DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/25/2025.
Claims 16-30 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 16 and 24 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tirola et al. (US 20220287123 A1, hereinafter “Tirola”), in view of Abedini et al. (US 20210185749 A1, hereinafter “Abedini).
RE Claim 24, 16, Tirola discloses an apparatus or method:
An integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (¶0057) for transmitting and receiving data in a wireless communication system (¶0110, Fig. 3), the IAB node comprising:
a transceiver (DU resides at the IAB nodes hosting RLC, MAC, and physical layer PHY. ¶0083. IAB node communicates to a MT, mobile termination or UE, and a DU using downlink and uplink resources, ¶¶0085-0086. To support PHY layer communication of the IAB, an IAB node inherently requires a transceiver for access and for installations with wireless backhauls.); and
at least one processor (¶0167, Fig. 7) configured to:
receive, from a first parent IAB node associated with a master cell group (MCG) (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6), first scheduling information for flexible time resources (Resource configuration in the case of IAB node connected to at least two parent nodes, e.g. one via MCG (Master Cell Group) and another via SCG (Secondary Cell Group). ¶¶0001, 0128, 0129, Fig. 5; Time resource types for DU's child links: DL hard, DL soft, UL hard, UL soft, Flexible hard, Flexible soft, Not Available. ¶0053; Based on the determined resource availability, the IAB node (e.g. IAB #2 or IAB #3) may perform scheduling (resource allocation) for the first link. ¶0138, Fig. 5, 6; According to at least some example embodiments, the apparatus further comprises means for performing scheduling for the first link based on the radio resources determined to be available for the multi-connectivity link based on specific rules utilizing information about the priority and at least one of the first DU radio resource configuration, the second DU radio resource configuration, the first link radio resource configuration and the second link radio resource configuration. ¶0229);
Tirola does not explicitly disclose:
receive, from a second parent IAB node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG), second scheduling information for flexible time resources;
determine, based on the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information, whether simultaneous transmission and reception in the MCG and the SCG are scheduled for a resource configured with a flexible time resource; and
based on the determination that the simultaneous transmission and reception in the MCG and the SCG are scheduled for the resource, the IAB node is not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception, operate according to the first scheduling information for the resource.
However, Abedini discloses:
receive, from a second parent IAB node associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) (Child node communicating simultaneously to multiple parent nodes, a first and second parent IAB nodes. ¶0083; Parent nodes identified by cell, node, IAB node, or base station identifiers, first and second cells. ¶0085, Fig. 6: 410-2, 410-3), second scheduling information for flexible time resources (Child node receives configuration and scheduled resources for first parent and another node, a second parent node, scheduled resources. ¶0076; IAB network resources for wireless configured for IAB nodes include a time resource configured as downlink only, uplink only, flexible, or not available. When a time resource is configured as flexible for a wireless node, that time resource may be available for both downlink communications and uplink communications of the wireless node. ¶0059);
determine, based on the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information (Child node receives DCI indicating first parent node resources scheduled and second parent node resources scheduled. ¶0079), whether simultaneous transmission and reception in the MCG and the SCG are scheduled for a resource configured with a flexible time resource (Child node determines whether the first and second parent node scheduled resources conflict between first and second parent nodes. First and second set of resources may conflict due to a condition associated with the capability for the simultaneous communication. ¶0079; IAB network resources for wireless configured for IAB nodes include a time resource configured as downlink only, uplink only, flexible, or not available. When a time resource is configured as flexible for a wireless node, that time resource may be available for both downlink communications and uplink communications of the wireless node. ¶0059); and
based on the determination that the simultaneous transmission and reception in the MCG and the SCG are scheduled for the resource (Child node determines whether the first and second parent node scheduled resources conflict between first and second parent nodes. First and second set of resources may conflict due to a condition associated with the capability for the simultaneous communication. ¶¶0079, 0062), the IAB node is not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception (Child node determines whether the first and second parent node scheduled resources conflict between first and second parent nodes. First and second set of resources may conflict due to a condition associated with the capability for the simultaneous communication. ¶¶0079, 0062), operate according to the first scheduling information for the resource (Child node indicates by a UCI that the child node is not capable of simultaneous communication. Child transmits indication using the first set of resources, first parent node. ¶¶0079, 0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tirola, identify and resolve multi-connectivity resource scheduling conflicts given half-duplex constraints at parent IAB nodes, with the teachings of Abedini, identify multi-connectivity resource scheduling conflicts for half-duplex constraints at the child IAB node and communicate only to the first IAB node.
