DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 and 25 are pending. Claim 25 is withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1 and 3 are amended.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 06/16/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Claim 4 was previously objected to, and claims 8, 12, 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Non-Final rejection dated 05/07/2025. The Applicant previously overcame the claim 4 objection and claims 8, 12, and 15 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) with the amendments to the claims filed 08/07/2025. However, the changes appear to have been reverted in the most recent claims set dated 06/16/2026. As such, an objection to claim 4 and rejection of claim 8, 12, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been presented below and appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to remove the limitation, “a sensing material” and instead recites a sensing part made of a metallic material. Therefore the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn. However, rejections of claims 8, 12, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are presented below, as discussed above.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 8-10, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to require the first and second metal material are directly welded to the sensing part, which was not previously presented. Guan discloses a thermocouple/sensing element (223) comprising a pair of electric wires is connected to the heating body (221, i.e. part of the sensing part, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0059-0062]) but does not explicitly disclose how the wires and sensing part are connected. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of previously applied prior art.
On pg. 9-10, Applicant argues claim 1 requires the sensing part have an outer surface formed with a sensing material made of metal and the sensing part is exposed in the chamber, which is not disclosed by Guan. The Examiner disagrees because the arguments are directed to features which are not claimed. Claim 1 merely requires the sensing part is made of metal (lines 6-7) and has an outer surface that is exposed in the chamber (line 13). The limitation, “having an outer surface formed with sensing material made by metal” was removed in the most recent claim set dated 06/16/2026. As such, Claim 1 does not require that the outer surface of the sensing part is made of metal. Guan discloses a sensing part formed of a heating body (221) and outer cover (222), where the outer surface of the outer cover (222, i.e. part of the sensing part) is exposed in the cavity (11, “a chamber”, Fig. 2). Bogran discloses a susceptor element (304) positioned inside a tubular shielding element (322) made of stainless steel (Fig. 3, [0080, 0087, 0089]). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-11, filed 06/16/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 3 to require the second part has an opening at both ends. The Examiner previously relied upon the cylindrical portion of the outer cover (222) as disclosing the claimed second part, and the cylindrical portion of the outer cover (222) has an opening at both ends, as detailed in the rejection of claim 3 below. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
The rejections below are maintained and modified based on Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation, “one third to one second half of a length of the second part” in line 7. One second appears to be a translation error. The amendments to the specification filed 08/07/2026 appear to disclose the distance recited in claim 4 is one third to one half of a length of the second part [0019, 0096]). Therefore, for the purposes of examination “one third to one second” will be interpreted as one third to one half of a length of the second part.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially isolated” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially isolated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the term, “substantially isolated” will be interpreted as the majority of the first metal material and/or the second metal material being substantially isolated from the variable magnetic field.
The term “extending substantially along a length direction” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially along a length direction” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the term, “extending substantially along a length direction” will be interpreted as the accommodation channel arranged in the susceptor where the at least one accommodation channel is at least 50% parallel to the longitudinal axis of the susceptor.
Claims 13-19 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 12.
The term “extends substantially toward the second end” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially toward the second end” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the term, “extends substantially toward the second end” will be interpreted as the accommodation channel extending a direction that points towards the second end of the susceptor.
Claims 16-17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 110810930 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/02/2022, hereinafter referring to the English translation provided) in view of Courbat (US 20210244103 A1) and Bogran (US 20210378304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guan discloses an electronic smoking set (100), comprising:
A cavity (11, “a chamber”) for receiving a tobacco product (“an inhalable material”, Fig. 2, [0054])
A magnetic excitation coil (50, “a magnetic field generator”, Fig. 2, [0002, 0052])
A heat emitting needle (22, “a susceptor”), disposed in the cavity (11, “chamber”) comprising a heating body (221) that generates heat to heat the tobacco product, an outer cover (222), and a sensing element/thermocouple (223) for measuring a temperature of the heating body (221, Fig. 6, [0058-0062]). The heating body (221) and outer cover (222) are considered to meet the claim limitation of a sensing part.
The outer surface of the outer cover (222, i.e. part of the sensing part) is exposed in the cavity (11, “a chamber”, Fig. 2).
The sensing element (223) is a pair of electric wires connected to the sensing part (221, 222) and is surrounded by the outer surface of the outer cover (222, i.e. part of the sensing part, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0059-0062]).
