DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 31 January 2023.
Claims 77-91 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-76 are canceled.
Claims 92-96 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 January 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 92-96 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 January 2026. The requirement is hereby made FINAL.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Abstract contains phrases, “Embodiments of the present disclosure” in line 1; “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure” in line 2. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “This disclosure describes,” etc.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show descriptive text legends, for Figure 1 (see IAB donor 140, centralized unit (CU) 141, distributed unit (DU) 142, IAB node 150A, IAB node 150B, distributed unit (DU) 151A, mobile termination (MT) 152A, user equipment (UE) 160A, user equipment (UE) 160B, user equipment (UE) 160C, Next-Generation Core (NGC) 170); for Figure 2 (IAB nodes 202, 204, 206, 208, 210, and 212; links 214, 216, 218, 220, 222); for Figure 3 (step 302 transmits downlink control information; step 304 forward resource configuration; step 306 transmit reference signals (SSB or CSI-RS) using the configured resources; step 308 transmits a signaling indicating the measurement result; step 310 forward the measurement result); for Figure 4 (resource set 408, 410 and 412) for Figure 5 (preferred time domain offset value 502); for Figure 6 (step 602 transmits a signaling indicating a resource configuration of a reference signal; step 604 transmit a signaling indicating the resource configured. Step 606 transmits an uplink reference signal (RS) on the configured resources or resource sets); for Figure 7 (step 702 difference between the downlink transmission timing from Node #1 to Node #2; step 704 the downlink receiving timing at Node #2 from Node #1; step 706 the uplink receiving timing at Node #1 from Node #2; step 708 the uplink receiving timing at Node #1 from Node #3; step 710 the uplink transmission timing from Node #2 to Node #1, step 712 the downlink transmission timing from Node #2 to Node #3; step 714 the downlink receiving timing at Node #3 from Node #2 and step 716 the uplink transmission timing from Node #3 to Node #1); for Figure 8A (step 800 transmits a propagation delay; step 804 transmits a signaling indicating the timing advance (TA) value, step 806 transmits a TA command indicating the TA value); for Figure 8B (step 810 transmits a downlink signaling indicating a propagation delay; step 812 transmit an uplink signaling indicating the propagation delay; step 814 calculates a TA value; step 816 transmits a TA command indicating the TA value); for Figure 9 (step 902, downlink transmission timing from Node #1 to Node #2 starts at t1; step 904 downlink receiving timing at Node #2 from Node #1; step 906 the uplink receiving timing at Node #1 from Node #2; step 908 the uplink receiving timing at Node #1 from Node #3; step 910 the uplink transmission timing from Node #2 to Node #1 is a TA value, TA1,2; step 912 downlink transmission timing from Node #2 to Node #3; step 914 difference between the downlink receiving timing at Node #3 from Node #2; step 916 the uplink receiving timing at Node #2 from Node #3; and step 918 difference between the uplink transmission timing from Node #3 to Node #2); for Figure 10 (step 1000, transmits a TA command indicating a TA value (i.e., TA2,3); step 1002 transmits a signaling indicating a propagation delay between Node #2 and Node #3 (i.e., PA2,3) and the TA value; step 1004); for Figure 11(component 1100, IAB node) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 77-78 and 85-86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al (US 2019/0215125 A1), hereinafter Da Silva.
Regarding Claim 77, Da Silva discloses an apparatus (see Figures 1 and 7 and paragraphs 116; an apparatus/first radio node 120a), comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium/(memory circuitry 720) having stored/stored thereon computer-executable/executing instructions/instructions);
at least one receiving circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one receiving circuitry/input circuitry 750);
at least one transmitting circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one receiving circuitry/output circuitry 740); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one processor/(processing circuitry 710) coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium/memory circuitry 720), the at least one receiving circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; the at least one receiving circuitry/input circuitry 750), and the at least one transmitting circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; the at least one receiving circuitry/output circuitry 740), the apparatus operating as a first node in a network (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 60 and 116; the apparatus/(first radio node 120) operating as a first node/(first radio node 120) in a network/network environment 100), wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor (see Figures 1 and 7 and paragraph 117; wherein the computer-executable instructions/instructions cause the at least one processor/processing circuitry 710) to:
transmit a first signaling indicating a resource configuration of a kind of reference signal for a second node and a first identifier associated with the second node (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, 350a and paragraphs 76-79 and 95; transmit/transmitting a first signaling/(reference signal 210a) indicating/indicate a resource configuration/(RRC containing reporting format configuration) of a kind of reference signal/(reference signal 210a) for a second node/(communication device 110) and a first identifier/(unique identifier) associated with the second node/communication device 110); and
receive a second signaling indicating a reporting metric associated with the reference signal and a second identifier associated with the reference signal (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, step 355 and paragraphs 76 and 89; receive/(communication device 100 transmits) a second signaling/(measurement report) indicating a reporting metric/(radio resource measurements) associated with the reference signal/(reference signal 210a) and a second identifier/associated with the reference signal/an identifier of the reference signal).
