DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 14-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2022/0095350) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US Pub. 2021/0051652).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 15, Lee teaches a communication apparatus comprising: a receiver, which in operation, receives a single downlink control information (DCI) (“receiving, from the BS, a single downlink control information (DCI) including information about two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states” in Claim 1); and circuitry, which in operation, obtains radio resources of multiple Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) based on the single DCI (“receiving two physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the single DCI” in Claim 1), wherein, a first PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (“a first PDSCH of the two PDSCHs corresponds to a first TCI state” in Claim 1), and a second PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a second TCI state (“a second PDSCH of the two PDSCHs corresponds to a second TCI state” in Claim 1), the first PDSCH is associated with one or more transport blocks (TBs) (“The PDSCH conveys DL data (e.g., DL-shared channel transport block (DL-SCH TB))” in [0139]), and the second PDSCH is associated with one or more TBs different from the one or more TBs associated with the first PDSCH (“In this case, when an odd number of total resource block group (RBG) sizes are allocated to the UE, resources may be allocated for the first/second PDSCHs according to one of the following schemes: (i) One more RBG is allocated for the first PDSCH based on configuration in which a first MCS for the first PDSCH between the PDSCHs being higher than a second MCS for the second PDSCH between the PDSCHs; (ii) One more RBG is allocated for the second PDSCH based on the first MCS being higher than the second MCS; (iii) One more RBG is allocated for the first PDSCH or the second PDSCH based on the first MCS being the same as the second MCS; or (iv) One more RBG is allocated for one PDSCH determined based on information related to the one TB between the PDSCHs” in [0739]-[0743]). Lee, however, does not teach a first PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a first start and length indicator value (SLIV), and a second PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a second SLIV. Khoshnevisan teaches a first PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a first start and length indicator value (SLIV), and a second PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a second SLIV (“The TDRA field 220 may indicate a mapping type, a slot offset (K0), a start symbol (S), an allocation length (L), a start and length indicator (SLIV)” in [0094]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to have a first PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a first start and length indicator value (SLIV), and a second PDSCH of the multiple PDSCHs is associated with a second SLIV as taught by Khoshnevisan in order to determine the set of PDSCH occasions for a downlink serving cell based on a set of configured PDSCH-to-HARQ-ACK delay (K1) values, a set of TDRA candidates, a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration, or a combination thereof [0100].
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches each of the multiple PDSCHs includes one or more code-blocks (CBs) or one or more code-block-groups (CBGs) (“CBG-based (or CBG-level) PDSCH” in [0154]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches a size of each of the multiple PDSCHs is configured by control information or RRC signalling (“determine the TB size corresponding to the CW indicated by DCI and/or higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC or MCA-CE, etc.)” in [0507]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches the multiple PDSCHs are related to transmission using different transmission and reception points (TRPs) (“receiving the respective PDSCHs (e.g., PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2) through different TRPs” in [0547]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches the multiple PDSCHs are related to transmission using a same transmission and reception point (TRP) (“receiving the respective PDSCHs (e.g., PDSCH #1 and PDSCH #2) through the same TRP” in [0547]).
Regarding claim 21, Khoshnevisan teaches the DCI comprises a time-domain resource assignment (TDRA) field, and wherein the radio resources of the multiple PDSCHs are indicated by the TDRA field (“the TDRA field 220” in [0096]).
Regarding claim 22, Khoshnevisan teaches the single DCI includes a start and length indicator (SLIV) corresponding to each of the multiple PDSCHs (“The TDRA field 220 may indicate a mapping type, a slot offset (K0), a start symbol (S), an allocation length (L), a start and length indicator (SLIV)” in [0094]).
Regarding claim 23, Khoshnevisan teaches the single DCI includes a slot offset corresponding to each of the multiple PDSCHs (“The TDRA field 220 may indicate a mapping type, a slot offset (K0), a start symbol (S), an allocation length (L), a start and length indicator (SLIV)” in [0094]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Khoshnevisan et al. and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US Pub. 2020/0351934, hereinafter Khoshnevisan1934).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Khoshnevisan also teaches a time-domain resource assignment (TDRA) table [0100]. Lee in view of Khoshnevisan, however, does not teach a time-domain resource assignment (TDRA) table is configured by at least a DCI, MAC CE, or RRC signalling, or specified in specifications. Khoshnevisan1934 teaches a time-domain resource assignment (TDRA) table is configured by at least a DCI, MAC CE, or RRC signalling, or specified in specifications (“the TDRA table may be a default table known to the network and the UE, or may be a configurable table that is configured via RRC signaling” in [0057]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Khoshnevisan to have a time-domain resource assignment (TDRA) table is configured by at least a DCI, MAC CE, or RRC signalling, or specified in specifications as taught by Khoshnevisan1934 in order to use configurable table [0057].
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Khoshnevisan et al. and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20220400489).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations in claim 1 as shown above. Lee in view of Khoshnevisan, however, does not teach different spatial information is indicated for each of one or more TCI states. Kim teaches different spatial information is indicated for each of one or more TCI states (“control information including a plurality of L pieces of beam information (spatial relation information TCI state)” in [0025]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Khoshnevisan to have different spatial information is indicated for each of one or more TCI states as taught by Kim in order to perform transmission of an uplink channel or reception of a downlink channel based on the control information [0025].
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the single DCI indicates at least a TCI state with a reference signal (RS) to derive spatial information (“TCI state ID may be indicated through DCI to indicate QCL reference information for the PDSCH DMRS” in [0170]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 9 and 14-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CLEMENCE S HAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414