DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 03/23/2026.
Claims 18-37 are pending.
Claims 1-17 were cancelled previously.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/23/2026 with respect to claims 18-37 have been fully considered but they are moot as they are not applicable to the combination of prior arts used in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-21, 25, 26 and 33-36 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of Tripathy et al. (US 20210119861 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63056276, of record, hereinafter ‘TRIPATHI’) and with further in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘KIM’).
Regarding claim 18, HONG teaches an apparatus (Fig. 10, UE, Fig. 18 UE 1800), comprising:
at least one memory, and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig. 18 UE 1800 Controller, [0350] Referring to FIG. 18, a UE 1800 performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may include a receiver 1830 and a controller 1810.
[0373] In the case of implementation by hardware, the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented as at least one of …. a processor, a controller, a microcontroller, or a microprocessor.
[0374] the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented in the form of an apparatus …. for performing the functions or operations described above. Software code may be stored in a memory unit, and may be driven by the processor.) and configure to cause the apparatus to:
determine a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer (
[0118] FIG. 11 illustrates a DRX configuration information element according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 11, the definition of each parameter configured by RRC is as follows.
[0119] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity.
[0120] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.
[0121] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (per DL HARQ process): the maximum duration until a DL retransmission is received.
[0122] drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received.
[0123] The base station may configure the above described DRX parameter used to control PDCCH monitoring in the MAC entity of the UE in the UE through RRC signaling. When in the RRC CONNECTED, if the DRX is configured, the MAC entity of the UE may discontinuously monitor the PDCCH using the DRX operation.
[0138] The UE may perform: controlling a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation based on the configuration information at S1240. For example, the UE may perform the DRX operation using a timer and the like included in the system information.
[0139] According to an embodiment, the UE performs the DRX operation using a HARQ RTT (drx HARQ Round Trip Time) timer. ), by:
determining an offset value as a sum of a timing advance value and a common offset value (
[0123] The base station may configure the above described DRX parameter used to control PDCCH monitoring in the MAC entity of the UE in the UE through RRC signaling. When in the RRC CONNECTED, if the DRX is configured, the MAC entity of the UE may discontinuously monitor the PDCCH using the DRX operation.
Fig. 12, [0136] The UE may perform: receiving configuration information that is necessary to perform communication by using the non-terrestrial network cell at S1230. For example, the configuration information may include a discontinuous reception HARQ RTT (drx HARQ
[0137] Round Trip Time) timer or a SR (Scheduling Request) prohibition timer. The discontinuous reception HARQ RTT (drx HARQ Round Trip Time) timer or the SR (Scheduling Request) prohibition timer may be also configured to a value greater than the reference round trip delay offset.
[0138] The UE may perform: controlling a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation based on the configuration information at S1240. For example, the UE may perform the DRX operation using a timer and the like included in the system information.
[0179] As an example, when the NTN RTD offset is configured as 544 ms and the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value is configured as 56 symbols (4 ms assuming the use of 15 kHz subcarrier spacing), the UE expire the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer at 548 ms (544 ms+4 ms).
(From [0137] the difference between the greater value and the reference round trip delay offset or 4 ms in [0179] is construed equivalent to a timing advance value, and the reference round trip delay offset or 544 ms in [0179 ]is construed equivalent to common offset value, and therefore the total offset which is the greater value in [0137] or 548 ms in [0179] is a sum of a timing advance value and common offset value, ads determined by the UE to use for drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer)),
wherein the common offset value is indicated in system information to the apparatus (
[0130] Referring to FIG. 12, a user equipment (UE) for performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform: receiving system information including reference round trip delay offset information of a non-terrestrial network cell at S1210. ).
Hong does not explicitly disclose wherein the common offset value is indicated in system information broadcasted to the apparatus, and adjusting the DRX RTT timer with the offset value.
In an analogous art, TRIPATHY teaches wherein the common offset value is indicated in system information broadcasted to the apparatus (
[0091] NTN-Type-specific parameter (e.g., “minimal_NTN_delay”) that represents the minimum round trip propagation delay specific to the NTN type.
[0094] the overall adjustment made by the UE could be {(minimal_NTN_delay +existing R15-defined timing value)*scaling_factor} instead of {minimal_NTN_delay+R15-defined timer value}. The parameter minimal_NTN_delay …… may be explicitly broadcast in System Information.
