Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/5/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8 and 10-13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II-VI, and there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Withdrawn: 8, 10-13
Examined Herein: 1-7, 9
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under based upon an application filed in FR2007997 on 7/29/2020 and PCT/FR2021/051419 on 7/29/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/27/2023 and 2/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 1/27/2023 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The depiction of Formula I and II contains reference characters that are illegible. Applicant is asked to provide a clearer depiction of Formula I and II so that the reference characters are plain and legible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (Chitosan Oligosaccharide-Stabilized Ferrimagnetic Iron Oxide Nanocubes for Magnetically Modulated Cancer Hyperthermia, 5/15/2012, ACS Nano, Vol 6/Issue 6, 5266-5273), in view of Hwang (US 2014/0242870 A1, Published 8/28/2014).
With respect to claim 1, Bae discloses a statistical polysaccharide with a weight-average molecular weight of between 3-5 kDa of formula I:
[Bae (Supporting Information), Page 5, Figure S1]
wherein,
Rc represents a group comprising a chelating agent, catechol,
Z is a hydrocarbon-based chain comprising 3 carbon atoms and comprises one O heteroatom,
x is 0.048 (deacetylation degree = 95.2%; See supporting Information, Page 1, Paragraph 1),
y is 0.31 (degree of substitution = 30.9%; See supporting Information, Page 1, Paragraph 2)
y/x ratio is ~6.5, which is greater than or equal to 0.05, and
the sum of x + y is ~0.36, which is greater than 0.30.
Bae further discloses that -NH-Z-Rc together form DOPA. [Bae (Supporting Information), Page 1, Paragraph 2]
With respect to claim 3, Bae discloses a statistical polysaccharide with a weight-average molecular weight of between 3-5 kDa of formula I:
[Bae (Supporting Information), Page 5, Figure S1]
wherein,
Rc1 represents a group comprising a chelating agent, catechol,
Z1 is a hydrocarbon-based chain comprising 3 carbon atoms and comprises one O heteroatom,
x is 0.048 (deacetylation degree = 95.2%; See supporting Information, Page 1, Paragraph 1),
y is 0.31 (degree of substitution = 30.9%; See supporting Information, Page 1, Paragraph 2)
y/x ratio is ~6.5, which is greater than or equal to 0.05, and
the sum of x + y is ~0.36, which is greater than 0.30, and
z is 1.
Bae further discloses that -NH-Z1-Rc1 together form DOPA. [Bae (Supporting Information), Page 1, Paragraph 2]
With respect to claim 9, Bae discloses the polysaccharide chelates iron. [Bae, Page 5268, Figure 2]
Bae does not disclose the statistical polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 100 kDa and 1000 kDa.
However, with respect to claim 1 and 3, Hwang discloses a composite comprising chitosan having a weight-average molecular weight of between 5 kDa and 500 kDa and DOPA or catechol, wherein the catechol or DOPA is crosslinked to the amine groups of chitosan. [Hwang, 0016, 0018]
Modifying the polysaccharide disclosed by Bae so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 5kDa and 500 kDa, results in the statistical polysaccharide of claim 1 and 3.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polysaccharide disclosed by Bae so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 5kDa and 500 kDa and have a reasonable expectation of success. Bae discloses a polysaccharide, chitosan, conjugated to a chelator, DOPA via the amine group of chitosan. Hwang discloses a polysaccharide, chitosan having a weight-average molecular weight of between 5 kDa and 500 kDa, crosslinked to DOPA via the amine group of chitosan. The disclosure of Hwang establishes that a chitosan-DOPA conjugate may have a weight-average molecular weight of between 5 kDa and 500 kDa. Thus, the combined teachings of Bae and Hwang suggest the chitosan-DOPA conjugate disclosed by Bae may have a weight-average molecular weight of between 5 kDa and 500 kDa. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect the polysaccharide disclosed by Bae may be modified so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 5kDa and 500 kDa. One would have been motivated to do so because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.07 In the instant case, the selection of chitosan having a weight-average molecular weight of between 5 kDa and 500 kDa based on its suitability for its use in a chitosan-DOPA conjugate is prima facie obvious.
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (Radiolabeling of folic acid-modified chitosan with 99mTc as potential agents for folate-receptor-mediated targeting, 8/24/2011, Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters, Volume 21, Issue 21, 6446-6450), in view of Borbely (US 2013/0302255 A1, 11/14/2013).
With respect to claim 1, Guo discloses a statistical polysaccharide with a weight-average molecular weight of 6 kDa of formula I:
[Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1]
Wherein,
Rc represents a chelating agent comprising pteridine-p-aminobenzoic acid,
Z is a hydrocarbon-based chain comprising 3 carbon atoms and comprises O and N heteroatoms,
x is 0.297, (MW = 6000 Da; degree of deacetylation = 70%)
y is 0.162, (MW = 6000 Da; degree of deacetylation = 70%; folic acid monomer units = 6)
y/x ratio is ~0.55, which is greater than 0.05, and
the sum of x + y is ~0.50, which is greater than 0.30. [Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1 and Page 6447, Col. 1, Paragraph 2 and Page 6450, Col. 2, #23]
Guo further discloses that -NH-Z1-Rc1 together form folic acid. [Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1]
With respect to claim 3, Guo discloses a statistical polysaccharide with a weight-average molecular weight of 6 kDa of formula I:
[Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1]
Wherein,
Rc1 represents a chelating agent pteridine-p-aminobenzoic acid,
Z1 is a hydrocarbon-based chain comprising 3 carbon atoms and comprises O and N heteroatoms,
x is 0.297, (MW = 6000 Da; degree of deacetylation = 70%)
y is 0.162, (MW = 6000 Da; degree of deacetylation = 70%; folic acid monomer units = 6)
y/x ratio is ~0.55, which is greater than 0.05, and
the sum of x + y is ~0.50, which is greater than 0.30, and
z is 1. [Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1 and Page 6447, Col. 1, Paragraph 2 and Page 6450, Col. 2, #23]
Guo further discloses that -NH-Z1-Rc1 together form folic acid. [Gao, Page 6447, Scheme 1]
With respect to claim 5, Guo discloses x is 0.297, which is between 0.25 and 0.4.
