DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 18 and 38-39 have been amended.
Claims 18, 38-39, and 44-49 are pending.
1. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 38-39, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENG (US 20220369173, hereinafter, “DENG”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of LEE et al. (US 20200389886, hereinafter, “LEE”), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20190297547, hereinafter, “Tsai”).
Claim 18. DENG teaches: A method of a terminal device, the method comprising: - See Fig. 3
receiving, from a first network device, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for conditionally configuring a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of a secondary cell group (SCG), - See Fig.3, ¶ [0060], (“In step 7, the MN transmits a signaling for PSCell conditional change to the UE. The MN may transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information at one time via an RRC reconfiguration signaling…to transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information in sequence. The PSCell conditional change information includes an identity of a candidate PSCell, a trigger condition for PSCell change”); ¶ [0040], (“in the process of performing the PSCell change, once detecting that a candidate PCell meets the conditional handover trigger condition, the UE starts to perform the PCell handover, and the candidate PCell is not configured with SCG or configured with SCG relevant to other PSCells.”) the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells; - See Fig.3, ¶ [0060], (“The MN may transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information at one time via an RRC reconfiguration signaling, or use multiple RRC reconfiguration signalings to transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information in sequence…Different candidate PSCells may have different or a same trigger condition for PSCell change.”)
selecting a target PSCell to be switched from the plurality of candidate PSCells; - See Fig.3, ¶ [0062], (“In step 9, the UE finds that at least one candidate PSCell meets the trigger condition. If there are multiple candidate PSCells that meet the trigger condition, the UE may select the candidate PSCell with highest signal quality as the target PSCell for the change”)
transmitting, to the first network device, an uplink message which comprises information indicating the selected target PSCell. - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0063], (“In step 10, the UE indicates to the MN the determined target PSCell, i.e., the target PSCell that the UE will access. The UE may indicate the determined target PSCell to the MN via RRC signaling, for example, indicating an identity of the determined target PSCell.”, The RRC signaling from the UE to the MN (master node (eq. network device)) is an uplink message.)
DENG does not explicitly teach:
applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; and
However, LEE teaches:
applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; - See Fig 14, ¶ [0215 - 0216], (“2> if rach-SkipSCG is configured: 3> configure lower layers to apply the rach-SkipSCG for the target SCG…¶ [0222] 3> initiate the random access procedure on the PSCell, if rach-SkipSCG is not configured”, The random access procedure is not initiated if rach-SkipSCG is configured.) and
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DENG with LEE to include applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access, as taught by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency related to dual connectivity, as suggested by LEE, In DC (Dual connectivity), an SCG can be established, reconfigured or released by using an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message. In case random access to the primary SCell (PSCell) or if rach-SkipSCG is configured is required upon SCG reconfiguration, E-UTRAN employs the SCG change procedure. - ¶ [0090]
Combination of DENG and LEE does not explicitly teach:
applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1;
However, Tsai teaches:
applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message - in ¶ [0098], (“the RRCReconfiguration message may be associated with one or more of: Signalling radio bearer: SRB1”); ¶ [0075], (“if rach-SkipSCG is configured is required upon SCG reconfiguration, E-UTRAN employs the SCG change procedure (i.e. an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the mobilityControlInfoSCG).”) via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; - in ¶ [0098], (“the RRCReconfiguration message may be associated with one or more of: Signalling radio bearer: SRB1”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DENG and LEE with Tsai to include in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via SRB1, as taught by Tsai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve reliability, as suggested by Tsai, RACH-less HO procedure may result in high HO performance, lower latency, higher efficiency and/or higher reliability. - ¶ [0126]
Claim 38. DENG teaches: A method of a first network device, the method comprising: - See Fig.3
transmitting, to a terminal device, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message for conditionally configuring a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of a secondary cell group (SCG), - See Fig.3, ¶ [0060], (“In step 7, the MN transmits a signaling for PSCell conditional change to the UE. The MN may transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information at one time via an RRC reconfiguration signaling, or use multiple RRC reconfiguration signalings to transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information in sequence. The PSCell conditional change information includes an identity of a candidate PSCell, a trigger condition for PSCell change, and radio resources configured for the UE by the candidate SN.”); ¶ [0040], (“in the process of performing the PSCell change, once detecting that a candidate PCell meets the conditional handover trigger condition, the UE starts to perform the PCell handover, and the candidate PCell is not configured with SCG or configured with SCG relevant to other PSCells.”) the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells and the terminal device applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; - See Fig.3, ¶ [0060], (“The MN may transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information at one time via an RRC reconfiguration signaling, or use multiple RRC reconfiguration signalings to transmit multiple PSCcell conditional change information in sequence…Different candidate PSCells may have different or a same trigger condition for PSCell change.”) and
receiving, from the terminal device, an uplink message which comprises information indicating the selected target PSCell. - See Fig. 3, ¶ [0063], (“In step 10, the UE indicates to the MN the determined target PSCell, i.e., the target PSCell that the UE will access. The UE may indicate the determined target PSCell to the MN via RRC signaling, for example, indicating an identity of the determined target PSCell.”)