Guan does not explicitly disclose the magnetic excitation coil (50) generates a variable magnetic field within the cavity (11) or that the heating body (221) is penetrated by a variable magnetic field to generate heat. However, Guan discloses the excitation coil (50) supplies power to the heat emitting needle for heating (Guan: [0018]) and the specification discloses the magnetic field generator may be an induction coil (L, [0068-0070]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the magnetic excitation coil (50) to be capable of generating a variable magnetic field within the cavity that penetrates the heating body (221) to heat the heating body (221).
Guan does not explicitly disclose the thermocouple/sensing element (223) is made of a first metal material and a different, second metal material or that the thermocouple/sensing element (223) is directly welded to the sensing part (i.e. the heating body (221) and outer cover (222)).
However, Courbat, directed to an aerosol generating device (200, Fig. 7), discloses:
A thermocouple (131) comprising a first thermocouple wire (132) and second thermocouple wire (133) directly welded to a susceptor (11) at a joint (136) for measuring a temperature of the susceptor (11, Fig. 11, [0137]),
The thermocouple wire (132) comprises chromel and the second thermocouple wire (133) comprises alumel (i.e. the first metal material and second metal material are made of different materials, [0140]), and;
The susceptor (11) may be provided with a thermal insulator (19) for thermally insulating the susceptor (11) from the thermocouple wires (132, 133) to help ensure the thermocouple (131) only contacts the susceptor through joint (138) thereby improving accuracy of the temperature measurement ([0044, 0141]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Guan by substituting the sensing element/thermocouple (223) with the thermocouple taught by Courbat, welding thermocouple directly to the a heating body (221) and providing thermal insulation on the heating body (221) such that the thermocouple only contacts the a heating body (221) at a joint, as taught by Courbat because both Guan and Courbat are directed aerosol generating devices, Courbat teaches the thermocouple and welded connection to the susceptor improves the accuracy of the temperature measurement, and this involves applying a thermocouple and welded connection to a susceptor to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Guan or Courbat do not explicitly disclose the outer cover (222, i.e. a portion of the sensing part) is made of a metal material.
However, Bogran, directed an electronic vaporizer device (100, Fig. 1) discloses:
A susceptor element (304) positioned inside a tubular shielding element (322, Fig. 3, [0080, 0087])
The shielding element is made of stainless steel ([0089])
The shielding element (322) reduces an amount of electromagnetic radiation absorbed by susceptor element (304) to prevent degradation of a vaporizable substance that is in contact with shielding element 322, (Fig. 3, [0087]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Guan, in view of Courbat, by forming the outer cover of stainless steel to form a shielding element as taught by Bogran because both Guan and Bogran are directed aerosol generating devices, Bogran teaches a shielding element prevents degradation of the vaporizable substance in contact with the shielding element, and this involves applying known shielding element to a similar susceptor in an aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, modified Guan discloses the sensing element (Guan: 223) comprises a pair of electric wires (Guan: Fig. 6, [0059], “elongated filaments”) made of two different metal materials (Courbat: [0140]).
The rejection of claims 3-19 are made in reference to the annotated Fig. 6 and Fig. 7 of Guan below.
Regarding claim 3, Guan discloses:
The heat emitting needle (22, “susceptor”) comprises a heating body (221, “a first part”) and an outer cover (222, “ a second part”)
The outer cover (222) is a hollow cylinder extending along the longitudinal axis of the cavity (11, Fig. 2, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, [0058]). The cylindrical portion of the outer cover (222) is considered to meet the claim limation of a second part having openings at both ends, as shown in annotated Fig. 7 above.
The heating body (221, “first part”) comprises a lengthened portion that extends into the outer cover (222, “second part”), the sensing element (223) comprising the first and second metal materials are accommodated in the outer cover (222, “second part”), and the sensing element (223) is connected to the lengthened portion as shown in the annotated Fig. 6 and Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 5, Guan discloses the lengthened portion is in contact with the inner wall of the outer shell (222, “second part”, Fig. 7, [0058]).
Guan does not explicitly disclose the lengthened portion conducts heat with the inner wall of the outer shell (222, “second part”). However, Guan discloses the lengthened portion is in contact with the inner wall of the outer shell (222, “second part”, Fig. 7, [0058]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that two surfaces in contact would be capable of conducting heat.
