Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9/22/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8-15, 17, 19, 22-24 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220292083A1 to Mu et al and US20200059753A1 to Liang et al.
Note: the effective filing date of Mu is its Chinese priority application filed 8/26/2019.
Mu teaches claims 1, 14 and 27-29. (Currently Amended) A method for assisting online prediction using a machine learning model, comprising: (Mu fig. 1)
setting an online data storage system and an offline data storage system, wherein the online data storage system is configured to store data used for feature calculation in an online environment, the offline data storage system is configured to store data used for feature calculation in an offline environment, (Mu abs “batch and real-time feature computation, and the system includes: a management server, one or more batch feature computing units, one or more distributed computing units, one or more real-time feature computing units, an offline database and a real-time database…”) and the feature calculation in the online environment is performed based on a first processing script, the feature calculation in the offline environment is performed based on a second processing script, and the first processing script and the second processing script are obtained by translation based on a same script; (Mu abs “the batch feature computing logics and the real-time feature computing logics may be unified by the script.” Mu para 51 “As an example, when the script is run by the management server, the script is converted to be codes executable by the batch feature computing unit, the distributed computing unit and/or the real-time feature computing unit…”)
synchronizing (Mu para 30 “ the data in the offline database and the data in the real-time database are at least partially synchronized… Through data synchronization, the consistency of the data in the batch feature computing scenario and the real-time feature computing scenario may be ensured…”)
acquiring data required by online feature calculation from the online data storage system, in response to an online prediction request; (Mu para 76 “and a computation result of the real-time feature computation is used for prediction based on a trained model, and the prediction includes online prediction.”)
wherein (Mu para 76 “and a computation result of the real-time feature computation is used for prediction based on a trained model, and the prediction includes online prediction.”)
wherein the acquiring data required by online feature calculation from the online data storage system, in response to an online prediction request comprises:
acquiring (Mu para 76 “and a computation result of the real-time feature computation is used for prediction based on a trained model, and the prediction includes online prediction.”)
Mu doesn’t teach static features and statistical features.
However, Liang teaches the static feature data does not change or does not change frequently, (Liang para 142 “ a forest area 2902 by investigating the spatial distribution of 9-digit zip codes (Infousa) or by analyzing logged real-time inputs (e.g., ad requests) with detected locations 2903 represented by the red stars.” The zip codes and forest area are static feature data.) the statistical feature data is obtained from data within a predetermined period of time, (Liang para 78 “aggregated location events associated with each triggered geo-block (e.g., GBx) or brand (e.g., Bx) includes, for example, a number of visits to the geo-block or brand during the time period TTP, time of last visit during TTP, average length of stay per visit, etc.”) the real-time data is generated in real time. (Liang para 74 “the off-line data manager is configured to extract a set of mobile device data corresponding to location events in each of a plurality of time periods from entries in the request log having time stamps in the corresponding time period.”)
Mu, Liang and the claims are all related to online/offline prediction systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to include static and statistical data in Mu because Mu is concerned with user behavior (Mu para 6) and Liang says that the geoblocking (location data) is “for proper dimension reduction and data clustering, resulting in efficient use of computer resources and improved location prediction performance.” Liang para 51.
Liang teaches claims 2 and 15. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
setting a data acquisition manner corresponding to each type of data respectively; (Liang para 58, 78 and 74 teach using different manners to acquire data, see below.)
acquiring each type of data using the data acquisition manner corresponding to the type of data, wherein the data acquisition manner corresponding to the static feature data is acquiring the static feature data periodically, (Liang para 58 “A defined area according to certain embodiments can be a static circle around a business location, e.g. a fence obtained using offline index databases such as InfoUSA…” Liang para 70 “the information server is a computer server, e.g., a web server, backed by a database server that information sponsors use to periodically update the content thereof and may store information documents.”) the data acquisition manner corresponding to the statistical feature data is performing statistic on data within a predetermined period of time to obtain the statistical feature data, (Liang para 77 “The off-line data manager further includes… an aggregator configured to aggregate the location events …” Liang para 78 “aggregated location events associated with each triggered geo-block (e.g., GBx) or brand (e.g., Bx) includes… average length of stay per visit, etc….”) the data acquisition manner corresponding to the real-time data is acquiring data generated in real time. (Liang para 74 “the off-line data manager is configured to extract a set of mobile device data corresponding to location events in each of a plurality of time periods from entries in the request log having time stamps in the corresponding time period.”)
