DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to the filing on 3/16/2026. Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1, 19, and 20 and the cancellation of claim 17.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “noise minimization mechanism” in claim 6 and “physical mechanism configured to maintain pressure” in claim 7.
Based on Applicant’s specification the noise minimization mechanism includes software or electronic filters with electronic circuits or a physical mechanism configured to maintain consistent pressure such as a strap (see page 7 of Applicant’s specification).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 19, and 20 to incorporate the limitations of claim 17 and argues that the limitations are not disclosed by the prior art. Examiner disagrees.
While the Examiner understands what the Applicant is attempting to argue, as currently written, the claims are written so broad that Connor meets the limitations of the claim. Specifically, the argued “indicator of thermal stability” could be any of the data that Connor is obtaining or deriving. As for the “user being remotely located from the on-demand cooling system” limitation, paragraph 144 states the sensor on the user being separate from the on-demand cooling system and could be considered as remotely located. Examples of this are clearly shown in figures 19, 20, 22, 23, 29, 34, 35, 36, and several more. Better defining what is “remotely located” and/or what is an “indicator of thermal stability” would obviate the rejection.
In addition, the limitation “the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while...for training predictions…” is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As currently written, it does not state that it is the controller that performs this function, only that the indicators are used for training.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 11-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0320588 (Connor).
Regarding Claim 1, Connor discloses a system, comprising:
an on-demand cooling system (para [0136], [0168], [0177], speed of airflow from a portable fan or ceiling fan... activation, direction, and speed of airflow from an HVAC system.);
one or more biometric sensors configured to monitor one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of a user (para [0127], [0131], [0254], sensors used to monitor biometric conditions and determine hot flash.); and
a controller (para [0137], [0141], [0522]) configured to:
a) receive the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0127], [0131], [0138], [0254], signals from sensors used to monitor biometric conditions and determine hot flash.);
b) predict an onset of a thermal instability of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0143], [0168], [0183], [0484], data analyzed in real time to predict changes in a person's sleeping environment... such as a predicted upswing in a body temperature based on the sensor data.); and
c) activate the on-demand cooling system to counteract the predicted onset of a thermal instability of the user (para (0136], [0168], [0177], [0186], data used to trigger speed of airflow from a portable fan or ceiling fan... activation, direction, and speed of airflow from an HVAC system.).
wherein the controller is further configured to collect the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system (para [0144], [0148], [0327], remote internet-connected computer, wireless link, or mobile electronic device... for data collection; the sensor on the user being separate from the on-demand cooling system and could be considered as remotely located. Examples of this are clearly shown in figures 19, 20, 22, 23, 29, 34, 35, 36, where the sensor is some distance from the cooling system), the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system used for training predictions of onsets of thermal instabilities of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0139], [0144], [0503], [0532]; wearable sensor being in wireless communication with separate sleep modifying component; statistical methods predict occurrence of hot flash from data sensors data... from a remote computer and analyzed by pattern recognition and machine learning.).
In addition, the limitation “the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while...for training predictions…” is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As currently written, it does not state that it is the controller that performs this function, only that the indicators are used for training.
Regarding Claim 2, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the thermal instability corresponds to a hot flash (para [0034], [0484)).
Regarding Claim 3, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the one or more biometric sensors are embodied within a wearable device selected from a group consisting of: a watch (para (0128)]); a bracelet (para [0128]); an anklet; a wristband; a glove; a partial glove; fingertip straps; and an eye mask (para [0128)).
Regarding Claim 4, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the one or more biometric sensors are selected from a group consisting of: a galvanic skin resistance (GSR) sensor (para [0494]); a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor; a motion detector; an accelerometer; a gyroscope; a rapid eye movement (REM) sensor; a conductance sensor; a sweat sensor: a heart rate sensor; and a blood flow sensor (para [0496]).
