DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims 1-11 without traverse, and 1, 2, 4-trioxane artemisinin compound of Formula (IV) as the species in the reply filed on 08/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species.
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 are examined herein on the merits so far as they read on the elected species.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, page 4/8 recites for R2 “wherein the carbonyl groups together with the oxygen bound to the residue R1 form a carboxylic ester”. It should recite “wherein the carbonyl groups together with the oxygen bound to the residue R2 form a carboxylic ester”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a naturally-occurring product, whether isolated or not, that is not patent-eligible pursuant to the Supreme Court decision in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., -- U.S. -- (June 13, 2013).
An invention is not patent eligible subject matter when:
(a) the claimed invention does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C. 101 (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter); or
(b) the claimed invention, although nominally falling within at least one of the four eligible categories, is directed to a judicial exception to 35 U.S.C. 101 (i.e., an abstract idea, natural phenomenon, or law of nature); or
(c) the claimed invention would impermissibly cover every substantial practical application of, and thereby preempt all use of, an abstract idea, natural phenomenon, or law of nature; or (d) the claimed invention is directed to a naturally-occurring product, whether isolated or not, that is not patent-eligible pursuant to the Supreme Court decision in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., -- U.S. -- (June 13, 2013). See MPEP 2106, MPEP 706.03(a).
Based upon an analysis with respect to the claims as a whole, claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 do not recite something significantly different than a naturally occurring product, namely Artemisia carvifolia extract which contains artemisinin, chlorophyll, chlorogenic acid, Artemisia carvifolia acid, coumarin, artemisia ketone ketone, stigmasterol, phytosterol, D - (+) - camphor (D - (+) -Camphor), beta-sweetacacia ([beta] Farnesene), zeta-elemene. See BAI (CN 102232473 A reference used in the below rejection. Therefore, claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 are rejected as not being directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “1,2,4-trioxane moiety”, in claim 1 is vague and indefinite. This term is not clearly defined in the specification, it is not clear what compounds this term encompasses, since one of ordinary skill in the art could not ascertain the metes and bounds as to “1,2,4-trioxane moiety”. It is pointed out that one of skill in the art would recognize that ”moiety” is merely a part of a molecule or a compound. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize there are various and numerous 1,2 4-trioxane containing compounds whose structures are widely varying, and one of ordinary skill in the art could not ascertain the metes and bounds as to “1,2,4-trioxane moiety”.
Claims 5, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation “preferably between 0.8 and 0.005, more preferably between 0.5 and 0.01 and even more preferably 0.1 and 0.01” in claim 5 renders the scope of the claims unclear.
The recitation “preferably a 40 °C to 100 °C” in claim 8 renders the scope of the claims unclear.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitations n is an integer of more than 1, “preferably 2 to 10, more preferably 2, 3 or 4 and even more preferably 2 or 3” in claim 2 renders the scope of the claims unclear.
The recitation “R1 is a residue that is n times substitued by the residue depicted in the rounded bracket, and is preferably C1-Cis-alkyl or ….” in claim 2 renders the scope of the claims unclear.
The recitation “in particular” in claim 2 is unclear which renders the scope of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6-8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHENGZHOU ZHANGMENG NETWORK TECH CO LTD (CN 106727886 A, 2017, PTO-892; used English Machine translation).
ZHENGZHOU ZHANGMENG discloses drug for treating liver cancer, the drug is composed of in parts by weight: 13-21 parts of astragalus, 15-25 parts of chlorogenic acid, 1-5 parts of caraway ketone, and 7-15 parts of artemisinin; the drug is composed of 15-19 parts of astragalus, 18-22 parts of chlorogenic acid, 2-4 parts of caraway ketone, and 9-13 parts of artemisinin; the drug is composed of the following raw materials in parts by weight: 17 parts of astragalus, 20 parts of chlorogenic acid, 3 parts of caraway ketone, and 11 parts of artemisinin (meets the molar ratio in claim 5). See claims 1-3.
