DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 5, 2022 Claims 1-71 havebeen examined in this application.
Response to Amendments
Amendment filed 9/4/2024 has been entered.
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 10-15, 17, 20-26, 29-35, 38-39, 41, 43-48, 50-55, 57-58, 60-63, and 67-71 are canceled.
Claims 5, 8, 16, 27-28, 40, and 49 are amended.
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 16, 18-19, 27-28, 36-37, 40, 42, 49, 56, 59, and 64-66 are pending this application
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 16, 18-19, 27-28, 36-37, 40, 42, 49, 56, 59, and 64-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Boeckle (US 2018/0361263 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Boeckle discloses a programmable interactive system to interact with a user to alter a user's behavioral patterns ([0144] control or interact with CEIL system);
at least one input sensor operably coupled to the processor to sense at least one sensor input ([0156] the processor(s) is adapted to execute the cellular system software instructions, [0199] video monitoring (input sensor));
at least one output device to output at least one stimulus to be observed by the user ([0199] connected to the video and audio feed);
a core unit to interact with the user, the core unit being operably coupled to the processor (Fig. 1 Element 10 core unit is a toy, [0156] the processor(s) is adapted to execute the cellular system software instructions);
and a non-transitory machine-readable medium embodying a set of machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to: detect one or more sensor inputs by way of the at least one sensor ([0199] video and audio feed (video and audio sensors));
analyze said at least one or more sensor inputs to identify a parameter describing the status of the user ([0196] video surveillance of the child (status));
and responsive to determining the parameter describing the status of the user, causing the at least one output device to change output of at least one stimulus that is observable by the user ([0199] system preferably will hold the parent on mute for convenience in remote surveillance (parent is held on mute while monitoring status of the child/user)).
Regarding Claim 2, Boeckle discloses a docking unit configured to receive the core unit, wherein the docking unit and core unit are configured to communicate electronically with each other ([0197] doll companion (core unit) is placed in the charging saddle (docking unit)).
Regarding Claim 5, Boeckle discloses wherein the docking unit includes circuitry to project at least one visual output when the docking unit is coupled to the core unit onto a target surface ([0149] projector (means for connecting to a projector), [0154]-[0155] positioned to allow advantageous views from the camera),
and wherein the docking unit includes a projection device to project a visual image or wherein the docking unit defines a parabolic surface and includes a microphone disposed in a location of the parabolic surface to focus incoming sound waves toward the microphone to enhance the system's ability to detect sounds made by the user ([0154]-[0155]).
Regarding Claim 8, Boeckle discloses wherein the core unit includes a reconfigurable exterior surface that comprises an outer layer formed in the shape of a three-dimensional object that can be removed from a frame of the core unit (Fig. 1 Element 10 - 3D, shape of animal).
Regarding Claim 9, Boeckle discloses wherein the outer layer includes an identification tag that is detected by the core unit ([0072] RFID tags), wherein, responsive to detecting the identification tag, the processor selects and outputs at least one stimulus associated with the identification tag ([0072] audio/visual guide, will be displayed on the screen and/or played by the speakers).
Regarding Claim 16, Boeckle discloses wherein the identification tag is detectable by a portable electronic device ([0072] cellular phones are now including NFC readers), and, wherein responsive to detecting the identification tag, the portable electronic device accesses and downloads electronic files through a network connection and copies them to or installs them on the core unit ([0072] hold the CEIL reader up to the NFC tag, and information about the exhibit, such as an audio/visual guide, will be displayed on the screen and/or played by speakers).
Regarding Claim 18, Boeckle discloses wherein the system includes a plurality of different removable outer layers (Figs. 9-12 multiple removable layers – helmet, hair curler, suspenders), wherein each said different removable outer layer is configured to be received by the core unit (Figs. 9-12 worn by each animal (core unit)), and each said removable outer layer has a unique identification tag, wherein each said unique identification tag is identified by the system when the removable outer layer including said unique identification tag is mounted on the core unit, and further wherein, upon identifying said unique identification tag, a predetermined set of stimuli specific to said unique identification tag is selected that can be output by the system ([0072] child can hold the CEIL reader up to the NFC tag, [0202] removable memory card for storage).
