DETAILED ACTION
Priority
A copy of the WIPO publication of PCT/US2021/035313 filed June 1, 2021, WO 2021/247619, is attached. Receipt of a copy of the priority document of US Provisional Application 62/704,883 filed June 1, 2020 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claim Amendments and Remarks filed August 3, 2026.
Claims Filing Date
August 3, 2026
Amended
1, 4, 8, 20, 34, 47
Pending
1-17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, 46-51
Cancelled
18, 19, 21-24, 17-33, 35, 36, 39, 41-43, 45, 52-63
Withdrawn
11-16
Under Examination
1-10, 17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, 46-51
The applicant argues support for the claim 1 amendment in [0027] (p. 6 para. 2) and in previous claim 20 (p. 6 para. 3) and support for the claim 34 amendment in [0027] (p. 6 para. 5).
Withdrawn Claim Objection
The following objection is withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Claim 34 lines 1-2 “the precursor conversion temperature is at least about 980°C”.
The applicant argues claim 1 has been amended to recite “at least about 800°C” and claim 34 has been amended to recite “at least about 840°C”, which are consistent with applicant’s [0027] (p. 6 para. 7).
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following 112(b) rejections are withdrawn due to argument:
Claim 1 line 6 “the furnace”.
The applicant persuasively argues antecedent basis in claim 1 line 3 “providing a precursor powder to a furnace” (Remarks p. 7 para. 2).
The following 112(b) rejections are withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Claim 5 line 2 “a second metal oxalate”.
Amended claim 5 depends upon claim 3, which recites “the first metal oxalate compound is a first rare earth oxalate compound” (Remarks p. 7 para. 4).
Claim 6 line 2 “a second rare earth oxalate”.
Claim 6 depends from claim 5, which by amendment depends from claim 3 through claim 4, such that “a second rare earth oxalate compound” is in a dependency chain that established a “first rare earth oxalate compound” (Remarks p. 7 para. 5).
Claim 7 lines 1-2 “the first rare earth oxalate compound”.
Claim 7 depends upon claim 3 through amended claim 4 and claims 5 and 6, where claim 3 recites “a first rare earth oxalate compound” and provides antecedent basis (Remarks p. 8 para. 1).
Claim 8 lines 1-2 “the second metal oxalate compound is praseodymium oxalate”.
Amended claim 8 recites “the second rare earth oxalate compound”, such that it limits the second rare earth oxalate compound of claim 6, which claim 8 depends through claim 7 (Remarks p. 8 para. 2).
Claim 44 line 1 “the mold”.
Claim 44 depends from amended claim 1, which recites heating the precursor powder “in a mold” (Remarks p. 8 para. 3).
Claim 47 lines 1-2 “the step of sintering”.
Amended claim 47 introduces the sintering step and provides proper antecedent basis (Remarks p. 8 para. 4).
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is withdrawn due to claim amendment:
Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Kume (JP 2003-277814 machine translation).
The applicant persuasively argues Jordan (in view of Kume) does not disclose a mold (p. 10 para. 2).
Amended claim 1 lines 10-11 recite “…heating…with the precursor powder in a mold”.
Response to Remarks filed August 3, 2026
112(b)
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues amended claim 1 clarifies that the heating step is carried out in a mold and forms a compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder, such that the metallic powder particulates are formed by the chemical conversion of the metallic compound and the compacting gas pressure acts upon these metallic powder particulates to form the compacted magnetic body (p. 7 para. 3).
Claim 1 lines 6-13 recite that the heating forms “a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal” and that the same “step of heating” forms “a compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder”. It is unclear how the same heating step can form both “metallic powder comprising particulates” and “a compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder”.
Double Patenting
The applicant requests holding the double patenting rejection in abeyance (p. 10 para. 8).
The double patenting rejection is amended in light of claim amendment and it is maintained.
New Grounds
In light of claim amendment and upon further search and consideration a new grounds of rejection is made over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, and 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 6-13 “heating…to…form a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal, wherein the step of heating…is…to form a compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how the heating step can form both metallic powder and a compacted magnetic body of the powder. A metallic powder has individual particulates. A compacted magnetic body is a cohesive body of particulates. The metallic powder and the compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder, both formed during heating, have different structures.
