DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 06/22/2026 has been considered and entered. The claims require the fragrance is at least 75% biodegradable which Jurisch et al. (US 2019/0358603) and El-Habnouni et al. (WO 2019/121738) do not clearly recite. Therefore, new rejections are made in further view of Georgi (CN 115103719B)
The response over the provisional rejections based on obviousness double patenting over the copending application for having a later filing date than the instant claims was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of copending Application No. 18/262,114. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches consumer product comprising an encapsulation of a perfumer organic product covered with a shell, and thus provides up to 100% of the shell and core comprising the perform ingredients. The perfume ingredients can be up to 60 biological ingredients and are present in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges (for instance see 4-methyl-2-phenyl-3, 6-dihydro-2H-pyran at 15% or less; tridec-2-enenitrile at 15% or less). For claim 20, the use of natural oils in perfumes in cosmetic products such as soaps, lotions, deodorant, etc., such as those claimed or others would be obvious as they are conventional in the art and thus blends of 64 biological ingredients would be obvious. For instance, Jurisch et al. (US 2019/0358603) teaches various perfume oils and oil mixtures for cosmetics such as galbanum oil, lavandin oil, and mandarin oil as claimed, and other oils such as lemon oil, sage oil, chamomile oil, oil of cloves, juniper berry oil, blossom oil etc. that would have been useful in the composition of the copending application [see 0027]. Alternatively, El-Habnouni et al. (WO 2019/121738), teaches similar composition with perfume blends of more than 64 ingredients. El-Habnouni also teaches ingredients for making the shell includes polymeric stabilizer reacted with aminosilane, and shell ingredients including polysaccharide which makes the limitation of claims 8 and 9 obvious. Similarly, Jurisch teaches shells comprising protein, polysaccharides and which are crosslinked and which makes the limitations of claims 10, 11 obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 – 7, 9 – 13, 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jurisch et al. (US 2019/0358603)
In regards to claim 1, Jurisch teaches capsules having active ingredients or substances for use in cosmetic preparations, pharmaceuticals, household products, etc. (abstract). The capsules are microcapsules consisting of a core containing one or more active ingredients (a) and a shell containing one or more polymers (b) [0014 – 0018]. The active ingredients include perfume oils etc., such as benzyl acetate, p-tert-butylcyclohexyl acetate, phenylethyl acetate, galbanum oil, lavandin oil, mandarin oil etc., and mixtures [0023, 0027]. The perfume oils are biodegradable ingredients that can make up 100% of the perfume composition. Jurisch does not particularly recite the biodegradability of the perfume oils.
Georgi similarly teaches fragrance (perfume oils) microcapsule compositions having a core and shell and similarly useful in cosmetic products, pharmaceuticals, detergents, etc. (abstract). Georgi teaches the composition can comprise biodegradable fragrance and the composition can be fully biodegradable (specification). Persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have prepared the compositions of Jurisch to comprise biodegradable fragrance, and/or prepare a fully biodegradable composition, as Georgi teaches biodegradable compositions are useful for similar products.
In regards to claim 4, Jurisch teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients which are useful individually or in combination. Since the list of perfume ingredients are many, if all are mixed then they would each be present in amounts overlapping the claimed ranges.
In regards to claim 5, Jurisch teaches the composition comprising the core and shell which make up 100% of the composition.
In regards to claim 6, Jurisch teaches the composition wherein the shell can comprise melamine derivatives, such as melamine with an aldehyde [0019, 0030]. The aldehyde can be formaldehyde, or at least formaldehyde would be obvious or quickly envisaged for use as aldehyde and which provides the claimed polymer [0039 – 0041].
In regards to claim 7, Jurisch teaches the composition wherein the polymeric shell contains urea derivative thus providing the polyurea of the claim [0019].
In regards to claims 9 – 11, Jurisch teaches the composition wherein the wall material comprises polysaccharides, proteins etc. [0053]. The walls are prepared with crosslinkers [0011]. Thus, a coacervate complex appears to be provided.
In regards to claim 12, Jurisch teaches the composition comprising ethylenically unsaturated monomers for making the shell, such as aromatic compounds (Ia) and (Ib) [0019].
In regards to claims 13, 15 – 20, Jurisch teaches consumer products such as cosmetic products etc., comprising the claimed composition having perfume oils which include more than 64 biodegradable ingredients [0027].