The motivation to modify Tirola with Abedini would be to reduce conflicts and improve resource usage in multi-connectivity of a child IAB node connected to multiple parent IAB nodes in the presence of half-duplex constraints or scheduling conflicts. (Tirola: Abstract, ¶¶0053-0056, 0113, 0114, 0121, 0127; Abedini: Abstract, ¶¶0006, 0063-0064, 0080)
RE Claim 25, 17, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein the operating, according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises:
determining whether to transmit or receive data between the second parent IAB node and the IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10), based on a direction of resource used for data transmission and reception (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) between the first parent IAB node and the IAB node (determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 26, 18, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein the operating, according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises:
determining whether to transmit or receive data (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) between a child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or a user equipment (UE) (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) and the IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4), based on the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C); and
transmitting or receiving data with the child IAB node or the UE, based on the determining (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10).
RE Claim 27, 19, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein the determining whether to transmit or receive data (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) between the child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or the UE (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) and the IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4), based on the first scheduling information comprises:
determining whether to transmit or receive data between the child IAB node or the UE (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) and the IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10), based on a direction of resource used for data transmission and reception (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) between the first parent IAB node and the IAB node (determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9).
RE Claim 28, 20, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein the operating, according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises:
determining whether to transmit or receive data between the second parent IAB node and the IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10), based on a resource type of resource used for data transmission and reception (Resource types Hard or soft. ¶¶0085-0090. Multiplex configurations. ¶0190, Fig. 10;) between a child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or a UE and the IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) (Procedure for MT, UE, communication determination based on availability. ¶¶0201-0202, Fig. 11).
RE Claim 29, 21, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein, when a direction (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) of resource used for data transmission and reception (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B) between the first parent IAB node and the IAB node (IAB node links to Parent IAB. ¶0109, Fig. 4) is for a downlink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B) , the operating according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises:
determining to receive data from the second parent IAB node, when a direction (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) of resource that is configured for transmission and reception of data between the second parent IAB node and the IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) is for a downlink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B); and
determining to receive data from a child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or a UE, when a direction of resource (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) that is configured for transmission and reception of data between the child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or the UE (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) and the IAB node is for a uplink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B).
RE Claim 30, 22, Tirola discloses:
An apparatus or method:
The method, wherein, when a direction of resource (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) used for data transmission and reception between the first parent IAB node and the IAB node (determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9) is for a uplink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B), the operating according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises:
determining to transmit data to the second parent IAB node, when a direction of resource that (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) is configured for transmission and reception of data between the second parent IAB node and the IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) is for a uplink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B); and
determining to transmit data to a child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or a UE (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4), when a direction of resource (link directions compatible? ¶0187, Fig. 9:S904) that is configured for transmission and reception of data between the child IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) or the UE (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) and the IAB node (¶¶0109-0110, Fig. 4) is for a downlink (IAB node scheduling uplink and downlink for full or half duplex for MT and DU links. ¶¶0102-0104, Fig. 2A, 2B).
RE Claim 23, Tirola discloses:
The method, wherein the operating according to the first scheduling information (¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0149, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C) comprises one of:
transmitting, by the IAB node, data to the second parent IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) based on the second scheduling information (Parent node determines if a resource is available, configured. ¶0142, Fig. 6, ¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0156, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C),
receiving, by the IAB node, data from the second parent IAB node (Determine if resource available for a link. ¶0142, Determine scheduling IAB nodes with MCG and SCG links. The procedure in this level is identical for DU with MCG and SCG links. ¶0184, Fig. 9; Multiplexing configurations when operating TDM or FDM/SDM. ¶0190, 0194, Fig. 10) based on the second scheduling information (Parent node determines if a resource is available, configured. ¶0142, Fig. 6, ¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0156, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C), or ignoring, by the IAB node (¶¶0102-0103, Fig. 2A; ¶0107, ¶¶0140-0142, ¶0162), the second scheduling information (Parent node determines if a resource is available, configured. ¶0142, Fig. 6, ¶0112, ¶0130, Fig. 5, ¶0156, Fig. 6; ¶¶0130-0139, 0229, UL/DL/Flex configurations - Fig. 10A-10C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210029025 A1 Abedini et al.
US 20200145997 A1 Luo et al.
US 20230180248 A1 Shim et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of IAB node operation, multi-connectivity, and scheduling.
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419