DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-14 and 18 have been cancelled.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has not rejected any claims under 35 USC 102 and/103 over Robinson, Brinkmann (2010), and /or Brinkmann (2017).. This is not found persuasive because the written restriction sets forth an explanation as to why the claims lack a special technical feature (and thus lack unity of invention) in view of this prior art. Applicant’s arguments are not understood. Furthermore, this prior art is applied below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-11 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 is directed to:
An anti-PDL1xEGFR bispecific antibody, comprising two polypeptide chains and two light chains selected from the group consisting of:(a) the polypeptide chain comprises VL-PDL1-linker1-VH-PDL1-linker2-VH-
EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3 or VH-PDL1-linker1-VL-PDL1-1inker2-VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3 or
VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VL-PDL1-linker1-VH-PDL1 or VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VH-PDL1-linker1-VL-PDL1 from the N-terminal to the C-terminal, and
the light chain comprises VL-EGFR-CL from the N terminal to the C terminal; or
(b) the polypeptide chain comprises VL-EGFR-linker1-VH-EGFR-linker2-VH-
PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3 or VH-EGFR-linker1-VL-EGFR-linker2-VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3 or
VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VL-EGFR-linker1-VH-EGFR: or VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-
VH-EGFR-linker1-VL-EGFR from the N terminal to the C terminal, and
the light chain comprises VL-PDL1-CL from the N terminal to the C terminal;
wherein, the VL-PDL1 is a light chain variable region binding to PD-L1,
the VH-PDL1 is a heavy chain variable region binding to PD-L1,
the VL-EGFR is a light chain variable region binding to EGFR,
the VH-EGFR is a heavy chain variable region binding to EGFR,
the CH1-CH2-CH3 is a heavy chain constant region, the CL is a light chain constant
region,
the linker1 and linker2 are each independently flexible peptide linkers,
the VL-PDL1 and the VH-PDL1 form an antigen-binding site that specifically binds to
PD-L1, and
the VH-EGFR and the VL-EGFR form an antigen-binding site that specifically binds to
EGFR.
The claim needs the conjunction “and’ as bolded, italicized, and underlined above.
In addition, the claim has inadvertently omitted “VH-” where “VH-EGFR” or “VH-PDL1” was intended in several places as bolded, italicized, and underlined above. The formula does not define “EGFR” or “PDL1” in the absence of a VH or VL designation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Claim 3 recites the sequence GGGGS and this sequence is disclosed throughout the specification. However, there does not appear to be a sequence identifier in the specification, claims, or sequence listing for this sequence. See at least pages 5 and 17-18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings for Figures 1, 2A-B, 3A-B, 4, 5A-B, 6-13, and 14A-B, were received on 4/10/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
As set forth in the written restriction, the current effective filing date for the instant claims is 1 June 2021, the filing date of PCT/CN2021/097785. Applicant is again advised to file a certified translation of the foreign priority document to get benefit of the foreign priority filing date 2 June 2020.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application (CN 202010487524.3, filed 2 June 2020) to overcome any art rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record) in view of Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), and Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record).
Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786) discloses that PD-L1 and EGFR bispecific antibodies would be therapeutically useful. The bispecific antibody can be in multiple formats such as an IgG-scFv and scFv-IgG format. Pharmaceutical compositions are disclosed. The heavy chain isotypes can be IgG (including IgG1, IgG2, IgG3, and IgG4) and the light chains can be lambda or kappa types. (See instant claim 7.) See at least claims 1, 4, 9-11, and 14 and paragraphs [0016, 0031, 0034, 0041, and 0043].
Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796) discloses bispecific antibodies where an scFv for IGF-1 is fused at the N- or C- terminus of an EGFR antibody heavy chain or an scFv for EGFR is fused at the N- or C- terminus of an IGF-1 antibody heavy. See at least paragraphs [0038-0041] and Figure 2A-B. At least Figure 18 and paragraphs [0082 and 0423] disclose that antibodies can be labeled with Alexa647 (a known detectable fluorescent label). See instant claims 17. These IgG-Hc-scFv and scFv-Hc-IgG formats can also be visualized in Figure 2, Box 10, Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record). The IgG-Hc-scFv (Box 10, 1st construct on left) and scFv-Hc-IgG (Box 10, 7th construct from left) formats would have been well known and have the linkers disclosed in the instant claims. At least Figure 18 and paragraphs [0082 and 0423] disclose that antibodies can be labeled with Alexa647 (a known detectable fluorescent label). See instant claims 17.
