DETAILED ACTION
Applicants response filed on 8/14/2026 have been entered.
Claims 43-52 are examined in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 and 46-50 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (2013, PLoS ONE, Vol. 8(12), pgs. 1-13) in view of Lowery et al. (WO 2017/127727) for reasons of record in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/14/2026 (and repeated below).
Regarding claims 43 and 46-50, Chung et al. teach a method of determining if immune elements (IL-10) reactive to a selected pathogen (B. burgdorferi) are present in a sample comprising culturing macrophages and dendritic cells infected with B. burgdorferi,
and monitoring one or more selected behaviors (phagocytic activity) of the cultured cells (see Abstract, Introduction and pg. 4 col. 1 parag. 1).
Chung continues to teach that mast cells and neutrophils are also involved in the clearance of B. burgdorferi (pg. 2 col. 1 parag. 2).
Chung does not teach:
presenting a sample to the cultured cells and incubating.
Regarding presenting a sample, Lowery et al. teach a method of a using a patient
sample to screen for the presence of a pathogen such as B. burgdorferi (pg. 2 lines 8-26 and pg. 7 line 25).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Chung regarding the role of B. burgdorferi in triggering an immune element such as IL-10 with the teaching of Lowery regarding screening patient samples for B. burgdorferi to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Chung teaches that IL-10 expression can be used to evaluate if immune cells are infected by a pathogen such as B. burgdorferi and Lowery teaching that human samples can be used to screen for the presence of B. burgdorferi.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that that IL-10 expression could be detected in a sample since Chung teaches that immune cells such as macrophages and dendritic cells secrete IL-10 in response to B. burgdorferi infection.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ Arguments
Applicants argue in amendment that the Office Action expressly concedes that Chung does not teach "presenting a sample to the cultured cells and incubating" (Office Action, p. 3), and relies solely on Lowery to remedy that deficiency. Lowery does not remedy it. By the Examiner's own characterization, Lowery teaches "a method of using a patient sample to screen for the presence of a pathogen such as B. burgdorferi" (Office Action, pp. 3-4). Screening a sample for a pathogen is a categorically different operation from presenting a sample to cultured cells and incubating so that the cells' behavior may be monitored. Lowery neither cultures the pathogen (or cells infected by it) nor exposes any such culture to a presented sample; it detects the pathogen directly. The limitation the Examiner concedes is absent from Chung therefore remains absent from the combination, and a rejection missing a claim limitation cannot stand. See MPEP § 2143.03.
Applicants continue that claim 43 determines whether reactive immune elements are present in a sample; Chung does no such thing. Chung is a mechanistic study of how B. burgdorferi elicits interleukin-10 (IL-10), which suppresses phagocytosis and other functions of murine macrophages and dendritic cells. As the Office Action itself recites, those cells secrete IL-10 in response to B. burgdorferi infection (Office Action, p. 4). IL-10 is thus a cytokine the cultured cells produce, not "an immune element present in a sample" that Chung tests. Chung interrogates no sample and reaches no determination about any sample's contents; the phagocytosis change it observes is driven by the pathogen's own IL-10-mediated immunosuppression, not by immune elements in a presented sample. Chung's inquiry also runs in the opposite direction from the claim's: it studies what the pathogen does to the cells, not what an unknown sample contains. Chung therefore supplies none of the three things claim 43 requires: a presented sample, a control culture, and attribution of an observed behavioral change to sample-borne immune elements. Mapping Chung's mechanistic observation onto the claimed sample-content determination is a results-oriented reading the reference does not support the claimed combination.
Every applied reference, on the Examiner's own account, is directed to detecting a
pathogen or characterizing an infection rather than to detecting immune elements reactive to a
pathogen in a sample. Lowery screens for the "presence of a pathogen"; Bummitt (2014) -
designated "Bummitt" in the Office Action and the accompanying PTO-892, and published under first-named author Brummitt - is cited as teaching ESR "as a screen for detecting B. burgdorferi infection"; Bernard teaches that "B. burgdorferi infection induces degranulation of mast cells"; and Izycka teaches that "B. burgdorferi infection induces phagocytosis of infected cell via neutrophils" (Office Action, pp. 4-7). For consistency with the record, Applicant refers to this reference throughout as the Office Action designates it. None is concerned with whether a
presented sample contains immune elements that react to the pathogen.
