DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 6 should read in part “direction [[III]] which”. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 8 should read in part “of [[a]] the fuel cell”. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 11, line 5 should read in part “direction [[III]] which”. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 11, line 11 should read in part “main body (8).[[.]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 12, line 6 should read in part “direction [[III]] which”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claims 8-9 and 19-20
The terms “high” and “low” with respect to “surface quality”, “surface roughness”, “heat capacity” and “thermal conductivity” are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms “high surface quality”, “low surface roughness”, “low heat capacity”, and “high thermal conductivity” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For Examination purposes the claims will be read as merely having a “surface quality” or “surface roughness”, and a “heat capacity” or “thermal conductivity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Beg et al. (US 2015/0292524).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kanazawa, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, characterized in that the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, characterized in that the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Figure 3, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Beg combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (30) and the mixing pipe insert (52) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (70), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (52) in the interior of the jet pump (26), the mixing pipe insert (52) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (52) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis (A), and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Beg, Figure 3 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (30) has at least one first shoulder (B) on an inner diameter of the main body (30), and the mixing pipe insert (52) has in each case at least one second shoulder (C) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (52).
In Reference to Claim 5
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kana discloses:
A fuel cell system comprising a fuel cell (12) with an anode inlet, and comprising a feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being fluidically connected to the anode inlet of the fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of the fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, characterized in that the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kana discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, characterized in that the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, characterized in that the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured, during the course of assembly, such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (30) and the mixing pipe insert (52) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (70), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (52) in the interior of the jet pump (26), the mixing pipe insert (52) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (52) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis (A), and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Beg, Figure 3 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (30) has at least one first shoulder (B) on an inner diameter of the main body (30), and the mixing pipe insert (52) has in each case at least one second shoulder (C) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (52).
In Reference to Claim 16
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Beg et al. (US 2015/0292524), further in view of Morishima (US 2005/0002797).
In Reference to Claim 6
The Kana-Beg combination discloses the claimed invention except:
Characterized in that a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Morishima (Mori) discloses an ejector pump structure. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses providing a heater which is situated between the main body and diffuser area (i.e.-mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination). (See Mori, Paragraphs [0021] & [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the heater of Mori to the device of Kana as both references are directed towards jet pump structure devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heater of Mori would have increased the thermal energy of the gas ensuring required suction of the main fluid is achieved and therefore the proper mixture is provided accurately. (See Mori, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 17
The Kana-Beg combination discloses the claimed invention except:
Characterized in that a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Morishima (Mori) discloses an ejector pump structure. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses providing a heater which is situated between the main body and diffuser area (i.e.-mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination). (See Mori, Paragraphs [0021] & [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the heater of Mori to the device of Kana as both references are directed towards jet pump structure devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heater of Mori would have increased the thermal energy of the gas ensuring required suction of the main fluid is achieved and therefore the proper mixture is provided accurately. (See Mori, Paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Hoon et al. (GB 2384027).
See IDS dated 05 December 2022 for Hoon et al.
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, characterized in that the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, characterized in that the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (12) and the mixing pipe insert (20) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (39), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (20) in the interior of the jet pump (80), the mixing pipe insert (20) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (20) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis, and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Page 3 w/respect to diffuser selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Hoon, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (12) has at least one first shoulder (A) on an inner diameter of the main body (12), and the mixing pipe insert (20) has in each case at least one second shoulder (B) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (20).
In Reference to Claim 5
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 7
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
Characterized in that the main body and the mixing pipe insert are composed of different materials. (See Hoon, Page 10-11 w/respect to lighter).
The Examiner notes that the jet pump of Hoon allows for lighter material construction than the housing of the replaceable mixing pipe insert.
In Reference to Claim 8 (As Best Understood)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
Characterized in that the mixing pipe insert has a high surface quality and/or low surface roughness in a region of the flow channel.
The Examiner notes the use of the phrase "and/or" by the Applicant. For examination purposes, "and/or" is treated as "or" under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Additionally, the Examiner notes that as the mixing pipe insert is made of a material which allows for a functioning jet pump, it will have a surface quality and surface roughness capable of performing the intended function.
In Reference to Claim 9 (As Best Understood)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
Characterized in that the mixing pipe insert is produced at least partially from a material that has a low heat capacity and/or high thermal conductivity.
The Examiner notes the use of the phrase "and/or" by the Applicant. For examination purposes, "and/or" is treated as "or" under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Additionally, the Examiner notes that as the mixing pipe insert is made of a material which allows for a functioning jet pump, it will have a low heat capacity and/or high thermal conductivity capable of performing the intended function.
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, characterized in that the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, characterized in that the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, characterized in that the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, characterized in that the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (12) and the mixing pipe insert (20) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (39), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (20) in the interior of the jet pump (80), the mixing pipe insert (20) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (20) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis, and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Page 3 w/respect to diffuser selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Hoon, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses:
characterized in that the main body (12) has at least one first shoulder (A) on an inner diameter of the main body (12), and the mixing pipe insert (20) has in each case at least one second shoulder (B) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (20).
In Reference to Claim 16
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
characterized in that the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 6 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Hoon et al. (GB 2384027), further in view of Morishima (US 2005/0002797).
See IDS dated 05 December 2022 for Hoon et al.
In Reference to Claim 6
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses the claimed invention except:
Characterized in that a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Morishima (Mori) discloses an ejector pump structure. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses providing a heater which is situated between the main body and diffuser area (i.e.-mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination). (See Mori, Paragraphs [0021] & [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the heater of Mori to the device of Kana as both references are directed towards jet pump structure devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heater of Mori would have increased the thermal energy of the gas ensuring required suction of the main fluid is achieved and therefore the proper mixture is provided accurately. (See Mori, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 17
The Kana-Hoon combination discloses the claimed invention except:
Characterized in that a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Morishima (Mori) discloses an ejector pump structure. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses providing a heater which is situated between the main body and diffuser area (i.e.-mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination). (See Mori, Paragraphs [0021] & [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the heater of Mori to the device of Kana as both references are directed towards jet pump structure devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heater of Mori would have increased the thermal energy of the gas ensuring required suction of the main fluid is achieved and therefore the proper mixture is provided accurately. (See Mori, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 18
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
Characterized in that the main body and the mixing pipe insert are composed of different materials. (See Hoon, Page 10-11 w/respect to lighter).
The Examiner notes that the jet pump of Hoon allows for lighter material construction than the housing of the replaceable mixing pipe insert.
In Reference to Claim 19 (As Best Understood)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
Characterized in that the mixing pipe insert has a high surface quality and/or low surface roughness in a region of the flow channel.
The Examiner notes the use of the phrase "and/or" by the Applicant. For examination purposes, "and/or" is treated as "or" under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Additionally, the Examiner notes that as the mixing pipe insert is made of a material which allows for a functioning jet pump, it will have a surface quality and surface roughness capable of performing the intended function.
In Reference to Claim 20 (As Best Understood)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
Characterized in that the mixing pipe insert is produced at least partially from a material that has a low heat capacity and/or high thermal conductivity.
The Examiner notes the use of the phrase "and/or" by the Applicant. For examination purposes, "and/or" is treated as "or" under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Additionally, the Examiner notes that as the mixing pipe insert is made of a material which allows for a functioning jet pump, it will have a low heat capacity and/or high thermal conductivity capable of performing the intended function.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung, Kim, Koyama, Lozyniak, and Douche show devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746