DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed January 14, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 14, 17, 19-20, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 10748879 B2), in view of Strobl (US 6356700 B1), Schrama (US 20200035885 A1) and Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi et al. teaches:
A pixel [5, Col. 5, Lines 21-24, Fig. 2] comprising a first sub-pixel [7, Col. 5, Lines 21-30, Fig. 1-2], wherein the first sub-pixel [7] comprises:
an LED layer [100, Col. 5, Lines 32-40, Fig. 1] comprising a light-emitting material configured to emit pump light from a light-emitting surface [Col. 5, Lines 56-63, Fig. 1], the pump light having a pump wavelength [Col. 5, Lines 24-30, Fig. 1];
a container layer [24, Col. 11, Lines 35-67, Fig. 1, 3M] having a container surface comprising a first container aperture [corresponds to area where 21, 22, and 23 are located, Col. 11, Lines 50-67, Fig. 1, 3M] that defines a first container volume extending through the container layer [24];
a first colour converting layer [22, Col. 6, Lines 58-63, Fig. 1] provided in the first container volume and configured to receive light from the light-emitting surface of the LED layer [100], wherein the first colour converting layer [22] comprises a first colour converting material that is configured to absorb light at the pump wavelength and emit first converted light of a first converted wavelength [Col. 5, Lines 24-30, Fig. 1];
a first lens [25 (above 22), Col. 7, Lines 6-16, Fig. 1, 3N] provided on the container layer [24, Fig. 1] over the first container aperture, comprising an inner side adjacent to the colour converting layer [22] and an outer side, wherein the outer side comprises a first convex surface [Col. 14, Lines 14-21, Fig. 1].
Iguchi et al. does not teach:
a first reflector assembly adjacent the outer side of the first lens and conforming to the first convex surface, the first reflector assembly comprising:
a first reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength; and
a second reflector configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the first converted wavelength;
wherein the second reflector comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector is in the first sub-pixel reflector aperture.
Strobl teaches:
a first reflector assembly [140, Col. 24, Lines 32-39, Fig. 7] adjacent the outer side of the first lens [199, Col. 45, Lines 35-37, Fig. 7] and conforming to the first convex surface, the first reflector assembly [140] comprising:
a first reflector [152, Col. 24, Lines 17-21, Fig. 7] configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength; and
a second reflector [148, Col. 23, Lines 44-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-31, Fig. 7] configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the first converted wavelength;
wherein the second reflector [148] comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture [146, Col. 24, Lines 17-21, Fig. 7] and wherein the first reflector [152] is in the first sub-pixel reflector aperture [146].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al. to include a first reflector assembly adjacent the outer side of the first lens and conforming to the first convex surface, the first reflector assembly comprising: a first reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength; and a second reflector configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the first converted wavelength; wherein the second reflector comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector is in the first sub-pixel reflector aperture, for the purpose of preventing light leakage, maximize light efficiency, transmit and/or reflect desired wavelength of light.
Iguchi et al. and Strobl do not teach:
a reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength and transmit light at the first converted wavelength.
Schrama teaches:
a reflector [320, paragraph [0018-0020], Fig. 3] configured to reflect light [311, Fig. 3] at the pump wavelength and transmit light [310, Fig. 3] at the first converted wavelength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Schrama into the teachings of Iguchi et al. and Strobl to include a reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength and transmit light at the first converted wavelength. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Iguchi et al. and Strobl in the above manner for the purpose of improving conversion efficiency.
Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama do not teach:
wherein the second reflector comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector fills the first sub-pixel reflector aperture.
Sato et al. teaches:
wherein the second reflector [11, paragraph [0013], [0015-0016], Fig. 1-2] comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture [12, paragraph [0013-0015], Fig. 1-2] and wherein the first reflector [S1, paragraph [0010], [0014], Fig. 1-2] fills the first sub-pixel reflector aperture [12, Fig. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato et al. into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama to include the wherein the second reflector comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector fills the first sub-pixel reflector aperture, for the purpose of improving color temperature, reducing light leakage, and improving performance and efficiency of the device.