Tripathy [0091, 0094] discloses NTN type specific minimum round trip propagation delay or common delay offset specific to the NTN type which is indicated in system information broadcasted to the UE apparatus.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of determining actual DRX RTT timers including a minimum round trip propagation delay or common delay offset based on NTN type of TRIPATHI to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG in order to take the advantage of method for making NTN signaling more efficient and relevant, reducing the overall overhead and increasing the spectral efficiency by defining parameters corresponding to NTN type and using NTN type (TRIPATHI: [0105, 0132]).
HONG and TRIPATHY do not explicitly disclose adjusting the DRX RTT timer with the offset value.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches adjusting the DRX RTT timer with the offset value (
Fig. 6, [0148] To support this operation, the non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit information on the transmission delays in the radio sections L1 to L3 to the corresponding terminals 621 to 623. Here, the information on the transmission delays may be information on the minimum transmission delay (hereinafter, referred to as ‘Ldelay_min information’) in the radio section L2 between the non-terrestrial node 610 and the closest terminal 622. …….. In this case, Ldelay_min in the following exemplary embodiments may be replaced with Ldelay_ref. That is, Ldelay_min may mean Ldelay_ref.
[0150] The TA information transmitted by the non-terrestrial node 610 may be adjustment information of uplink transmission timing in consideration of Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref). For example, when an uplink transmission timing value to be adjusted by one of the terminals 621 to 623 is 10 and Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) is 8, the non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit, to the one of the terminals 621 to 623, TA information instructing to adjust the uplink transmission timing by 2.
[0151] The terminals 621 to 623 may adjust the uplink transmission timing based on the Ldelay_min and/or TA information received from the non-terrestrial node 610.
[0152] Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information may be configured differently according to the type, altitude, etc. of the non-terrestrial node 610. The non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit system information or another control message (e.g., MAC control message or PHY control message) including the Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information to the terminals 621 to 623. That is, the Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information may be signaled in an explicit manner through system information.
[0163] In downlink communication, the H-RTT-timer may be defined as ‘drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL’, and in uplink communication, the H-RTT-timer may be defined as ‘drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL’.
[0175] Meanwhile, in the DRX operation shown in FIG. 7, a transmission delay parameter (hereinafter referred to as ‘Ldelay_value’) may be considered in a radio section between the non-terrestrial node and the terminal in the non-terrestrial network shown in FIG. 6. The Ldelay_value may be the Ldelay_min (or, Ldelay_ref), a transmission delay in a radio section, which is estimated or calculated by the non-terrestrial node, or a transmission delay in a radio section, which is estimated (or, measured) or calculated by the terminal.
[0178] The H-RTT-timer (hereinafter referred to as ‘non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer’) used in the non-terrestrial network may be set in consideration of Ldelay_value. The H-RTT-timer used in the terrestrial network (e.g., 4G communication network or 5G communication network) may be referred to as ‘terrestrial H-RTT-timer’. For example, the H-RTT-timer shown in FIG. 7 may be the terrestrial H-RTT-timer. The non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer (e.g., non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL, non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL) may be set to a value greater than Ldelay_value or Ldelay_value. Alternatively, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set based on a sum of the terrestrial H-RTT-timer and Ldelay_value. Alternatively, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set by considering a transmission delay deviation (e.g., Ldelay_diff) between the non-terrestrial node and a plurality of terminals, in addition to the sum of the terrestrial H-RTT-timer and Ldelay_value. For example, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set based on Equation 1 or Equation 2 below.
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL+Ldelay_value
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL+Ldelay_value [Equation 1]
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL+ Ldelay_value± Ldelay_diff
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL+Ldelay_value± Ldelay_diff [Equation 2].
[0179] The non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be configured by the non-terrestrial node. The non-terrestrial node may inform the terminal of the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer through a combination of at least one of an RRC message, a MAC message, and a PHY message. The terminal may identify the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer by receiving the RRC message, the MAC message, and/or the PHY message from the non-terrestrial node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of determining and adjusting drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL of KIM to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and TRIPAHY in order to take the advantage of method for reducing power consumption in a terminal (KIM: [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein the timing advance value is obtained from a physical layer (
[0118] FIG. 11 illustrates a DRX configuration information element according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 11, the definition of each parameter configured by RRC is as follows……
[0178] the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value ….
(It is well known that for downlink to UE physical layer channel - PDSCH is used for RRC signalling, e.g. see US 20190373585 A1 [0093])).
