DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 is objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raaijmakers WIPO Publication WO2017/216260A1. (It is noted that the Raaijmakers citations are taken from the US equivalent PGPUB 2019/0193585).
Regarding claim 1, Raaijmakers discloses an apparatus for the electrical charging of one or more electric battery units of a vehicle [figs. 1-3], wherein the apparatus comprises:
a charging interface for electrically connecting the electrical battery unit of the vehicle to one or more of: a first electrical contact element of a pantograph and a second electrical contact element of the pantograph [fig. 1, charging interface 30 of the vehicle has multiple connectors for making electrical contact with a pantograph 16/20; pars. 57-59],
wherein the charging interface comprises one or more connectors [fig. 2, interface comprises 4 connectors 32, 33, 34 and 35; par. 60],
wherein at least one of the connecters of the one or more connectors connector comprises a first electrically conductive member and a second electrically conductive member [pars. 60-61],
wherein the first electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph while the second electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with the other one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [figs. 2 & 4; the connectors have a long side which contact with the contact elements 20-25; pars. 59-60],
wherein the first electrically conductive member is spaced apart from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2], and
wherein the connector comprises one holder for holding the first and second electrically conductive members [fig. 1, the contact elements 32-35 rest on another box, which could be considered a holder], the holder being attachable to the vehicle [fig. 1, the holder is attached to the vehicle, and therefore is attachable to the vehicle].
Regarding claim 2, Raaijmakers disclose wherein the first and second electrically conductive members of the at least one connector and the holder of said the same connector form a single unit [figs. 1-3, the connectors and holder are connected to each other on top of the vehicle, thus from a single unit].
Regarding claim 3, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the first electrically conductive member is configured for the transfer of electrical signals conveying information between an electronic control unit of the vehicle and any one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [par. 59, a control contact 25 of the charger makes contact with a counterpart control contact 35 for communication, the device on the vehicle side controls at least communication through electronic signals, and is thus an electronic control unit of the vehicle], while the second electrically conductive member is configured for the transfer of electric power to the electrical battery unit of the vehicle from one or more of: the first electrical contact element of the pantograph and/or the second electrical contact element of the pantograph [pars. 59-61; others of the contacts are power contacts].
Regarding claim 5, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the first electrically conductive member is electrically insulated from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2; pars. 59-61; the contacts are used for separate purposes and are physically separated on the surface they are located, thus to prevent shorting, the contacts are insulated by the separation and the substrate they are located on].
Regarding claim 6, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the holder electrically insulates the first electrically conductive member from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2; pars. 59-61; the contacts are used for separate purposes and are physically separated on the surface they are located, thus to prevent shorting, the contacts are insulated by the separation and the substrate they are located on].
Regarding claim 7, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the holder is attachable to an exterior part of the vehicle [fig. 1, the holder is attached to the roof of the vehicle, and therefore is attachable to an exterior part of the vehicle], and
wherein the holder is configured to electrically insulate the first and second electrically conductive members from the exterior part of the vehicle [fig. 2; pars. 59-61; the contacts are used for separate purposes and are physically separated on the surface they are located, thus to prevent shorting, the contacts are insulated by the separation and the substrate they are located on; the substrate which insulates the contacts from each other also separates the contacts from the roof of the vehicle].
Regarding claim 8, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the holder is attachable to a roof of the vehicle [fig. 1, the holder is attached to the roof of the vehicle, and therefore is attachable to an exterior part of the vehicle], and wherein the holder is configured to electrically insulate the first and second electrically conductive members from the roof of the vehicle [fig. 2; pars. 59-61; the contacts are used for separate purposes and are physically separated on the surface they are located, thus to prevent shorting, the contacts are insulated by the separation and the substrate they are located on; the substrate which insulates the contacts from each other also separates the contacts from the roof of the vehicle].
Regarding claim 9, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the holder is at least partly made of an electrically insulating material [fig. 2; pars. 59-61; the contacts are used for separate purposes and are physically separated on the surface they are located, thus to prevent shorting, the contacts are insulated by the separation and the substrate they are located on; the substrate which insulates the contacts from each other also separates the contacts from the roof of the vehicle].
Regarding claim 10, Raaijmakers discloses wherein at any location on the longitudinal side of either of the first or second electrically conductive members, such longitudinal side is configured to make electrical contact with any one of: the first electrical contact element of the pantograph and the second electrical contact element of the pantograph [fig. 2; pars. 58-60; the contacts of vehicle (conductive members) are formed in the shape of bars and can thus make contact with the pantograph at any point along the contact].
Regarding claim 11, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the charging interface comprises two connectors as recited in claim1 that are spaced apart from one another [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 12, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the first electrically conductive member of one of the two connectors faces the second electrically conductive member of the other one of the two connectors [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 13, Raaijmakers discloses an arrangement for the electrical charging of one or more electric battery units of a vehicle [figs. 1-3], wherein the arrangement comprises;
a charging interface for electrically connecting the electrical battery unit of the vehicle to one or more of: a first electrical contact element of a pantograph and a second electrical contact element of the pantograph [fig. 1, charging interface 30 of the vehicle has multiple connectors for making electrical contact with a pantograph 16/20; pars. 57-59],
wherein the charging interface comprises one or more connectors [fig. 2, interface comprises 4 connectors 32, 33, 34 and 35; par. 60],
wherein at least one of the connecters of the one or more connectors connector comprises a first electrically conductive member and a second electrically conductive member [pars. 60-61],
wherein the first electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph while the second electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with the other one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [figs. 2 & 4; the connectors have a long side which contact with the contact elements 20-25; pars. 59-60],
wherein the first electrically conductive member is spaced apart from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2], and
wherein the first electrically conductive member is configured for the transfer of electrical signals conveying information between an electronic control unit and any one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [par. 59, a control contact 25 of the charger makes contact with a counterpart control contact 35 for communication, the device on the vehicle side controls at least communication through electronic signals, and is thus an electronic control unit of the vehicle] while the second electrically conductive member is configured for the transfer of electric power to the electrical battery unit of the vehicle from one or more of: the first electrical contact element of the pantograph and/or the second electrical contact element of the pantograph [pars. 59-61; others of the contacts are power contacts].
Regarding claim 15, Raaijmakers discloses a vehicle comprising an apparatus for the electrical charging of one or more electric battery units of the vehicle [figs. 1-3],
wherein the apparatus comprises: a charging interface for electrically connecting the electrical battery unit of the vehicle to one or more of: a first electrical contact element of a pantograph and a second electrical contact element of the pantograph [fig. 1, charging interface 30 of the vehicle has multiple connectors for making electrical contact with a pantograph 16/20; pars. 57-59],
wherein the charging interface comprises one or more connectors [fig. 2, interface comprises 4 connectors 32, 33, 34 and 35; par. 60],
wherein at least one of the connecters of the one or more connectors comprises a first electrically conductive member and a second electrically conductive member [pars. 60-61],
wherein the first electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph while the second electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with the other one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [figs. 2 & 4; the connectors have a long side which contact with the contact elements 20-25; pars. 59-60],
wherein the first electrically conductive member is spaced apart from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2],
and wherein the connector comprises one holder for holding the first and second electrically conductive members [fig. 1, the contact elements 32-35 rest on another box, which could be considered a holder],
the holder being attachable to the vehicle [fig. 1, the holder is attached to the vehicle, and therefore is attachable to the vehicle].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raaijmakers WIPO Publication WO2017/216260A1 in view of Stockiner et al. WIPO Publication 2018/086884 A1. (It is noted that the Raaijmakers citations are taken from the US equivalent PGPUB 2019/0193585 and the Stockinger citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 4, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the at least one connector comprises an electrical connecting unit for a line for the transfer of electrical signals conveying information between the first electrically conductive member and an electronic control unit of the vehicle [par. 59, a control contact 25 of the charger makes contact with a counterpart control contact 35 for communication, the device on the vehicle side controls at least communication through electronic signals, and is thus an electronic control unit of the vehicle].
Raaijmakers does not explicitly disclose a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members.
However, Stockinger discloses an electric vehicle charging system [fig. 1] which comprises a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members [par. 109; heater 29 of vehicle 10 heats “contacting region” 32 of the vehicle to remove any ice or frost].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raaijmakers to further include a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members for the purpose of removing any snow or ice, as taught by Stockinger (par. 109).
Regarding claim 14, Raaijmakers discloses a charging device for the electrical charging of one or more electric battery units of a vehicle [figs. 1-3],
wherein the charging device comprises; a charging interface for electrically connecting the electrical battery unit of the vehicle to one or more of: a first electrical contact element of a pantograph and a second electrical contact element of the pantograph [fig. 1, charging interface 30 of the vehicle has multiple connectors for making electrical contact with a pantograph 16/20; pars. 57-59],
wherein the charging interface comprises one or more connectors [fig. 2, interface comprises 4 connectors 32, 33, 34 and 35; par. 60],
wherein at least one of the connecters of the one or more connectors connector comprises a first electrically conductive member and a second electrically conductive member [pars. 60-61],
wherein the first electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph while the second electrically conductive member of the at least one connector comprises at least one longitudinal side for electrical contact with the other one of the first and second electrical contact elements of the pantograph [figs. 2 & 4; the connectors have a long side which contact with the contact elements 20-25; pars. 59-60],
wherein the first electrically conductive member is spaced apart from the second electrically conductive member [fig. 2], and
wherein the connector comprises an electrical connecting unit for a line for the transfer of electrical signals conveying information between the first electrically conductive member and an electronic control unit of the vehicle [par. 59, a control contact 25 of the charger makes contact with a counterpart control contact 35 for communication, the device on the vehicle side controls at least communication through electronic signals, and is thus an electronic control unit of the vehicle].
Raaijmakers does not explicitly disclose a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members.
However, Stockinger discloses an electric vehicle charging system [fig. 1] which comprises a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members [par. 109; heater 29 of vehicle 10 heats “contacting region” 32 of the vehicle to remove any ice or frost].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raaijmakers to further include a line for heat transfer from a heater of the vehicle to the first and second electrically conductive members for the purpose of removing any snow or ice, as taught by Stockinger (par. 109).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raaijmakers WIPO Publication WO2017/216260A1 in view of Antwerpen German publication DE102017000917A1. (It is noted that the Raaijmakers citations are taken from the US equivalent PGPUB 2019/0193585 and the Antwerpen citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 16, Raaijmakers discloses a vehicle according to claim 15,
wherein the vehicle has a front and a rear [fig. 1],
wherein the vehicle has a longitudinal extension extending between the front and the rear in a longitudinal direction [fig. 1, the length of the vehicle from the front to the rear].
Raaijmakers does not explicitly disclose wherein the longitudinal side of either of the first or second electrically conductive members extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
However, Antwerpen discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the longitudinal side of either of the first or second electrically conductive members extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle [figs. 1-2 & 6; abs. the vehicle contact rails 21/25 along in the direction of travel of the vehicle (the longitudinal direction of the vehicle 1); par. 53-54].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Raaijmakers to further include wherein the longitudinal side of either of the first or second electrically conductive members extends in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle for the purpose of simplifying the structure of the vehicle contact device and ensuring that the contacts are made in the right order, as taught by Korbinian (pars. 27-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bedell US PGPUB 2016/0167524 discloses an electric vehicle charging system using a pantograph and longitudinal vehicle contacts.
/DAVID V HENZE-GONGOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859