Liang teaches claims 4 and 17. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 2, wherein the static feature data is stored in a static feature data source, and synchronizing the static feature data into both of the online data storage system and the offline data storage system comprises: (Liang para 58 “A defined area according to certain embodiments can be a static circle around a business location, e.g. a fence obtained using offline index databases such as InfoUSA…”)
sending the static feature data in the static feature data source to the online data storage system, which sends the static feature data to the offline data storage system; or (Applicant claims in the alternative, so this claim does not need to be taught for the whole claim to be taught.)
sending the static feature data in the static feature data source to the offline data storage system, which sends the static feature data to the online data storage system; or (Liang fig. 1 shows mobile data storage in offline system 110, being transferred to online system 110.)
sending the static feature data in the static feature data source to both of the online data storage system and the offline data storage system. (The above sections show that the document server, Fig. 1, sends this data to both online and offline systems.)
Liang teaches claims 6 and 19. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 2, wherein the data within the predetermined period of time is stored in a statistical feature data source, and (Liang para 77 “The off-line data manager further includes… an aggregator configured to aggregate the location events …” Liang para 78 “aggregated location events associated with each triggered geo-block (e.g., GBx) or brand (e.g., Bx) includes… average length of stay per visit, etc….”) synchronizing the statistical feature data into both of the online data storage system and the offline data storage system comprises:
sending the data within the predetermined period of time in the statistical feature data source to the offline data storage system, performing statistic on the data within the predetermined period of time by an offline feature calculation module to obtain the statistical feature data; (Liang para 77 “The off-line data manager further includes… an aggregator configured to aggregate the location events …” Liang para 78 “aggregated location events associated with each triggered geo-block (e.g., GBx) or brand (e.g., Bx) includes… average length of stay per visit, etc….”)
storing the statistical feature data to the offline data storage system, and sending the statistical feature data to the online data storage system by the offline data storage system. (The above sections show that the document server, Fig. 1, sends this data to both online and offline systems.)
Liang teaches claim 8. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 2, wherein the real-time data is stored in a real-time data source, and synchronizing the real-time data into both of the online data storage system and the offline data storage system comprises: (Liang para 74 “the off-line data manager is configured to extract a set of mobile device data corresponding to location events in each of a plurality of time periods from entries in the request log having time stamps in the corresponding time period.”)
sending the real-time data in the real-time data source to the online data storage system, which sends the real-time data to the offline data storage system; or (Applicant claims in the alternative, so this claim does not need to be taught for the whole claim to be taught.)
sending the real-time data in the real-time data source to the offline data storage system, which sends the real-time data to the online data storage system; or (Liang fig. 1 shows mobile data storage in offline system 110, being transferred to online system 110.)
sending the real-time data in the real-time data source to both of the online data storage system and the offline data storage system. (The above sections show that the document server, Fig. 1, sends this data to both online and offline systems.)
Liang teaches claims 9 and 22. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, further comprising: processing the data acquired using the first processing script to obtain an online estimation sample; and (Mu para 51 “As an example, when the script is run by the management server, the script is converted to be codes executable by the batch feature computing unit, the distributed computing unit and/or the real-time feature computing unit…”)
performing a prediction on the online estimation sample using an online prediction service based on the machine learning model to obtain an online prediction result. (Mu abs “the batch feature computing logics and the real-time feature computing logics may be unified by the script.” Mu para 51 “As an example, when the script is run by the management server, the script is converted to be codes executable by the batch feature computing unit, the distributed computing unit and/or the real-time feature computing unit…” Mu para 76 “and a computation result of the real-time feature computation is used for prediction based on a trained model, and the prediction includes online prediction.”)
Liang teaches claims 10 and 23. (Original) The method according to claim 9, wherein the online prediction request comprises partial feature data required by a prediction on a target object, (Liang para 108 “set of real-time prediction features are constructed from data corresponding to location events in the prediction time period PTPr, and from the plurality of off-line prediction results associated with the particular mobile device and corresponding to the off-line prediction time frames PTF1, PTF2, PTF3,” The partial data are the prediction time period.) the data acquired comprises static feature data, statistical feature data and real-time data, the static feature data does not change or does not change frequently, the statistical feature data is obtained from data within a predetermined period of time by a predetermined statistical manner, the real-time data is generated in real time, and (Liang para 54, 77 and 78.) the processing the data acquired using the first processing script comprises:
performing real-time feature calculation on the real-time data using the first processing script to obtain real-time feature data; (Liang para 108 “the set of real-time prediction features are constructed from data corresponding to location events in the prediction time period PTPr…”)
performing a calculation on or splicing the real-time feature data, the static feature data, the statistical feature data and the partial feature data comprised in the online prediction request to obtain the online estimation sample. (Liang para 109 “apply the real-time prediction model to the set of real-time prediction features to obtain prediction results for the particular mobile device…”)
Liang teaches claim 11. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 9, further comprising:
acquiring an online feedback result on the online prediction request; (Liang para 173 “the geo-block-based targeting module 3610 also monitors feedbacks indicating whether the document associated with the one or more information campaigns has been delivered to (or impressed opon) the related mobile device and provides the feedback to the real-time pacing estimation module 3630.”