Regarding claim 20, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein the common offset value is indicated in system information broadcasted by a Base Station (BS) (
[0081] The above-mentioned RMSI may mean SIB1 (system information block 1), and SIB1 is broadcast periodically (e.g., 160 ms) in the cell. SIB1 includes information necessary for the UE to perform the initial random access procedure, and SIB1 is periodically transmitted over a PDSCH.
[0177] The offset information may be configured to take into account a large propagation delay of the non-terrestrial network. …. For convenience of explanation, this is indicated as a round trip delay offset or NTN RTD offset.
[0209] The offset information described above or the offset timer to be described hereinafter may be indicated by system information or RACH common information (RACH-configcommon).
(Construed that system information or RACH common information indicates a broadcast information in NTN cell)).
Regarding claim 21, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein the offset value of a timing advance is indicated in Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (
[0209] …. the information indicated by the base station includes information (e.g., index value TA) used to control the amount of timing adjustment in the MAC entity.
(HONG disclosing an obvious indication of MAC entity command or a MAC-CE command with TA value indication index in the MAC entity for timing adjustment control).
HONG does not explicitly disclose (verbos ipsis) wherein the offset value of a timing advance is indicated in a Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).
KIM teaches wherein the offset value of a timing advance is indicated in a Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) (
[0151] The terminals 621 to 623 may adjust the uplink transmission timing based on the Ldelay_min and/or TA information received from the non-terrestrial node 610. A parameter for managing the uplink transmission timing may be configured with ‘timeAlignmentTimer’ When a message including the TA information (e.g., a MAC message ……) is received from the non-terrestrial node 610 ….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of determining and adjusting drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL of KIM to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and TRIPAHY in order to take the advantage of method for reducing power consumption in a terminal (KIM: [0002]).
Regarding claim 25, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein determining the offset value further comprises:
determining the offset value after DRX is configured or reconfigured (
[0171] As an example, the base station configures the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value from the existing 0 to 56 symbols according to the type of non-terrestrial network (e.g., LEO satellite, MEO satellite, GEO satellite, HAPs, etc.). It may be added by selecting a round trip delay offset value. A UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication (a UE having NTN capabilities) may perform a DRX operation through the added value.
[0177] The offset information may be configured to take into account a large propagation delay of the non-terrestrial network. In addition, the offset information may be added/subtracted/calculated to a drx timer value, or the corresponding offset information may be replaced with a drx timer value. For convenience of explanation, this is indicated as a round trip delay offset or NTN RTD offset.
[0178] For example, when a UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication receives NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating NTN RTD offset), the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value.
See Fig. 17.).
Regarding claim 26 HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein determining the offset value further comprises:
determining the offset value before a timer for uplink or downlink transmission of DRX RTT hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) being started (
[0171] As an example, the base station configures the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value from the existing 0 to 56 symbols according to the type of non-terrestrial network (e.g., LEO satellite, MEO satellite, GEO satellite, HAPs, etc.). It may be added by selecting a round trip delay offset value. A UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication (a UE having NTN capabilities) may perform a DRX operation through the added value.
Fig. 17, [0340] disclosing RTT delay offset determined and counted before starting response timer drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer.).
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 18, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 18.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 19.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 20.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Claims 22, 24 and 37 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of Tripathy et al. (US 20210119861 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63056276, of record, hereinafter ‘TRIPATHI’) in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, hereinafter ‘KIM’) and with further in view of Yu et al. (US 20220361251 A1 with priority of PCT/CN2020/072082, of record, hereinafter ‘YU’).
Regarding claim 22, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein determining the offset value further comprises: determining the offset value after a Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) is received and applied (
[0209] …… the information indicated by the base station includes information (e.g., index value TA) used to control the amount of timing adjustment in the MAC entity, and the offset information or the offset timer to be described hereinafter may be calculated through calculation of the indicated information.
(HONG disclosing an obvious indication of MAC entity command or a MAC-CE command with TA value indication index in the MAC entity for timing adjustment control and offset value is determined thereafter).
HONG, TRIPATHY and KIM do not explicitly disclose (verbos ipsis) wherein determining the offset value further comprises: determining the offset value after a Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) is received and applied.
In an analogous art, YU teaches wherein determining the offset value further comprises: determining the offset value after a Timing Advance Command (TAC) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) is received and applied (
[0121] …… The network device may send the timing advance command to the terminal device by using a media access control (media access control, MAC) control element (control element, CE).
