DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response the RCE and remarks filed on 11 June 2011.
Claims 21-41 are presently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2026 has being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21- 41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0322775 in view of Fiorese et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0219151.
Regarding claim 38, Lee discloses a method performed by a network Application Function (AF), the method comprising: receiving, from a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), a request to subscribe to data about a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU), the request comprising an application ID and an identifier of the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0107], [0114] and [0261]; data collection request comprising identification information is received); collecting the data about the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0058] and [0068]; data is collected); and sending, to the NWDAF, a notification comprising the data and a correlation identifier associated with the data about the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0115], [0155] and 0181]; correlation of the various identifiers are sent).
Although Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose application function.
Fiorese teaches application function that provides data to the NWDAF (see Fiorese, ¶ [0008], [0062] and [0094]). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to corporate the teachings of Fiorese with that of Lee in order to efficiently specify the network element function that is providing the data.
Regarding claim 40, Lee-Fiorese teaches wherein the data is anonymized, aggregated, normalized, processed, or a combination thereof, prior to sending to the NWDAF (see Lee, ¶ [0122] - [0123] and Fiorese, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 41, Lee-Fiorese teaches wherein the data about the WRTU comprises data collected from the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0180] and Patil, ¶ [0079]).
6. Claim(s) 21-36, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Fiorese and further in view of Senarath et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 20180270073
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses a method performed by a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF) (see Lee, ¶ [0002]; Network data analytic function is disclosed), the method comprising: receiving a request to collect data about a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Lee, ¶ [0107], [0114] and [0261]; data collection request is received); sending a request to the AF to subscribe to the data about the WTRU, the request comprising an application ID and an identifier of the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0114]; identification information is received); and receiving, from the AF, a message comprising the data about the WTRU and a correlation identifier for the WTRU that associates the data with the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0115], [0155] and 0181]; correlation of the various identifiers are received).
Although Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose application function.
Fiorese teaches application function that provides data to the NWDAF (see Fiorese, ¶ [0008], [0062] and [0094]). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to corporate the teachings of Fiorese with that of Lee in order to efficiently specify the network element function that is providing the data.
Although Lee-Fiorese discloses the inventions substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose sending a request to receive user consent information for permission to collect the data about the WTRU; discovering, based on receiving the user consent information, an Application Function (AF) for providing the data about the WTRU.
Senarath teaches sending a request to receive user consent information for permission to collect the data about the WTRU; discovering, based on receiving the user consent information, an Application Function (AF) for providing the data about the WTRU (see Senarath, ¶ [0091], [0189] and [0250]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Senarath with that of Lee-Fiorese in order to receive collection consent from the user so as not to violate individual privacy rights.
Regarding claim 22, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the correlation identifier comprises a 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI), a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI), or an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0094] and [0115]).
Regarding claim 23, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the user consent information indicates the data to be collected is permitted for use in analytics, artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) training, or a combination thereof (see Lee, ¶ [0058] and Senarath, ¶ [0250]).
Regarding claim 24, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches further comprising: receiving the user consent information from a Unified Data Management (UDM) (see Lee, ¶ 0138] and Senarath, ¶ [0250].
Regarding claim 25, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches further comprising: receiving a notification comprising updated user consent information, wherein the updated user consent information comprises an indication that the permission to collect the data is revoked; and sending a request to the AF to modify the subscription to the data about the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0146] and Senarath, ¶ [0250]).
Regarding claim 26, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating one or more of a battery level, a battery discharge rate, a battery discharge history, a battery health, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration, a sleeping state, and a power saving mode (see Fiorese, ¶ [0184]-[0185]).
Regarding claim 27, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating one or more of an application ID, data associated with Analytics IDs, location information, a Single - Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session ID, a Downlink (DL) data rate, a number of uplink (UL) retransmissions, a DL latency, a percentage of device loading, a percentage of access availability, a Quality of Service (QoS) level, and a mobility pattern (see Lee, ¶ [0063] and [0071]).
Regarding claim 28, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises data collected from the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0180] and Fiorese, ¶ [0129]).
Regarding claim 29, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating data that has been anonymized, aggregated, normalized, processed, or a combination thereof, by the AF (see Lee, ¶ [0122]- [0123] and Patil, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 30, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating Machine Learning (ML) or Artificial Intelligence (AI) data for use as training data (see Lee, ¶ [0246).
Regarding claim 31, Lee discloses a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF) (see Lee, ¶ [0002]; NWDAF is disclosed), comprising a processor configured to: receive a request to collect data about a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (WTRU) (see Lee, ¶ [0107], [0114] and [0261]; data collection request is received); send a request to the AF to subscribe to the data about the WTRU, the request comprising an application ID and an identifier of the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0114]; identification information is received); and receive, from the AF, a message comprising the data about the WTRU and a correlation identifier associated with the data about the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0115], [0155] and 0181]; correlation of the various identifiers are received).
Although Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose application function.
Fiorese teaches application function that provides data to the NWDAF (see Fiorese, ¶ [0008], [0062] and [0094]). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to corporate the teachings of Fiorese with that of Lee in order to efficiently specify the network element function that is providing the data.
Although Lee-Fiorese discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose send a request to receive user consent information for permission to collect the data about the WTRU; discover, based on receiving the user consent information, an Application Function (AF) for providing the data about the WTRU.
Senarath teaches send a request to receive user consent information for permission to collect the data about the WTRU; discover, based on receiving the user consent information, an Application Function (AF) for providing the data about the WTRU (see Senarath, ¶ [0091], [0189] and [0205]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Senarath with that of Lee-Fiorese in order to receive collection consent from the user so as not to violate individual privacy rights.
Regarding claim 32, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the correlation identifier comprises a 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI), a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI), or an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0094] and [0115]).
Regarding claim 33, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the user consent information indicates the data to be collected is permitted for use in analytics, artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) training, or a combination thereof (see Lee, ¶ [0058] and Senarath, ¶ [0250]).
Regarding claim 34, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive the user consent information from a Unified Data Management (UDM) (see Lee, ¶ 0138] and Senarath, ¶ [0250].
Regarding claim 35, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a notification comprising updated user consent information, wherein the updated user consent information comprises an indication that the permission to collect the data is revoked; and send a request to the AF to modify the subscription to the data about the WTRU (see Lee, ¶ [0146] and Senarath, ¶ [0250]).
Regarding claim 36, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating one or more of a battery level, a battery discharge rate, a battery discharge history, a battery health, a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration, a sleeping state, and a power saving mode (see Fiorese, ¶ [0184]-[0185]).
Regarding claim 37, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches wherein the data about the WTRU comprises information indicating one or more of an application ID, data associated with Analytics IDs, location information, a Single - Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session ID, a Downlink (DL) data rate, a number of uplink (UL) retransmissions, a DL latency, a percentage of device loading, a percentage of access availability, a Quality of Service (QoS) level, and a mobility pattern (see Lee, ¶ [0063] and [0071]).
Regarding claim 39, Lee-Fiorese-Senarath teaches although Lee discloses the invention sub wherein the collecting the data is according to user consent information associated with a permission to collect the data about the WTRU (see Senarath, ¶ [0250]).
Prior Art of Record
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/Mohamed Ibrahim/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444