DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Beg et al. (US 2015/0292524), further in view of Morishima et al. (US 7,105,243).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kanazawa, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, wherein the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Figure 3, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Beg combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the main body (30) and the mixing pipe insert (52) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (70), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (52) in the interior of the jet pump (26), the mixing pipe insert (52) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (52) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis (A), and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Beg, Figure 3 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the main body (30) has at least one first shoulder (B) on an inner diameter of the main body (30), and the mixing pipe insert (52) has in each case at least one second shoulder (C) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (52).
In Reference to Claim 5
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kana discloses:
A fuel cell system comprising a fuel cell (12) with an anode inlet, and comprising a feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being fluidically connected to the anode inlet of the fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of the fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, wherein the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kana discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Beg et al. (Beg) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Beg, Abstract). Beg discloses a jet pump (26) having an intake region (70), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (52), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (26) in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (A) of the jet pump (26), and, wherein the jet pump (26) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (30) and a mixing pipe insert (52), the mixing pipe insert (52) and the main body (30) being configured, during the course of assembly, such that the mixing pipe insert (52) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the main body (30) and the mixing pipe insert (52) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (70), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (52) in the interior of the jet pump (26), the mixing pipe insert (52) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Beg, Figure 3)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (52) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis (A), and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis (A). (See Beg, Paragraphs [0007] & [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Beg as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Beg would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Beg, Paragraph [0007]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Beg, Figure 3 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the main body (30) has at least one first shoulder (B) on an inner diameter of the main body (30), and the mixing pipe insert (52) has in each case at least one second shoulder (C) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (52).
In Reference to Claim 16
The Kana-Beg combination discloses:
wherein the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanazawa (US 2019/0386329) in view of Hoon et al. (GB 2384027); further in view of Morishima et al. (US 7,105,243).
See IDS dated 05 December 2022 for Hoon et al.
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, wherein the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the main body (12) and the mixing pipe insert (20) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (39), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (20) in the interior of the jet pump (80), the mixing pipe insert (20) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (20) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis, and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Page 3 w/respect to diffuser selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Hoon, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the main body (12) has at least one first shoulder (A) on an inner diameter of the main body (12), and the mixing pipe insert (20) has in each case at least one second shoulder (B) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (20).
In Reference to Claim 5
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 7
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
Wherein the main body and the mixing pipe insert are composed of different materials. (See Hoon, Page 10-11 w/respect to lighter).
The Examiner notes that the jet pump of Hoon allows for lighter material construction than the housing of the replaceable mixing pipe insert.
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, during the course of assembly, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, wherein the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Kana, Figures 1-3)
Kanazawa (Kana) discloses:
A feed unit for a fuel cell system for feeding and/or controlling a gaseous medium including hydrogen, the feed unit having a jet pump (32,34), which is driven by a motive jet of a pressurized gaseous medium, an outlet of the feed unit being configured to be fluidically connected to an anode inlet of a fuel cell (12). (See Kana, Paragraph [0016] & [0019]-[0022]).
Kana discloses claimed invention except:
the jet pump having an intake region, a mixing pipe and a diffuser region, and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis of the jet pump, and the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell, wherein the jet pump has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body and a mixing pipe insert, the mixing pipe insert and the main body being configured such that the mixing pipe insert is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body; wherein a heating element is situated between the main body and the mixing pipe insert.
Hoon et al. (Hoon) discloses a jet pump mixing and injection device. (See Hoon, Abstract). Hoon discloses a jet pump (80) having an intake region (39), a mixing pipe and a diffuser region (20), and the gaseous medium flowing through said jet pump (80) in a flow direction III which runs parallel to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal) of the jet pump (80), and, wherein the jet pump (80) has a housing assembly, the housing assembly including a main body (12) and a mixing pipe insert (20), the mixing pipe insert (20) and the main body (12) being configured such that the mixing pipe insert (20) is exchangeable, such that either of at least two different mixing pipe inserts can be installed in the main body. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable). Finally, as the jet pump of the Kana-Hoon combination is connected to the anode “the diffuser region being configured to be at least indirectly fluidically connected to the anode inlet of a fuel cell” would be the resultant jet pump connection.
Morishima et al. (Mori) discloses a jet pump and mixing device. (See Mori, Abstract). Mori discloses a heating element is situated on the mixing pipe. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the PTC heater of Mori to the mixing pipe insert of the Kana-Beg combination as both references are directed towards jet pump and mixing devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the PTC heater located on the mixing pipe and thus between the mixing pipe and the main body would have avoided condensation in low temperature environments improving the operability of the injection device. (See Mori, Column 8, Lines 34-52).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the main body (12) and the mixing pipe insert (20) together at least partially form flow regions including the intake region (39), the mixing pipe and the diffuser region (20) in the interior of the jet pump (80), the mixing pipe insert (20) running at least approximately entirely rotationally symmetrically about the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Figure 1, Page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Hoon, Figure 1)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the at least two different mixing pipe inserts (20) have a different mixing pipe radius and/or a different mixing pipe length, the mixing pipe length running parallel to the longitudinal axis, and the mixing pipe radius running orthogonally with respect to the longitudinal axis. (See Hoon, Page 3 w/respect to diffuser selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the jet pump of Hoon as the injector/ejector of Kana, as both references are directed towards jet pump devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have been a simple substitution of one known jet pump for another that would provide the predictable result of accurately and effectively providing mixed fuel to the hydrogen fuel cell of Kana. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the jet pump of Hoon would have allowed for the components to of the nozzle and mixer/diffuser to be replaced or changed depending on operating conditions. (See Hoon, Page 2 w/respect to removeable and replaceable).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Hoon, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the main body (12) has at least one first shoulder (A) on an inner diameter of the main body (12), and the mixing pipe insert (20) has in each case at least one second shoulder (B) in a region of an outer diameter of the mixing pipe insert (20).
In Reference to Claim 16
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
wherein the feed unit has a dosing valve in addition to the jet pump, whereby the feed unit is configured as a combined valve-jet pump arrangement. (See Kana, Paragraph [0021]).
In Reference to Claim 18
The Kana-Hoon combination as modified by Mori discloses:
Wherein the main body and the mixing pipe insert are composed of different materials. (See Hoon, Page 10-11 w/respect to lighter).
The Examiner notes that the jet pump of Hoon allows for lighter material construction than the housing of the replaceable mixing pipe insert.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein the mixing pipe insert has a lower surface roughness in a region of a flow channel than the main body” in claims 8 and 19, respectively; and “wherein the mixing pipe insert is produced at least partially from a material that has a lower heat capacity than the main body and/or higher thermal conductivity than the main body” in claims 9 and 20, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 20 January 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Morishima et al. (US 7,105,243).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746