[0160] Example b2: The terminal device may receive a random access response from the network device, where the random access response is used to indicate a fourth duration. Further, the terminal device may receive an adjustment value of the fourth duration from the network device, and determine the second duration based on the fourth duration and the adjustment value. The adjustment value may be carried in a MAC CE ….. message from the network device.
[0161] after the network device sends the random access response to the terminal device, if determining that the fourth duration is different from the current UE specific TA, the network device may send the adjustment value to the terminal device, so that the terminal device can obtain the current UE specific TA (namely, the second duration) based on the fourth duration and the adjustment value. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of updating Timing Advance of YU to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG, TRIPATHY and KIM in order to take the advantage of method for ensuring accuracy of the UE specific TA without resending the UE specific TA effectively saving transmission resources (YU: [0161]).
Regarding claim 24, HONG, in view of TRIPATHI and KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 18.
HONG, TRIPATHU and KIM do not explicitly disclose wherein determining the offset value further comprises: determining the offset value after an Absolute Timing Advance Command (TAC) is received in response to a Message A (MSGA) transmission and after the Absolute TAC is applied.
In an analogous art, YU teaches wherein determining the offset value further comprises:
determining the offset value after an Absolute Timing Advance Command (TAC) is received in response to a Message A (MSGA) transmission and after the Absolute TAC is applied (
[0017] In a possible design, the determining a timing advance amount based on the first duration includes: obtaining a second duration, and determining the timing advance amount based on the first duration and the second duration.
[0018] In a possible design, the obtaining a second duration includes: receiving a random access response from the network device, where the random access response includes the second duration.
[0019] In a possible design, the obtaining a second duration includes: receiving a random access response from the network device, where the random access response includes a fourth duration; and receiving an adjustment value of the fourth duration from the network device, and determining the second duration based on the fourth duration and the adjustment value.
[0134] In the solution 1, the network device may broadcast a first duration by using a system message. If determining that the first duration needs to be obtained, the terminal device may receive the system message from the network device, obtain the first duration, and further determine a timing advance amount based on the first duration.
[0139] It should be noted that in embodiments of this application, the first duration may be a common TA, and a second duration may be a UE specific TA.
Fig. 4A, [0142] Step 401: A network device sends a system message, where the system message is used to indicate a first duration.
[0147] Step 402: A terminal device determines that the first duration needs to be obtained.
[0150] Example a1: If the terminal device determines to trigger a random access procedure, the terminal device may determine that the first duration needs to be obtained. … the terminal device determines to send a random access request to the network device. The random access request may be ….. a message A (MsgA) in a two-step random access procedure.
[0160] Example b2: The terminal device may receive a random access response from the network device, where the random access response is used to indicate a fourth duration. Further, the terminal device may receive an adjustment value of the fourth duration from the network device, and determine the second duration based on the fourth duration and the adjustment value. The adjustment value may be carried in a MAC CE ….. message from the network device.
[0161] after the network device sends the random access response to the terminal device, if determining that the fourth duration is different from the current UE specific TA, the network device may send the adjustment value to the terminal device, so that the terminal device can obtain the current UE specific TA (namely, the second duration) based on the fourth duration and the adjustment value.
(It is obvious that after receiving applying first duration or common TA the UE receives a second duration with timing offset or adjustment value in response to a 2-step random access procedure started by msgA )).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of updating Timing Advance of YU to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG, TRIPATHY and KIM in order to take the advantage of method for ensuring accuracy of the UE specific TA without resending the UE specific TA effectively saving transmission resources (YU: [0161]).
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 22.
Claim 23 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of Tripathy et al. (US 20210119861 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63056276, of record, hereinafter ‘TRIPATHI’) in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, hereinafter ‘KIM’) in view of Yu et al. (US 20220361251 A1 with priority of PCT/CN2020/072082, of record, hereinafter ‘YU’) and with further in view of Shah et al. (US 20220264616 A1 with priority of PCT/EP2020/066044, of record, hereinafter ‘SHAH’).
Regarding claim 23, HONG, in view of TRIPAHY, KIM and YU, teaches the apparatus of Claim 22.
HONG, TRIPATHY, KIM and YU do not explicitly disclose wherein the TAC MAC CE is received in a random access response message or in a Message B (MSGB).
