Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely elected a flexible coupling joint assembly (Group I) and traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 3, 2025.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 27, 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.121(d) because each replacement drawing sheet fails to be labelled “Replacement Sheet”.
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed February 27, 2026 are objected to because:
Fig. 7 fails to show lubrication port 65 as described at paragraph 0050.
Reference numeral 73 appears in Fig. 14, but not in the specification.
The drawings fail to show:
A 0-to-6-degree bend angle like that recited in claim 12.
A limited spherical arc like that recited in claim 5.
A lubrication cavity like that recited in claim 7.
Contrary to the description at paragraph 0058, the drawings show grooves 63 cut into bowl shaped entity 60, not “mushroom” 61.
Fig. 12 shows geographical center point PP on a surface of “mushroom” 61, but Fig. 6 shows it at an arbitrary interior point of shaft 42.
Reference numeral 72 is used to identify to different features at paragraph 0060.
With the exception of the wear plates 21 and perhaps a few other features, none of the claim elements/features are identified by reference characters in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because:
With the exception of the wear plates 21 and perhaps a few other features, none of the claim elements/features are identified by reference characters in the description.
At paragraph 0060 reference numeral 72 is used to identify two different features.
The detailed description of the invention fails to describe:
The male and female members being spaced apart to define a space as recited in claim 1.
A 0-to-6-degree bend angle like that recited in claim 1 & 12.
The ability to pivot in a limited spherical arc like that recited in claim 5.
A lubrication cavity like that recited in claim 7.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with a phrase that can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above most of the claim elements and features are either not shown or properly indicated in the drawings and description. Without such it is not possible to accurately determine the metes and bounds of the claims.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “with receiving multi-sided or reciprocating said multi-sided or polygonal shape”. It’s mean is unknown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 & 18-198 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baudoin, US 2016/0108970. At Figs. 1-5 & 8, Baudoin shows a flexible coupling joint assembly (5) for transmitting torque (paragraph 0002) comprising:
a male member (30);
said male member that is a multi-sided ball (30a), or polygonal ball, extending generally in a longitudinal direction;
said multi-sided ball having a plurality of flat or curved faces (95) and a pivot point (see paragraph 0010)
a female member (40)
said female member that is a socket (90), “with receiving multi-sided (25), or reciprocating said multi-sided or polygonal shape extending generally in a longitudinal direction”;
said female member having a center point aligning with said male member’s pivot point for adjustments in alignment between the male and female components (see paragraph 0010);
said male member having a portion (30a) that is disposed in the female socket;
wear plates (in Fig. 8 indicated by reference numeral 50) inserted between the surfaces of the male member and the reciprocating and receiving female member; and
said wear plates distributing received weight between the male and female members.
At Figs. 1-5 Baudoin shows the flexible coupling joint assembly (5) male member (30) exhibits a fixed pivot point comprising:
a spherical shaped member (30a) that is a convex cap component;
said cap component exhibiting a geometrical center that is co-extensive with said multi-sided, or polygonal, ball;
said spherical member integral with said multisided, or polygonal, ball;
said spherical member reciprocating to a mating, similarly radiused bowl (45) in the female socket (90);
said similarly radiused bowl member separate from, said female
socket;
said spherically shaped bowl having the same geometrical center with said spherical member;
said spherical member and said radiused bowl each having a smooth surface to reduce friction between said members; and
said spherical member being disposed in the spherical bowl and allowed to slide on said spherical interface of said bowl allowing the flexible coupling to pivot about the spherical center of the multi-sided, or polygonal, ball.
At Figs. 2-3, Baudoin shows the coupling displayed at one or both ends is confined within a lubrication cavity (100, 110) wherein said lubrication is isolated and protected from outside contaminates and leakage by an elastomeric seal (75, 80) between said male member and female member, wherein each end coupling exhibits a lubrication port (105) for lubricant to pumped into said lubrication cavity.
In the reply filed February 27, 2026 applicant argues Baudoin fails to disclose flat wear plates. However at Fig. 8, Baudoin shows flat wear plates 50 that are disclosed as cube shaped in paragraph 0035. Applicant also argues Baudoin fails to disclose a pivot point. However, at paragraph 0010 Baudoin discloses that its ball and socket articulate to a desired angle which could not be accomplished without a pivot point. Applicant also argues Baudoin’s wear plates don’t receive weight between the male and female members. However the drawings clearly show the wear plates receive weight between the male and female members
Claims 1-8 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wenzel, US 2010/0313692. At Figs. 1-13, Wenzel shows a flexible coupling joint assembly (10) for transmitting torque (paragraphs 0001-0003) comprising:
a male member (12);
said male member that is a multi-sided ball (20), or polygonal ball, extending generally
in a longitudinal direction;
a female member (14)
said female member that is a socket (28), with reciprocating multi-sides (25), or reciprocating said multi-sided or polygonal shape extending generally in a longitudinal direction;
said male member having a portion that is disposed in the female socket;
wear plates (In Figs. 13-16, indicated by reference numeral 40) inserted between the surfaces of the male member and the reciprocating and receiving female member; and
said wear plates distributing received weight between the male and female members.
At Figs. 1-13, Wenzel shows the flexible coupling joint assembly (10) male member (12) exhibits a fixed pivot point comprising:
a spherical shaped member (50) that is a convex cap component;
said cap component exhibiting a geometrical center that is co-extensive with said multi-sided, or polygonal, ball;
said spherical member separate from said multisided, or polygonal, ball;
said spherical member reciprocating to a mating, similarly radiused bowl (54) in the female socket;
said similarly radiused bowl member separate from, said female
socket;
said spherically shaped bowl having the same geometrical center with said spherical member;
said spherical member and said radiused bowl each having a smooth surface to reduce friction between said members; and
said spherical member being disposed in the spherical bowl and allowed to slide on said spherical interface of said bowl allowing the flexible coupling to pivot about the spherical center of the multi-sided, or polygonal, ball.
At Fig. 2, Wenzel shows the coupling displayed at one or both ends is confined within a lubrication cavity (64, 66) wherein said lubrication is isolated and protected from outside contaminates and leakage by an elastomeric seal (56) between said male member and female member, wherein each end coupling exhibits a lubrication port (62) for lubricant to pumped into said lubrication cavity.
In the reply filed February 27, 2026 applicant argues that Wenzel’s flat drive plates 50 are described a drive keys that engage teeth and therefor fail to read on the claims. However, applicant’s argument fails to identify a limitation(s) that Wenzel’s drive plates 50 fail to read on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of Baudoin and Wenzel. Baudoin and Wenzel do not expressly disclose the torque transmission having a capacity of 20,000 to 60,000 ft-lbs and the assembly capable of between 0 to 6 degrees of bend angle. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the torque transmission having a capacity of 20,000 to 60,000 ft-lbs and the assembly capable of between 0 to 6 degrees of bend angle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 & 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jones and Richards disclose flexible joints.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679