DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Schmidt does not disclose “receiving, before a paging occasion of the terminal, a first paging indication” and “determining, based on the first paging indication, to monitor downlink control information (DCI).”
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that, using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Schmidt discloses receiving, before a paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 15-20), a first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], determining, based on the first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], to monitor downlink control information (DCI) (col.11, lines 20-23; col. 13, lines 22, 23, 25).
The argument features Schmidt is totally silent about the first paging indication comprises a first field which comprises R pieces of indication information corresponding to R paging occasions, each of the R pieces of indication information corresponds to a respective paging occasion of the R paging occasions and comprises M bits indicating whether paging is monitored on the paging occasion corresponding to the respective indication information, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, the R paging occasions comprises the paging occasion of the terminal, and R is an integer greater than 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that, using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Schmidt discloses the first paging indication comprises a first field which comprises R pieces of indication information corresponding to R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23), each of the R pieces of indication information corresponds to a respective paging occasion of the R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23) and comprises M bits indicating whether paging is monitored on the paging occasion corresponding to the respective indication information (col. 11, lines 15-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23), and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [e.g. 16 bits (col. 13, lines 22, 23), the R paging occasions comprises the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 22, 23), and R is an integer greater than 1 [e.g. paging occasions (col. 11, lines 22, 23)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Schmidt and Fu is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40, 42-46, 48, 53, 55, 56, 58-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Schmidt et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 8,892,091).
Consider claim 40; Schmidt discloses a method, performed by a terminal or a chip configured for a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving, before a paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 15-20), a first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], wherein the first paging indication comprises a first field which comprises R pieces of indication information corresponding to R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23), each of the R pieces of indication information corresponds to a respective paging occasion of the R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23) and comprises M bits indicating whether paging is monitored on the paging occasion corresponding to the respective indication information (col. 11, lines 15-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23), and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [e.g. 16 bits (col. 13, lines 22, 23), the R paging occasions comprises the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 22, 23), and R is an integer greater than 1 [e.g. paging occasions (col. 11, lines 22, 23)]; and
determining, based on the first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], to monitor downlink control information (DCI) on the paging occasion of the terminal (col.11, lines 20-23; col. 13, lines 22, 23, 25), wherein the DCI schedules a paging message (col. 13, lines 25-28).
Consider claim 42; Schmidt discloses determining (col. 13, lines 17-20), based on a location of the paging occasion of the terminal in the R paging occasions (col. 13, lines 12, 17-18), indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20); and determining, based on the indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20), to monitor DCI on the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20, 22-23, 25).
Consider claim 43; Schmidt discloses the R paging occasions are different paging occasions in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (col. 12, lines 13-23).
Consider claim 44; Schmidt discloses receiving, in a monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23), the first paging indication (col. 13, lines 19-20).
Consider claim 45; Schmidt discloses receiving monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16); and determining the monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23, 26-28) based on the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16).
Consider claim 46; Schmidt discloses determining a start point of the monitoring time interval based on the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16); and determining the monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23) based on the start point of the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16).
Consider claim 48; Schmidt discloses indication information of a plurality of terminals which are grouped into M groups (col. 11, lines 18-23), and wherein each of the M bits indicates whether a terminal in a corresponding group in the M groups monitors on a corresponding paging occasion (col. 11, lines 18-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23).
Consider claim 53; Schmidt discloses a terminal or a communication apparatus configured for a terminal, comprising:
one or more processors (col. 17, lines 23-37); and
a communication interface (col. 17, lines 23-26);
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program that is executable by the one or more processors (col. 17, lines 23-37), the program including instructions to:
receive, before a paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 15-20), a first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], wherein the first paging indication comprises a first field which comprises R pieces of indication information corresponding to R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23), each of the R pieces of indication information corresponds to a respective paging occasion of the R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23) and comprises M bits indicating whether paging is monitored on the paging occasion corresponding to the respective indication information (col. 11, lines 15-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23), and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [e.g. 16 bits (col. 13, lines 22, 23), the R paging occasions comprises the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 22, 23), and R is an integer greater than 1 [e.g. paging occasions (col. 11, lines 22, 23)]; and
determine, based on the first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], to monitor downlink control information (DCI) on the paging occasion of the terminal (col.11, lines 20-23; col. 13, lines 22, 23, 25), wherein the DCI schedules a paging message (col. 13, lines 25-28).
Consider claim 55; Schmidt discloses determining (col. 13, lines 17-20), based on a location of the paging occasion of the terminal in the R paging occasions (col. 13, lines 12, 17-18), indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20); and determining, based on the indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20), to monitor DCI on the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20, 22-23, 25).