In an analogous art, SHAH teaches wherein the TAC MAC CE is received in a random access response message or in a Message B (MSGB) ([0127] The following parameters are available to define the DRX UE behavior; …… [0129] drx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the drx-onDurationTimer ……
[0310] In NR, for example, the MAC layer may insert so-called MAC control elements (MAC CE) into transport blocks to be transmitted over a transport channel. A MAC CE is used for inband control signaling, for instance, timing advance commands or random-access response.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of MAC-CE for random-access response of SHAH to the system of DRX operation using timing advance value received via MAC-CE for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG, TRIPAHY, KIM and YU in order to take the advantage of method to facilitate providing improved procedures for facilitating to save UE power for configuring DRX timers (SHAH: [0005, 0125, 0136]).
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, hereinafter ‘KIM’).
Regarding claim 27, HONG teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 10, UE, Fig. 18 UE 1800), comprising:
at least one memory, and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig. 18 UE 1800 Controller, [0350] Referring to FIG. 18, a UE 1800 performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may include a receiver 1830 and a controller 1810.
[0373] In the case of implementation by hardware, the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented as at least one of …. a processor, a controller, a microcontroller, or a microprocessor.
[0374] the method according to the present embodiments may be implemented in the form of an apparatus …. for performing the functions or operations described above. Software code may be stored in a memory unit, and may be driven by the processor.) and configure to cause the apparatus to:
determine a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) Round-Trip Time (RTT) timer (
[0118] FIG. 11 illustrates a DRX configuration information element according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 11, the definition of each parameter configured by RRC is as follows.
[0119] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity.
[0120] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.
[0121] drx-RetransmissionTimerDL (per DL HARQ process): the maximum duration until a DL retransmission is received.
[0122] drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received.
[0123] The base station may configure the above described DRX parameter used to control PDCCH monitoring in the MAC entity of the UE in the UE through RRC signaling. When in the RRC CONNECTED, if the DRX is configured, the MAC entity of the UE may discontinuously monitor the PDCCH using the DRX operation.
[0178] …. when a UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication receives NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating NTN RTD offset), the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer), by:
receiving an adjustment configuration from a base station (BS) (
[0123] The base station may configure the above described DRX parameter used to control PDCCH monitoring in the MAC entity of the UE in the UE through RRC signaling. When in the RRC CONNECTED, if the DRX is configured, the MAC entity of the UE may discontinuously monitor the PDCCH using the DRX operation.
[0177] The offset information may be configured to take into account a large propagation delay of the non-terrestrial network. In addition, the offset information may be added ….. to a drx timer value.
[0178] For example, when a UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication receives NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating NTN RTD offset), the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value…
[0179] As an example, when the NTN RTD offset is configured as 544 ms and the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value is configured as 56 symbols (4 ms assuming the use of 15 kHz subcarrier spacing), the UE expire the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer at 548 ms (544 ms+4 ms).
[0209] The offset information described above or the offset timer to be described hereinafter may be indicated by system information ……. the information indicated by the base station includes information (e.g., index value TA) used to control the amount of timing adjustment in the MAC entity …...
[0346] The offset information or the offset timer in the above described embodiments may be used as common information or a common timer),
adjusting an offset value when the apparatus is allowed to adjust the offset value (
[0178] For example, when a UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication receives NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating NTN RTD offset), the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value…
[0179] As an example, when the NTN RTD offset is configured as 544 ms and the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value is configured as 56 symbols (4 ms assuming the use of 15 kHz subcarrier spacing), the UE expire the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer at 548 ms (544 ms+4 ms).
(Construed that UE is allowed to adjust the offset value since UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value)); and
determining the DRX RTT timer based on an adjusted offset value (
[0178] the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value.
[0179] As an example, when the NTN RTD offset is configured as 544 ms and the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value is configured as 56 symbols (4 ms assuming the use of 15 kHz subcarrier spacing), the UE expire the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer at 548 ms (544 ms+4 ms)).
HONG does not explicitly disclose wherein the adjustment configuration includes an indicator that allows the apparatus to adjust the DRX RTT timer
.
In an analogous art, KIM teaches wherein the adjustment configuration includes an indicator that allows the apparatus to adjust the DRX RTT timer (
Fig. 6, [0148] To support this operation, the non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit information on the transmission delays in the radio sections L1 to L3 to the corresponding terminals 621 to 623. Here, the information on the transmission delays may be information on the minimum transmission delay (hereinafter, referred to as ‘Ldelay_min information’) in the radio section L2 between the non-terrestrial node 610 and the closest terminal 622. …….. In this case, Ldelay_min in the following exemplary embodiments may be replaced with Ldelay_ref. That is, Ldelay_min may mean Ldelay_ref.