DENG does not explicitly teach:
the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells and the terminal device applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1;
However, LEE teaches:
the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells and the terminal device applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1;- See Fig 14, ¶ [0205], (“the received RRCConnectionReconfiguration message includes radioResourceConfigDedicated including drb-ToAddModList:…¶ [0210] 3> perform PSCell addition or modification;…¶ [0215 - 0216], (“2> if rach-SkipSCG is configured: 3> configure lower layers to apply the rach-SkipSCG for the target SCG;…¶ [0222] 3> initiate the random access procedure on the PSCell, if rach-SkipSCG is not configured”, The random access procedure is not initiated if rach-SkipSCG is configured.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DENG with LEE to include applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access, as taught by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency related to dual connectivity, as suggested by LEE, In DC (Dual connectivity), an SCG can be established, reconfigured or released by using an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message. - ¶ [0090]
Combination of DENG and LEE does not explicitly teach:
the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells and the terminal device applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1;
However, Tsai teaches:
the RRC reconfiguration message comprising information of a plurality of candidate PSCells and the terminal device applying a configuration of the SCG without initiating Random Access (RA) in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; - in ¶ [0075], (“if rach-SkipSCG is configured is required upon SCG reconfiguration, E-UTRAN employs the SCG change procedure (i.e. an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the mobilityControlInfoSCG).”); ¶ [0078], (“an rach-SkipSCG field associated with the exemplary MobilityControlInfo information element 600 may indicate whether random access procedure for the target PSCell is skipped.”) via Signaling Radio Bearer (SRB)1; - in ¶ [0098], (“the RRCReconfiguration message may be associated with one or more of: Signalling radio bearer: SRB1”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DENG and LEE with Tsai to include in a case where the terminal device receives the RRC reconfiguration message via SRB1, as taught by Tsai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve reliability, as suggested by Tsai, RACH-less HO procedure may result in high HO performance, lower latency, higher efficiency and/or higher reliability. - ¶ [0126]
Claim 44. Combination of DENG and LEE teaches The method according to claim 18, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
DENG teaches:
wherein the information indicating the selected target PSCell is forwarded to a second network device which configures the selected target PSCell. – See Fig. 3, ¶ [0063], (“the UE indicates to the MN the determined target PSCell, i.e., the target PSCell that the UE will access…for example, indicating an identity of the determined target PSCell. In response to receiving the indication information, the MN may forward data of a data radio bearer set up by the UE to the target SN”)
Claim 39 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 18 and is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 18 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 46, 48 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 44 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 45, 47, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DENG (US 20220369173, hereinafter, “DENG”, provided in the IDS by the applicant) in view of LEE et al. (US 20200389886, hereinafter, “LEE”), and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20190297547, hereinafter, “Tsai”) and Eklöf et al. (US 20230300691, hereinafter, “Eklöf”).
Claim 45. Combination of DENG and LEE teaches The method according to claim 18, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of DENG, LEE, and Tsai does not explicitly teach:
comprising: transmitting ULlnformationTransferMRDC message which includes an embedded RRCReconfigurationComplete message which includes the information indicating the selected target PSCell to the first network device.
However, Eklöf teaches:
comprising: transmitting ULlnformationTransferMRDC message which includes an embedded RRCReconfigurationComplete message which includes the information indicating the selected target PSCell to the first network device. – in ¶ [0167], (“the UE applies the RRCReconfiguration (whose condConfigld=7) message, sets an RRCReconfigurationComplete, and includes within an ULInformationTransferMRDC in LTE format, setting the second identifier=7, which is the value of the condConfigld associated to the target cell…¶ [0169] (e.g. RRCReconfigurationComplete) message 66 is embedded in a third RRC message…the third RRC message may be an ULInformationTransferMRDC.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified DENG, LEE, and Tsai with Eklöf to include transmitting ULlnformationTransferMRDC message, as taught by Eklöf. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve dual connectivity, as suggested by Eklöf, Conditional configuration of multiple candidate target cells for multi-connectivity would advantageously improve the robustness of multi-connectivity configuration. - ¶ [0003]
Claims 47, 49 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 45 since they recite nearly identical limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475