Regarding Claim 78, Da Silva discloses the apparatus, wherein the reference signal is a downlink reference signal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 76; wherein the reference signal/(reference signal 210a) is a downlink reference signal/reference signal 210a is a downlink reference signal, Note: access node 120a transmits to the communication device 110).
Regarding Claim 85, Da Silva discloses an apparatus (see Figures 1 and 7 and paragraphs 116; an apparatus/first radio node 120a), comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium/(memory circuitry 720) having stored/stored thereon computer-executable/executing instructions/instructions);
at least one receiving circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one receiving circuitry/input circuitry 750);
at least one transmitting circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one receiving circuitry/output circuitry 740); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; at least one processor/(processing circuitry 710) coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium/memory circuitry 720), the at least one receiving circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; the at least one receiving circuitry/input circuitry 750), and the at least one transmitting circuitry (see Figure 7 and paragraph 116; the at least one receiving circuitry/output circuitry 740), the apparatus operating as a first node in a network (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 60 and 116; the apparatus/(first radio node 120) operating as a first node/(first radio node 120) in a network/network environment 100), wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor (see Figures 1 and 7 and paragraph 117; wherein the computer-executable instructions/instructions cause the at least one processor/processing circuitry 710) to:
receive a first signaling indicating a resource configuration of a kind of reference signal for a second node and a first identifier associated with the second node (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, 350a and paragraphs 76-79 and 95; receive/transmitting a first signaling/(reference signal 210a) indicating/indicate a resource configuration/(RRC containing reporting format configuration) of a kind of reference signal/(reference signal 210a) for a second node/(communication device 110) and a first identifier/(unique identifier) associated with the second node/communication device 110); and
transmit a second signaling indicating a reporting metric associated with the reference signal and a second identifier associated with the reference signal (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, step 355 and paragraphs 76 and 89; transmit/(communication device 100 transmits) a second signaling/(measurement report) indicating a reporting metric/(radio resource measurements) associated with the reference signal/(reference signal 210a) and a second identifier/associated with the reference signal/an identifier of the reference signal).
Regarding Claim 86, Da Silva discloses the apparatus, wherein the reference signal is a downlink reference signal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 76; wherein the reference signal/(reference signal 210a) is a downlink reference signal/reference signal 210a is a downlink reference signal, Note: access node 120a transmits to the communication device 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 79 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Vitthaladevuni et al (US 2018/0027437 A1), hereinafter Vitthaladevuni.
Regarding Claim 79, Although Da Silva discloses the reference signal as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal”.
However, Vitthaladevuni discloses the apparatus, wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal (see paragraph 86; wherein the uplink reference signal/(uplink reference signal) is a sounding reference signal/sounding reference signal (SRS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal” as taught by Vitthaladevuni in the system of Da Silva to provide channel estimation in wireless communication systems (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Vitthaladevuni).
Regarding Claim 87, Although Da Silva discloses the reference signal as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal”.
However, Vitthaladevuni discloses the apparatus, wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal (see paragraph 86; wherein the uplink reference signal/(uplink reference signal) is a sounding reference signal/sounding reference signal (SRS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the uplink reference signal is a sounding reference signal” as taught by Vitthaladevuni in the system of Da Silva to provide channel estimation in wireless communication systems (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Vitthaladevuni).
Claim(s) 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Sadiq et al (US 2020/0028768 A1), hereinafter Sadiq.
Regarding Claim 80, Although Da Silva discloses the reference signal as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the downlink reference signal is a synchronization signal block or channel state information reference signal”.
However, Sadiq discloses the apparatus, wherein the downlink reference signal is a synchronization signal block or channel state information reference signal (see paragraphs 77, 91 and 98; wherein the downlink reference signal/(downlink reference signal) is a synchronization signal block/SSBs or channel state information reference signal/CSI-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the downlink reference signal is a synchronization signal block or channel state information reference signal” as taught by Sadiq in the system of Da Silva to enhance signaling efficiencies (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Sadiq).
Claim(s) 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0374871 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 81, Da Silva discloses the apparatus, wherein the first signaling is transmitted to one of the second node (see Figure 2 and Figure 4, 350a and paragraphs 76-79 and 95; wherein the first signaling/(reference signal 210a) is transmitted/transmitting to one of the second node/communication device 110).
Although Da Silva discloses the first signaling is transmitted to one of the second node as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “which is a parent node of the second node”.
However, Liu discloses the apparatus, which is a parent node of the second node (see paragraphs 65-67 and 80; which is a parent node/(parent node) of the second node/second node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “which is a parent node of the second node” as taught by Liu in the system of Da Silva to avoid or reduce communication interruptions (See page 1, paragraph 5 of Liu).
Claim(s) 82 and 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Liu, and further in view of Qi et al (US 2020/0252465 A1), hereinafter Qi.
Regarding Claim 82, Although the combination of Da Silva and Liu discloses an identifier as set forth above,
The combination of Da Silva and Liu does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node”.