The Examiner's stated motivation is expressly directed to pathogen/infection status: "IL-
expression can be used to evaluate if immune cells are infected," combined with using "human
samples. to screen for the presence of B. burgdorferi" (Office Action, pp. 3-4). That rationale
would lead an artisan at most to a pathogen-detection assay, not to the claimed functional detection of reactive immune elements in a presented sample, and SO does not rationally underpin the actual claimed combination. The mismatch is compounded by the references' differing character: Lowery is a direct, single-step screen of a patient sample for the pathogen, requiring no culture, whereas Chung is a multi-day study of live, pathogen-infected macrophage and dendritic-cell cultures characterizing an immunosuppressive mechanism. Neither reference identifies, and the Office Action does not supply, any reason a skilled artisan would have imported Chung's live cell-culture system into Lowery's screen to arrive at claim 43. Least of all would such an artisan have had reason to invert the architecture of the assay, recasting the pathogen from the analyte being sought into the reagent doing the sensing, which is what claim 43 requires. See KSR; MPEP §§ 2143, 2144.
Nor would there have been a reasonable expectation of achieving the claimed result, since neither reference performs the claimed functional-modulation measurement at all. The only
document mapping the cited teachings onto the claimed steps is Applicant's own specification.
Any interpretation otherwise is impermissible hindsight. See MPEP § 2142.
Claim 43 requires that the sample be deemed to contain reactive immune elements only
where the monitored behavior is "modulated, relative to the behavior of like cells not exposed to
samples comprising reactive immune elements." This distinct limitation requires both a
comparison against control cultures not exposed to such a sample and a determination keyed to that comparison, rather than to the cultured cells' behavior in isolation. The specification confirms that this comparison is integral to the elected invention rather than incidental to it: its general implementation requires that the cultured cells' behavior be "assessed and compared to the behavior of cells cultured with samples that do not contain reactive immune elements" (Spec. I [00146]; see also I [00155]).
This limitation is missing from the art independent of the deficiencies above. Even
assuming arguendo a proper reason to combine Chung and Lowery, nothing in either reference -
or in Bummitt, Bernard, or Izycka - runs a matched control culture unexposed to sample or
determines sample content from the difference between exposed and unexposed cultures. Chung
compares Bb-exposed wild-type cells to IL-10, deficient cells to isolate an IL-10-specific effect,
not sample-exposed to sample-unexposed cultures; Lowery performs no cell-culture comparison
at all. This control-referenced step is thus a separate, untaught requirement that independently
supports withdrawal of the rejection of claim 43 and dependent claims 44-52.
Examiner’s Response
Applicants arguments have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. The claimed method requires three active steps, culturing cells comprising the pathogen, incubating the cells with a sample and monitoring the behavior of the cells. All three of these active steps are taught in the art above. The goal of the three steps is to satisfy the intent of the claim which is to determine if immune elements reactive to a selected pathogen are present, this is also taught by the art above. The art is not categorically different as Applicant argues because Chung detects IL-10 (a reactive immune element), produced in response to a pathogen, following culturing between a sample and a pathogen.
Further it should be emphasized the there is no limiting definition for the term “modulated” in the specification and is only recited three times. Additionally, the specification teaches in paragraph. 153 no limiting definition for “behavior” but rather a list of exemplary behaviors:
“Any cellular behavior may be selected for monitoring. Exemplary behaviors include, for example, growth or growth rate, growth patterns, cellular morphology, topography
of the cells or cultures, expression or secretion of biomolecules, biofilm formation or other
aggregation, movement, phagocytic activity, distribution and density in culture conditions
where localized clustering occurs in samples containing antibodies against the pathogen.