Regarding claim 8, modified Guan discloses:
The outer cover (Guan: 222, “second part”) is stainless steel (Guan: Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Bogran: [0089])
A portion of the sensing element (Guan: 223) comprising a first and second metal material (Courbat: [0140]) is accommodated in the outer cover (Guan: 222, “second part”, Fig. 7)
Guan does not explicitly disclose the first and second metal materials are isolated from the variable magnetic field. However, Guan discloses the sensing element (223) is accommodated in an outer cover (222) and Bogran discloses the outer cover is a shielding element made of stainless steel ([0089]). The specification discloses the susceptor is formed of stainless steel ([0076]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the outer cover formed of stainless steel to be isolated the first or second metal material from the variable magnetic field.
Regarding claim 9, Guan discloses:
The heat emitting needle (22, “susceptor”) comprises a base part arranged on the second end (Fig. 6, Fig. 7)
The base part is accommodated in the first fixing piece (21) which supports the heat emitting needle (22, Fig. 7, [0056 0057])
Regarding claim 10, modified Guan discloses the first metal material and second metal material (Courbat: [0140]) of the sensing element (Guan: 223) are in contact with the heating body (Guan: 221, Fig. 7, [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Courbat discloses the first and second thermocouple wire (132, 133) are surrounded by insulation layers (134, 135 Fig. 5, [0137,0139])
Claims 4, 6, 7, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 110810930 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/02/2022, hereinafter referring to the English translation provided) in view of Courbat (US 20210244103 A1) and Bogran (US 20210378304 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yan (CN 110477461 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/02/2022, hereinafter referring to the English translation previously provided in the office action dated 02/25/2025).
Regarding claim 4, Guan discloses:
The outer cover (222, “second part”) comprises a first end and second end opposite to the first end, along the length direction of the heat emitting needle (22, “susceptor”)
The heating body (221, “first part”) is nested in the outer cover (222, “second part”)
The center of the sensing element (223) is disposed in the concave portion (224, “a connecting position”) of the heating body (221, “first part”, Fig. 7, [0061])
The distance between the concave portion (224, “a connecting position”) and the first end is less than one half the length of the outer cover (222, “second portion”), as shown in Fig. 7. Less than one half overlaps with the claimed range of one third to one half the length and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Guan does not explicitly disclose the heating body (221, “first part”) penetrates the outer cover (222) through the first end.
However, Yan, directed to a heating element (10) for an electronic cigarette, discloses:
A heating element (10) comprising a ceramic housing (103, “second part”) sleeved on the outer surface of a heating body (101, “first part”, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0037])
The ceramic housing (103) comprises a first end at the top of the cylindrical portion and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 2).
The shape of the heating body (101) can be cylindrical, needle shaped, or similar (Fig. 2, [0039]).
The frustoconical tip of the heating body (101) extends through the first end of the ceramic shell (103, Fig. 4).
The inner contour of the ceramic housing (103) matches the outer contour of the heating body (101) so that there is no gap between the components which minimizes heat loss ([0047])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the heating body of Guan, in view of Courbat and Bogran, with a frustoconical tip as taught by Yan because both Guan and Yan are directed to aerosol generating devices, Yan teaches the ceramic housing and heating body are nested with no gap between to prevent heat loss, and this involves applying a known heating body shape to a similar heating element to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Guan does not illustrate the lengthened portion in sufficient detail to ascertain angles of the lengthened portion relative to a circumferential direction of the second part (Fig. 6, Fig. 7).
However, Yan, directed to a heating element (10) for an electronic cigarette, discloses:
A heating element (10) comprising a ceramic housing (103, “second part”) sleeved on the outer surface of a heating body (101, “first part”, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0037]).
The heating body (101, “first part”) comprises a holding structure (1011a, ”lengthened portion”) where an angle of the lengthened portion is less than 180 degrees along a circumferential direction of second part, shown in annotated Fig. 2 below.
A thermocouple (102) comprising a first thermocouple wire (1021) and a second thermocouple wire (1022) set in a holding structure (1011a, Fig. 2, [0037-0038])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Guan, in view of Courbat and Bogran, by arranging the pair of wires of the sensing element in the holding structure taught by Yan because both Guan and Yan are directed to aerosol generating devices, Guan does not illustrate the lengthened portion in sufficient detail to ascertain angles of the lengthened portion and Yan discloses a similar heating element having a holding structure, one would be motivated to look to similar heating elements for how to arrange the sensing element/thermocouple and this involves applying a known holding structure to a similar heating element to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Guan discloses the frustoconical tip of the heating body (Guan: 221, Yan: 101) extends through the first end of the outer cover (Guan: 222, Yan: 103, Fig. 4) and an outer diameter of the frustoconical tip decreases gradually from the first end of the outer cover (222) to the tip of the outer cover (222 “a direction facing away from the second part”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Guan discloses the first and second metal materials (Courbat: [0149]) of the sensing element (223) are arranged within the heating body (Guan: 221) along the length of the heat emitting needle (Guan: 22, “susceptor”, Fig. 7)
Guan does not explicitly disclose the sensing element is arranged in an accommodation channel with a volume less than 25% of a volume of the susceptor.