It would have been obvious to make a bispecific anti-PD-L1xEGFR antibody in the IgG-scFv or scFv-IgG format as suggested by Robinson et al. This format would have been well known for bispecific antibodies (including all of the linkers) as evidenced by Brinkmann et al. (2017). Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796) demonstrates that it would have been routine to produce a bispecific antibody including EGFR in this format. It would have been obvious to make a pharmaceutical compositions containing a bispecific antibody as disclosed by Robinson et al. It would have been obvious to label the bispecific antibody with a detectable label as disclosed by Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796). The kappa, lambda, and IgG isotypes of instant claim 7 are disclosed by Robinson et al. The claims anti-PDL1 X EGFR bispecific antibodies are suggested by the combination of the prior art.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VL-PDL1-linker1-VH-PDL1-linker2-VH-
EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3 paired with a VL-EGFR-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an scFv-Hc-IgG format. The scFv binds PDL1 and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds EGFR.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises a VH-PDL1-linker1-VL-PDL1-1inker2-VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3 paired with a VL-EGFR-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an scFv-Hc-IgG format. The scFv binds PDL1 and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds EGFR.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VL-PDL1-linker1-VH-PDL1 paired with a VL-EGFR-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an IgG-Hc-scFv format. The scFv binds PDL1 and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds EGFR.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-EGFR-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VH-PDL1-linker1-VL-PDL1 paired with a VL-EGFR-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an IgG-Hc-scFv format. The scFv binds PDL1 and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds EGFR.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VL-EGFR-linker1-VH-EGFR-linker2-VH-
PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3 paired with a VL-PDL1-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an scFv-Hc-IgG format. The scFv binds EGFR and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds PDL1.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-EGFR-linker1-VL-EGFR-linker2-VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3 paired with a VL-PDL1-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an scFv-Hc-IgG format. The scFv binds EGFR and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds PDL1.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VL-EGFR-linker1-VH-EGFR paired with a VL-PDL1-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an IgG-Hc-scFv format. The scFv binds EGFR and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds PDL1.
Note that a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VH-EGFR-linker1-VL-EGFR paired with a VL-PDL1-CL light chain is a bispecific antibody in an IgG-Hc-scFv format. The scFv binds EGFR and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds PDL1.
The prior art suggests all of these combinations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known each of these formats for bispecific antibodies.
Claims 1-3, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record) in view of Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), and Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record) as applied to claims 1-2, 7, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0214436) and Sabsevari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0048351).
Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record), Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), and Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record) are applied as above but do not explicitly disclose the linkers recited in instant claim 3.
Chang et al. discloses using flexible linkers (G4S)4 (four repeats of GGGGS) in bispecific antibodies against EGFR as well as PDL1. See at least SEQ ID NO: 427 and paragraphs [0009, 0023, 0101] and claims 4-5, 45, and 77-78.
Sabsevari et al. also discloses using flexible linkers in multispecific antibody constructs such as the linker (G4S)n where n can be 2-6. See at least paragraphs [0017-0018].
It would have been obvious to use the flexible (G4S)4 linker as taught by Chang et al. and Sabsevari et al. in the bispecific antibody constructs suggested by the combination of Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record), Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), and Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record) as discussed above. One would have been motivated to do so as Chang et al. and Sabsevari et al. make clear that these would have been conventional linkers routinely used in such constructs.
Claims 1-7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record) Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record), Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0214436) and Sabsevari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0048351) as applied to claims 1-3, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (WO 2021/227782, published 18 November 2021, filed 19 April 2021; inventors Z. Zhu, Zhao, Huang, and Xia) (i.e. by other than the instant inventive entity), Zhu et al. (WO 2021/226984 (published 18 November 2021, filed 15 May 2020; inventors Z. Zhu, Zhao, Huang, and Xia) (i.e. by other than the instant inventive entity), and Ng et al. (U.S. Patent No 10,273,303).
The applied Zhu et al. references have a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, they constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Note that the priority date of the instant application is 1 June 2021 for the reasons set forth above with respect to the priority document.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Both Zhu et al. references are in Chinese and designate the United States. U.S. application 17/615,475 is a 371 application of PCT/CN2021/0881254 which published as WO 2021/227782. U.S. application 17/615,475 issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,269,886. See also the corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0076124.
WO 2021/226984 does not appear to have a direct English language counterpart. It was the foreign priority document for U.S. Patent application 17/615,475. The sequence listing for WO 2021/226984 (see attached file with sequence listing as it was not published with this document) appears to be the same as for 17/615,475 for at least SEQ ID NOS: 9, 10, 13, and 15. See also table on pages 6-7 as compared with Table 1 at columns 5-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,269,886.
PGPUB 2023/0076124 will be referenced because it is an English language equivalent document to WO 2021/227782. The disclosure relied on is also present in WO 2021/226984.