[0150] The TA information transmitted by the non-terrestrial node 610 may be adjustment information of uplink transmission timing in consideration of Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref). For example, when an uplink transmission timing value to be adjusted by one of the terminals 621 to 623 is 10 and Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) is 8, the non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit, to the one of the terminals 621 to 623, TA information instructing to adjust the uplink transmission timing by 2.
[0151] The terminals 621 to 623 may adjust the uplink transmission timing based on the Ldelay_min and/or TA information received from the non-terrestrial node 610.
[0152] Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information may be configured differently according to the type, altitude, etc. of the non-terrestrial node 610. The non-terrestrial node 610 may transmit system information or another control message (e.g., MAC control message or PHY control message) including the Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information to the terminals 621 to 623. That is, the Ldelay_min (or Ldelay_ref) information may be signaled in an explicit manner through system information.
[0163] In downlink communication, the H-RTT-timer may be defined as ‘drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL’, and in uplink communication, the H-RTT-timer may be defined as ‘drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL’.
[0175] Meanwhile, in the DRX operation shown in FIG. 7, a transmission delay parameter (hereinafter referred to as ‘Ldelay_value’) may be considered in a radio section between the non-terrestrial node and the terminal in the non-terrestrial network shown in FIG. 6. The Ldelay_value may be the Ldelay_min (or, Ldelay_ref), a transmission delay in a radio section, which is estimated or calculated by the non-terrestrial node, or a transmission delay in a radio section, which is estimated (or, measured) or calculated by the terminal.
[0178] The H-RTT-timer (hereinafter referred to as ‘non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer’) used in the non-terrestrial network may be set in consideration of Ldelay_value. The H-RTT-timer used in the terrestrial network (e.g., 4G communication network or 5G communication network) may be referred to as ‘terrestrial H-RTT-timer’. For example, the H-RTT-timer shown in FIG. 7 may be the terrestrial H-RTT-timer. The non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer (e.g., non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL, non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL) may be set to a value greater than Ldelay_value or Ldelay_value. Alternatively, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set based on a sum of the terrestrial H-RTT-timer and Ldelay_value. Alternatively, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set by considering a transmission delay deviation (e.g., Ldelay_diff) between the non-terrestrial node and a plurality of terminals, in addition to the sum of the terrestrial H-RTT-timer and Ldelay_value. For example, the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be set based on Equation 1 or Equation 2 below.
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL+Ldelay_value
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL+Ldelay_value [Equation 1]
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerDL+Ldelay_value±Ldelay_diff
Non-terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL=terrestrial H-RTT-TimerUL+Ldelay_value±Ldelay_diff [Equation 2].
[0179] The non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer may be configured by the non-terrestrial node. The non-terrestrial node may inform the terminal of the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer through a combination of at least one of an RRC message, a MAC message, and a PHY message. The terminal may identify the non-terrestrial H-RTT-timer by receiving the RRC message, the MAC message, and/or the PHY message from the non-terrestrial node.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of determining and adjusting drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL of KIM to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and TRIPAHY in order to take the advantage of method for reducing power consumption in a terminal (KIM: [0002]).
Regarding claim 28, HONG, in view of KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 27, further comprising:
determining the UE is allowed to adjust the offset value based on the adjustment configuration (
See [0178-0179] cited above for claim 27.).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, hereinafter ‘KIM’) and with further in view of OPPO (R2-1909749 "Discussion on DRX RTT timers in NTN", of IDS, hereinafter 'OPPO').
Regarding claim 29, HONG, in view of KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 27.
HONG and KIM do not explicitly disclose wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises: adjusting the offset value periodically with a period indicated in the adjustment configuration.
OPPO teaches wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises:
adjusting the offset value periodically with a period indicated in the adjustment configuration (
Page 2, Section 2 Discussion
Paragraph 9:
For option 1, network may determine the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step based on the moving speeds and the moving directions of the UE and satallite, then network configures the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step to the UE. And UE updates drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (should be read as drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, see Paragraph 2 above) or the offset for the start of the two timers as configured.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of adjusting offsets values for drx-HARQ-RTT-Timers of OPPO to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and KIM in order to take the advantage of method by which network does not need to update the configuration of the timers or the offset for the start of the timers frequently which requires large signalling overhead (OPPO: Page 2 Section 2 Discussion).
