DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stawiarkski et al. (US 2022/0132415) in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0030477).
With regard to claims 1, 13, 25, and 28, teaches: A method (See figure 6)/ An apparatus (see figure 9)/CRM (paragraphs 64-67)/ A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See figure 6), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (paragraph 68, see figure 9); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (paragraphs 66-68: see figure 8):
receive, from a base station, system information that indicates a cell reselection priority for evaluating each cell of a plurality of cells including a neighboring cell, a master cell group cell, and a secondary cell group cell, the cell reselection priority indicating that the neighboring cell is assigned a higher priority than the master cell group cell, the secondary cell group cell, or both, configured at the UE (see steps 600-604: paragraphs 60-62:
. [0060] In FIG. 5, the additional field of the SIB5 message can indicate the priority of a neighboring cells on the same frequency. However, if the frequency, and the priority values are the same as depicted in scenario 500 with multiple small cells 402, 502, then the UE 102 can default to the cell with the better signal level (e.g., dBm). Thus, without receiving the SIB5 message priority value, the UE 102 can select the small cell 502 based on defaulting to the better signal (e.g., −96 dBm). However, if the UE 102 receives the SIB5 message priority value indicating that the small cell 402 is the top priority, then the UE 102 can select the small cell 402 for communication.
[0061] Referring now to FIG. 6, illustrated is an example flow diagram for a method for priority offloading for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments. An element 600, the method can comprise receiving first frequency data representative of a first frequency associated with a macro cell communication device. At element 602, the method can comprise receiving second frequency data representative of a second frequency associated with a small cell communication device. Additionally, at element 604, the method can comprise receiving, priority data representative of a priority associated with a communication with the small cell communication device
);
perform a cell reselection procedure that prioritizes reselection of the master cell group cell, the secondary cell group cell, or both, over the neighboring cell using configuration information for the master cell group cell, the secondary cell group cell, or both that is stored upon entering an inactive state
(see idle mode cell reselection : paragraphs 32-36, and 62-64:
[0031] Where there are multicarrier networks, the UEs can be distributed amongst the carriers based on different criteria. Prioritization may cause certain devices to end up on a carrier that it should not be on. When there is a deployment of different types of cells (e.g., macro cells, small cells, etc.), in some scenarios, the small cell and the macro cell can use a same frequency. However, if the same carrier is being utilized there is no mechanism to prioritize the small cell over the macro cell on the same carrier.
[0032] For example, the UE 102 can have multiple choices for cell reselection. The small cells can be deployed to offload traffic from macro cells, and the small cells can operate in the same frequency band of macro cell. Therefore, the small cell and macro can have the same frequency priority.
[0033] A wireless operator can use idle mode traffic management to move UEs to small cell. Idle mode traffic management can comprise LTE inter-frequency prioritization. The macro cell can operate in the same frequency band as the small cell. The macro cell transmission power (40 W) can be stronger than small cell transmission power (5 W). Thus, the UE will tend to choose the macro cell instead on small cell. As a result, the UE may not be able to offload traffic to the small cell.
[0034] A system information broadcast (SIB) 5 message can be modified to comprise a new field: “CellPriority”. Thus, the SIB5 message can contain information on the priority of a carrier and a list of neighboring cells on the carrier. When the UE receives this information, the information can be used to reselect a carrier based on the list. If the minimum signal level criteria is fulfilled, the UE can reselect to another frequency associated with a higher priority carrier. A UE can read the SIB5 message when camping on a serving cell. The UE can perform inter-frequency cell measurement and idle mode inter-frequency cell reselection. If conditions are met for the UE to move to a high-priority frequency band, and if more than one cell is operating in that frequency band, then the UE can use the frequency priority, neighboring cell info, cell priority, and/or reference signal received power (RSRP) to choose a candidate cell for idle mode cell reselection. Modification of the SIB5 can prompt modifications to the RAN (e.g., eNB, radio access network intelligent controller (RIC)) and the UE. The UE can read the new SIB5 field (“CellPriority”) and interpret the new value to select the candidate cell for idle mode cell reselection.
); and
Although Stawiarski teaches idle mode cell re-selection (see paragraphs 32-38), it does not explicitly discloses the process after cell re-selection. Thus, Stawiarski fails to disclose the process of establish, after the UE transitions from the inactive state to an active state, a connection with a first cell of the plurality of cells based at least in part on the cell reselection procedure.
Similar to the system of Stawiarski, Jung discloses the priority based cell reselection based SIB5 messages (paragraphs 170, 202, and 230). However, Jung explicitly discloses the process of UE transitioning from idle/inactive mode to connected (active) mode after establishing connection with UE (paragraphs 468, 481-482, 557, see figure 2f).
[0468] FIG. 2E illustrates a procedure in which an eNB releases connection to a UE and thus the UE transitions from an RRC connected mode to an RRC idle mode, and a procedure in which the UE establishes connection with the eNB and thus transitions from the RRC idle mode to the RRC connected mode, according to an embodiment of the disclosure.
