DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-15 have been considered but are moot in view of reconsideration of applicant’s arguments and further consideration of prior art of record in view of independent claims 1, 13 and 14. After further consideration, Torvinen has been found to teach the limitation of “a bottom surface opposite the top surface and at least one conductive track configured to receive power from an external power source”.
Applicant amended claim 1 to include the limitations of cancelled dependent claim 4. A new reference, Sweegers et al. (US 2017/0317251 A1), discloses the limitation which includes, “an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator”. Claims 13 and 14 are amended similarly and therefore are rejected similarly to claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 14 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen (US 2018/0149321 A1) in view of Reshetin (US 4,962,450), Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) and Sweegers et al. (US 2017/0317251 A1),See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen (US 2018/0149321 A1) in view of Reshetin (US 4,962,450), Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) and Sweegers et al. (US 2017/0317251 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Torvinen teaches a lighting device comprising:
an optic (110; see paragraph [0112] where optical shapes such as diffusing or collimating is disclosed and at least figure 2) comprising a cavity (116; figure 2), an encapsulating material (106; paragraph [0097]) surrounding the optic (110) and comprising an opening (see figure 2); a flexible carrier (102; see at least figure 2) having a top surface (see at least figure 1), a bottom surface opposite the top surface and at least one conductive track (119; see at least figure 1) configured to receive power from an external power source; a plurality of light-emitting elements (104; see at least figure 2) on the top surface of the flexible carrier (102; see at least figure 1) and electrically coupled to the at least one conductive track (119; see at least figure 1); wherein the flexible carrier (102; see figure 1) is embedded into the cavity of the optic with the plurality of light emitting elements (104; paragraph [0121]) at the focus point of the optic (110).
Torvinen does not explicitly teach a parabolic collimator wherein a focus point of the parabolic collimator passes through the cavity.
Reshetin teaches a parabolic collimator (figure 10; column 2, lines 45-52) wherein a focus point of the parabolic collimator passes through the cavity (see figure 10 where focal point F passes through the cavity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to be a parabolic collimator having a focus point of the parabolic collimator passing through the cavity as taught by Reshetin et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output.
Torvinen does not explicitly teach a wavelength converting coating formed at least over the [plurality of light-emitting elements] and the top surface of the [flexible carrier], and wherein the top surface of the [flexible carrier] and the wavelength converting coating face the opening of the encapsulating material.
Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) teaches a wavelength converting coating formed at least over a plurality of light emitting elements (210; paragraph [0090]) and the top surface a flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510; see at least figure 5 and 7 where the phosphor (420) is indirectly on a top surface of the flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a wavelength converting material as taught by Ruan et al.as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0015] of Ruan et al.
Tovinen modified by Reshetin and Ruan et al. does not explicitly teach an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator.
Sweegers et al. teaches an air gap (air gap 24) between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating (20; figure 4) and the parabolic collimator (18; figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator as taught by Sweegers et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0080]-[0081] of Sweegers et al.
Regarding claim 2, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the optic (110; see at least fig. 2) has a flat surface opposite to a parabolic cross-section of the optic such that light that is emitted by the plurality of light-emitting elements (104; figure 2) is guided by the optic (102) in a direction of the flat surface (see at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein the cavity (see 116 in at least figure 2) is elongated and extends along a longitudinal direction of the optic (see at least figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the optic (110; see paragraph [0112] and at least figure 2) further comprises at least one fixing element (see paragraph [0050]) configured to mechanically fix the at least one parabolic collimator (110; see paragraph [0112]) to the encapsulating material (106; figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, and Torvinen further teaches wherein the flexible carrier is a flex foil (see at least paragraphs [0079]-[0085]; and at least figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device wherein the plurality of light-emitting element (104) are arranged along a longitudinal direction of the lighting device (200; figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 8 further comprising a light blocking coating (layer 16) formed over the bottom surface of the flexible carrier (102), with both the wavelength converting coating and the light blocking coating forming a cylindrical housing for the plurality of light-emitting elements (see at least paragraphs [0096]-[0100] where layer 16 comprises selected wavelengths; see at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Torvinen teaches the lighting device according to claim 9, and Torvinen further teaches wherein the flexible carrier (102; metal film; see at least paragraphs [0098]-[0100]). Torvinen does not explicitly teach a wavelength converting coating form a hemispherical shape, however, Ruan et al. teaches a wavelength converting coating formed at least over a plurality of light emitting elements (210; paragraph [0090]) and the top surface a flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510; see at least figure 5 and 7 where the phosphor (420) is indirectly on a top surface of the flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a wavelength converting material as taught by Ruan et al.as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0015] of Ruan et al.
Regarding claim 11, Torvinen further teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulating material (106) comprises at least one material having at least one of the reflective or light blocking properties (see at least figures 2-4; paragraphs [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Torvinen teaches a method of manufacturing a lighting device (20), the method comprising:
providing an optic (110; see paragraph [0112] and at least figure 2) comprising a cavity (116; figure 2) having a middle;
embedding the optic (110) in an opening in an encapsulating material (106; paragraph [0097]) comprising at least one opening (see figure 2) through which light is emitted;
providing a lighting unit (104; figure 2) comprising a flexible carrier (102; figure 1; paragraph [0082]-[0084]) having a top surface and a bottom surface opposite the top surface (see at least figure 2), a plurality of light-emitting elements (104) on the top surface (see figure 2); and
embedding the lighting unit (104; figure 2) into the cavity of the optic (110; see paragraph [0112] ant at least figure 2) with the plurality of light emitting elements (104; figure 2) at the focus point of the optic (110; see paragraph [0112] and at least figure 2) with the top surface of the flexible carrier (102; figure 1; paragraph [0082]-[0084]).