With respect to claim 6, Guo discloses y is 0.162, which is between 0.05 and 0.2.
Guo does not disclose the statistical polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 100 kDa and 1000 kDa.
However, with respect to claim 1-4, Borbely discloses a polysaccharide, chitosan, having a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa conjugated with folic acid, DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. [Borbely, 0049-0056]
With respect to claim 7, Borbely discloses the polysaccharide is formulated in a composition in hydrogel form. [Borbely, 0120-0123]
With respect to claim 9, Borbely discloses the chitosan-complexing agent conjugate chelates a lanthanide or a transition metal ion. [Borbely, 0049-0056]
Modifying the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 20-600 kDa, results in the statistical polysaccharide of claim 1 and 3.
Further modifying the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo by replacing folic acid, with a chelator, DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO results in the statistical polysaccharide of claim 1-4 and 9, wherein Rc and Rc1 represent a chelating group DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO that chelates lanthanide or a transition metal ion.
Further modifying the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo by formulating the polysaccharide (chitosan) in hydrogel form results in the statistical polysaccharide of claim 7.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa and have a reasonable expectation of success. Guo discloses a polysaccharide, chitosan, conjugated with folic acid. Borbely discloses a polysaccharide, chitosan having a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa, conjugated with folic acid. The disclosure of Borbely establishes that a chitosan-folic acid conjugate may have a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa. Thus, the combined teachings of Guo and Borbely suggest the chitosan-folic acid conjugate disclosed by Guo may have a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo may be modified so that the polysaccharide has a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa. One would have been motivated to do so because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.07 In the instant case, the selection of chitosan having a weight-average molecular weight of between 20 kDa and 600 kDa based on its suitability for its use in a chitosan-folic acid conjugate is prima facie obvious.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo by replacing folic acid with DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO and have a reasonable expectation of success. Guo discloses a chitosan-folic acid conjugate. Borbely discloses a conjugate comprising chitosan and folic acid, DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. The disclosure of Borbely establishes that a conjugate comprising chitosan conjugated to folic acid may alternatively be conjugated to DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. Thus, the combined teachings of Guo and Borbely suggest the chitosan of the chitosan-folic acid conjugate disclosed by Guo may alternatively be conjugated to DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo may be modified by replacing folic acid with DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to combine references when some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. MPEP 2144(II) In the instant case, Borbely discloses conjugating chitosan to DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO yields an MR contrast agent that may internalize into the targeted tumor cells and enhance relaxivity, improve the signal-to-noise and therefore facilitate the early tumor diagnosis. [Borbely, 0046, 0049, 0048, 0058] Therefore, one would have been motivated by the expectation that modifying the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo by replacing folic acid with DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO would yield a MR contrast agent useful for imaging and tumor diagnosis.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo and Borbely by formulating the chitosan in hydrogel form and have a reasonable expectation of success. Guo and Borbely disclose a chitosan-chelator conjugate, wherein the chelator is DOTA, NOTA, TETA, or DFO. Borbely discloses a chitosan-chelator conjugate that is formulated in hydrogel form, wherein the chelator is DOTA, DTPA, or EDTA. The disclosure of Borbely establishes that a chitosan-chelator conjugate, like chitosan-DOTA, may be formulated in hydrogel form. Thus, the combined teachings of Guo and Borbely suggest the chitosan-DOTA conjugate disclosed by Guo and Borbely may be formulated in hydrogel form. Therefore, it is reasonable to expect the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo and Borbely may be modified by formulating the chitosan in hydrogel form. One would have been motivated to do so because it is prima facie obvious to modify or combine references when the rationale for doing so is expressly stated in the prior art. MPEP 2144(I) In the instant case, Borbely discloses the aforementioned chitosan conjugate forms self-assembled polyelectrolytes that produce stable polyelectrolyte complexes and can appear in hydrogels. [Borbely, 0026, 0049-0051] Therefore, one would have been motivated to modify the polysaccharide disclosed by Guo and Borbely by formulating the chitosan in hydrogel form because the prior art expressly teaches this modification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 19/495,920 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant claim 1 and 3 are drawn to a statistical polysaccharide of Formula I and II, respectively.
Reference claim 14 is drawn to a statistical polysaccharide wherein;
Rc represents a group comprising a chelating agent, DOTAGA,
Z represents a linker which is a single bond,
X is 0.25 to 0.4,
Y is 0.05 to 0.2,
the y/x ratio being greater than or equal to 0.05, and
the sum x + y being greater than or equal to 0.30.
Reference claim 14 is also drawn to a statistical polysaccharide wherein;
Rc1 represents a group comprising a chelating agent, DOTAGA,
Z1 represents a linker which is a single bond,
X is 0.25 to 0.4,
Y is 0.05 to 0.2,
the y/x ratio being greater than or equal to 0.05,
the sum x + y being greater than or equal to 0.30, and
Z is 1.
Thus, the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the instant claims. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species of the reference claim should the genus issue as a patent after the species. MPEP 804(II)(B)(2)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618