DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 20-35, in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the Examiner merely identifies that Gross teaches a ‘fatty substance’ without addressing whether Gross discloses the claimed amount of ‘at least 25% by weight’ . . .” (p. 2-3). This is not found persuasive because the amounts of fatty substance taught within Gross et al. falls within claim scope. In particular, Gross et al. teaches that the fatty substances can fall within the range of “25% to 85%” (p.5, para. [0114]).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 36-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al., (US 2019/0224088, cited in IDS).
Gross et al. teaches, “The invention provides compositions for lightening or dyeing keratin fibers, in particular human keratin fibers such as hair, comprising a high concentration of fatty substances and a low concentration of oxidizing agent” (p. 1, para. [0002]).
Compositions for dyeing keratin fibers are taught to comprise: “at least 20% weight of fatty substances”; “at least one alkalizing agent”, “at least one surfactant”; “at least two oxidative dye precursors comprising one or more primary intermediates and one or more couplers and”; “at least one oxidizing agent, wherein the concentration of oxidizing agent in the composition is from 1.5% to 2.5% by weight relative to the total weight of the composition” (p. 2, paras. [0028]-[0033]).
The compositions further comprise “direct dyes ranging from 0.001% to 1%” (p. 7, para. [0144]; clm. 24), where suitable direct dyes include “HC Blue 16” (anthraquinone cationic direct dye) (p. 7, para. [0148]).
HC Blue 16 is a cationic dye of formula (I) and (I”), as per claim 21-23, as shown below:
.
In regard to claim 25, “the concentration of fatty substances free of carboxylic acid groups ranges from 25% to 85%” (p.5, para. [0114]).
Suitable fatty substances “are liquid at room temperature” (p. 5, para. [0112]), as per claim 26; include non-silicone fatty substances, i.e., “non-silicone oils of animal, plant, mineral or synthetic origin” (p. 3, para. [0062]), as per claim 27-28; “liquid petroleum jelly” (p. 3, para. [0067]), as per claim 29.
Suitable oxidizing agents include “hydrogen peroxide” (p. 11, para. [0224]) and may be present “in the composition from 1.5 to 2.5%”, as per claims 30-31.
Suitable alkalizing agents (basifying agents) include “monoethanolamine” (organic amine) (p. 5, para. [0118]), which may be present “from 0.01% to 10%” (p. 6, para. [0126]), as per claim 32-33
Suitable oxidation dye precursors include “bases” (p. 6, par. [0132]) and “couplers” (p. 6, para. [0130]), which may be present “ranging from 0.2 to 12%” (p. 11, para. [0236]), as per claim 34-35.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as the anthraquinine cationic direct dye is not required for the practice of the invention; however, it would have been obvious to add it to the compositions of Gross et al. given its plain enumeration in the prior art.
Nonstatutory Obvious-type Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
1) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,370,477 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25% and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘477 patent may additionally comprise “at least one basifying agent” (col. 26, line 62) and “at least one direct dye” (Id. line 34). However, the ‘477 patent does not claim these ingredients or teach wherein the direct dye is anthraquinone.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]) and “basifying agents” (p. 14, para. [0366]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone and basifying agents to the claims of the ‘477 patent since these ingredients are suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
2) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 9,907,743 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25%, at least one basifying agent, and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘743 patent may additionally comprise an anthraquinone direct dye (col. 1, lines 62-67). However, the ‘743 patent does not claim this ingredient.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone to the claims of the ‘743 patent since this ingredient is suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
3) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,808,409 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25%, at least one basifying agent, and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘409 patent may additionally comprise an anthraquinone direct dye (col. 1, lines 49-54). However, the ‘409 patent does not claim this ingredient.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone to the claims of the ‘409 patent since this ingredient is suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
4) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,179,097 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25%, at least one basifying agent, and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘097 patent may additionally comprise a direct dye (col. 6, lines 38-39). However, the ‘097 patent does not claim this ingredient.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone to the claims of the ‘097 patent since this ingredient is suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
5) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,314,773 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25%, at least one basifying agent, and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘773 patent may additionally comprise a direct dye (col. 13, lines 39-45). However, the ‘773 patent does not claim this ingredient.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone to the claims of the ‘773 patent since this ingredient is suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
6) Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,130,575 in view of Lagrange (US2004/0194228). Both applications claim compositions for dyeing or lightening keratin fibers comprising a fatty substance falling withing the claimed range, i.e., greater than 25%, at least one basifying agent, and an oxidizing agent. Note: the transitional phrase “comprising” is open ended and inclusive of additional elements. The compositions of the ‘575 patent may additionally comprise a direct dye (col. 13, lines 22-28). However, the ‘575 patent does not claim this ingredient.
Lagrange teaches keratin dye compositions comprising direct dyes, wherein the dyes include “anthraquinone” (p. 1, para. [0007]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add anthraquinone to the claims of the ‘575 patent since this ingredient is suitable for use in keratin dyeing compositions.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612