A CORAL-LIKE COMPOSITE MATERIAL AND A METHOD OF PREPARING THE SAME
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to communication filed on 4/10/2026:
Claim 1 has been amended; no new matter has been entered.
Previous rejections under 35 USC 103 of Huang in view of Zhang have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot based on grounds of new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 7, 6507-6513, (2019)) and further in view of Zhang et al. (InfoMat, 2, 613-638, (2020)).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-6, Song et al. teach a coral-like composite material comprising highly dispersed conductive metal nitride, metal carbide or metal carbonitride nanoparticles on mesoporous carbon nanosheets (Abstract; Figs. 2b, 2c disclose metal carbide materials, MXenes, supported on a reduced graphene oxide, rGO, hybrid aerogel wherein the highly conductive MXene and rGO are integrated into a 3D interconnected porous aerogel structure.), wherein the metal element from the metal nitride, metal carbide or metal carbonitride nanoparticles is scandium, titanium, vanadium, chromium, manganese, iron, cobalt, nickel, copper, zinc, yttrium, zirconium, niobium, molybdenum, technetium, ruthenium, rhodium, palladium, silver, cadmium, hafnium, tantalum, tungsten, rhenium, osmium, iridium, platinum, or their combinations thereof; wherein the metal carbide can comprise niobium carbide, titanium carbide, tungsten carbide, molybdenum carbide, vanadium carbide, hafnium carbide, niobium titanium carbide, chromium carbide, niobium tungsten carbide, niobium molybdenum carbide, niobium vanadium carbide, niobium hafnium carbide, titanium tungsten carbide, titanium molybdenum carbide, titanium vanadium carbide, titanium vanadium chromium carbide, titanium hafnium carbide, tungsten molybdenum carbide, tungsten vanadium carbide, tungsten hafnium carbide, molybdenum vanadium carbide, molybdenum hafnium carbide, vanadium hafnium carbide or their mixtures thereof (Abstract discloses Ti3C2, or titanium carbide.)
wherein the metal carbide, metal nitride or metal carbonitride nanoparticles further comprise surface metal oxides (Page 6508, left column, 1st paragraph discloses Ti3C2Tx wherein “T” stands for the surface terminal functional groups such as -O, -OH, and/or -F.). However, while Song et al. teach the metal carbide being used in a Li-S battery, they do not teach wherein the coral-like composite material is configured for use in a modified separator for a Li-S battery.
Zhang et al. two-dimensional transition metal carbides, carbonitrides and nitrides, so-called MXenes (Abstract). Further, they comprise formula Mn + 1X nTx -wherein M is a transition metal, X is carbon and/or nitrogen, and Tx stands for a surface termination (Page 614). Finally, Zhang et al. discloses using a Ti3C2Tx-modified separator in a lithium-sulfur battery (Section 4.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the material disclosed in Song to be used in a modified separator as disclosed in Zhang in order to improve cycling retention and reversibility.
Regarding claim 8, Song and Zhang et al. teach the coral-like composite material of claim 1. Further, Song teaches wherein the coral-like composite material has:
a) a surface area larger than 100 m2/g (Page 6509, right column, 2nd paragraph discloses a surface area of 261.1 m2/g.);
b) a pore volume in the range of about 0.5 cm3/g to about 2 cm3/g; or
c) a pore size in the range of about 2 nm to about 50 nm.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 7, 6507-6513, (2019)) and Zhang et al. (InfoMat, 2, 613-638, (2020)) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barsoum et al. (WO 2017/044262 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Song and Zhang et al. teach the coral-like composite material of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the metal nitride, metal carbide or metal carbonitride nanoparticles have a size in a range of about 2 nm to about 20 nm.
Barsoum et al. disclose a method of preparing a MXene material such as Ti3C2 (Claim 1; paragraphs 0044-0045) as an intermediate product (Claim 1). Further, the method discloses reducing the particle size of the intermediate product to less than 50 nm (Claim 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Song and Zhang with Barsoum in order to improve consistency.
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 July 20th, 2026