Claims 2-10, 17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, and 46-51 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan discloses a method for producing a magnetic body (iron magnets) (1:26-36, 3:14-16, 7:45), comprising the steps of:
providing a precursor powder to a furnace, the precursor powder comprising particulates of at least a first metallic compound (metal carboxylate powders that are an oxalate) (3:34-46, 7:25-29); and
heating the precursor powder within the furnace to a precursor conversion temperature of at least about 800°C (from about 150°C to about 800°C) that is sufficient to convert the first metallic compound (iron oxalate) to a first metal (iron) (3:31-46, 6:44-55, 7:25-29),
wherein the step of heating the precursor powder is and under a compacting gas (hydrogen) pressure of at least about 2 bar (roughly 0.3 to 30 atmospheres, 0.3 to 30 bar) (6:37-7:1) (1:26-36, 3:14-16, 7:45).
Jordan discloses using metal carboxylate powders (7:28-29).
Jordan is silent to the first metallic compound having a mean average particle size of not greater than about 50 um.
Suetsana discloses a method for producing a magnetic body ([0003], [0011]) comprising providing a precursor powder of a first metallic compound and having a mean average particle size of not greater than about 50 um (10 nm to 1 um) ([0012], [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of Jordan for the first metallic compound to have a mean average particle size of 10 nm to 1 um so that the components of the precursor diffuse smoothly during the heat treatment process that decomposes and reduces the precursor (Suetsana [0026]).
Jordan discloses that it is possible to adapt the process of his invention to apparatus heretofore not utilized in the production of metals (7:20-23).
Jordan is silent to heating of the precursor powder forming a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal, being carried out with the precursor powder in a mold, and forming a compacted magnetic body from the metallic powder.
Suetsana discloses a method for producing a magnetic body ([0003], [0011]) comprising heating a precursor powder to form a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal (heating such that the salt of a magnetic metal is reduced to precipitate magnetic particles), wherein the step of heating the precursor powder is carried out with the precursor powder in a mold (molded body) and to form a compacted (compression-molded) magnetic body (bulk or sheet form) from the metallic powder (particles) ([0046]-[0047], [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of Jordan for the heating process to form a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal and be performed in a mold to form a compacted magnetic body (sheet or bulk form) with a small size (Suetsana [0047]) using a low cost, high yield process (Suetsana [0058]).
Furthermore, Suetsana discloses reducing a molded body of precursor powder (Second Embodiment, Suetsana [0046]-[0047], [0050]) is an art recognized equivalent alternative to reducing a precursor particle to manufacture granular material (First Embodiment, Suetsana [0015]-[0017]), which is substantially similar to the method of Jordan of reducing metal carboxylate powders (Jordan 7:25-29). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06(II).
Regarding claim 2, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the first metallic compound comprises a first metal oxalate compound (Jordan 3:38-46).
Regarding claim 17, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the precursor powder comprises not greater than about 2.5 wt.% free carbon (reducing metal carboxylate in the form of oxalates in hydrogen in ceramic lined equipment, such that no free carbon is present) (Jordan 3:31-46, 7:37-39).
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 20, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the precursor powder has a mean average particulate size of not greater than about 20 um (10 nm to 1 um) (Suetsana [0012], [0046]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 25, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 2 as cited above, wherein at least the first metal oxalate compound is a (di)hydrated metal oxalate compound (Jordan 3:31-62, 4:1-4, 36-38).
Regarding claim 26, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 25 as cited above, wherein the heating step comprises heating the precursor powder to a dehydration temperature of not greater than about 280°C (approximately 100°C or less) for a period of time (Jordan 5:5-42) sufficient to remove at least 90% of water of hydration from the hydrated metal oxalate compound (contains less than 12% water because remaining water content relates to contained oxide in the product metal) (Jordan 3:38-46, 3:63 to 4:7, 4:36-45). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 34, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the precursor conversion temperature is at least about 840°C (from about 150°C to about 800°C, where about 800°C either overlaps with or is close to at least about 840°C) (Jordan 3:45-46). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are close. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 37, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the step of heating the precursor powder comprises heating under a non-oxidizing (hydrogen) gas composition (Jordan 3:38-50, 6:13-36).
Applicant’s specification at [0027] states “non-oxidizing gas composition, e.g., a gas composition containing little to no oxygen.”
Regarding claim 38, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 37 as cited above, wherein the non-oxidizing gas composition comprises at least about 95% of nitrogen and hydrogen combined (hydrogen) (Jordan 3:38-50, 6:13-36).
