Claim Objections
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 37 discloses “said abutting portion includes an elastic abutting column, or an elastic sheet (Fig. 12), or a spring (Fig. 12),” which should read as “said abutting portion includes an elastic abutting column, or an elastic sheet, or a spring.” Appropriate correction is required.
For the purpose of examination, “said abutting portion includes an elastic abutting column, or an elastic sheet (Fig. 12), or a spring (Fig. 12)” is treated as “said abutting portion includes an elastic abutting column, or an elastic sheet, or a spring.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-29 and 39-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Graff et al. (EP 3145082 A1).
Re claim 24: Graff discloses a control panel assembly (control housing 11 in fig 1) of a household appliance (see electrical appliance in abstract), the control panel assembly comprising:
a touch panel (12 in fig 1); and
a touch module abutting against said touch panel, said touch module including a structural support frame (carrier film 20 + plastic 39 + component carrier 30 in figs 1-3) and a touch sensor group (capacitive sensor elements 22 in fig 1; herein, 22 are touch sensors which collectively make up a touch sensor group);
said touch sensor group including at least one touch sensor (22), said at least one touch sensor having one side (i.e., bottom side) adhered to said structural support frame (carrier film 20 in fig 1) and another side (i.e., top side) attached to said touch panel (12 in figs 2-3).
Re claim 25: Graff discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said structural support frame (21) is formed of a flexible material.
Re claim 26: Graff discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said structural support frame includes a support portion (39 in fig 3) and an elastic portion (20 in fig 3), said elastic portion being fixed to said support portion (see fig 3), and said at least one touch sensor (22) being adhered to said elastic portion (20).
Re claim 27: Graff discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said elastic portion (20 in fig 3) is detachably connected to said support portion (39 in fig 3).
Re claim 28: Graff discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said touch module includes an electronic board (component carrier 30 in figs 1, 3) for providing a light source (LED 35 in fig 1), said electronic board being fixed to said structural support frame (20 +39 in fig 3), and said structural support frame being located between said at least one touch sensor (22) and said electronic board (30).
Re claim 29: Graff discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said touch module includes a first touch module (carrier film 20 + plastic 39 + component carrier 30 in fig 3), said first touch module includes a first touch sensor (capacitive sensor elements 22 in fig 1) and a first structural support frame (20 + 39), and said first touch module is configured to (i.e., functional language) control procedure selection (i.e., via microcontroller arranged on the component carrier 30).
Re claim 39: Graff discloses a household appliance (herein, electrical appliance may be a hob with a translucent hob plate), comprising the control panel assembly according to claim 24 (see abstract).
Re claim 40: Graff discloses a touch module (capacitive sensor elements 22 + carrier film 20 + plastic 39 + component carrier 30 in fig 3) of a household appliance (see electrical appliance in abstract), the touch module comprising:
a touch sensor group (capacitive sensor elements 22 in fig 1; herein, 22 are touch sensors which collectively make up a touch sensor group) and a structural support frame (carrier film 20 + plastic 39 + component carrier 30 in figs 1, 3);
said touch sensor group including at least one touch sensor (22); and
said at least one touch sensor having one side (i.e., bottom side) adhered to said structural support frame (carrier film 20 in fig 1).
Re claim 41: Graff discloses the touch module, wherein said structural support frame (21) is formed of a flexible material.
Re claim 42: Graff discloses the touch module, wherein said structural support frame includes a support portion (39) and an elastic portion (20), said elastic portion being fixed to said support portion (see fig 3), and said at least one touch sensor (22) being adhered to said elastic portion (see fig 1).
Re claim 43: Graff discloses the touch module, wherein said elastic portion is detachably connected to said support portion (see fig 3).
Re claim 44: Graff discloses the touch module, comprising an electronic board (component carrier 30 in figs 1, 3) for providing a light source (LED 35 in fig 1), said electronic board being fixed to said structural support frame (20 +39 in fig 3), and said structural support frame being located between said at least one touch sensor (22) and said electronic board (30).
Re claim 45: Graff discloses the touch module, wherein said touch module includes a first touch module (carrier film 20 + plastic 39 + component carrier 30 in fig 1), said first touch module includes a first touch sensor (capacitive sensor elements 22 in fig 1) and a first structural support frame (20 + 39), and said first touch module is configured to (i.e., functional language) control procedure selection (i.e., via microcontroller arranged on the component carrier 30).
Claim(s) 24, 31-34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (EP 3256787 B1).
Re claim 24: Kim discloses a control panel assembly (40 in figs 1-2) of a household appliance (cooking apparatus 1 in fig 1), the control panel assembly comprising:
a touch panel (cover 110 + touch booster 530 in figs 32-33); and
a touch module (700 + 750 in fig 25) abutting against said touch panel (530), said touch module including a structural support frame (700) and a touch sensor group (750);
said touch sensor group including at least one touch sensor (750), said at least one touch sensor having one side adhered to said structural support frame (700) and another side attached to said touch panel (530).
Re claim 31: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, which further comprises a positioning identifier (copper piece 712 + sensor hole 713 in fig 25) located on said structural support frame (700), said positioning identifier configured to (i.e., functional language) locate an adhesion position of said at least one touch sensor (750).
Re claim 32: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, which further comprises a printed pattern (indication part 163 in figs 21, 31; herein, the indication part 163 indicates the area of the touching parts 161 by printing or laser processing, and allows the user to touch an exact position corresponding to the touch sensor 750): said printed pattern located on a side of said touch panel (110 in fig 31) facing said at least one touch sensor (750).
Re claim 33: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, which further comprises a housing (510 + 520 in figs 22-23) having a receiving cavity, said touch module (700 + 720 + 750) being located in said receiving cavity, and said touch panel (110 +530) being connected to said housing.