However, Qi discloses the apparatus, wherein the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node (see paragraph 50; wherein the first identifier/(node identifier) is a node identifier/(node identifier) of the second node/second node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node” as taught by Qi in the combined system of Da Silva and Liu for establishing communication between nodes (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Qi).
Regarding Claim 88, Although Da Silva discloses the first signaling is transmitted to the second node as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second node is a child node of the first node and the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node”.
However, Liu discloses the apparatus wherein the second node is a child node of the first node (see paragraphs 65-68 and 80; wherein the second node/(second node) is a child node/(child node) of the first node/first node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the second node is a child node of the first node” as taught by Liu in the system of Da Silva to avoid or reduce communication interruptions (See page 1, paragraph 5 of Liu).
Although the combination of DaSilva and Liu discloses the second node is a child node of the first node as set forth above,
The combination of DaSilva and Liu does not explicitly disclose “and the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node”.
However, Qi discloses the apparatus,
and the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node (see paragraph 50; and the first identifier/(node identifier) is a node identifier/(node identifier) of the second node/second node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and the first identifier is a node identifier of the second node” as taught by Qi in the combined system of Da Silva and Liu for establishing communication between nodes (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Qi).
Claim(s) 83 and 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view Manolakos et al (US 2022/0039084 A1), hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding Claim 83, Although Da Silva discloses the first signaling as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling”.
However, Manolakos the apparatus, wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling (see paragraph 223; wherein the reporting metric/(CSI measurement reporting) comprises a time domain offset/(time offsets) between the first signaling/(L1 signaling) and a resource/PRS configured for the reference signal/RS by the first signaling/(L1 signaling) (provisional 63/058,647; see paragraph 107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling” as taught by Manolakos in the system of Da Silva for reporting of Channel Quality Indications (CQIs) (see paragraph 223, lines 4-5).
Regarding Claim 89, Although Da Silva discloses the first signaling as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling”.
However, Manolakos the apparatus, wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling (see paragraph 223; wherein the reporting metric/(CSI measurement reporting) comprises a time domain offset/(time offsets) between the first signaling/(L1 signaling) and a resource/PRS configured for the reference signal/RS by the first signaling/(L1 signaling) (provisional 63/058,647; see paragraph 107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling” as taught by Manolakos in the system of Da Silva for reporting of Channel Quality Indications (CQIs) (see paragraph 223, lines 4-5).
Claim(s) 84 and 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view Manolakos, and further in view of Noh et al (US 2021/0014931 A1), hereinafter Noh.
Regarding Claim 84, Although the combination of Da Silva and Manolakos discloses the first signaling as set forth above,
The combination of Da Silva and Manolakos does not explicitly disclose “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling”.
However, Noh discloses the apparatus, wherein the time domain offset is a number of at least one slot or at least one symbol with a length in time domain associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (see Figure 7 and paragraph 110; wherein the time domain offset/(time domain) is a number/5 of at least one slot/slot or at least one symbol/(OFDM symbols) with a length/(length 7-05) in time domain/(time domain) associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS)/subcarrier spacing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the time domain offset is a number of at least one slot or at least one symbol with a length in time domain associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS)” as taught by Noh in the combined system of DaSilva and Manolakos to provide a PDSCH time domain resource allocation method (see paragraph 110 of Noh).
Regarding Claim 90, Although the combination of Da Silva and Manolakos discloses the first signaling as set forth above,
The combination of Da Silva and Manolakos does not explicitly disclose “wherein the reporting metric comprises a time domain offset between the first signaling and a resource configured for the reference signal by the first signaling”.
However, Noh discloses the apparatus, wherein the time domain offset is a number of at least one slot or at least one symbol with a length in time domain associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (see Figure 7 and paragraph 110; wherein the time domain offset/(time domain) is a number/5 of at least one slot/slot or at least one symbol/(OFDM symbols) with a length/(length 7-05) in time domain/(time domain) associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS)/subcarrier spacing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the time domain offset is a number of at least one slot or at least one symbol with a length in time domain associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS)” as taught by Noh in the combined system of DaSilva and Manolakos to provide a PDSCH time domain resource allocation method (see paragraph 110 of Noh).
Claim(s) 91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view Kwak et al (US 2019/0207664 A1), hereinafter Kwak.
Regarding Claim 91, Although Da Silva discloses the first signaling as set forth above,
Da Silva does not explicitly disclose “further comprising determining a priority for the second signaling based on at least one of a serving cell index”.
However, Kwak discloses the apparatus discloses the apparatus, further comprising determining a priority for the second signaling based on at least one of a serving cell index (see paragraphs 94 and 164; further comprising determining a priority/(lower priority) for the second signaling/CQI based on at least one of a serving cell index/cell index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “further comprising determining a priority for the second signaling based on at least one of a serving cell index” as taught by Kwak in the system of Da Silva information of a cell having a lower cell index is transmitted to solve such a collision (see paragraph 94, lines 19-21 of Kwak).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan et al (US 2021/0218484 A1) discloses Method for Reporting Measurement Result of Interference Measurement and Apparatus. Specifically, see paragraphs 79-222.
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469