It should be noted that this limitation is also taught in Huang et al. (US 20070064407 A1). Wherein the second reflector [110, paragraph [0029-0031], [0033], Fig. 1] comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector [140, paragraph [0029-0033], Fig. 1] fills the first sub-pixel reflector aperture. A first reflector [140, Fig. 1] configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength [L1, Fig. 1] and transmit light at the first converted wavelength [L2, Fig. 1]; and a second reflector [110, Fig. 1] configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength [L1, Fig. 1] and the first converted wavelength [L2, Fig. 1]. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to combine Huang et al. with Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama for the purpose of transmitting only the converted light, obtaining an ideal resonant chamber C, an omni-directional reflector or a pseudo omni-directional reflector or other reflective device highly reflective to the first light L1 and highly transmissive to the second light L2, and emitting more second light and improving the electro-optical transforming efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
further comprising a second sub-pixel [8, Col. 5, Lines 21-30, Fig. 1-2], wherein the second sub-pixel [8] comprises:
an LED layer [100] comprising a light-emitting material configured to emit pump light from a light-emitting surface, the pump light having the pump wavelength;
a container layer [24] having a container surface comprising a second container aperture that defines a second container volume extending through the container layer [24];
a second colour converting layer [23, Col. 6, Lines 63-67, Fig. 1] provided in the second container volume and configured to receive light from the light-emitting surface of the LED layer [100], wherein the second colour converting layer [23] comprises a second colour converting material that is configured to absorb light at the pump wavelength and emit second converted light of a second converted wavelength [Col. 5, Lines 24-30, Fig. 1];
a second lens [25 (above 23), Fig. 1] provided on the container layer [24] over the second container aperture, comprising an inner side adjacent to the colour converting layer [23] and an outer side, wherein the outer side comprises a second convex surface [Fig. 1].
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
a second reflector assembly adjacent the outer side of the second lens and conforming to the second convex surface, the second reflector assembly comprising:
a third reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength; and
a fourth reflector configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the second converted wavelength;
wherein the fourth reflector comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the third reflector is in the second sub-pixel reflector aperture.
Strobl teaches:
a second reflector assembly [140, Col. 24, Lines 32-39, Fig. 7] adjacent the outer side of the second lens [199, Col. 45, Lines 35-37, Fig. 7] and conforming to the second convex surface, the second reflector assembly [140] comprising:
a third reflector [152, Col. 24, Lines 17-21, Fig. 7] configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength; and
a fourth reflector [148, Col. 23, Lines 44-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-31, Fig. 7] configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the second converted wavelength;
wherein the fourth reflector [148] comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture [146, Col. 24, Lines 17-21, Fig. 7] and wherein the third reflector [152] is in the second sub-pixel reflector aperture [146].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include a second reflector assembly adjacent the outer side of the second lens and conforming to the second convex surface, the second reflector assembly comprising: a third reflector configured to reflect light at the pump; and a fourth reflector configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength and the second converted wavelength; wherein the fourth reflector comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the third reflector is in the second sub-pixel reflector aperture, for the purpose of preventing light leakage, maximize light efficiency, transmit and/or reflect desired wavelength of light.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Strobl and Sato et al. do not teach:
a reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength and transmit light at the second converted wavelength.
Schrama teaches:
a reflector [320, paragraph [0018-0020], Fig. 3] configured to reflect light [311, Fig. 3] at the pump wavelength and transmit light [310, Fig. 3] at the second converted wavelength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Schrama into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include a reflector configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength and transmit light at the second converted wavelength, for the purpose of improving conversion efficiency.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama do not teach:
wherein the fourth reflector comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the third reflector fills the second sub-pixel reflector aperture.