Consider claim 56; Schmidt discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium comprises computer instructions, and when the computer instructions are run on a terminal, the terminal is enabled to perform the following:
receive, before a paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 15-20), a first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], wherein the first paging indication comprises a first field which comprises R pieces of indication information corresponding to R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23), each of the R pieces of indication information corresponds to a respective paging occasion of the R paging occasions (col. 11, lines 15-23) and comprises M bits indicating whether paging is monitored on the paging occasion corresponding to the respective indication information (col. 11, lines 15-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23), and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 [e.g. 16 bits (col. 13, lines 22, 23), the R paging occasions comprises the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 11, lines 22, 23), and R is an integer greater than 1 [e.g. paging occasions (col. 11, lines 22, 23)]; and
determine, based on the first paging indication [e.g. P-RNTI (col. 11, lines 15-20)], to monitor downlink control information (DCI) on the paging occasion of the terminal (col.11, lines 20-23; col. 13, lines 22, 23, 25), wherein the DCI schedules a paging message (col. 13, lines 25-28).
Consider claim 58; Schmidt discloses determining (col. 13, lines 17-20), based on a location of the paging occasion of the terminal in the R paging occasions (col. 13, lines 12, 17-18), indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20); and determining, based on the indication information corresponding to the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20), to monitor DCI on the paging occasion of the terminal (col. 13, lines 17-20, 22-23, 25).
Consider claim 59; Schmidt discloses the R paging occasions are different paging occasions in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (col. 12, lines 13-23).
Consider claim 60; Schmidt discloses the R paging occasions are different paging occasions in a same discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (col. 12, lines 13-23).
Consider claim 61; Schmidt discloses receiving, in a monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23), the first paging indication (col. 13, lines 19-20).
Consider claim 62; Schmidt discloses receiving (col. 13, lines 12-16), monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16); and determining the monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23, 26-28) based on the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16).
Consider claim 63; Schmidt discloses determining a start point of the monitoring time interval based on the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16); and determining the monitoring time interval (col. 13, lines 22-23) based on the start point of the monitoring time window configuration information (col. 13, lines 12-16).
Consider claim 64; Schmidt discloses indication information of a plurality of terminals which are grouped into M groups (col. 11, lines 18-23), and wherein each of the M bits indicates whether a terminal in a corresponding group in the M groups monitors on a corresponding paging occasion (col. 11, lines 18-23; col. 13, lines 19, 20, 22, 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49-52, 65-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 8,892,091) in view of Fu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0022105).
Consider claim 49, as applied in claim 48; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: an order of the M bits in each of the R pieces of indication information is based on an order of group numbers of the M groups.
In an analogous art Fu discloses an order of the M bits in each of the R pieces of indication information is based on an order of group numbers of the M groups (par. 96, lines 4-10).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including a group order, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 50, as applied in claim 49; Fu discloses Sth bits in the M bits indicates whether there is paging for an sthgroup, and s is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than M (par. 96, line 4 – par. 97, line 12).
Consider claim 51, as applied in claim 40; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: M is configured by a network device for the terminal.
In an analogous art Fu discloses M is configured by a network device for the terminal (par. 94, lines 1-9).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including a network device such as MME, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 52, as applied in claim 40; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: the first paging indication further comprises a fourth field, and wherein the fourth field indicates availability of an assistance reference signal, and wherein the assistance reference signal is: an assistance reference signal configured by a network device for one or more terminals in an idle mode or an inactive mode, or an assistance reference signal associated with the R paging occasions.
In an analogous art Fu discloses the first paging indication further comprises a fourth field (par. 35), and wherein the fourth field indicates availability of an assistance reference signal (par. 32, 35), and wherein the assistance reference signal is: an assistance reference signal configured by a network device for one or more terminals in an idle mode or an inactive mode, or an assistance reference signal associated with the R paging occasions (par. 32, 35, 123).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including assistance, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 65, as applied in claim 64; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: an order of the M bits in each of the R pieces of indication information is based on an order of group numbers of the M groups.
In an analogous art Fu discloses an order of the M bits in each of the R pieces of indication information is based on an order of group numbers of the M groups (par. 96, lines 4-10).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including a group order, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 66, as applied in claim 65; Fu discloses Sth bit in the M bits indicates whether there is paging for an sthgroup, and s is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than M (par. 96, line 4 – par. 97, line 12).
Consider claim 67, as applied in claim 53; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: M is configured by a network device for the terminal.
In an analogous art Fu discloses M is configured by a network device for the terminal (par. 94, lines 1-9).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including a network device such as MME, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 68, as applied in claim 53; Schmidt discloses the claimed invention except: the first paging indication further comprises a fourth field, and wherein the fourth field indicates availability of an assistance reference signal, and wherein the assistance reference signal is: an assistance reference signal configured by a network device for one or more terminals in an idle mode or an inactive mode, or an assistance reference signal associated with the R paging occasions.
In an analogous art Fu discloses the first paging indication further comprises a fourth field (par. 35), and wherein the fourth field indicates availability of an assistance reference signal (par. 32, 35), and wherein the assistance reference signal is: an assistance reference signal configured by a network device for one or more terminals in an idle mode or an inactive mode, or an assistance reference signal associated with the R paging occasions (par. 32, 35, 123).
It is an object of Schmidt’s invention to provide a method of ensuring paging messages are correctly received by a mobile terminal. It is an object of Fu’s invention to provide a method for receiving paging information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Schmidt by including assistance, as taught by Fu, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a telecommunications network.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646