DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final rejection on 12/2/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-17 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14-15 and 26 of copending Application No. US20230225020 in view of Scheibe (US12590476).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 16, claim 14 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 teaches a hob apparatus, comprising:
a sensor region, comprising a sensor ([0103] Claim 14 Line 3 a sensor unit) configured to detect a sensor signal ([0103] Claim 14 Line 5 to detect a signal)
a signal processing region, comprising a signal processor ([0103] Claim 14 line 6 a control unit) configured to further process and/or analyze the sensor signal ([0103] Claim 14 line 6-7 control unit configured to control the sensor unit and to analyze the sensor signal);
Claim 14 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 does not teach a printed circuit board, a portion of the printed circuit board is bent to define a bending region, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are disposed on the same printed circuit board, and wherein the signal processing region is separated from the sensor region by the bending region.
Schiebe teaches a printed circuit board (1), wherein a portion of the printed circuit board (1) is bent to define a bending region (12), wherein the sensor region (11) and the signal processing region (13) are disposed on the same printed circuit board (1), and wherein the signal processing region (13) is separated from the sensor region (11) by the bending region (12).
It would have been obvious to have modified claim 14 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 with the teachings of Schiebe to have the printed circuit board have a bending region that separates and sensor region and signal processing region, where both regions are on the same circuit board so that the circuit board may be formed in a such a way that it conforms with the shape of other exterior components that may be bent or curved while also being able to connect relevant electronic components (Schiebe Col. 1 lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 17, claim 15 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 teaches the hob apparatus of claim 16, embodied as an induction hob apparatus (Claim 15 lines 1-2 induction hob).
Regarding claim 32, Claim 26 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 teaches a hob (Claim 26 line 1 a hob), comprising a hob apparatus (Claim 26 line 1 a hob apparatus),
said hob apparatus (Claim 26 line 1 a hob apparatus) comprising a sensor region, comprising a sensor ([0103] Claim 26 Line 2a sensor unit)
a signal processing region, comprising a signal processor ([0103] Claim 26 line 4 a control unit) configured to further process and/or analyze the sensor signal ([0103] Claim 26 lines 4-6 control unit configured to control the sensor unit and to analyze the sensor signal).
Claim 26 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 does not teach a printed circuit board, on which the sensor unit and the signal processing unit are arranged together.
a portion of the printed circuit board is bent to define a bending region, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are disposed on the same printed circuit board, and wherein the signal processing region is separated from the sensor region by the bending region.
Schiebe teaches a printed circuit board (1), wherein a portion of the printed circuit board (1) is bent to define a bending region (12), wherein the sensor region (11) and the signal processing region (13) are disposed on the same printed circuit board (1), and wherein the signal processing region (13) is separated from the sensor region (11) by the bending region (12).
It would have been obvious to have modified claim 14 of U.S. Patent Pub. No. US20230225020 with the teachings of Schiebe to have the printed circuit board have a bending region that separates and sensor region and signal processing region, where both regions are on the same circuit board so that the circuit board may be formed in a such a way that it conforms with the shape of other exterior components that may be bent or curved while also being able to connect relevant electronic components (Schiebe Col. 1 lines 20-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US20230137254) having priority to (EP3889558) in view of Scheibe (US12590476) having priority to (DE102018113946A).
Regarding claim 16, Klein teaches a hob apparatus, comprising:
a sensor region (35), comprising a sensor ([0053] sensor receiving light signal)
a signal processing region, comprising a signal processor ([0054] electronic unit and associated software) configured to further process and/or analyze a sensor signal ([0054] output analogue signal, of which the electronic unit and associated software identify properties of); and
a printed circuit board ([0054] printed circuit board).
Klein is silent on wherein a portion of the printed circuit board is bent to define a bending region, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are disposed on the same printed circuit board, and wherein the signal processing region is separated from the sensor region by the bending region.
Schiebe teaches wherein a portion of the printed circuit board (1) is bent to define a bending region (12), wherein the sensor region (11) and the signal processing region (13) are disposed on the same printed circuit board (1), and wherein the signal processing region (13) is separated from the sensor region (11) by the bending region (12).
Klein and Schiebe are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of printed circuit boards. It would have been obvious to have modified Klein to incorporate the teachings of Schiebe to have the printed circuit board have a bending region that separates and sensor region and signal processing region, where both regions are on the same circuit board so that the circuit board may be formed in a such a way that it conforms with the shape of other exterior components that may be bent or curved while also being able to connect relevant electronic components (Schiebe Col. 1 lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 17, Klein and Scheibe teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, and Klein teaches embodied as an induction hob apparatus ([0006] induction hob).