Sato et al. teaches:
wherein the fourth reflector [11, paragraph [0013], [0015-0016], Fig. 1-2] comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture [12, paragraph [0013-0015], Fig. 1-2] and wherein the third reflector [S1, paragraph [0010], [0014], Fig. 1-2] fills the second sub-pixel reflector aperture [12, Fig. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sato et al. into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama to include the wherein the fourth reflector comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the third reflector fills the second sub-pixel reflector aperture, for the purpose of improving color temperature, reducing light leakage, and improving performance and efficiency of the device.
It should be noted that this limitation is also taught in Huang et al. (US 20070064407 A1). Wherein the fourth reflector [110, paragraph [0029-0031], [0033], Fig. 1] comprises a second sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the third reflector [140, paragraph [0029-0033], Fig. 1] fills the second sub-pixel reflector aperture. A third reflector [140, Fig. 1] configured to reflect light at the pump wavelength [L1, Fig. 1] and transmit light at the first converted wavelength [L2, Fig. 1]; and a fourth reflector [110, Fig. 1] configured to reflect light at both the pump wavelength [L1, Fig. 1] and the first converted wavelength [L2, Fig. 1]. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to combine Huang et al. with Iguchi et al., Strobl and Schrama for the purpose of transmitting only the converted light, obtaining an ideal resonant chamber C, an omni-directional reflector or a pseudo omni-directional reflector or other reflective device highly reflective to the first light L1 and highly transmissive to the second light L2, and emitting more second light and improving the electro-optical transforming efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 2.
Iguchi et al. teaches:
further comprising a third sub-pixel [6, Col. 5, Lines 21-30, Fig. 1-2] that emits light at the pump wavelength, wherein the third sub-pixel comprises:
an LED layer [100, Fig. 1] comprising a light-emitting material configured to emit pump light from a light-emitting surface, the pump light having the pump wavelength;
a container layer [24, Fig. 1, 3M] having a container surface comprising a third container aperture that defines a third container volume through the container layer [24];
a third lens [25 (above 21), Fig. 1] provided on the container layer [24] over the third container aperture, comprising an inner side adjacent to the container layer [24] and an outer side, wherein the outer side comprises a third convex surface.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
a third reflector assembly adjacent to the outer side of the third lens and conforming to the third convex surface, the third reflector assembly comprising:
a fifth reflector configured to reflect pump light, wherein the fifth reflector comprises a third sub-pixel reflector aperture.
Strobl teaches:
a third reflector assembly [140, Col. 24, Lines 32-39, Fig. 7] adjacent to the outer side of the third lens [199, Col. 45, Lines 35-37, Fig. 7] and conforming to the third convex surface, the third reflector assembly [140] comprising:
a fifth reflector [148, Col. 23, Lines 44-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-31, Fig. 7] configured to reflect pump light, wherein the fifth reflector [124] comprises a third sub-pixel reflector aperture [146, Col. 24, Lines 17-21, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include a third reflector assembly adjacent to the outer side of the third lens and conforming to the third convex surface, the third reflector assembly comprising: a fifth reflector configured to reflect pump light, wherein the fifth reflector comprises a third sub-pixel reflector aperture, for the purpose of preventing light leakage, maximize light efficiency, transmit desired wavelength of light.
Regarding claim 4, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein a central axis of the first reflector and a central axis of the second reflector are aligned with a central axis of the convex surface.
Strobl teaches:
wherein a central axis [28, Col. 11, Lines 17-22, Fig. 7] of the first reflector [152, Fig. 7] and a central axis of the second reflector [148, Fig. 7] are aligned with a central axis of the convex surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein a central axis of the first reflector and a central axis of the second reflector are aligned with a central axis of the convex surface, for the purpose of increasing symmetry within the device, improve efficiency of reflected and transmitted light and increase yield.
Regarding claim 5, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the first reflector comprises a laminate structure.
Strobl teaches:
wherein the first reflector [152, Col. 41, Lines 6-24, Fig. 7] comprises a laminate structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the first reflector comprises a laminate structure, for the purpose of improving efficiency, enhancing overall properties of device, making the device stronger, lighter and more versatile.
