DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on March 3, 2026.
Status of Claims
Amendment of claims 1, 5, 10-11, 13-14 and 23; addition of claims 26-34 and cancellation of claims 2-4 and 7
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-14, 23 and 26-34 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 11, 2025.
Claims 33 and 34 are further withdrawn since they do not encompass the species being examined:
and
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-14 and 26-32 are under the examination.
Priority
Rejections and/or Objections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Rejections and/or Objections) or newly applied (New Rejections and/or Objections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Rejections and/or Objections not Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Responses to Applicant’s arguments have been addressed immediately after the corresponding rejections, or in the section: Withdrawn Rejections and/or Objections, if the rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (New Rejection not Necessitated by Amendment)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls
within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since
the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). Note the explanation given by the
Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ2d 2031, 2033
(Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989), as to where broad language is followed by "such as"
and then narrow language. The Board stated that this can render a claim indefinite
by raising a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such language
is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or
(b) a required feature of the claims. Note also, for example, the decisions of Ex parte
Steigewald, 131 USPQ 74 (Bd. App. 1961); Ex parte Hall, 83 USPQ 38 (Bd. App.
1948); and Ex parte Hasche, 86 USPQ 481 (Bd. App. 1949).
In the instant case, claim 5 recites a broad limitation: “R7 is halo”, and then the claim also recites: “preferably F”, which is the narrower limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 (Modified Rejection not Necessitated by Amendment).
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-10, 14 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oxford et. al. (WO 2005/080367, 09-01-2005, cited by Applicant, cited in prior office action) as evidenced by Senior (GB 2293101, 03/20/1996).
For claims 1, 5-6, 8-10 and 26-31, Oxford teaches a method of treating preterm labor (see page 1, lines 24-25 citing GB 2293101; page 6, line 16; and claim 17) comprising administering to a subject in need thereof (i.e. a preterm pregnant subject) a composition comprising the EP2 agonist:
(see top compound on page 209).
Wherein “treating preterm labor” (in a preterm pregnant subject) means: “preventing pre-term labor” (in a preterm pregnant subject) as evidenced by GB 2293101. GB 2293101 teaches a method of preventing pre-term labor (in a preterm pregnant subject) comprising the administration of the EP2 agonist butaprost (see title (54) and abstract (57). The phrase “preventing pre-term-labor” means that the subject (a preterm pregnant subject) has not yet suffered from pre-term labor (i.e. has not yet entered labor early), which is equivalent to “prophylactically delaying the onset of labor” (in a preterm pregnant subject).
For claim 14, Oxford teaches that the compounds can be administered via an intramuscular, intraperitoneal, subcutaneous or intravenous injection (see page 30, lines 10-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Modified Rejection not Necessitated by Amendment).
1) Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford et. al. (WO 2005/080367, 09-01-2005, cited by Applicant, cited in prior office action) as evidenced by Senior (GB 2293101, 03/20/1996), in view of Woodward (US 9,820,954, cited in prior office action).
Oxford, as evidenced by GB 2293101, teaches all the limitations of claim 11 (see 102(a)(1) above), except for the compound being:
However, the above compound is the isopropyl ester of the compound disclosed above by Oxford.
Further, Woodward teaches that the compound:
is an EP2 agonist like:
(see column 7, lines 1-25).
Since Oxford teaches a method of treating preterm labor comprising the administration of a composition comprising the EP2 agonists in general, and
in particular, and since Woodward teaches that the compound:
is an EP2 agonist like:
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one functional equivalence (any EP2 agonist, in particular the above carboxylic acid) for another (the isopropyl ester of the above carboxylic acid) with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that both function in similar manner.
All this will result in the practice of claim 11, with a reasonable expectation of success.
2) Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oxford et. al. (WO 2005/080367, 09-01-2005, cited by Applicant, cited in prior office action) as evidenced by Senior (GB 2293101, 03/20/1996).
Oxford, as evidenced by GB 2293101, teaches all the limitations of claim 12 (see 102(a)(1) above), except for the woman being at higher risk than normal for onset of preterm labor.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art, knowing that the above EP2 agonist is effective in preventing the onset of preterm labor, to administer an EP2 agonist to those at higher risk for onset of preterm labor, thus resulting in the practice of claim 12 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Oxford, as evidenced by GB 2293101, teaches all the limitations of claim 13 (see 102(a)(1) above), except for the woman being at higher risk than normal for the compound being administered at less or equal to 37 weeks gestation. However, it is universally accepted that preterm birth is defined as childbirth occurring at less than 37 completed weeks (see for example instant specification, page 1, lines 21-22), as such, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art, to administer the compound of formula (II) to a preterm pregnant subject at less than or equal to 37 weeks gestation, thus resulting in the practice of claim 13 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
March 11, 2026.