Regarding claim 32, Klein teaches a hob ([0006] hob), comprising:
a hob apparatus comprising:
a sensor region (35), comprising a sensor ([0053] sensor receiving light signal)
a signal processing unit, comprising a signal processor ([0054] electronic unit and associated software) configured to further process and/or analyze a sensor signal ([0054] output analogue signal, of which the electronic unit and associated software identify properties of); and
a printed circuit board ([0054] printed circuit board).
Klein is silent on wherein a portion of the printed circuit board is bent to define a bending region, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are disposed on the same printed circuit board, and wherein the signal processing region is separated from the sensor region by the bending region.
Schiebe teaches wherein a portion of the printed circuit board (1) is bent to define a bending region (12), wherein the sensor region (11) and the signal processing region (13) are disposed on the same printed circuit board (1), and wherein the signal processing region (13) is separated from the sensor region (11) by the bending region (12).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein to incorporate the teachings of Schiebe to have the printed circuit board have a bending region that separates and sensor region and signal processing region, where both regions are on the same circuit board so that the circuit board may be formed in a such a way that it conforms with the shape of other exterior components that may be bent or curved while also being able to connect relevant electronic components (Schiebe Col. 1 lines 20-45).
Regarding claim 33, Klein and Schiebe teaches the hob of claim 32, and Klein teaches embodied as an induction hob apparatus ([0006] induction hob).
Claims 18, 19, 22-25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US20230137254) and Scheibe (US12590476) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hunt (US7299148B2).
Regarding claim 19, Klein and Schiebe teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, but is silent on wherein the printed circuit board includes a flexible part.
Hunt teaches wherein the printed circuit board (162) includes a flexible part (Col. 7 lines 30-40 support structure 164 comprises a flexible circuit board such as commercially available flexible integrated circuit boards).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have the printed circuit board have a flexible part so that the circuit board has a physical support for electronic components and allow for sensors to have physical connections at a space apart position (Hunt Col. 7 lines 20-40).
Regarding claim 23, Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are aligned at an angle to each in other.
Hunt teaches wherein the sensor region (112) and the signal processing region (157) are aligned at an angle to one another in an assembled state (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have the signal processing region at an angle to the sensor region so that the electronic components may be suspended away from the sensors while maintaining electrical connection to the sensors, preventing thermal distortion of the sensors and other components (Hunt Col. 6 lines 50-60, Col. 8 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 24, Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt teach the hob apparatus of claim 22, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are aligned substantially perpendicular to each other.
Fig. 4 of Hunt
Hunt teaches wherein the sensor region (112) and the signal processing region (157) are aligned substantially perpendicular to one another in an assembled state (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have the signal processing region perpendicular to the sensor region so that the electronic components may be suspended away from the sensors while maintaining electrical connection to the sensors, preventing thermal distortion of the sensors and other components (Hunt Col. 6 lines 50-60, Col. 8 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 25, Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt teach the hob apparatus of claim 22, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are aligned substantially parallel to each other.
Hunt teaches wherein the sensor region (112) and the signal processing region (157) are aligned substantially parallel to one another in an assembled state (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have the signal processing region parallel to the sensor region so that the electronic components may be suspended away from the sensors while maintaining electrical connection to the sensors, preventing thermal distortion of the sensors and other components (Hunt Col. 6 lines 50-60, Col. 8 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 28, Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt teach the hob apparatus of claim 22, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on wherein the signal processing region is at least substantially rigid.
Hunt teaches wherein the signal processing region is at least substantially rigid (Col. 12 lines 40-46 remote section may comprise a rigid circuit board instead of a flexible circuit board).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have a signal processing region be rigid in order to support the electronic components (Hunt Col. 12 lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 29, Klein and Schiebe teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on wherein the sensor region is rigid.
Hunt teaches wherein the sensor region is at least substantially rigid (Col. 12 lines 40-46 remote section may comprise a rigid circuit board instead of a flexible circuit board).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have a sensor region be rigid in order to support the electronic components (Hunt Col. 12 lines 40-45).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US20140083993A1) and Scheibe (US12590476) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dillig (DE102010001573A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 20, Klein and Schiebe teaches the hob apparatus of claim 16, but are silent on wherein the printed circuit board is configured as a rigid-flexible printed circuit board.
Dillig teaches wherein the printed circuit board (2)is configured as a rigid-flexible printed circuit board ([0004] rigid-flex printed circuit board).
Klein, Schiebe, and Dillig are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of printed circuit boards. It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Dillig to have the printed circuit board have been configured as a rigid-flexible printed circuit board as they offer high reliability in installation of a printed circuit board that requires three-dimensional assembly (Dillig [0004-0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Klein and Schiebe teaches the hob apparatus of claim 16, but are silent on wherein the printed circuit board is configured as a semi-flexible printed circuit board.