Regarding claim 6, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 5.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the first reflector comprises alternating layers of higher and lower refractive index.
Strobl teaches:
wherein the first reflector [152, Col. 41, Lines 43-67 to Col. 42, Lines 1-32, Fig. 7] comprises alternating layers [LG “Light guide”] of higher and lower refractive index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the first reflector comprises alternating layers of higher and lower refractive index, for the purpose of improving efficiency, enhancing overall properties of device, making the device stronger, lighter and more versatile.
Regarding claim 9, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the second reflector comprises a metallic material.
Strobl teaches:
wherein the second reflector [148, Col. 41, Lines 6-24, Fig. 7] comprises a metallic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the second reflector comprises a metallic material, for the purpose of improving reflectance and transmittance of wavelengths of light, and improving thermal properties.
Regarding claim 10, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first container volume [corresponds to area where 21, 22 and 23 are located, Col. 11, Lines 50-67, Fig. 1, 3M], comprises reflective inner sidewalls [24, Col. 11, Lines 44-49, Fig. 1, 3M].
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the area of the first container aperture [corresponds to area where 21, 22, and 23 are located, Col. 11, Lines 50-67, Fig. 1, 3M ] is at least equal to the area of the light-emitting surface of the LED layer [100, Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 14, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first lens [25, Col. 7, Lines 6-16, Fig. 1] is hemispherical, elliptical, or parabolic.
Regarding claim 17, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
further comprising a converted light reflector laminate [56, Col. 10, Lines 58-61, Fig. 1, 3I-3O] at an interface between the LED layer [100] and the colour converting layer [22, 23].
Regarding claim 19, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the reflectance of the first reflector to light at the pump wavelength is more than 95%, or preferably 100%.
Strobl teaches:
wherein the reflectance of the first reflector [152] to light at the pump wavelength is more than 95%, or preferably 100%. [Col. 24, Lines 6-67 to Col. 25, Lines 1-2, Fig. 7; Col. 47, Lines 14-23, Fig. 15].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the reflectance of the first reflector to light at the pump wavelength is more than 95%, or preferably 100%, for the purpose of improving performance, quality and yield.
Regarding claim 20, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Iguchi et al., Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the reflectance of the first reflector to light at the converted wavelength is less than 10%, or preferably less than 5%.
Strobl teaches:
wherein the reflectance of the first reflector [152, Col. 24, Lines 21-31, Fig. 7] to light at the converted wavelength is less than 10%, or preferably less than 5%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Strobl into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the reflectance of the first reflector to light at the converted wavelength is less than 10%, or preferably less than 5%, for the purpose of improving performance, quality and yield.
Regarding claim 22, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first colour converting material comprises a quantum dot material. [Col. 11, Lines 15-17, Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 25, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 3.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the container volume of the third sub-pixel [6, Col. 5, Lines 21-30, Fig. 1] is filled with a translucent material [Col. 6, Lines 53-58, Fig. 1].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 10748879 B2), in view of Strobl (US 6356700 B1), Schrama (US 20200035885 A1) and Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Steckel et al. (US 10685940 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 6.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al.do not teach:
wherein the first reflector comprises a plurality of layers of TiO2 and SiO2
Steckel et al. teaches:
wherein the first reflector comprises a plurality of layers of TiO2 and SiO2. [Col. 15, Lines 60-67 to Col. 16, Lines 1-8, Fig. 12A-13B; Col. 16, Lines 57-62; Col. 14, Lines 33-43, Fig. 11]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Steckel et al. into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the first reflector comprises a plurality of layers of TiO2 and SiO2, for the purpose of increasing quantum dot efficiencies and mitigate leakage.
Regarding claim 8, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
wherein the first reflector comprises a distributed Bragg reflector.