Torvinen does not explicitly teach a parabolic collimator.
Reshetin teaches a parabolic collimator (figure 10; column 2, lines 45-52) wherein a focus point of the parabolic collimator passes through the cavity (see figure 10 where focal point F passes through the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to be a parabolic collimator as taught by Reshetin et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output.
Torvinen does not explicitly teach [the light-emitting element] including a wavelength converting coating oriented towards the at least one opening of [the encapsulating material].
Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) teaches a wavelength converting coating formed at least over a plurality of light emitting elements (210; paragraph [0090]) and the top surface a flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510; see at least figure 5 and 7 where the phosphor (420) is indirectly on a top surface of the flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a wavelength converting material as taught by Ruan et al.as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0015] of Ruan et al.
Tovinen modified by Reshetin and Ruan et al. does not explicitly teach an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator.
Sweegers et al. teaches an air gap (air gap 24) between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating (20; figure 4) and the parabolic collimator (18; figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator as taught by Sweegers et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0080]-[0081] of Sweegers et al.
Regarding claim 14, Torvinen teaches a n automotive lighting system comprising:
at least one lighting device comprising:
an optic (110; see paragraph [0112] and at least figure 2) comprising a cavity (116; figure 2),
an encapsulating material (106; paragraph [0097]) surrounding the optic (110; see paragraph [0112]) and comprising an opening (figure 2);
a flexible carrier (102; figure 1; paragraph [0082]-[0084]) having a top surface, a bottom surface opposite the top surface (see figure 2), and at least one conductive track (119; see at least figure 1) configured to receive power from an external power source; and
a plurality of light-emitting elements (see 104 in at least figure 2) on the top surface of the flexible carrier (102; figure 1; paragraph [0082]-[0084]) and electrically coupled to the at least one conductive track (119; see at least figure 1);
at least one light-emitting element driver (paragraph [0057]-[0058]) configured to provide a drive current to the at least one lighting device at least via the at least one conductive track (119; see at least figure 1); and a controller (see paragraph [0057]) configured to receive at least one signal and provide at least one control signal to the at least one light-emitting element driver to turn the at least one light- emitting element ON and OFF according to the received at least one signal (see paragraph [0057]).
Torvinen does not explicitly teach a parabolic collimator wherein a focus point of the parabolic collimator passes through the cavity.
Reshetin teaches a parabolic collimator (figure 10; column 2, lines 45-52) wherein a focus point of the parabolic collimator passes through the cavity (see figure 10 where focal point F passes through the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to be a parabolic collimator having a focus point of the parabolic collimator passing through the cavity as taught by Reshetin et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output.
Torvinen does not explicitly teach [the light-emitting element] including a wavelength converting coating oriented towards the at least one opening of [the encapsulating material].
Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) teaches a wavelength converting coating formed at least over a plurality of light emitting elements (210; paragraph [0090]) and the top surface a flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510; see at least figure 5 and 7 where the phosphor (420) is indirectly on a top surface of the flexible carrier (first flexible substrate 510)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a wavelength converting material as taught by Ruan et al.as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0015] of Ruan et al.
Tovinen modified by Reshetin and Ruan et al. does not explicitly teach an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator.
Sweegers et al. teaches an air gap (air gap 24) between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating (20; figure 4) and the parabolic collimator (18; figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include an air gap between an outer-most surface of the wavelength converting coating and the parabolic collimator as taught by Sweegers et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0080]-[0081] of Sweegers et al.
Regarding claim 15, Torvinen further teaches the automotive lighting system of claim 14, wherein the automotive lighting system is one of a head light, a back light, an interior light, or body light included in the body of a vehicle (see claim 16 and at least figure 2 where the lighting device 20 may be used for an automotive interior light).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen (US 2018/0149321 A1) in view of Reshetin (US 4,962,450), Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) and Sweegers et al. (US 2017/0317251 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Labas (US 2020/0025343 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Torvinen modified by Reshetin, Ruan et al. and Sweegers et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the collimator comprises a flexible material.
Labas teaches a lighting device that comprises a flexible material (silicone; see paragraph [0028]; see at least figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a flexible material as taught by Labas to easily shape collimator by methods such as extrusion and/or molding and to achieve a highly reflective surface to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0028]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen (US 2018/0149321 A1) in view of Reshetin (US 4,962,450), Ruan et al. (US 2017/0365760 A1) and Sweegers et al. (US 2017/0317251 A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Deckers et al. (US 2020/0335667 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Torvinen modified by Reshetin, Ruan et al. and Sweegers et al. teaches the lighting device according to claim 9, but Torvinen modified by Ruan et al. does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of: the wavelength converting coating further comprises reflecting particles, or the light blocking coating further comprises phosphor particles.
Deckers et al. further teaches wherein at least one of: the wavelength converting coating further comprises reflecting particles, or the light blocking coating further comprises phosphor particles (see at least figures 2-4; paragraphs [0046]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lighting device of Torvinen to include a wavelength converting material as taught by Deckers et al. as an obvious and alternative design choice and way to achieve a desired illumination output as disclosed in paragraph [0014] of Deckers et al.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875