Further, the “monitoring” is also sufficiently broad and has no limiting definition as taught by the specification in paragraph 154:
“Monitoring may be achieved by suitable instruments for detection of the selected behavior(s). For example, fluorescence microscopy may be used to monitor growth patterns of cultures. In a primary embodiment, cultured cells are monitored using a continuous live cell imaging system such as the INCUCYTE(TM) live cell imaging system. In some embodiments, the behavior is monitored in an automated fashion by pattern recognition software. Cells may be monitored for any period of time sufficient to evince the altered behavior, for example, for a period of days.”
Taken together, all of the claim limitations are met by the art of record and thus for the reasons above the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 44 and 45 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (2013, PLoS ONE, Vol. 8(12), pgs. 1-13) in view of Lowery et al. (WO 2017/127727) as applied to claims 43 and 46-50 above, and further in view of Bummitt et al. (2014, Emerging Infectious Diseases, Vol. 20(12), pgs. 2168-2170) for reasons of record in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/14/2026 (and repeated below).
Chung and Lowery are relied upon above in teaching a method of determining if immune elements reactive to a selected pathogen are present in a sample.
Chung and Lowery do not teach:
sedimentation in the cultured cells.
Regarding sedimentation, Bummitt et al. teach that erythrocyte sedimentation
Rate (ESR) can be used as a screen for detecting B. burgdorferi infection (pg. 2169, col. 1 parag. 1).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Chung and Lowery regarding the role of B. burgdorferi in triggering an immune element such as IL-10 with the teachings of Bummitt regarding screening patient samples for B. burgdorferi by examining ESR to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Bummitt teaches that ESR can be used as a screen for B. burgdorferi infection in a sample from a patient.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that that patient samples taught in Lowery could be screened for B. burgdorferi infection since Bummitt teaches that ESR is a means of detecting B. burgdorferi infection.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants Arguments
Applicants argue that claim 44 requires that the monitored behavior be aggregation of the cultured cells, and claim 45 requires that such aggregation be indicated by cellular networks, increased culture-medium viscosity, and/or sedimentation. The specification defines what that covers: cultured spirochetes such as B. burgdorferi "will form biofilm-like aggregates when cultured in the presence of samples containing antibodies against Borrelia burgdorferi," whereas cells "exposed to samples that do not contain reactive antibodies will grow in a normal and unaggregated state" (Spec. I [00157]). Claim 45's "sedimentation is one measure of that antigen-driven aggregation (Spec. III [00157], [00161]).
Bummitt is cited for "sedimentation" because it reports an erythrocyte sedimentation rate
(ESR): a nonspecific clinical index of how quickly a patient's own erythrocytes settle in that
patient's own blood, driven principally by plasma protein concentration and elevated in conditions ranging from infection to malignancy to pregnancy. Bummitt has no culture, no sample presented to a culture, no control, and no attribution of any settling to pathogen-specific immune recognition; it is a single-patient clinical case report in which the ESR value appears among routine laboratory findings alongside leukocyte count and hematocrit. Equating that index with the claimed antigen-driven aggregation readout conflates unrelated phenomena a skilled artisan would not have equated, and Bummitt does not cure the base deficiencies above.
The rejection of claim 46 is additionally defective on its face. Claim 46 depends from claim 45 (which depends from claim 44, which depends from claim 43) and therefore incorporates every limitation of claims 44 and 45. Yet the Office Action rejects claim 45 as requiring Bummitt for the "sedimentation" limitation, while rejecting claim 46 over only Chung and Lowery, omitting Bummitt. A rejection of a dependent claim that fails to account for the very limitations of its parent claims cannot stand. See MPEP § §§ § 608.01(n), 2143.03. Claim 46 (adding B. burgdorferi) is allowable for this reason as well.