Regarding Claim 9, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to predict an onset of a thermal instability of the user based on early detection or anticipation of one or more of peripheral vasodilation, heart rate (para [0127], (0131)), activity level, and sweating of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0319], |[0323]).
Regarding Claim 11, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to deactivate the on-demand cooling system in response to counteracting the thermal instability of the user (para [0179], [0406], [0471], fan turned off based on data from the sensor... airflow continues until data indicates that a person's temperature has decreased.).
Regarding Claim 12, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the on-demand cooling system comprises a liquid based bed-based cooling system (para [0515]-[0516], electrically heated or cooled water bed.).
Regarding Claim 13, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 12, wherein the liquid-based bed-based cooling system is selected from a group consisting of: a mattress; mattress pad; and a blanket (para (0515}-[0516], electric blanket.).
Regarding Claim 14, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 12, wherein the liquid-based bed-based cooling system comprises a reservoir of liquid pre-cooled prior to activation of the on-demand cooling system (para [0147], [0390], [0508], ice from an ice reservoir used in a heat exchanger to pump cool air through a blanket that triggers based on blood pressure data.).
Regarding Claim 15, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 12, wherein the liquid-based bed-based cooling system is shaped to focus cooled liquid to an area corresponding to a neck and a back of the user (para [0556], [0558], ice reservoir used to send air or liquid through channels in a bed covering and/or in a sleeping surface.).
Regarding Claim 16, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the on-demand cooling system comprises an air-based cooling system (para [0136], [0168], [0177], speed of airflow from a portable fan or ceiling fan... activation, direction, and speed of airflow from an HVAC system).
Regarding Claim 18, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the controller comprises a smartphone application (para [0153]-[0154)).
Regarding Claim 19, Connor discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a controller from one or more biometric sensors (para [0144], [0148], [0327], remote internet-connected computer, wireless link, or mobile electronic device... for data collection.), one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of a user (para [0127], [0131], [0254], sensors used to monitor biometric conditions and determine hot flash.);
predicting, by the controller, an onset of a thermal instability of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0139], [0143], [0168], [0183], [0484], data control component analyzes data... data analyzed in real time to predict changes in a person's sleeping environment... such as a predicted upswing in a body temperature based on the sensor data.); and
activating, by the controller, an on-demand cooling system to counteract the predicted onset of a thermal instability of the user (para [0136], [0168], [0171], [0177], [0186], data used to trigger speed of airflow from a portable fan or ceiling fan...control component controls activation, direction, and speed of airflow from an HVAC system.),
wherein the controller is further configured to collect the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system (para [0144], [0148], [0327], remote internet-connected computer, wireless link, or mobile electronic device... for data collection; the sensor on the user being separate from the on-demand cooling system and could be considered as remotely located with examples of the sensor being clearly shown as separate from the cooling system in figures 19, 20, 22, 23, 29, 34, 35, 36, and several more.), the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system used for training predictions of onsets of thermal instabilities of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0139], [0144], [0503], [0532]; wearable sensor being in wireless communication with separate sleep modifying component; statistical methods predict occurrence of hot flash from data sensors data... from a remote computer and analyzed by pattern recognition and machine learning.).
In addition, the limitation “the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while...for training predictions…” is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As currently written, it does not state that it is the controller that performs this function, only that the indicators are used for training.