splicing the online feedback result and feature data obtained by processing data from the offline data storage system using the second processing script to obtain a training sample; (Liang para 106 “The rolling database is configured to store short-term rolling data of the feedbacks and the processed requests.” The feedback is taught as separate from other feature data, so the feedback is spliced from other features.)
training the machine learning model using the training sample. (Liang para 105 “the training module is further configured to employ machine learning approaches to train a real-time prediction model using the real-time prediction training feature space…” Feedback is included in the data to make the training feature space, see Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP,…”)
Liang teaches claim 12. (Original) The method according to claim 11, wherein the online prediction request comprises partial feature data required (Liang para 108 “prediction time frames…”) by a prediction on a target object, (Liang para 108 “set of real-time prediction features are constructed from data corresponding to location events in the prediction time period PTPr, and from the plurality of off-line prediction results associated with the particular mobile device and corresponding to the off-line prediction time frames PTF1, PTF2, PTF3,” The partial data are the prediction time period.) the data acquired from the offline data storage system comprises static feature data, statistical feature data and real-time data, the static feature data does not change or does not change frequently, the statistical feature data is obtained from data within a predetermined period of time by a predetermined statistical manner, the real-time data is generated in real time and stored in the offline data storage system, (Liang para 54, 77 and 78.) and the processing the data from the offline data storage system using the second processing script comprising:
performing offline feature calculation on the real-time data using the second processing script to obtain real-time feature data; and (Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP…”)
performing a calculation on or splicing the online feedback result, the real-time feature data, the static feature data, the statistical feature data and the partial feature data comprised in the online prediction request to obtain the training sample. (Liang para 91 “the set of features for the mobile device may include other features, such as mobility features and feedback features.” Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP…” The feedback is taught as separate from other feature data, so the feedback is spliced from other features.)
Liang teaches claim 13. (Original) The method according to claim 12, further comprising: verifying data acquired from the online prediction request. (Liang para 131 “The location module outputs verified or derived mobile device location in the form of, for example, latitude/longitude (lat/long), which is then processed by a block Lookup module.”)
Liang teaches claim 24. (Currently Amended) The device according to claim 22, further comprising:
a processor, configured to acquire an online feedback result on the online prediction request; and (Liang para 72 “The document server provides data of such feedback events (i.e., impressions, clicks/calls, and secondary actions) to buffer 2, which buffers and outputs the data to a feedback log.”)
an offline feature calculation module, configured to splice the online feedback result and feature data obtained by processing data from the offline data storage system using (Liang para 91 “the set of features for the mobile device may include other features, such as mobility features and feedback features.” Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP…” The feedback is taught as separate from other feature data, so the feedback is spliced from other features.) the second processing script to obtain a training sample; and (Liang para 91 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data…” This second script is a second script because it is in the offline system, not the online system.)
wherein the processor is further configured to train the machine learning model using the training sample, (Liang fig. 1 model training module in off-line system 110.)
wherein the online prediction request comprises partial feature data required (Liang para 108 “prediction time frames…”) by a prediction on a target object, (Liang para 108 “set of real-time prediction features are constructed from data corresponding to location events in the prediction time period PTPr, and from the plurality of off-line prediction results associated with the particular mobile device and corresponding to the off-line prediction time frames PTF1, PTF2, PTF3,” The partial data are the prediction time period.) the data acquired from the offline data storage system comprises static feature data, statistical feature data and real-time data, the static feature data does not change or does not change frequently, the statistical feature data is obtained from data within a predetermined period of time by a predetermined statistical manner, the real-time data is generated in real time and stored in the offline data storage system, and (Liang para 54, 77 and 78.)
the offline feature calculation module is configured to perform offline feature calculation on the real-time data using the second processing script to obtain real-time feature data, (Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP…”) and perform a calculation on or splice the online feedback result, the real-time feature data, the static feature data, the statistical feature data and the partial feature data comprised in the online prediction request to obtain the training sample. (Liang para 91 “the set of features for the mobile device may include other features, such as mobility features and feedback features.” Liang para 81 “the feature engineering module is configured to construct a training feature space for the location group using at least the mobile device data corresponding to the training time period TTP…” The feedback is taught as separate from other feature data, so the feedback is spliced from other features.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN HICKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142