Regarding Claim 19, Boeckle discloses wherein each of the plurality of different removable outer layers has the appearance of a unique three-dimensional figurine, and further wherein, responsive to identifying said unique identification tag, the system selects at least one file that includes information to cause the core unit to adopt behavioral characteristics associated with the unique three-dimensional figurine (Figs. 9-12 (different appearances), [0136] appearance may be associated with a particular character).
Regarding Claim 27, Boeckle discloses the core unit includes at least one camera, at least one battery, at least one sensor, and at least one infrared detecting sensor (Fig. 19 Elements 55 (Camera), 41 Battery, 19 Microphone, [0223] any time of day or night to sense the condition of the child (infrared sensors needed for video monitoring at night), [0224] backup infrared transmission).
Regarding Claim 28, Boeckle discloses wherein the core unit includes a visual projector therein and the visual projector projects an image onto a projection screen responsive to user input ([0149] video projector).
Regarding Claim 36, Boeckle discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions include instructions to recognize facial features or voice characteristics of the user ([0249] use voice recognition software).
Regarding Claim 37, Boeckle discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions include instructions to interact with and respond to the user using natural language processing in real-time ([0014] uses language recognition software, so that children can manage the content they want by speaking to the toy).
Regarding Claim 40, Boeckle discloses wherein the system is programmed to detect and analyze the user's voice to estimate the user's emotional state, and interact with the user by projecting a visual image or an audio segment responsive to the user's determined emotional state ([0231] child has a fever (sad, unhappy, tired), [0232] voice prompt (voice is analyzed) customer service, the SMS update or touch the screen (visual image for user to interact with)).
Regarding Claim 42, Boeckle discloses a sleep management server that manages network resources by gathering data inputs related to sleep behavior of the user, analyzes the data inputs, and generates and sends at least one output to the user ([0224] health monitoring system (sleep management server), alert the parent or a medical professional through the cellular system to any health issues detected (analyze the data inputs, and generates and sends at least one output to the user)).
Regarding Claim 49, Boeckle discloses a sensor for detecting when the user is restless or awakened and wherein ([0228] detect movement of a sleeping infant), responsive to determining if the user is restless or awakened, the system is configured to play soothing audio output ([0181] soft music to play gently wake a child).
Regarding Claim 56, Boeckle discloses wherein the system is configured to launch an interactive wakeup routine and interact with the user during the interactive wakeup routine ([0264] parent has scheduled events (wakeup routine)).
Regarding Claim 59, Boeckle discloses wherein the system is configured to emit synchronized sounds or light from at least one further peripheral device and the core unit when the at least one further peripheral device is within a predetermined proximity of the core unit ([0161] mechanical vibrator (peripheral device) that causes the antenna to move or vibrate, lighted elements can also be positioned within or on antennas to create a lighted effect).
Regarding Claim 64, Boeckle discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further include instructions to read a narrative to the user while providing synchronized background sounds and lighting ([0079] playing a pre-recorded bedtime story, playing an audio reading of the story while showing an animation on screen).
Regarding Claim 65, Boeckle discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further include instructions to play predetermined sounds during a bedtime routine, and to play said predetermined sound again if the system determines that the user is awakening during a predetermined time period ([0079] playing a pre-recorded bedtime story, playing an audio reading of the story while showing an animation on screen, [0100] “alarm=7:30 a.m.” (predetermined time period)).
Regarding Claim 66, Boeckle discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further include instructions to determine the developmental level of the user, and to provide audio and visual outputs responsive to the determined developmental level of the user (Fig. 37 Element 311 Choose Activity (Category/Age) (Age = Developmental Level)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shouldice et al. (US 2020/0009349 A1) teaches systems and methods for sleep management.
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715