Claims 1, 4 – 9, 13, 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Habnouni et al. (WO 2019/121738) in view of Georgi (CN 115103719B)
In regards to claims 1 – 4, El-Habnouni teaches core-shell microcapsule comprising a core containing functional ingredient and a shell surrounding the core; the shell comprising thermosetting resin formed by reacting polyamine and a material comprising olefinic double bonds (abstract). The microcapsules are useful for consumer products (page 1 lines 3 – 7). The encapsulating material (shell) comprises polyamides, polyureas, polyurethanes, melamine-derived resins, melamine-formaldehyde, etc., and mixtures (page 2 lines 9 – 11; page 3 lines 16 – 21). The core comprises perfume (page 2 lines 17 – 20).
The microcapsule comprises from about 80 to about 95% of encapsulated oil and from about 5 to about 20% of shell (page 6 lines 15 – 20). The microcapsule is formed using a polymeric stabilizer (page 8 lines 1 – 3). Preferred polymeric stabilizers include amino-silanes (page 10 lines 5 – 13). The perfume ingredients include oils, aldehydes, ketones, nitriles etc., and mixtures having the claimed limitations (page 20 lines 17 – page 23 lines 24). While the amounts of each perfume ingredient are not particularly recited, since one or more can be used and mixtures can include all of ingredients recited, the amounts of the claims would be overlapped.
The encapsulated compositions are useful in all manner of consumer products including homecare, personal care such as body and hair products (cosmetics), laundry detergents, conditioners etc. (page 24 lines 17 – 25). El-Habnouni does not particularly recite the percent of biodegradability of the perfume composition as claimed.
Georgi similarly teaches fragrance microcapsule compositions having a core and shell and similarly useful in cosmetic products, detergents, etc. (abstract). Georgi teaches the composition can comprise biodegradable fragrance and the composition can be fully biodegradable (specification). Persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have prepared the compositions of El-Habnouni to comprise biodegradable fragrance, and/or prepare a fully biodegradable composition, as Georgi teaches biodegradable compositions are useful for similar products.
In regards to claim 5, El-Habnouni teaches the composition having the core and shell providing up to 100% of the composition as previously discussed.
In regards to claims 6 – 8, El-Habnouni teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated. The shell is formed by reacting polymeric surfactant in the presence of aminosilane (page 11 lines 1 – 16).
In regards to claim 9, El-Habnouni teaches the composition wherein the shell comprises polysaccharides (page 13 lines 18 – 23). The shell is formed as a cross-linked network (page 12 lines 15 – 21).
In regards to claim 12, El-Habnouni teaches the composition having the unsaturated monomers for preparing the shell, and thus provides at least one of monoethylenically unsaturated or polyethylenically unsaturated monomers as claimed.
In regards to claims 13 – 20, El-Habnouni teaches the consumer product having the claimed composition with perfume biodegradable ingredients of more than 64 (page 20 lines 17 – page 23 lines 24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are moot as not drawn to the combination of references currently relied upon in making the rejections.
Applicant argues that each of Jurish and/or El-Habnouni does not teach the biodegradable composition of the claims and fails to provide compositions having a combination of the claimed ingredients but merely lists suggested ingredients and amounts. The argument is not persuasive.
The arguments regarding biodegradability are moot in view of the teachings of Georgi (CN 115103719B). Furthermore, the claims do not require a combination of all the recited perfume ingredients but states “at least one” and thus allows for one of the ingredients listed alone, or combinations, in the claimed amounts which Jurish and/or El-Habnouni teaches.
Applicant argues that each ingredient of Jurish should be evaluated using the OECD biodegradability test. The argument is not persuasive.
Jurish teaches several ingredients of the claims including natural oils that are generally biodegradable. Again, in view of Georgi (CN 115103719B) that teaches biodegradable fragrances and full biodegradability of the composition as desirable, the argument is moot.
Applicant again argues that Jurish does not recite compositions intended for improving the olfactive perception of a perfume composition and their suitability for encapsulation while simultaneously providing a biodegradable composition. The argument is not persuasive.
The claims are not drawn to a method but to a perfume composition comprising biodegradable ingredients. Jurish teaches perfume composition having similar ingredients and thus provides the perfume composition with biodegradable ingredients as claimed.
Applicant argues that the rejections based on provisional double patenting are improper because the cited reference has a later filing date that the instant claims. The argument is not persuasive.
The rejection is a provisional rejection based on copending applications having similar limitations. There is no guarantee that an earlier filed application would be patented first.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771