Regarding Claim 20, Connor discloses a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that cause a computer on a processing device to execute a process (para [0138], controller runs software programs to perform the functions.), the process comprising:
receiving, from one or more biometric sensors, one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of a user (para [0127], [0131], [0254], sensors used to monitor biometric conditions and determine hot flash.);
predicting an onset of a thermal instability of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para (0139), [0143], [0168], [0183], [0484], data control component analyzes data... data analyzed in real time to predict changes in a person's sleeping environment... such as a predicted upswing in a body temperature based on the sensor data.); and
causing a signal to activate an on-demand cooling system to counteract the predicted onset of a thermal instability of the user (para [0136], [0168], [0171], [0177], [0186], data used to trigger speed of airflow from a portable fan or ceiling fan... control component controls activation, direction, and speed of airflow from an HVAC system.),
wherein the controller is further configured to collect the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system (para [0144], [0148], [0327], remote internet-connected computer, wireless link, or mobile electronic device... for data collection; the sensor on the user being separate from the on-demand cooling system and could be considered as remotely located with examples of the sensor being clearly shown as separate from the cooling system in figures 19, 20, 22, 23, 29, 34, 35, 36, and several more), the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while the user is remotely located from the on-demand cooling system used for training predictions of onsets of thermal instabilities of the user based on the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0139], [0144], [0503], [0532]; wearable sensor being in wireless communication with separate sleep modifying component; statistical methods predict occurrence of hot flash from data sensors data... from a remote computer and analyzed by pattern recognition and machine learning.).
In addition, the limitation “the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user collected while...for training predictions…” is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As currently written, it does not state that it is the controller that performs this function, only that the indicators are used for training.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0320588 (Connor).
Regarding Claim 10, Connor further discloses the system as in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to predict an onset of a thermal instability of the user based on detection of an increase in one or more of the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0183], [0254], [0476], a person experiences an upswing in body temperature such as a hot flash.); but does not specifically disclose that said increase is a spike. However, Connor further discloses monitoring the rate of change and a maximum rate for indicating a metric (para [0525], [0529]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to vary increase rate for an indicator in order to optimize the prediction of a hot flash (para [0406]).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0320588 (Connor) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0279881 (McCalmont et al., hereinafter McCalmont).
Regarding Claim 5, Connor discloses the system as in claim 1. In addition, Connor shows wherein the controller is further configured to filter the one or more corresponding indicators of thermal stability of the user (para [0137], [0139], [0150]); but does not specifically filter to minimize data noise. In a related area, McCalmont discloses biometric sensors that filter to minimize data noise (para [0030], [0072]-[0073], noise cancellation functionality through the use of filters.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Connor to minimize noise data, as taught by McCalmont in order to remove background noise and improve accuracy (McCalmont: para [0064]).
Regarding Claim 6, Connor discloses the system as in claim 1 and further shows wherein one or more of the one or more biometric sensors comprise a minimization mechanism (para [0523]-[0524], sensor minimum value.); but does not specifically disclose noise minimization. However, McCalmont discloses biometric sensors that filter to minimize data noise (para [0030]. [0072]-[0073], noise cancellation functionality through the use of filters.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a sensor as taught by McCalmont in the system of Connor in order to remove background noise and improve accuracy (McCalmont: para [0064]).
Regarding Claim 7, Connor and McCalmont disclose the system in claim 6. Connor further shows wherein the system comprises a physical mechanism configured to maintain consistent pressure of a corresponding biometric sensor against the user (para [0129], sensor attached directly using a strap, suture, or tape mechanism.), but does not specifically disclose that the noise minimization mechanism comprises said mechanism. In a related area, McCalmont discloses biometric sensors that filter to minimize data noise (para [0030], [0072]-[0073], noise cancellation functionality through the use of filters.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a noise minimizing filter as taught by McCalmont as the sensor in the device of Connor in order to remove background noise and improve accuracy (McCalmont: para [0064]).
Regarding Claim 8, Connor and McCalmont discloses the system in claim 6. Connor further shows wherein the noise minimization mechanism comprises an electronic circuit to assist in a determination of pressure of a corresponding biometric sensor against the user (para [0127], [0129], [0147], blood pressure sensor attached directly using a strap, suture, or tape mechanism.). McCalmont discloses biometric sensors that filter to minimize data noise (para [0030], [0071]-[0073], noise cancellation functionality through the use of filters on electronic circuit boards.). To a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, substituting a noise minimizing filter as taught by McCalmont would have been obvious for use in the sensor as in Connor in order to remove background noise and improve accuracy (McCalmont: para [0064]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791