Examiner’s Response
While Applicants arguments have been fully considered they are not found persuasive. Bummitt teaches the ordinary artisan that “sedimentation” is a behavior of immune cells that can be monitored. In this regard, while Bummitt does not teach culturing of cells, Bummitt teaches the ordinary artisan that sedimentation is a behavior of cells that occurs when immune elements are present. Thus for the reasons above and of record the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 51 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (2013, PLoS ONE, Vol. 8(12), pgs. 1-13) in view of Lowery et al. (WO 2017/127727) as applied to claims 43 and 46-50 above, and further in view of Bernard et al. (2017, Parasites and Vectors, Vol. 10:313, pgs. 1-9) for reasons of record in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/14/2026 (and repeated below).
Chung and Lowery are relied upon above in teaching a method of determining if immune elements reactive to a selected pathogen are present in a sample.
Chung and Lowery do not teach:
Degranulation of mast cells.
Regarding degranulation of mast cells, Bernard et al. teach that B. burgdorferi
infection induces degranulation of mast cells (see Abstract).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Chung and Lowery regarding the role of B. burgdorferi in triggering an immune element such as IL-10 with the teachings of Bernard regarding B. burgdorferi infection and mast cells to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Bernard teaches that degranulation of mast cells can be used as a screen for B. burgdorferi infection.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that that patient samples taught in Lowery could be screened for B. burgdorferi infection since Bernard teaches that degranulation of mast cells is a means of detecting B. burgdorferi infection.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants Arguments
Applicants argue that Bernard is cited only for the biological observation that B.
burgdorferi infection induces these effects. Like the base references, they are directed to infection biology, not to presenting a sample to cultured cells and detecting reactive immune elements by control-referenced behavioral modulation. They therefore do not cure the deficiencies of the Chung/Lowery base combination, and claim 51 is allowable together with claim 43.
Examiner’s Response
While Applicants arguments have been fully considered they are not found persuasive. Bernard teaches the ordinary artisan that degranulation of mast cells is a behavior that can be monitored. In this regard, while Bernard may be related to infection biology, Bernard teaches the ordinary artisan that degranulation is a behavior of mast cells that occurs when immune elements are present. Thus for the reasons above and of record the rejection is maintained.
Claim(s) 52 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (2013, PLoS ONE, Vol. 8(12), pgs. 1-13) in view of Lowery et al. (WO 2017/127727) as applied to claims 43 and 46-50 above, and further in view of Izycka et al. (2002, Medecine et maladies infectieuses, Vol. 32, pgs. 725-729) for reasons of record in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/14/2026 (and repeated below).
Chung and Lowery are relied upon above in teaching a method of determining if immune elements reactive to a selected pathogen are present in a sample.
Chung and Lowery do not teach:
Phagocytosis with neutrophils.
Regarding phagocytosis with neutrophils, Izycka et al. teach that B. burgdorferi
infection induces phagocytosis of infected cell via neutrophils (see Abstract).
Thus at the time of filing the ordinary artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Chung and Lowery regarding the role of B. burgdorferi in triggering an immune element such as IL-10 with the teachings of Izycka regarding B. burgdorferi infection and phagocytosis to arrive at the claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination since Izycka teaches that phagocytosis of infected cell via neutrophils can be used as a screen for B. burgdorferi infection.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that that patient samples taught in Lowery could be screened for B. burgdorferi infection since Izycka teaches that phagocytosis of infected cells by neutrophils is a means of detecting B. burgdorferi infection.
Thus the cited art provides the requisite teachings and motivations to make and use the invention as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants Arguments
Applicants argue that Izycka is cited only for the biological observation that B.
burgdorferi infection induces these effects. Like the base references, they are directed to infection biology, not to presenting a sample to cultured cells and detecting reactive immune elements by control-referenced behavioral modulation. They therefore do not cure the deficiencies of the Chung/Lowery base combination, and claim 52 is allowable together with claim 43.
Examiner’s Response
While Applicants arguments have been fully considered they are not found persuasive. Izycka teaches the ordinary artisan that phagocytosis via neutrophils is a behavior that can be monitored. In this regard, while Izycka may be related to infection biology, Izycka teaches the ordinary artisan that phagocytosis is a behavior of neutrophils that occurs when immune elements are present. Thus for the reasons above and of record the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID A. MONTANARI
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/ANOOP K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632