Regarding claim 40, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in any one of Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the compacting gas pressure is at least about 4 bar (roughly 0.3 to 30 atmospheres, 0.3 to 30 bar) (Jordan 6:37-7:1). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 44, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above, wherein the mold (Suetsana [0046]-[0047], [0050]) is formed from a ceramic material (Jordan 7:38-39).
Regarding claim 46, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses a compacted magnetic body formed by a method recited in Claim 1 as cited above.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kume (JP 2003-277814 machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, Jordan in view of Suetsana disclose the method recited in Claim 2 as cited above.
Jordan in view of Suetsana is silent to the first metal oxalate compound being a first rare earth oxalate compound.
Kume discloses a metho for producing a magnet body ([0001]-[0002]) using a first metal oxalate compound that is a first rare earth oxalate compound (insoluble salt of rare earth element oxalate) ([0010], [0023]-[0025], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of Jordan in view of Suetsana to include a first rare earth oxalate compound because the resulting rare earth alloys have high magnetic properties (Kume [0001]) and a homogeneous composition that suppresses the formation of unnecessary phases, resulting in high coercive force (Kume [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Kume discloses the method recited in Claim 3 as cited above, wherein the precursor powder comprises particulates of at least a second metallic compound (metal carboxylates of differing metals are readily obtained as coprecipitates for the production of alloys with each other) (Jordan 1:4-8, 7:10-19).
Regarding claim 5, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 4 as cited above, wherein the second metallic compound comprises a second metal oxalate compound (metal carboxylate as oxalate) (Jordan 3:34-46).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806) and Kume (JP 2003-277814 machine translation) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chen (Chen et al. The mechanism of enhanced magnetic properties of sintered permanent magnets by substitution of Pr for Nd. Journal of Alloys and Compounds 516 (2012) 73-77.).
Regarding claim 6, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Kume discloses the method recited in Claim 5 as cited above.
Jordan in view of Suetsana is silent to the second metal oxalate compound being a second rare earth oxalate compound.
Kume discloses using a second metal oxalate compound that is a second rare earth oxalate compound (insoluble salt of rare earth element oxalate, where rare earth is at least one rare earth, which encompasses a second rare earth) ([0010], [0016], [0023]-[0025], [0028]).
Chen discloses a magnet body (permanent magnet) (Abstract, 2. Experimental procedures) using a second metal (substituting Nd, a first metal, with Pr, a second metal) (Abstract, 2. Experimental procedures, 3. Results and discussion, 4. Conclusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of Jordan in view of Suetsana to include a second rare earth oxalate compound because the resulting rare earth alloys have high magnetic properties (Kume [0001]) with a homogeneous composition that suppresses the formation of unnecessary phases, resulting in high coercive force (Kume [0007]-[0008]). Further, in a rare earth alloy, replacement of a first metal Nd with a second metal Pr improves Hcj and thermal stability (Chen Abstract) and the alloy has excellent magnetic properties due to lower sintering temperature that restrains abnormal grain growth and improves clear, smooth grain boundaries (Chen 4. Conclusions).
Regarding claim 7, Jordan in view of Suetsana, Kume, and Chen disclose the method recited in Claim 6 as cited above, wherein the first rare earth oxalate compound is neodymium oxalate (Chen Abstract, 2. Experimental procedures, 3. Results and discussion, 4. Conclusions; Kume [0010], [0016], [0023]-[0025], [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Jordan in view of Suetsana, Kume, and Chen disclose the method recited in Claim 7 as cited above, wherein the second metal rare earth oxalate compound is praseodymium oxalate (Chen Abstract, 2. Experimental procedures, 3. Results and discussion, 4. Conclusions; Kume [0010], [0016], [0023]-[0025], [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Jordan in view of Suetsana, Kume, and Chen disclose the method recited in Claim 8 as cited above, wherein the precursor powder further comprises particulates of iron oxalate (Jordan 3:31-46, 6:44-55, 7:25-29; Kume [0008], [0010], [0016], [0023], [0025], [0028]; magnetic alloy is Fe-based, Chen Abstract, 2. Experimental procedures).
Regarding claim 10, Jordan in view of Suetsana, Kume, and Chen disclose the method recited in Claim 9 as cited above.
Kume discloses the precursor powder further comprises particulates of metallic boron ([0041]-[0042]).
