Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Affidavit
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation the "surface" mineralized fiber in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buri et al. (U.S. 9,725,599), hereinafter referred to as Buri.
As to claim 1, Buri et al. (U.S. 9,725,599) discloses a mineralized fiber comprising: a cellulosic fiber cellulose fiber, column 6, line 29) defining a core of the surface mineralized fiber, and calcium carbonate (calcium carbonate coating the fiber, column 5, lines 39-40) surrounding the core forming a shell structure around the core and infiltrated into the cellulosic fiber, wherein the calcium carbonate is present in the mineralized fiber in a mineralization amount of at least 30% (at least 50%, column 9, lines 35-40), and wherein the calcium carbonate increases the bending stiffness of the mineralized fiber (calcium carbonates increases the strength of the fibers, column 2, lines 12-18).
As to claim 2, Buri discloses the mineralized fiber wherein the cellulosic fiber has a hollow interior and the calcium carbonate infiltrates into the hollow interior (see infiltration of particles into hollow interior of fiber, Figure 4).
As to claim 3, Buri discloses the mineralized fiber wherein the calcium carbonate infiltrates into the fiber such that at least a portion of surface strands of the fiber are coated by calcium carbonate (surface strand segments of fiber are coated by particles, Figure 4).
As to claim 5, Buri discloses the mineralized fiber wherein the cellulosic fiber comprises pulp from one or more of Eucalyptus, Birch, Acacia, Aspen, Pine, Spruce, and old corrugated cardboard recycled fiber (pine cellulose, column 15, lines 17 and 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Buri.
As to claim 4, Buri discloses the mineralized fiber wherein the cellulosic fiber has a specific surface area of about 2 m2/g to about 80 m2/g (slurry of fibers having specific surfaces areas ranging from 11.2 to 27.5 m2/g, column 14, lines 14-15 and 41-42, column 15, lines 10-12; natural cellulose fibers used, column 15, lines 17-25; per MPEP 2144, structurally similar species are expected to have similar properties, absent unexpected results).
Alternatively, Buri discloses varying the ratio of the length to the width of their fibers (column 6, lines 22-25, column 15, lines 20-21 and 30-31, and claims 5-16), which is a result-effective variable affecting the geometry, specific surface area, opacity, and strength properties of the fibers (expanded fibers have different opacity and strength properties, column 2, lines 11-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the ratio of the length to the width of the fibers of Buri, to produce the claimed specific area, and to optimize the opacity and strength of the fibers, which is a desirable endeavor as disclosed in Buri (column 2, lines 11-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including the references listed in the International Search Report for PCT/US2021/036533.
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748