Regarding claim 30, HONG, in view of KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 27.
HONG and KIM do not explicitly disclose wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises: adjusting the offset value when a timer in the adjustment configuration expires.
OPPO teaches wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises: adjusting the offset value when a timer in the adjustment configuration expires (Page 2, Section 2 Discussion
Paragraph 9:
For option 1, network may determine the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step based on the moving speeds and the moving directions of the UE and satallite, then network configures the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step to the UE. And UE updates drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (should be read as drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, see Paragraph 2 above) or the offset for the start of the two timers as configured.
(It is obvious that the next adjustment to offset value is after expiry of the current period for periodic adjustments)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of adjusting offsets values for drx-HARQ-RTT-Timers of OPPO to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and KIM in order to take the advantage of method by which network does not need to update the configuration of the timers or the offset for the start of the timers frequently which requires large signalling overhead (OPPO: Page 2 Section 2 Discussion).
Regarding claim 31, HONG, in view of KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 27.
HONG and KIM do not explicitly disclose wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises: adjusting the offset value with an adjustment value indicated in the adjustment configuration received from the BS.
OPPO teaches wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises:
adjusting the offset value with an adjustment value indicated in the adjustment configuration received from the BS (
Page 2, Section 2 Discussion
Paragraph 9:
For option 1, network may determine the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step based on the moving speeds and the moving directions of the UE and satallite, then network configures the adjustment periodicity and the adjustment step to the UE. And UE updates drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL and drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (should be read as drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, see Paragraph 2 above) or the offset for the start of the two timers as configured.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of adjusting offsets values for drx-HARQ-RTT-Timers of YU to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and KIM in order to take the advantage of method by which network does not need to update the configuration of the timers or the offset for the start of the timers frequently which requires large signalling overhead (OPPO: Page 2 Section 2 Discussion).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong; Sung-pio (US 20220007455 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2019/012687, of record, hereinafter ‘HONG’) in view of in view of Kim; J. H. (US 20210006328 A1, hereinafter ‘KIM’) and with further in view of Tripathy et al. (US 20210119861 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63056276, of record, hereinafter ‘TRIPATHI’)
Regarding claim 32, HONG, in view of KIM, teaches the apparatus of Claim 27, wherein adjusting the offset value further comprises:
adjusting the offset value with a common offset value indicated in system information by the BS after an offset adjustment command being received (
[0178] For example, when a UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication receives NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating NTN RTD offset), the UE controls the running of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer so that a value adding the NTN RTD offset to the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value indicated through the DRX configuration information becomes the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value.
[0179] As an example, when the NTN RTD offset is configured as 544 ms and the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer value is configured as 56 symbols (4 ms assuming the use of 15 kHz subcarrier spacing), the UE expire the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer at 548 ms (544 ms+4 ms).
[0209] The offset information described above or the offset timer to be described hereinafter may be indicated by system information.).
HONG and KIM do not explicitly disclose adjusting the offset value with a common offset value indicated in system information broadcasted by the BS after an offset adjustment command being received.
In an analogous art, TRIPATHY teaches adjusting the offset value with a common offset value indicated in system information broadcasted by the BS after an offset adjustment command being received (
[0091] NTN-Type-specific parameter (e.g., “minimal_NTN_delay”) that represents the minimum round trip propagation delay specific to the NTN type.
[0094] the overall adjustment made by the UE could be {(minimal_NTN_delay +existing R15-defined timing value)*scaling_factor} instead of {minimal_NTN_delay+R15-defined timer value}. The parameter minimal_NTN_delay …… may be explicitly broadcast in System Information.
Tripathy [0091, 0094] discloses NTN type specific minimum round trip propagation delay or common delay offset specific to the NTN type which is indicated in system information broadcasted to the UE apparatus.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the technique of determining actual DRX RTT timers including a minimum round trip propagation delay or common delay offset based on NTN type of TRIPATHI to the system of DRX operation for communication using a non-terrestrial network between a user equipment (UE) and a network node of HONG and KIM in order to take the advantage of method for making NTN signaling more efficient and relevant, reducing the overall overhead and increasing the spectral efficiency by defining parameters corresponding to NTN type and using NTN type (TRIPATHI: [0105, 0132]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413