ZHENGZHOU ZHANGMENG anticipates instant claims.
2)Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BAI (CN 102232473 A, 2011, PTO-892; used English Machine translation).
BAI teaches that Artemisia carvifolia extract is applied to feed industry as the animal feed additive. Artemisia carvifolia extract contains artemisinin, chlorophyll, chlorogenic acid, Artemisia carvifolia acid, coumarin, artemisia ketone ketone, stigmasterol, phytosterol, D - (+) - camphor (D - (+) -Camphor), beta-sweetacacia ([beta] Farnesene), zeta-elemene and other plant physiology active material pharmaceutical composition. See claim 1.
BAI anticipates instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3) Claims 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BAI (CN 102232473 A, PTO-892; used English Machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 9, 10 above, and further in view of Marcela María Salazar Murillo (MethodsX 5 (2018) 83–89, PTO-892).
BAI is applied as discussed above.
BAI does not teach employment of starch in the animal feed composition therein.
Marcela María Salazar Murillo teaches that starch is an important nutrient in animal feed. See abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the animal feed composition because 1) BAI teaches that Artemisia carvifolia extract containing artemisinin, chlorophyll, chlorogenic acid is applied to feed industry as the animal feed additive; and 2) Marcela María Salazar Murillo teaches that starch is an important nutrient in animal feed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the animal feed composition comprising artemisinin, chlorogenic acid with reasonable expectation of success of obtaining the animal feed composition with desired nutrition.
Double Patenting
1)Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6-9, 10, 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7-9, 13, 15, 16, 17 of co-pending Application No. 17/928,858 (reference application), in view of (CN 102232473 A, PTO-892; used English Machine translation), and further in view of Marcela María Salazar Murillo (MethodsX 5 (2018) 83–89, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a composition comprising a) at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between the compound or the compounds having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and thechlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002.
Claims of ‘858 are drawn to a composition comprising at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety or a combination of a) at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between the compound or the compounds having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and the chlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002; wherein the compounds comprising at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety are obtained via extraction of Artemisia annua.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain instant composition because ‘858 teaches a composition comprising at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety or a combination of a) at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between the compound or the compounds having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and the chlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the composition taught by ‘858 because 1) BAI teaches that the composition containing artemisinin, chlorogenic acid is applied to feed industry as the animal feed additive; and 2) Marcela María Salazar Murillo teaches that starch is an important nutrient in animal feed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the composition comprising artemisinin, chlorogenic acid with reasonable expectation of success of obtaining the animal feed composition with desired nutrition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2)Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6-9, 10, 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of co-pending Application No. 19/079,342 (reference application), in view of (CN 102232473 A, PTO-892; used English Machine translation), and further in view of Marcela María Salazar Murillo (MethodsX 5 (2018) 83–89, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a composition comprising a) at least one compound having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between the compound or the compounds having at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety and the chlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002.
Claims of ‘342 are drawn to a composition comprising a) at least artemisinin and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between artemisinin and the chlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002; wherein the compounds comprising at least one 1,2,4-trioxane moiety are obtained via extraction of Artemisia annua.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain instant composition because ‘342 teaches a composition comprising a) at least artemisinin and b) at least one chlorogenic acid; wherein the molar ratio between artemisinin and the chlorogenic acid or chlorogenic acids present in the combination is between 2 and 0.002.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the composition taught by ‘342 because 1) BAI teaches that the composition containing artemisinin, chlorogenic acid is applied to feed industry as the animal feed additive; and 2) Marcela María Salazar Murillo teaches that starch is an important nutrient in animal feed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ starch in the composition comprising artemisinin, chlorogenic acid with reasonable expectation of success of obtaining the animal feed composition with desired nutrition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art made of Record:
CN 105853776; veterinary antiviral injection contains mangiferin, chlorogenic acid, flavone, artemisinin and immune material, used for preventing and curing disease of each kind of livestock viral disease;
CN 105343332.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SHOBHA KANTAMNENI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627