Dillig teaches wherein the printed circuit board (2) is configured as a semi-flexible printed circuit board ([0007] semi-flex printed circuit board).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Dillig to have the printed circuit board have been configured as a semi-flexible printed circuit board as they offer high reliability in installation of a printed circuit board that requires three-dimensional assembly when only a few bends are necessary during the assembly and mounting of the circuit board (Dillig [0004-0007]).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US20230137254) and Scheibe (US12590476) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hunt (US7299148B2) and Dillig (DE102010001573A1) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 26, Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt teach the hob apparatus of claim 22, but Klein and Schiebe are silent on further comprising a shielding element, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are arranged on different sides of the shielding element.
Hunt teaches sensor region (120) and the signal processing region (157).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Hunt to have a sensor region and a signal processing region so that the sensor components and signal processing components may be positioned in so that the electronic components may be suspended away from the sensors while maintaining electrical connection to the sensors, preventing thermal distortion of the sensors and other components (Hunt Col. 6 lines 50-60, Col. 8 lines 1-15).
Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt are silent on a shielding element, wherein the sensor region and the signal processing region are arranged on different sides of the shielding element in an assembled state.
Fig. 5 of Dillig
Dillig teaches further comprising a shielding element (32), wherein the first region (4) and the second processing region (6) are arranged on different sides of the shielding element (Fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to have modified the sensor region and signal processing region as taught by Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt to incorporate the teachings of Dillig to have a shielding element such that the circuit board regions may be secured while preventing a break in the flexible portion of the circuit board (Dillig [0027]).
Regarding claim 27, Klein, Schiebe, Hunt, and Dillig teach the hob apparatus of claim 26, but Klein and Hunt are silent on wherein the shielding element has an opening, and wherein the opening receives the bending region in the assembled state.
Dillig teaches wherein the shielding element (32) has an opening, and wherein the opening receives the bending region (8) in the assembled state (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein, Schiebe, and Hunt to incorporate the teachings of Dillig to have a shielding element with a passage for the bending region such that the circuit board regions may be secured while preventing a break in the flexible portion of the circuit board (Dillig [0027]).
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US20230137254) and Scheibe (US12590476) as applied to claims 16 and 32 above, and further in view of Aranda (DE 102018219969) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Regarding claim 30, Klein and Scheibe teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, but are silent on further comprising a protection element arranged above the signal processing unit for protecting the signal processing unit against thermal influence.
Aranda teaches further comprising a protection element (56a) arranged above the signal processing unit (14a) for protecting the signal processing unit against thermal influence.
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein to incorporate the teachings of Aranda to have a protection element in order to shield the processing unit from the heating elements (Aranda [0060]).
Regarding claim 31, Klein and Scheibe teach the hob apparatus of claim 16, but is silent on a further sensor region, comprising a further sensor; a further signal processing region, comprising a further signal processor configured to process and/or analyze a further signal from the further sensor; and a further printed circuit board, wherein the further sensor region and the further signal processing region are are disposed on the same further printed circuit board.
Fig. 16 of Aranda
Aranda teaches a further sensor region, comprising a further sensor (20a, each heating unit 12a has a sensor element 20a); a further signal processing region (14A), comprising a further signal processor configured to process and/or analyze a further signal from the further sensor (20A); and a further printed circuit board (54A), wherein the further sensor region (20A) and the further signal processing region (14A) are disposed on the same further printed circuit board (54A).
It would have been obvious to have modified Klein and Scheibe to incorporate the teachings of Aranda to have a further sensor unit, signal processing unit, and printed circuit board in order to allow the operator have a high level of comfort in controlling the cooking parameters of the cooking vessel resulting in optimal cooking results (Aranda [0017]).
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheibe (US12590476) in view of Jenkins (20190125120 ).
Regarding claim 34, Schiebe teaches a sensor (11), a signal processor (13) configured to process and/or analyze a signal from the sensor (11); and a printed circuit board (1), wherein the sensor (11) and the signal processor (13) are disposed on the same printed circuit board (1).
Schiebe is silent on an induction sensor.
Jenkins teaches an induction sensor (304, [0236] induction sensor).
Schiebe and Jenkins are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor circuitry. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Jenkins to have an induction sensor in order to be able to accurately detect and transmit desired sensed characteristics without external interference (Jenkins [0236]).
Regarding claim 35, The hob apparatus of claim 34, and Scheibe teaches wherein the signal processor (13) and the sensor (11) are on opposite sides of a bend (12) in the printed circuit board (1).
Schiebe is silent on an induction sensor
Jenkins teaches an induction sensor (304, [0236] induction sensor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schiebe to incorporate the teachings of Jenkins to have an induction sensor in order to be able to accurately detect and transmit desired sensed characteristics without external interference (Jenkins [0236]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 16 and 32 in view of Klein (US20230137254) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, Applicant's amendment necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, wherein the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Klein (US20230137254) and newly cited reference Scheibe (US12590476).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/4/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761