DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed on May 21, 2026.
Status of Claims
Amendment of claims 1, 20, 23, 26, 28, 31, 33, 40, 43-44 and 46-48; cancellation of claims 2, 12, 17, and 36-37; and addition of claims 57-60 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 20-23, 26, 28, 31, 33, 36-37, 40, 43-44, 46-48 and 57-60 are currently pending and are the subject of this office action.
Claims 1, 20-23, 26, 28, 31, 33, 40, 43-44, 46-48 and 57-60 are presently under examination.
Priority
Rejections and/or Objections and Response to Arguments
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated (Maintained Rejections and/or Objections) or newly applied (New Rejections and/or Objections, Necessitated by Amendment or New Rejections and/or Objections not Necessitated by Amendment). They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Responses to Applicant’s arguments have been addressed immediately after the corresponding rejections, or in the section: Withdrawn Rejections and/or Objections, if the rejection was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Modified Rejection Necessitated by Amendment).
1) Claim(s) 1, 20-23, 26, 28, 31, 40, 43-44, 46-48 and 57-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinical Trials. Gov study NCT02906020 (V44 2019-07-12) (https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02906020) in view of Mila (American Academy of Neurology-70th Annual Meeting, Drugs of the Future (2018) 43:457-465).
For claims 1, 20-22, 40 and 59, the NCT02906020 study teaches a method of treating PD comprising the administration of an effective amount of a composition comprising the compound GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat, SAR402671, GZ402671):
(instant compound 2 or XII), wherein the subject are heterozygous carriers of a GBA mutation such as E326K (see entire document including Inclusion Criteria) and wherein the subject does not have Gaucher Disease (GD, a lysosomal storage disease, see Exclusion criteria).
The NCT02906020 study does not teach the administration of 2 mg to 30 mg of the above compound. However, Mila teaches (see page 261 under “Favorable Phase I safety and tolerability data for Venglustat) that in a Phase I study it was determined that the oral administration of 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg Venglustat were well tolerated and glucoseramide (GL-1) reductions were detected in plasma. All three amounts anticipate the claimed range (2 mg to about 30 mg).
At the time of the invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for the skilled in the art to treat PD comprising the oral administration of Venglustat or its salts (as taught by NCT02906020 study) in daily amounts of 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg (as taught by Mila).
The prior art is silent regarding:
“in an amount effective to reduce glycosphingolipid concentration in brain tissue (wherein the brain tissue is a neuron of substantia nigra, cerebral cortex, hippocampus, frontal lobes, or temporal lobes of said subject as in claim 59) of the subject, such that the concentration of glucosylceramide (GL-1) in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) of the subject is reduced by at least 30% (Claim 1).
However, the amounts disclosed by the prior art: 5 mg, 10 mg and 20 mg anticipate the instantly claimed range (2 mg to about 30 mg)..
The office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the effective amounts used in the method of the prior art (5 mg, 10 mg and 20 mg, etc.) do not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the amounts claimed in the instant application (2 mg to about 30 mg). In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the amounts used in the claimed method are different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
All this will result in the practice of claims 1, 20-22, 40 and 59 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 23, it is well known that brain tissues comprise neurons, thus resulting in the practice of claim 23 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 26, the prior art is silent regarding: “wherein the method results in a reduction of GL-1 concentration in CSF of at least 40%”
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg ".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “reduction of GL-1 concentration in CSF of at least 40%” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg ", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 26 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 28, the NCT02906020 study teaches that the subject has been diagnosed with PD (see under Inclusion criteria).
The prior art is silent regarding:
“wherein the method prevents, reduces, or reverses motor dysfunction, bradykinesia, rigidity, postural instability, and/or impaired balance”.
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: ““a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “the method prevents, reduces, or reverses motor dysfunction, bradykinesia, rigidity, postural instability, and/or impaired balance” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 28 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 31, the NCT02906020 study teaches that the subject has been diagnosed with PD (see under Inclusion criteria) and the subject has a PD diagnosis of >= 2 years (see under inclusion criteria), thus resulting in the practice of claim 31 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 43,
The prior art is silent regarding:
“wherein the method prevents, reduces, or reverses deterioration in attention concentration, executive functions, memory, language, etc.”.
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “the method prevents, reduces, or reverses deterioration in attention concentration, executive functions, memory, language, etc.” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 43 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 44,
The prior art is silent regarding:
“wherein the method is effective to improve cognitive ability or reduce cognitive deficits in the subject as measured by a reduction in the time taken to complete a trail-making test (TMT), a trail making test part A (TMT-A) or a trail-making test part B(TMT-B), or a reduction in the difference between the time taken to complete the TMT-A and the time taken to complete TMT-B.”
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “the method is effective to improve cognitive ability or reduce cognitive deficits in the subject as measured by a reduction in the time taken to complete a trail-making test (TMT), a trail making test part A (TMT-A) or a trail-making test part B(TMT-B), or a reduction in the difference between the time taken to complete the TMT-A and the time taken to complete TMT-B” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 44 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 46, Mila teaches the administration of 15 mf of Venglustat, thus resulting in the practice of claim 46 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 47,
The prior art is silent regarding:
“wherein the concentration of the compound in the CSF of the subject is at least 4 mg/ml within 3 months of commencing treatment”.
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “the concentration of the compound in the CSF of the subject is at least 4 mg/ml within 3 months of commencing treatment” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 47 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Similar arguments can be made for the wherein clause of claim 48 and 58.
For claim 57, Mila teaches the administration of 15 mf of Venglustat, thus resulting in the practice of claim 57 with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 60,
The prior art is silent regarding:
“wherein the method results in the reduction of GL-1 concentration in the CSF within 3 months of commencing treatment”.
However, the above statement does not require additional steps to be performed and simply expresses the intended result of carrying the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg".
MPEP 2111.04 states: “Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “ adapted to ” or “adapted for ” clauses;
(B) “ wherein ” clauses; and
(C) “ whereby ” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability; it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat ’l Ass ’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” (Emphasis added).
In the instant case “the method results in the reduction of GL-1 concentration in the CSF within 3 months of commencing treatment” appears to be the result of the process made obvious by the prior art: “a method of treating PD comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an effective amount of GZ/SAR402671 (Ibiglustat, Venglustat), wherein the subject does not have a lysosomal storage disease, and wherein the effective amount is 5 mg, 10 mg or 20 mg", e. g. the intended result of a process step positively recited.
All this will result in the practice of claim 60 with a reasonable expectation of success.
2) Claim(s) 33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clinical Trials. Gov study NCT02906020 (V44 2019-07-12) (https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02906020) in view of Mila (American Academy of Neurology-70th Annual Meeting, Drugs of the Future (2018) 43:457-465), as applied to claims 1, 20-23, 26, 28, 31, 40, 43-44, 46-48 and 57-60 above, further in view of Cheng et. al. (US 2018/0036295).
The NCT02906020 trial in view of Mila teaches all the limitations of claim 33 except for the subject has been treated with DOPA. However, Cheng teaches that L-DOPA is normally used to treat PD (see for example [0209]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to treat a subject that has been already treated with other PD medications including DOPA, thus resulting in the practice of claim 33 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Applicant’s arguments related to the above rejection
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Since a new rejection necessitated by amendment was issued (see above), it is the Examiner’s belief that most of the arguments presented by Applicant have been considered/answered in the rejection itself.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MARCOS L SZNAIDMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
June 1, 2026.