Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 2-5, in the reply filed on June 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 6-26 are withdrawn. Claims 2-5 are under consideration.
Priority: This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/108680, filed July 27, 2021, which claims benefit to provisional application 63/057933, filed July 29, 2020.
Failure to Comply with Sequence Rules
Where the description of a patent application discusses a sequence of 4 or more amino acids or a sequence of 10 or more nucleic acids, reference must be made to the sequence by use of the sequence identifier preceded by “SEQ ID NO:” in the text of the description even if the sequence is also embedded in the text of the description of the patent application (see 37 CFR 1.821, especially paragraphs (a)-(d)). The sequence identifier may be used in either the drawing or the Brief Description of Drawings (see MPEP 2422).
Objection to the Drawings
The drawings are objected to because at least Figs. 1, 2, 25B, 34B, recite a sequence without a corresponding SEQ ID NO. The sequences must be in computer readable form (CRF) for search. See MPEP 2422 for sequence compliance requirements. Appropriate correction is
required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2019101195; IDS 06.14.23) in view of Thorson et al. (1991 Methods in Molecular Biology Vol. 77: 43-73). Li et al. disclose providing functionalized peptides and peptide inhibitors that target or inhibit π-π-π stacking interactions in the YEATS domain (at least abstract, p. 1-4, example 1-2). Li et al. disclose generating inhibitors and that two inhibitors carrying a 2-furancarbonyl side chain (XL-07; alternate name: 4.7; Table 1) and a 5-oxazolecarbonyl side chain (XL-13; alternate name: 4.13; Table 1) resulted in the strongest inhibitory activities (at least p. 102). Li et al. disclose inhibitor XL-07 is a peptide comprising 2-furancarbonyl lysine (at least Table 2, Table 5). Li et al. disclose various peptide inhibitors comprising 2-furancarbonyl lysine (at least Table 2, Table 5). Li et al. disclose “peptide” as used herein includes oligomers of amino acids and small and large peptides, including polypeptides (at least p. 33). Li et al. disclose working examples of peptide synthesis incorporating 2-furancarbonyl lysine (at least p. 94-95) but do not explicitly teach translation of an RNA encoding said polypeptide. However, Li et al. disclose that the amino acid analogs are incorporated into the disclosed peptides; these amino acids can readily be incorporated into polypeptide chains by chemical synthesis or by charging tRNA molecules with the amino acid of choice and engineering genetic constructs that utilize, for example, amber codons, to insert the analog amino acid into a peptide chain in a site specific way (citing Thorson et al.) (p. 37-38).
Thorson et al. disclose recently, a biosynthetic approach has been developed that allows site-specific incorporation of unnatural amino acids into proteins; this method involves replacement of the codon for the amino acid of interest with the amber nonsense codon by conventional oligonucleotide-directed mutagenesis; a synthetic amber suppressor tRNA is then chemically aminoacylated with the desired unnatural amino acid and added to an in vitro transcription-translation system programmed with the mutagenized DNA (at least p. 43-44, also Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed method for making a polypeptide comprising a 2-furancarbonyl lysine, comprising translating an RNA encoding said polypeptide, where the RNA comprises an amber codon, and wherein the translating is carried out in the presence of tRNA charged with 2-furancarbonyl lysine and the translating stops at the amber codon (instant claim 2). The motivation to do so is given by the prior art Li et al., which disclose creating peptide inhibitors comprising 2-furancarbonyl lysine by charging tRNA molecules with the amino acid of choice and engineering genetic constructs that utilize, for example, amber codons, to insert the analog amino acid into a peptide chain in a site specific way. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because methods for incorporating unnatural amino acids into polypeptides by charging tRNA molecules with the unnatural amino acid of interest in an in vitro transcription-translation system are known and practiced in the prior art.
Regarding instant claim 3, Li et al. disclose the unnatural amino acid to be incorporated by charged tRNA molecules is 2-furancarbonyl lysine (at least p. 37-38, 94-95, 102) and Thorson et al. disclose incorporating the unnatural amino acid in a protein in the presence of the charged tRNA molecule, the unnatural amino acid, and tRNA synthetase (at least p. 44, 45-61).
Claims 2-3, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2019101195; IDS 06.14.23) in view of Thorson et al. (1991 Methods in Molecular Biology Vol. 77: 43-73) and Wan et al. (2014 Biochimica et Biophysica Acta 1844: 1059-1070; IDS 06.14.23). The teachings of Li et al. in view of Thorson et al. over at least instant claims 2-3 are noted above.
Regarding instant claim 4, Wan et al. disclose that unlike most aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases pyrrolysyl-tRNA-synthetase (PylRS) displays high substrate side chain promiscuity, low selectivity towards its substrate α-amine, and low selectivity toward the anticodon of tRNAPyl (at least p. 1059). Wan et al. disclose these unique but ordinary features of PylRS as an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase allow the Pyl incorporation machinery to be easily engineered for the genetic incorporation of more than 100 non-canonical amino acids (at least p. 1059). Wan et al. disclose to date, more than 30 lysine derivatives have been genetically incorporated into proteins at amber codon in living cells using engineered PylRS-tRNAPyl pairs (at least p. 1065). Wan et al. disclose known PylRS mutants include a M. barkeri PylRS having the mutations L274A/C313F/Y349F (at least p. 1065, Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the M. barkeri PylRS mutant L274A/C313F/Y349F of Wan et al. for the tRNA synthetase of Thorson et al. in the method for making a polypeptide comprising a 2-furancarbonyl lysine of Li et al. in view of Thorson et al. noted above. The motivation to do so is given by Wan et al., which disclose PylRS has unique features over aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases incorporating unnatural amino acids into proteins. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art discloses PylRS as an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase allow the Pyl incorporation machinery to be easily engineered for the genetic incorporation of Lys derivatives.
Regarding instant claim 5, Thorson et al. disclose the charged tRNA comprises CUA (at least p. 58, 60-61) and Wan et al. disclose the tRNAPyl comprises CUA (at least p. 1060, 1067). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill that the M. barkeri PylRS of Wan et al. pairs with a M. barkeri -tRNAPyl comprising CUA that is charged with 2-furancarbonyl lysine in the method for making a polypeptide comprising a 2-furancarbonyl lysine of Li et al. in view of Thorson et al. noted above.
No claim is allowed.
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656