Chen discloses a Nd-Fe-B permanent magnet (1. Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention to mix in a sufficient amount of boron to obtain a rare earth-transition metal-boron alloy (Kume [0023], [0041]), which is widely used due to excellent magnetic performance (Chen 1. Introduction).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo (CN 101259537 machine translation).
In the event it is determined that the disclosed of Jordan does not render obvious claim 34, then the below rejection in view of Guo is applied.
Regarding claim 34, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses the method recited in Claim 1 as cited above.
Guo discloses a method for producing a magnet (10:3-5), wherein the precursor conversion temperature is at least about 840°C (reduction diffusion alloying at 1150°C) (11:3, 10, 12:1, 3, 5, 7, 14:2, 4, 6, 14:1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the process of Jordan to reduction diffusion alloy at 1150°C to obtain an alloy powder (Guo 10:3).
Claims 47-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 3,955,961) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806) as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of Mayer (US 2,636,892).
Regarding claim 47, Jordan in view of Suetsana discloses a method for producing a compacted magnetic body as recited in Claim 46 as cited above.
Jordan in view of Suetsana is silent to sintering the compacted magnetic body.
Mayer discloses a method for producing a sintered (solid) magnetic body (1:1-22), comprising the step of sintering a compacted magnetic body (2:27-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of Jordan in view of Suetsana to sinter the compacted magnetic body to obtain a high density solid body with reduced shrinkage (Mayer 2:27-41) to have high magnetic permeability (Mayer 1:17-22).
Regarding claim 48, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Mayer discloses the method recited in Claim 47 as cited above, wherein the sintering step comprises heating the compacted magnetic body to a temperature of at least about 1130°C (sintering temperature depends upon the composition of the body to be formed with an example being not above 1150°C) (Jordan 3:1-4, 29-32). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 49, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Mayer disclose the method recited in Claim 48 as cited above, wherein the sintering step comprises heating the compacted magnetic body to a temperature of not greater than about 1350°C (sintering temperature depends upon the composition of the body to be formed with an example being not above 1150°C) (Jordan 3:1-4, 29-32). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 50, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Mayer discloses the method recited in Claim 49 as cited above, wherein the sintering step is carried out under a gas pressure of not greater than about 6.5 bar (pressing then sintering, such that sintering is not performed under pressure) (Mayer 2:27-41, 3:27-30).
Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 51, Jordan in view of Suetsana and Mayer discloses a sintered magnetic body formed by a method recited in Claim 50 as cited above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 17, 20, 25, 26, 34, 37, 38, 40, 44, and 46-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,607,734 (US ‘734) in view of Suetsana (US 2008/0267806).
US ‘734 discloses producing rare earth metal powder by reducing a rare earth metal oxalate compound in hydrogen under a pressure of at least 2 bar (claims 1-3, 14-16).
US ‘734 is silent to the heating step forming a compacted magnetic body.
Suetsana discloses a method for producing a magnetic body ([0003], [0011]) comprising heating a precursor powder to form a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal (heating such that the salt of a magnetic metal is reduced to precipitate magnetic particles), wherein the step of heating the precursor powder is carried out with the precursor powder in a mold (molded body) and to form a compacted (compression-molded) magnetic body (bulk or sheet form) from the metallic powder (particles) ([0046]-[0047], [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention in the process of US ‘734 for the heating process to form a metallic powder comprising particulates of the first metal and be performed in a mold to form a compacted magnetic body (sheet or bulk form) with a small size (Suetsana [0047]) using a low cost, high yield process (Suetsana [0058]).
Furthermore, Suetsana discloses reducing a molded body of precursor powder (Second Embodiment, Suetsana [0046]-[0047], [0050]) is an art recognized equivalent alternative to reducing a precursor particle to manufacture granular material (First Embodiment, Suetsana [0015]-[0017]), which is substantially similar to the method of US ‘734 claim 1. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06(II).
Related Art
Tailhades (US 6,464,750)
Tailhades discloses preparing powders of metals alloys using iron oxalates and rare earth metal oxalates (1:8-21, 4:1-16)) using a mixed oxalate of more than one metal with a length of 5 to 10 um that undergoes reduction with gaseous hydrogen (3:56-65, 4:50-56), where the prepared particles form a coherent porous solid under the effect of compacting pressure (4:29-33). Tailhades discloses mixing iron (oxalate) powder with other constituents to form a composition (5:26-30) by cold compaction (11:60-64) then pressing the powder to obtain a compact followed by sintering (5:31-64).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735