Steckel et al. teaches:
wherein the first reflector comprises a distributed Bragg reflector. [440, Col. 2, Lines 43-57, Fig. 15-21C/465, Col. 17, Lines 55-67 to Col. 18, Lines 1-17, Fig. 15-21C].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Steckel et al. into the teachings of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the first reflector comprises a distributed Bragg reflector, for the purpose of reflecting some wavelengths and transmitting other wavelengths, and increase performance and yield.
Claims 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 10748879 B2), in view of Strobl (US 6356700 B1), Schrama (US 20200035885 A1) and Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of different embodiments of Iguchi et al. (US 10748879 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein an inner sidewall [24, Fig. 1] of the first container volume [corresponds to area where 21, 22 and 23 are located, Fig. 1] forms an angle relative to the normal to the light-emitting surface of the LED layer.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. do not teach:
The angle of at least 35° and no greater than 85°, or preferably no greater than 60°.
Iguchi et al (different embodiments). teaches in a different embodiment:
The angle of at least 35° and no greater than 85°, or preferably no greater than 60°.
Applying the characteristics of isolation trench [15], to planarization portion [24]. [Col. 10, Lines 13-27, Fig. 1, 3E; Col. 23, Lines 36-44, Fig. 19L]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of a different embodiment of Iguchi et al. into the teachings of the main embodiment of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include the angle of at least 35° and no greater than 85°, or preferably no greater than 60°, for the purpose of filling more easily, creating better connections between features, increasing optical efficiency and improving yield. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Regarding claim 13, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 12.
Iguchi et al. further teaches:
wherein the first container aperture is circular such that the corresponding container volume resembles a truncated inverted cone, or wherein the first container aperture is rectangular such that the corresponding container volume resembles a truncated inverted square pyramid.
[Col. 4, Lines 41-45, Fig. 1; Col. 5 , Lines 40-48, Fig. 1]
Iguchi et al. teaches in a different embodiment:
Applying the characteristics of isolation trench [15], to planarization portion [24]. [Col. 10, Lines 13-27, Fig. 1, 3E; Col. 23, Lines 36-44, Fig. 19L]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of a different embodiment of Iguchi et al. into the teachings of the main embodiment of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein the first container aperture is circular such that the corresponding container volume resembles a truncated inverted cone, or wherein the first container aperture is rectangular such that the corresponding container volume resembles a truncated inverted square pyramid, for the purpose of easily filling, creating better connections between features, increasing optical efficiency and improving yield. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Regarding claim 16, Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. teach the pixel [5] of claim 1.
Iguchi et al., Strobl, and Schrama do not teach:
wherein a characteristic dimension of the lens is at least twice as large as a characteristic dimension of the aperture in the plane of the container layer.
Iguchi et al. teaches in a different embodiment:
wherein a characteristic dimension of the lens [25] is at least twice as large as a characteristic dimension of the aperture in the plane of the container layer [24]. [Fig. 9]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of a different embodiment of Iguchi et al. into the teachings of the main embodiment of Iguchi et al., Strobl, Schrama and Sato et al. to include wherein a characteristic dimension of the lens is at least twice as large as a characteristic dimension of the aperture in the plane of the container layer, for the purpose of employing a larger lens to allow more light to be reflected and transmitted, improving performance and yield. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues on pages 1-3, Section: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103, in remarks filed January 14, 2026 that the current prior art of record do not teach the limitation “wherein the second reflector comprises a first sub-pixel reflector aperture and wherein the first reflector fills the first sub-pixel reflector aperture” as recited in independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, this does not place the application in condition for allowance. After a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the contested limitation can be overcome by newly cited source Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A).
Applicant argues on page 3, Section: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103, in remarks filed January 14, 2026 that dependent claims 2-14, 16-17, 19-20, 22, and 25 which depend directly or indirectly on independent claim 1 should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant due to newly cited source Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A) teaching the contested limitation.
In summary, Examiner agrees with Applicant regarding limitations of independent claim 1. However, this does not place the application in condition for allowance due to the inclusion of newly cited source Sato et al. (JP 2011071446 A). All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 05/05/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815