold (Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0117]; See also Fig. 1; Para. [0026-0028, 0029-0064]).
The examiner interprets “the location” in Para. [0117] and Fig. 5 as the source cell or the target candidate cell.
The examiner interprets “within distance” as either less than or greater than a threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the location-based CHO execution condition comprises a second location based trigger condition, and the second location based trigger condition is at least one of: a first distance between a user equipment (UE) and the source cell is greater than a first distance threshold; and a second distance between the UE and the target candidate cell is less than a second distance threshold as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 60, Lee in view of Li , Chin, and Yiu teaches Claim 59.
Lee further teaches
wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a second distance hysteresis parameter (Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]), the first distance threshold (Para. [0140, 0153, 0157, 0165, 0169, 0193, 0199, 0208, 0215-0216]), and the second distance threshold (Para. [0140, 0153, 0157, 0165, 0169, 0193, 0199, 0208, 0215-0216]),
The examiner notes that the first distance threshold can be the same as the second distance threshold.
wherein the second location based trigger condition comprises a second distance entering condition of the CHO procedure (Para. [0140, 0151, 0153, 0165, 0175, 0178, 0192, 0193 0205, 0208, 0223, 0226]),
and wherein the second distance entering condition comprises one of:
a difference between the first distance and the second distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the first distance threshold (Para. [0208] - Mn+Ofn+Ocn−Hys>Thresh2; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]);
M
n
is interpreted as the first distance;
H
y
s
is interpreted as the first or second distance hysteresis parameter;
T
h
r
e
s
h
2
is interpreted as the first distance threshold.
and a sum of the second distance and the second distance hysteresis parameter is less than the second distance threshold (Para. [0208] - Mp+Hys<Thresh1; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]).
M
p
is interpreted as the second distance;
H
y
s
is interpreted as the first or second distance hysteresis parameter;
T
h
r
e
s
h
1
is interpreted as the second distance threshold.
Regarding Claim 61, Lee in view of Li, Chin, and Yiu teaches Claim 59 and Claim 60.
Lee further teaches determining that a distance leaving condition of the CHO procedure is satisfied in response to at least one of:
a sum of the first distance and the first distance hysteresis parameter is less than the sum of the second distance and the distance offset (Para. [0226] - Mn+Ocn+Hys<Ms+Ocs+Off; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]);
a sum of the first distance and the second distance hysteresis parameter is less than the first distance threshold (Para. [0208] - Mn+Ofn+Ocn+Hys<Thresh2; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]);
and a difference between the second distance and the second distance hysteresis parameter is greater than the second distance threshold (Para. [0208] - Mp−Hys>Thresh1; See also Para. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232]).
Regarding Claim 72, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Lee teaches measurement objects associated with the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions in PARA. [0140, 0153, 0156, 0165, 0168, 0178, 0186, 0193, 0198, 0208, 0214, 0226, 0232].
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a first EA hysteresis parameter and an EA offset.
However, Yiu teaches
wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a first EA hysteresis parameter and an EA offset (Para. [0025] - In regular handover, the network configures measurement configuration by configuring one of the events. When the UE performs measurement periodically and check if the events hold, the UE then sends measurement report to the network. Currently, all the events are based on measurement value or comparison in RSRP, RSRQ, or SINR between serving cell and neighboring cell. In Aerial WI in LTE, event based on height (elevation) is introduced to trigger measurement report for Aerial UE. However, existing events will not work for NTN UE due to the low variation in signal and long propagation delay.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a first EA hysteresis parameter and an EA offset as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 73, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT).
However, Yiu teaches
wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT) (Fig. 1; Para. [0026] - In a first embodiment, a new event may be defined for a UE entering a location within a distance. In this embodiment, the network may configure a location with a distance (e.g. a location 102 with distance d1 in FIG. 1). When the UE enters the region (e.g., circular region) defined by the location 102 and distance d1 in FIG. 1, the UE will send measurement report to the network. This event may optionally be used with a configured time-to-trigger (TTT). For example, the UE may start a timer upon entering the location, and the measurement report may be triggered when the timer expires; See also Para. [0027, 0131-0133, 0141-0143, 0150, 0156-0157, 0168])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a timer to trigger (TTT) as taught by Yiu, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods which mitigate challenges for NTN handover such as the triggering of meaningless measurement reports or the UE never triggering a measurement report (Yiu Para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li and Chin, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0351694, previously presented), Chen hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 66, Lee in view Li and Chin teach Claim 56.
Yet, Lee, Lim, nor Chin expressly teach upon successfully accessing the target candidate cell, remove the CHO configuration information and the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions.
However, Chen teaches
upon successfully accessing to target candidate cell, remove the CHO configuration information and the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions (Fig. 1, step 120; Para. [0062] - In action 118, UE 11 may maintain connection with source BS 13 after receiving the CHO configuration, and start evaluate the CHO execution conditions (or the CHO trigger conditions) for the candidate cell(s). In actions 120 and 122, if at least one CHO candidate cell satisfies the corresponding CHO execution condition (or the corresponding CHO trigger condition), UE 11 may detach from source BS 13, apply the stored corresponding configuration for that new cell (e.g., the selected candidate cell), and synchronize to that candidate cell and complete the RRC handover procedure (or CHO procedure) by sending an RRC reconfiguration complete message (e.g., the RRCReconfigurationComplete message) to the target BS (e.g., one of target BS 15 and other potential target BS(s) 15). UE 11 may release the stored CHO configurations after the successful completion of the RRC handover procedure. Note that a CHO configuration may be configured with one or two trigger conditions; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0072-0074]; Fig. 4, Para. [0075-0077]; Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0085]; Para. [0108-0109, 0111-0116, 0119-0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide upon successfully accessing to target candidate cell, remove the CHO configuration information and the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions as taught by Chen, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide “methods to deal with the collision and/or failure of CHO execution” (Chen Para. [0121]).