[0481] In this regard, when the UE establishes the RRC connection so as to transition from the RRC idle mode to the RRC connected mode, a large number of signaling procedures may be requested. Therefore, in the NR or 5G system, an RRC inactive mode may be newly defined. As described above, in the new mode, the UE and the eNB may store a context of the UE and may maintain the S1 bearer when required, and therefore, when the UE in the RRC inactive mode attempts to re-access a network, the UE may access the network faster through less signaling procedures and may transceive data, according to an RRC reconnection setup procedure to be provided below.
[0482] FIG. 2F illustrates a procedure in which a gNB 2f-02 releases connection to a UE 2f-01 and thus the UE 2f-01 transitions from an RRC connected mode to an RRC inactive mode, and a procedure in which the UE 2f-01 establishes connection with the gNB 2f-02 an
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to establish, after the UE transitions from the inactive state to an active state, a connection with a first cell of the plurality of cells based at least in part on the cell reselection procedure as taught by Jung at the end of idle mode cell selection process of Stawiarski in order to improve battery savings (minimize battery consumption) (Jung: paragraph 224).
With regard to claims 2, 14, 26, and 29, Stawiarski teaches: wherein establishing the connection with the first cell comprises: establishing the connection with the first cell that is the master cell group cell or the secondary cell group cell using a configuration of the configuration information for the master cell group cell or the secondary cell group cell that is configured prior to transitioning from the active state to the inactive state (see steps 704 or step 806 in figures 7/8: paragraphs 60-63).
With regard to claims 3, 15, 27, and 30, Jung also teaches: wherein performing the cell reselection procedure comprises: monitoring the master cell group cell or the secondary cell group cell in accordance with a first periodicity that is shorter in time than a second periodicity at which the UE monitors for the neighboring cell (Paragraphs 523 and 536: two different timers (T380 or T319).
With regard to claims 4 and 16, Stawiarski teaches: wherein performing the cell reselection procedure comprises: performing a measurement of a first signal of the master cell group cell or the secondary cell group cell according to the first periodicity; and performing a measurement of a second signal of the neighboring cell according to the second periodicity (paragraphs 536, 563, and 570-571)
With regard to claims 5 and 17, Stawiarski teaches: wherein establishing the connection with the first cell comprises: establishing the connection with the first cell that is the neighboring cell within a time period based at least in part on a signal of the neighboring cell satisfying a first threshold that is offset relative to a second threshold monitored for establishing connectivity with the master cell group cell, the secondary cell group cell, or both (paragraphs 39-43: see high and low thresholds for SrxLev. Jung also teaches similar thresholds (see figure 1F).).
With regard to claims 6 and 18, Stawiarski teaches: wherein the first threshold corresponds to a higher signal level than the second threshold (paragraphs 39-43: see high and low thresholds for SrxLev. Jung also teaches similar thresholds (see figure 1F: paragraphs 169-175).).
With regard to claims 7 and 19, Stawiarski teaches: further comprising: initiating a timer in response to transitioning to the inactive state; and evaluating the master cell group cell and the secondary cell group cell before expiration of the timer (see paragraphs 62-63: see figure 3).
With regard to claims 8 and 20, Jung also teaches: further comprising: evaluating the neighboring cell after expiration of the timer(see figure 2J: paragraphs 585-594).
With regard to claims 9 and 21, Jung also teaches: further comprising: determining a duration of the timer based at least in part on frequency of transitioning from the active state to the inactive state during a time period (see claim 1 remarks: paragraphs 468 and 481-482).
With regard to claims 10 and 22, Jung also teaches: wherein performing the cell reselection procedure comprises: evaluating one or more cells of the plurality of cells in accordance with the cell reselection priority indicated in the system information based at least in part on the UE being in a panic mode (see emergency call: figure 2M: paragraphs 606-612).
With regard to claims 11 and 23, Stawiarski teaches: wherein performing the cell reselection procedure comprises: determining an evaluation order indicating an order in which to evaluate the plurality of cells based at least in part on assigning a higher priority to the master cell group cell, the secondary cell group cell, or both, than the neighboring cell; and evaluating one or more cells of the plurality of cells in accordance with the evaluation order (paragraphs 60-63).
With regard to claims 12 and 24, Stawiarski teaches: further comprising: determining that the neighboring cell is associated with a different frequency than the master cell group cell and the secondary cell group cell, a different radio access technology than the master cell group cell and the secondary cell group cell, or both (see figure 5: paragraphs 59-60).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Su et al. (US 2020/0128484), see figure 4, which shows the RRC transitions mode in cell re-selection process.
Berqvist et al. (US 2022/0191779), see figure 20, which shows a base station sending priority information before the UE becomes inactive (suspend connection).
Panchal et al. (US 2021/0099934), see figure 8, which shows mobile device receiving priority information for dual connectivity system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468