However, Yan, directed to a heating element (10) for an electronic cigarette, discloses:
A heating element (10) comprising a ceramic housing (103, “second part”) sleeved on the outer surface of a heating body (101, “first part”, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0037])
A thermocouple (102) comprising a first thermocouple wire (1021) and a second thermocouple wire (1022) set in a holding structure (1011a, Fig. 2, [0037-0038])
The holding structure (1011a) comprises two channels (“at least one accommodation channel”) extending along a length of the heating element (10) for accommodating the first thermocouple wire (1021) and the second thermocouple wire (1022, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0038, 0043-0045])
The volume of the hollow part of the accommodation channels are less than 25% of the total volume of the heating element (10), as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 4.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Guan, in view of Courbat and Bogran, by arranging the pair of wires of the sensing element in the holding structure taught by Yan because both Guan and Yan are directed to aerosol generating devices, Guan does not illustrate the arrangement of the sensing element in the heat emitting needle in enough detail to ascertain the relative channel volume and Yan discloses a similar heating element with thermocouple set in a holding structure, one would be motivated to look to similar heating elements for how to arrange the thermocouple and this involves applying a known holding structure to a similar heating element to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, modified Guan discloses the accommodation channel comprises two holes where the first metal material and second metal material are each disposed in one of the holes (Guan: Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Yan: Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0038, 0043-0045]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Guan discloses:
The heat emitting needle (Guan: 22, “susceptor”) has a first end and second end, as shown in annotated Figure 6 and Figure 7 of Guan.
The accommodation channels start at the first end of the heat emitting needle (Guan: 22) and extend toward the second end of the heat emitting needle (Guan: 22), terminating in a closed end (Yan: Through-hole 1011b) located between the first end and second end of the heat emitting needle (Guan: 22, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Yan: Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 16, Yan discloses the length of the accommodation channels is less than half the length of the heating element (10), as shown in Fig. 4. An extension length is interpreted as the length extending along the length of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Guan discloses the heat emitting needle (22) comprises a first heating section and second heating section that are fixedly connected, as shown in annotated Fig. 6 and Fig. 7. The bottom portion of the heating body (221) is considered to be a first heating section and the top portion of the heating body is considered to be a second heating section.
Regarding claim 18, Yan discloses the two accommodation channels are arranged on the lower portion (“first heating section”) of the heating body (101) along the length direction (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, modified Guan discloses both the first metal material and second metal material comprise a connecting portion and extending portion, the connection portion is close to the connection between the first metal material and second metal material (Yan: 1023), and the extending portion is arranged in the accommodation channels, as illustrated in annotated Fig. 4 (Yan) below.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan (CN 110810930 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/02/2022, hereinafter referring to the English translation provided) in view of Courbat (US 20210244103 A1), Bogran (US 20210378304 A1), and Yan (CN 110477461 A, as cited on IDS dated 12/02/2022, hereinafter referring to the English translation previously provided in the office action dated 02/25/2025), as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Yang (CN 107373776 A, as cited on IDS dated 08/09/2024, hereinafter referring to the English translation provided).
Regarding claim 14, Guan is silent to the dimensions of the accommodation channels and the heat emitting needle (22).
However, Yang, directed to heating element for an electronic cigarette (abstract, [0001]) discloses:
A heating element (1) comprising a thermocouple (10) arranged in slots (5, 6) within the heating element (1, Fig. 2, [0029])
The slot depth is 0.01 to 0.8 mm to provide space for the thermocouple (claim 5). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
The heating element (1) width is 0.2 to 1 cm (claim 3). The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Guan, in view of Courbat, Bogran, and Yan, by using a diameter of 0.01 to 0.8 mm for the accommodation channels and a diameter of 0.2 to 1 cm for the susceptor, as taught by Yan because both Guan and Yang are directed to aerosol generating devices, Guan is silent to the dimensions of the accommodation channel and susceptor, and Yang discloses dimensions of a similar heating element with a thermocouple arranged within the heating element, and one would be motivated to look to similar heating elements for dimensions of the accommodation channels and susceptors and this involves applying a known dimensions of channels and susceptor diameter to a similar heating element to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755