DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending, of which claims 1-8 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response pages 5-6, filed 1/16/26, with respect to JP 2017047410 (“Toshiaki ‘410”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant argues that claim 9 has been amended to recite that the glass transition temperature of the material is less than 30 °C. Examiner agrees that Toshiaki ‘410 does not teach an acid gas absorbent material with a glass transition temperature of less than 30 °C. The prior rejections of claims 9-12 have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further search, additional prior art has been found that meets these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDanel, et al. “Effect of monomer structure on curing behavior, CO2 solubility, and gas permeability of ionic liquid-based epoxy-amine resins and ion-gels”. Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research 54, 16 (2015): 4396-4406 (“McDanel”) in view of in view of JP 2017047412 (“Toshiaki ‘412”, cited in IDS of 12/1/22, Applicant provided translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 9, McDanel teaches an acid gas absorbent material (see e.g. page 4397, second full paragraph, starting “Herein, we report…”). The material of McDanel consists primarily of an amine-containing resin (Id.). The glass transition temperature of the materials taught by McDanel range from 9-38 °C, including multiple examples of less than 30 °C (see e.g. Table 2).
McDanel is silent as to the surface area of the resin. However, Toshiaki ‘412 teaches a similar amine containing resin for acid gas absorption that, like the product of McDanel is the product of a reaction between an epoxy compound and an amine compound (see e.g. paragraphs [0001] and [0009]). Toshiaki ‘412 teaches that by using dilute conditions when reacting the amine and epoxy the resulting resin has a large surface area, which is advantageous for absorption properties (see e.g. paragraph [0084]), resulting in a surface area over 1 m2/g (see e.g. paragraph [0060]). Accordingly, prior the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to use dilute conditions during the epoxy-amine reaction of McDanel as taught by Toshiaki ‘412 in order to increase the surface area over 1 m2/g and thereby improve the absorption properties of the material.
Regarding claim 10, McDanel teaches that the resin comprises an amine monomer component and an epoxy monomer component (see e.g. FIG. 1 showing the combinations of epoxy components and amine components used).
Regarding claim 11, the resins of McDanel have an amine density well over 8 mmol/g, including the first material shown in FIG. 6, which has an amine density of about 17 mmol/g (see e.g. FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 12, the resins of McDanel have a CO2 capacity of between 0.7-1.0 mmol/g (see e.g. FIG. 4). Given the amine density of up to 17 mmol/g, and using the amine utilization rate formula provided in the instant Specification at paragraph [0024], the amine utilization rate of the materials of McDanel is 4.1-5.8. Using the formula for in resin diffusion rate provided in paragraph [0024] of the instant application, the materials of McDanel would have an in resin acid gas diffusion rate of greater than 1.2 if the surface area is between 3.4 and 4.8 m2/g or less. As Toshiaki ‘412 teaches using a material with a surface area of 1-10 m2/g, the ranges of the prior art overlap significantly with the claimed range (see e.g. Toshiaki ‘412 at paragraph [0060]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736