DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the Al composition species A3 without traverse in the response dated 06/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/11/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamat et al. (US20170121802A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 8-12, Kamat teaches the Al alloy may have a composition similar to the claimed composition (See Table 2)
Element
Claimed Range (wt%)
Prior Art range (wt%)
Si
0-0.12
0.05-0.2
Fe
0.25 or greater
0.1-0.35
Cu
2-2.6
0.2-2.6
Mn
0-0.1
0.01-0.05
Mg
1.9-2.6
1.4-2.8
Cr
0-0.04
0.01-0.05
Zn
5.7-6.7
5.6-9.3
Zr
0.08-0.15
0.05-0.15
Ti
0-0.06
0.001-0.05
Al
Balance
Balance
In the case where a claimed range overlaps or lies inside of a claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Kamat teaches particles are present in the form of Al7Cu2Fe particles [0074] and is considered to have similar hydrogen embrittlement properties to those claimed under the expectation that similar products have similar properties. (See MPEP 2112.01(I))
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, applicant compares the composition of the prior art to the claimed composition, where the claimed composition A3 has an increased amount of Fe to improve the volume ratio of AlCuFe particles to improve quasi-cleavage crack properties (Tables 2 and 3); whereas Table 2 of Kamat includes ranges that do not correspond to Alloy 7050 where the prior art of 0.1-0.35 Fe overlaps with Fe ranges of A3 and A[2] equally and does not teach that increasing the amount of Fe will improve any affect compared to alloy 7050.
This is not persuasive. The prior art is not required to teach or suggest that increasing the amount of Fe is beneficial if the prior art already teaches a range of Fe 0.1-0.35% where by applicants own admission in Table 2 and Figure 9 would have the same improved properties compared to comparative Fe range of 0.05 or lower.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO D MORALES/Examiner, Art Unit 1738