The basic structure of the anti-PDL1 x EGFR bispecific antibody structures in claims 1-3 are suggested by the combination of Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record) Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record), Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0214436) and Sabsevari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0048351) as set forth above. These references do not disclose the particular sequences required by instant claims 4-6.
Zhu et al. discloses a known antibody against PD-L1. The VH of SEQ ID NO: 9 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 14. The heavy chain is SEQ ID NO: 13. The VL of SEQ ID NO: 10 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 13. The light chain of SEQ ID NO: 15 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 22. See at least sequence listing and Table 1.
Ng et al. discloses a known antibody against EGFR. The VH of SEQ ID NO: 1 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 15. The VL of SEQ ID NO: 2 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 16. See at least EGFR cetuximab antibody designated 4353; sequence listing, Table 1; Table B; and columns 69-71.
It would have been obvious to use the PD-L1 antibody sequences disclosed by Zhu et al. and the EGFR antibody sequences disclosed by Ng et al. in the anti-PDL1 X EGFR bispecific antibody structures suggested by the combination of Robinson et al. (WO 2020/081786, of record) Brinkmann et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0081796, of record), Brinkmann et al. (2017, of record), Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0214436) and Sabsevari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0048351).
At least for example, claim 6 includes an embodiment wherein the polypeptide chain is instant SEQ ID NO: 26 and the light chain is instant SEQ ID NO: 22. Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 paired with instant SEQ ID NO: 22 forms a bispecific antibody in an IgG-Hc-scFv format. The scFv binds EGFR and the Hc-IgG/light chain portion binds PDL1.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 22 is a VL-PDL1-CL light chain and a kappa chain (see instant claim 7) Zhu et al. discloses SEQ ID NO: 15 which corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 22.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 26 is a polypeptide chain that comprises VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3-linker2-VL-EGFR-linker1-VH-EGFR. SEQ ID NO: 13 of Zhu et al. corresponds to amino acids 1-447 of instant SEQ ID NO: 26 (i.e. the VH-PDL1-CH1-CH2-CH3 portion of the polypeptide chain). Amino acids 448-462 of instant SEQ ID NO: 26 correspond to (G4S)3 (i.e. the linker 2 portion of the polypeptide chain). This linker is suggested by Sabsevari et al. Amino acid 463-569 of instant SEQ ID NO: 26 correspond to SEQ ID NO: 2 of Ng et al. (i.e. the VL-EGFR portion of the polypeptide chain). Amino acids 570-589 of instant SEQ ID NO: 26 correspond to (G4S)4 (i.e. the linker 1 portion of the polypeptide chain). This linker is suggested by Chang et al. and Sabsevari et al. Amino acids 590-708 of instant SEQ ID NO: 26 correspond to SEQ ID NO: 1 of Ng et al. (i.e. the VH-EGFR portion of the polypeptide chain).
Zhu et al. and Ng et al. provide the particular sequences required by the claims. With respect to claim 4, the light and heavy chain PDL1 CDRs recited are present in the sequences of Zhu et al. and the light and heavy chain EGFR CDRs recited are present in the sequence of Ng et al. With respect to claim 5, the PDL1 VH and VL sequences recited are present in the sequences of Zhu et al. and the EGFR VH and VL sequences recited are present in the sequences of Ng et al.
Other embodiments of claims 1-6 would also have been obvious and the PD-L1 antibody sequences of Zhu et al., the EGFR antibody sequences of Ng et al. and the linkers of Chang et al. and Sabsevari et al. could be mapped out for these embodiments as set forth above for the SEQ ID NO: 26/SEQ ID NO: 22 embodiment.
The claimed bispecific antibodies would have been obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is confusing in reciting “linker1 is 4 or 5 GGGGS” and “linker2 is 3 or 4 GGGGS.” If applicant intended this to mean that linker 1 has 4 or 5 repeats of the sequence GGGGS or that linker 2 has 3 or 4 repeats of GGGGS, this language does not set this forth or make this clear. In addition, the claim does not reference a sequence identifier (i.e. SEQ ID NO: X) for this sequence. At least for example, SEQ ID NO: 23 has 3 repeats of GGGGS at amino acids 450-464 and 4 repeats of GGGGS at amino acids 572-591.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2021/244328 (published 9 December 2021, filed 21 May 2021) is by other than the instant inventive entity and discloses PD-L1 antibody sequences recited in the instant claims.
WO 2021/244371 (published 9 December 2021, filed 21 May 2021) is by other than the instant inventive entity and discloses PD-L1 antibody sequences recited in the instant claims.
These references have a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, they constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Note that the priority date of the instant application is 1 June 2021 for the reasons set forth above with respect to the priority document.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa