Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dulaney (US 6,144,012).
Regarding claim 1, Dulaney teaches a processed product manufacturing method (abstract) comprising: preparing a workpiece containing metal (Col. 3, lines 9-13); and forming along a surface of the workpiece a plurality of first regions applied with a tensile residual stress (laser beam spots form the first regions; Col. 4, lines 12-32) and a second region applied with a compressive residual stress by irradiating a plurality of irradiation points separated from each other in the surface with a laser beam (Col. 1, lines 57-63; Col. 2, lines 15-20; Col. 4, lines 12-32), wherein the first regions are formed to be separated from each other, and each of the first region is surrounded by the second region when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the surface (Col. 1, lines 57-63; Col. 2, lines 15-20; Col. 4, lines 12-32).
Regarding claim 2, Dulaney teaches the processed product manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation points are irradiated with the laser beam so that a plastic deformation region formed by plastic deformation is formed at a position corresponding to each of the irradiation points, and wherein the plastic deformation region corresponding to each of the irradiation points is formed not to overlap an adjacent plastic deformation region (Dulaney teaches applying compressive residual stress and it is known that plastic deformation applies compression residual stress (see instant application para. 0004); Col. 1, lines 57-63; Col. 2, lines 15-20; Col. 4, lines 12-32).
Regarding claim 3, Dulaney teaches the processed product manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein the irradiation points are irradiated with the laser beam so that a metal flow region is formed at a position corresponding to each of irradiation points by a metal flow (It is known that when plastic deformation occurs in the workpiece, a metal flow occurs in the periphery of a region in which plastic deformation occurs (see instant application paragraph 0004); Col. 1, lines 57-63; Col. 2, lines 15-20; Col. 4, lines 12-32), and wherein the metal flow region corresponding to each of the irradiation points is irradiated to overlap an adjacent metal flow region (It is known that when plastic deformation occurs in the workpiece, a metal flow occurs in the periphery of a region in which plastic deformation occurs (see instant application paragraph 0004); Col. 1, lines 57-63; Col. 2, lines 15-20; Col. 4, lines 12-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulaney in view of Clauer (US 6,752,593).
Regarding claim 4, Dulaney teaches all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for, wherein the irradiation points are simultaneously irradiated with the laser beam.
Clauer teaches a processed product manufacturing method (abstract), wherein the irradiating points are simultaneously irradiated with the laser beam (Col. 14, lines 27-31).
Therefore, it would have it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Dulaney, with Clauer, by simultaneously irradiating the irradiating points with the laser beam, for a faster processing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dulaney in view of Delvaux (US 2010/0061863).
Regarding claim 5, Dulaney teaches all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1, except for, wherein the workpiece contains at least one of titanium and a titanium alloy.
Delvaux teaches a processed product manufacturing method (para.0001), wherein the workpiece contains at least one of titanium and a titanium alloy (para.0015).
Therefore, it would have it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the workpiece of Dulaney, with Delvaux, by applying the method of Dulaney to the titanium workpiece of Delvaux, as the Dulaney workpiece is also an aircraft gas turbine engine compressor blade and the titanium workpiece of Delvaux will benefit from the advantages of Dulaney method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 7,097,720, US 2006/0254681 and US 2008/0241546.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 01/15/2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761