DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cooling module comprising a cavity forming a cooling pool housing the electric transformer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement intended by “a cooling module comprising a cavity forming a cooling pool housing the electric transformer.” The “cooling module” with cavity forming a cooling pool is unclear. Does applicant intend the cooling module to be a housing/casing/enclosure for the transformer? Applicant should clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 12-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. [US 2019/0385785 A1] in view of Zhi et al. [CN 209168896 U].
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. discloses a magnetic component comprising two ferromagnetic half-cores stacked and superposed to form a ferromagnetic core [figure 3] comprising three legs [102a, 102b, 102c, 204a, 204b, 204c], namely two first legs [102a, 204a, 102c, 204c] and one second leg [102b, 204b], each leg being formed from two facing half-legs separated by a gap [106a, 106b, 106c], each leg comprising a primary winding [104a] and a secondary winding [104b] having a winding direction, on each of the half-legs forming the leg, respectively.
Le et al. further discloses cancelation flux with the core/gaps/winding structure.
Li et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the inverted or opposite winding direction of the windings.
Zhi et al. discloses a magnetic device [101, figure 1] comprising magnetic core having three core legs [31, 32, 33], a plurality of primary windings [41a, 42a, 43a] and a plurality of secondary windings [41b, 42b, 43b] wound around the core legs, wherein the magnetic flux between the primary and secondary winding canceled each other [primary winding and secondary winding wound in opposite direction].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to wound the primary and secondary windings of Li et al. in opposite direction, as suggested by Zhi et al., for the purpose of controlling magnetic field/flux.
Regarding claim 2, Zhi et al. discloses “triangular” arrangement of the core legs at 120 degrees.
The specific triangular spacing/arrangement would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different magnetic flux/field desired.
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. discloses the use of E-shape cores.
Regarding claims 4-5, 9 and 12, both Li et al. and Zhi et al. discloses the magnetic core and winding structure for a transformer which can be use as/in an electric equipment.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 13, the specific use of the transformer in an electric charger or a power converter would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use.
Claim(s) 6 and 10-11, as best in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. in view of Zhi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HAN [CN87208043U].
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. further discloses a cooling module [110] supporting the transformer [figure 1].
Li et al. in view of Zhi et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the cooling module.
HAN discloses a cooling module [2, figure 2] comprising a cavity forming a cooling pool housing a transformer [3] with cooling fins [1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a housing for the transformer of Li et al., as suggested by HAN, for the purpose of protecting the transformer and improving cooling.
Regarding claims 10-11, the specific use of the transformer in an electric charger or a power converter would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837