Claim(s) 70 and 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li and Chin, and further in view of Chen2 et al. (US 2016/0323070, previously presented), Chen2 hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 70, Lee in view Li and Chin teach Claim 67.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a first timing advance (TA) hysteresis parameter and a TA offset.
However, Chen2 teaches
wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a first timing advance (TA) hysteresis parameter and a TA offset (Fig. 4, steps 410 and 425; Para. [055] - In some cases, UE 115-c and base station 105-b may identify a set of timing advance threshold values, such that the HARQ timing is determined based on the set of timing advance threshold values. In some examples, the set of timing advance threshold values may include a hysteresis value, such that the timing advance parameter may be limited to a set duration offset based on the hysteresis value; See also Para. [0065]).
The examiner notes that Chen2 teaches that the TA value and associated hysteresis and offset are calculated separately from the determination of the HARQ timing (see Fig. 4). Therefore, Chen2 teaches the TA hysteresis and offset can be determined by the station and transmitted to the UE, supporting the interpretation that these parameters can be used more broadly – including in the context of CHO execution – as taught by Lee.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a first timing advance (TA) hysteresis parameter and a TA offset as taught by Chen2, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods to incorporate UEs with a large propagation delay, as in the case of NTN applications, into low latency operations (Chen2 Para. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 71, Lee in view of Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach wherein the set of parameters of CHO execution conditions includes a first TA hysteresis parameter and a TA offset.
However, Chen2 teaches
wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a second timing advance (TA) hysteresis parameter, a first TA threshold, and a second TA threshold (Fig. 4, steps 410 and 425; Para. [055] - In some cases, UE 115-c and base station 105-b may identify a set of timing advance threshold values, such that the HARQ timing is determined based on the set of timing advance threshold values. In some examples, the set of timing advance threshold values may include a hysteresis value, such that the timing advance parameter may be limited to a set duration offset based on the hysteresis value; See also Para. [0065]).
The examiner notes that the method in Fig. 4 determines a set of threshold values, i.e., more than one threshold value.
The examiner notes that since the method in Chen2 is used for HARQ feedback, which involves repeated transmissions and timing adjustments, it is implied that multiple TA thresholds, hysteresis values, and offsets can be determined to adapt to varying conditions. This supports the interpretation that the base station can dynamically configure and transmit different TA-related parameters to the UE as needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the set of parameters of the location-based CHO execution conditions includes a second timing advance (TA) hysteresis parameter, a first TA threshold, and a second TA threshold as taught by Chen2, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide methods to incorporate UEs with a large propagation delay, as in the case of NTN applications, into low latency operations (Chen2 Para. [0004]).
Claim(s) 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Li and Chin, and further in view of Dudzinski et al. (US 2022/0338081, previously presented), Dudzinski hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 74, Lee in view Li and Chin teaches Claim 67.
Yet, Lee, Li, nor Chin expressly teach transmit a mapping table including one or more entries, wherein the one or more entries include at least one of: a mapping association between distance information of a user equipment (UE) and a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell; and a mapping association between the distance information of the UE and a TA value between the UE and a target candidate cell.
However, Dudzinski teaches
transmit a mapping table including one or more entries, wherein the one or more entries include at least one of (Fig. 1, Para. [0061-0063]; Fig. 14, Para. [0133-0141]):
a mapping association between distance information of the user equipment (UE) and a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell (Para. [0138] - In instances where the timing advance is encoded within a lookup table based on ranges of separation distance, then as mentioned earlier in one example implementation that lookup table will provide timing advance information for each of a number of different possible RACH configurations, and the prospect of violating receive/transmit timing constraints can be taken into account when populating the lookup table, so that in effect the evaluation at step 1210 is taken into account when initially populating the lookup table. In that event it will merely be sufficient to determine the range that the separation distance falls within and then obtain the appropriate timing advance to use from the lookup table at step 1205. Hence, in that case steps 1210, 1215 and 1210 would not be needed; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061-0063]; Fig. 14, Para. [0133-0141]);
and a mapping association between the distance information of the UE and a TA value between the UE and a target candidate cell (Para. [0138]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0061-0063]; Fig. 14, Para. [0133-0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit a mapping table including one or more entries, wherein the one or more entries include at least one of: a mapping association between distance information of a user equipment (UE) and a timing advance (TA) value between the UE and the source cell; and a mapping association between the distance information of the UE and a TA value between the UE and a target candidate cell as taught by Dudzinski, in the combined system of Lee/Li/Chin, so that it would provide “an improved mechanism for performing a handover analysis” in systems which rely on “metrics like RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) and RSRQ (Reference Signal Received Quality)” which may trigger “sub-optimal handover decisions” (Dudzinski Para. [0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al. (US 20220338090), Fig. 2A and Para. [0084, 0106] teach conditional handover configurations for candidate cells selected based on terminal location, including evaluating handover conditions for target candidate cells and, for a moving UAV, selecting a target cell based on location/flight-point information and a corresponding candidate conditional handover configuration.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468