Re claim 34: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, wherein:
said housing includes a front housing (510 in fig 22) and a rear housing (520 in fig 22);
said front housing has a mounting opening (512 in fig 22);
said touch panel (530) abuts against said touch module through said mounting opening;
said rear housing (520) is detachably connected to said front housing; and said rear housing abuts against said touch module (i.e., abuts against elastic member 720 on 700) to apply pressure to said touch module, causing said at least one touch sensor to abut against said touch panel.
Re claim 39: Kim discloses a household appliance (cooking apparatus 1 in fig 1), comprising the control panel assembly (40 in figs 1-2) according to claim 24.
Claim(s) 24, 29, 40 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 20210131720 A1).
Re claim 24: Chu discloses a control panel assembly (see fig 7) of a household appliance (refrigerator 1 in fig 1), the control panel assembly comprising:
a touch panel (touch cover 73 in fig 7 and paragraph 153); and
a touch module abutting against said touch panel, said touch module including a structural support frame (touch PCB 71 in fig 7 and paragraph 137) and a touch sensor group (touch sensors 712 in fig 7 and paragraph 232);
said touch sensor group including at least one touch sensor (712), said at least one touch sensor having one side adhered to said structural support frame (71) and another side attached to said touch panel (73).
Re claim 29: Chu discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said touch module includes a first touch module (touch PCB 71 + touch sensors 712 in fig 7), said first touch module includes a first touch sensor (712) and a first structural support frame (71), and said first touch module is configured to (i.e., functional language) control procedure selection.
Re claim 40: Chu discloses a touch module of a household appliance (refrigerator 1 in fig 1), the touch module comprising:
a touch sensor group (touch sensors 712 in fig 7 and paragraph 232) and a structural support frame (touch PCB 71 in fig 7 and paragraph 137);
said touch sensor group including at least one touch sensor (712); and
said at least one touch sensor having one side adhered to said structural support frame (71).
Re claim 45: Chu discloses the touch module, comprising a first touch module (touch PCB 71 + touch sensors 712 in fig 7), said first touch module includes a first touch sensor (712) and a first structural support frame (71), and said first touch module is configured to (i.e., functional language) control procedure selection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (EP 3256787 B1).
Re claim 35: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said rear housing has a side (524 in fig 22) facing said front housing.
Kim fails to disclose said side having an abutting portion, and said abutting portion abutting against said touch module.
However, an abutting portion (elastic member 720 in figs 22-23) is provided on a rear side of the touch module (700) for abutting against said side of the rear housing (524) such that said side of the rear housing pushes the abutting portion, to move the touch module forward toward the touch panel, when the front housing and the rear housing are fastened.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the abutting portion on said side of the rear housing instead of providing it on the touch module such that the abutting portion on the rear housing abuts against the touch module as per the designer’s choice. Also, rearrangement of parts is considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and has a little patentable significance unless a new and an unexpected result is produced.
Re claim 36: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said abutting portion (elastic member 720 in figs 22-23) is elastic.
Re claim 37: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said abutting portion (elastic member 720 in figs 22-23) includes an elastic abutting column.
Re claim 38: Kim discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said mounting opening (512) defines an inner edge; and said structural support frame (700) has an outer edge.
Kim fails to disclose that one of said inner edge or said outer edge is provided with an inlay bayonet; and another of said inner edge or said outer edge is provided with an inlay protrusion adapted to said inlay bayonet.
However, embodiment of figs 3-8 of Kim discloses a module (310 in figs 7-8) attached to a frame (200 in figs 7-8), wherein an inner edge of the frame is provided with an inlay bayonet (aligning groove 221 in fig 8); and an outer edge of the module is provided with an inlay protrusion (aligning protrusion 322 in fig 8) adapted to said inlay bayonet.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inner edge of the mounting opening with an inlay bayonet and provide the outer edge of the structural support frame with an inlay protrusion in order to properly position the structural support frame in the housing.
Claim(s) 30 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 20210131720 A1).
Re claim 30: Chu discloses the control panel assembly, wherein said touch module includes a second structural support frame (display PCB 50 in figs 7, 10-11 and paragraph 135, 167-169) connected to said first touch module (i.e., via connector 541 in fig 11), and a display portion (display part 211 in fig 3 and paragraph 107), said display portion is configured to (i.e., functional language) display setting content.
Chu fails to disclose a second touch sensor coupled to the second structural support frame and the display portion.
However, embodiment of figs 27-28 of Chu discloses a touch display device (80 in paragraph 259-260) comprising a touch module (touch assembly 1100 in paragraph 267), wherein said touch module includes a touch sensor, the second structural support frame (sensor PCB in paragraph 267) and the display portion (frame assembly 1300 in figs 28, 30 and paragraphs 285-286).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display portion of Chu with a second touch sensor in order to provide more intuitive user experience and promoting increased productivity.
Re claim 46: Chu discloses the touch module, wherein said touch module further includes a second structural support frame (display PCB 50 in figs 7, 10-11 and paragraph 135, 167-169) connected to said first touch module (i.e., via connector 541 in fig 11), and a display portion (display part 211 in fig 3 and paragraph 107), said display portion is configured to (i.e., functional language) display setting content.
Chu fails to disclose a second touch sensor coupled to the second structural support frame and the display portion.
However, embodiment of figs 27-28 of Chu discloses a touch display device (80 in paragraph 259-260) comprising a touch module (touch assembly 1100 in paragraph 267), wherein said touch module includes a touch sensor, the second structural support frame (sensor PCB in paragraph 267) and the display portion (frame assembly 1300 in figs 28, 30 and paragraphs 285-286).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display portion of Chu with a second touch sensor in order to provide more intuitive user experience and promoting increased productivity.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841