DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a 371 of PCT/GB2021/051292 filed on May 27, 2021.
An amendment was filed by the applicant on May 4, 2025.
Claims 4 and 11 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dowling (US 2018/0057128 A1) in view of Dudt et al. (US 7,707,957).
Dowling discloses a manned submersible vessel pressure hull, as shown in Figures 1-14, which is comprised of a pressure hull that is made from a plurality of acrylic cylinders, each defined as Part #12, with supporting ribs, each defined as Part #13, that form a central section, a front access hatch, defined as Part #9, a top hatch, defined as Part #7, battery pods, each defined as Part #5, with thrusters, each defined as Part #6, trim ballast compartments that hold metallic ballast, and a plurality of seats for multiple occupants, as shown in Figures 2-4. Another embodiment of said submersible vessel includes a single unit acrylic pressure hull, as shown in Figures 12-14, with a hemispherical acrylic access hatch section, defined as Part #28, having a major axis that is arranged transverse to a normal direction of motion of said vessel in order to provide occupants with a clear forward line of sight, as demonstrated in Figure 14, and seating for up to four occupants within said pressure hull. Thrusters, each defined as Part #31, are also provided on said pressure hull for propulsion, as shown in Figures 12-14.
Dowling, as set forth above, discloses all of the features claimed except for the use of a submersible vessel pressure hull in the form of a single piece that is spheroidal in shape.
Dudt et al. discloses a structural support arrangement for underwater vessels, as shown in Figures 1A-7. On lines 25-29 of column 1, Dudt et al. discloses that the hulls of submersible vehicles are typically constructed from surface-of-revolution shapes, i.e., spherical shells, cylinders, and spheroids, with these shapes being typically compartmentalized and often reinforced.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize submersible vehicle pressure hulls that are constructed from surface-of-revolution shapes in the form of single piece spherical shells, cylinders and spheroids, as taught by Dudt et al., in combination with the manned submersible vessel pressure hull as disclosed by Dowling for the purpose of providing a manned submersible vessel pressure hull that is formed as a single piece and is spheroidal in shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-13 and 15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4, 2026 regarding claim 14 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that neither Dowling (US 2018/0057128 A1) nor Dudt et al. (US 7,707,957) discloses or suggests the use of a manned submersible vessel pressure hull that is made of a single piece that is spheroidal in shape.
In response to the applicant’s argument, Dowling discloses a manned submersible vessel pressure hull which is made from a plurality of acrylic cylinders (12) with supporting ribs (13) that form a central section, a front access hatch (9), a top hatch (7), and a plurality of seats for multiple occupants. Another embodiment of said manned submersible vessel includes a single piece acrylic pressure hull with a hemispherical acrylic access hatch section (28) having a major axis that is arranged transverse to a normal direction of motion of said vessel in order to provide occupants with a clear forward line of sight and seating for up to four occupants within said pressure hull. However, Dowling does not specifically disclose an embodiment in which said manned submersible vessel pressure hull is constructed as a single piece with a spheroidal shape. As a result, the examiner has relied upon the teachings of Dudt et al. to demonstrate that the use of a submersible vessel pressure hull that is formed as a single piece with a spherical, cylindrical or spheroidal shape is known in the marine art. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize submersible vehicle pressure hulls that are constructed from surface-of-revolution shapes in the form of a single piece spherical shell, cylinder or spheroid, as taught by Dudt et al., in combination with the manned submersible vessel pressure hull as disclosed by Dowling for the purpose of providing a manned submersible vessel pressure hull that is made as a single piece that is spheroidal in shape. Therefore, for the reasons given above, the rejection of claim 14 is deemed proper and is not withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
May 14, 2026
/LARS A OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615B