DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Status of Claims
The amendment, filed on 18 March 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 have been amended.
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 are pending and under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following previously elected species:
dinotefuran is the insecticide alongside diafenthiuron and pyriproxyfen; and suspension concentrate is the form of the pesticidal composition.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the abstract, submitted on 18 March 2026, has overcome the objection to the Specification set forth in the Office Action mailed on 25 November 2025. Accordingly, the relevant objection is withdrawn.
Objections to Claims
Applicant’s amendments to claims 3, 5, and 11, submitted on 18 March 2026, have overcome the objection to the claims set forth in the Office Action mailed on 25 November 2025. Accordingly, the relevant objections are withdrawn.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 112
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of claims 4-10 and 16-18 for lacking antecedent basis, claims 4-9 and 15-18 for containing improper Markush groupings of alternatives, and claims 5-6 and 9 for reciting an ambiguous group of species/combinations are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is rejected as being indefinite for reciting groupings of species in parentheses in lines 3-5. It is unclear if the species in the parentheses are merely examples of solids or liquids or if they are intended to limit the claim, rendering the recitation indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitations “solid” in line 3 and “liquid” in line 4, and the claim also recites “(clays, natural or synthetic silicates…)” in lines 3-4 and “(water, alcohols, ketones…)” in lines 4-5, which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Response to Amendments
The Applicant’s remarks, filed on 18 March 2026, regarding the groupings of species in parentheses are acknowledged. Applicant stated on pg. 10 in the section titled “The Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112” that the “species listed in parentheses are examples of solid or liquid suspension aids and are not intended to limit the scope of the claim”. However, the claim language has not been amended and the indefiniteness remains. A statement that the species are merely examples does not alleviate the issue of indefiniteness and the claim remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b). Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horikoshi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,859,462 B2, issued 14 October 2014, cited in IDS filed on 5 December 2025, hereafter referred to as Horikoshi).
Horikoshi teaches a pest control composition comprising one or more derivatives of pyripyropene and one or more other pest control agents (Abstract). The composition is taught to comprise 0.1-80% w/w of the one or more pyripyropene derivative and 0.1-80% w/w of the one or more other pest control agents (claim 1). The other pest control agents are taught, among others, to include diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran (column 18, lines 50-60).
In addition to the pest control agents above, Horikoshi teaches that their composition may be formulated as a suspension and/or a concentrate and may comprise a “a suitable agriculturally and horticulturally acceptable carrier” (column 20, lines 56-65). Carriers are taught to include solid carriers, such as talc, clay, kaolin, or diatomaceous earth, liquid carriers, such as alcohols, ketones, aliphatic hydrocarbons, or esters, gaseous carriers, surfactants, and/or dispersants (column 21, lines 4-21). Examples of surfactants or dispersants include alkyl-sulfuric esters, polyhydric alcohol esters, and lignin sulfonic acid salts, which fall within the genera of surfactants recited in instant claim 4 (column 21, lines 22-26).
Horikoshi additionally teaches that their composition may be formulated to comprise a wetting agent in the amount of 0.6-30% w/w, 0.6-30% w/w of a binder, and 5-40% w/w of a thickening agent (column 21, lines 40-65). Preparation Example 3 teaches a composition which contains 6% w/w propylene glycol, which is one of the anti-freezing agents recited in instant claim 6, and 5% w/w POE polystyryl phenyl ether sulfate, which is a surfactant present in an amount that falls within the range recited in instant claim 4. Finally, Preparation Example 9 teaches a composition which comprises 0.2% w/w of an antiseptic, which is considered equivalent to the anti-microbial/bacterial agent recited in instant claims 15-16.
Although “picking, choosing, and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference...has no place in...a 102, anticipation rejection,” picking and choosing may be entirely proper in an obviousness rejection. In re Arkley, 455 F.2d 586, 587 (CCPA 1972). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ” (KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007)). The Court further emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” (Id. at 1742).
The only difference between Horikoshi and the instant claims is that Horikoshi does not teach the specific combination of components as claimed in a single embodiment (e.g., fails to explicitly teach diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran in one composition), or with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory. The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the teaching of Horikoshi, but such “picking and choosing” within several variables does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Where, as here, the reference does not provide any explicit motivation to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found. However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP § 2141.I. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to have selected various combinations of the various disclosed ingredients from within the teachings of Horikoshi, to arrive at an invention such as the one being sought.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horikoshi (U.S. Patent No. 8,859,462 B2, priority to 10 March 2008, cited in IDS filed on 5 December 2025) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Bhoge et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,259,525 B2, priority to 25 October 2017, hereafter referred to as Bhoge).
Horikoshi teaches the above, and particularly relevant to instant claims 5 and 8, teaches that a dispersant may be present in an amount from 0.6-40% and an anti-foaming agent may be present (column 21, line 40 - column 22, lines 25 and claims 3-5).
Horikoshi does not teach the dispersing agent species recited in instant claim 5 nor the anti-foaming agent species or amount recited in instant claim 8. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Bhoge.
Bhoge teaches a stable agrochemical composition comprising the pesticide glufosinate, additional pesticides, an organosilicone adjuvant, a nonionic surfactant, and additional adjuvants (Abstract). The composition of Bhoge is taught to improve the bioefficacy of pesticides and to be surprisingly stable when a non-ionic surfactant is present (column 3, lines 39-50). Formulating agrochemical compositions as emulsifiable concentrates is taught to be preferable when water insoluble ingredients are present, such as organosilicone adjuvants, which increase the availability of agrochemicals to plants by increasing spray coverage area (column 1, lines 54-58 and column 2, lines 41-58).
Preferred organosilicone adjuvants are taught to include polyalkyleneoxide-modified trisiloxanes, such as trisiloxane polyethoxylated products Silwet™ 408 and Silwet™ L 408, which is present in an amount from 0.1-5% by weight (column 4, line 58 - column 5, line 6). The nonionic surfactant in the composition of Bhoge is taught to be present in an amount from 0.1-25% by weight (column 5, lines 9-11). Preferred species include tristyryl phenol alkoxylates such as tristyryl phenol ethoxylate (column 5, lines 12-31). In addition, the composition is taught to comprise an anionic surfactant in an amount from 0.1-25% by weight, which in one embodiment is a salt of tristyrylphenol ether phosphate and/or sulfate (column 5, lines 44-65).
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the quantities of dispersing agent and anti-foaming agent taught by Bhoge. In each case, the ranges taught by Bhoge either significantly overlap with or fall within the ranges recited in instant claims 5 and 8, rendering them obvious.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Horikoshi and Bhoge to arrive at the invention of claims 5 and 8 because combining prior art elements in related inventions to impart known benefits produces predictable results. Horikoshi rendered obvious a pesticidal composition comprising diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran, in the recited quantities, as well as dispersing and anti-foaming agents. In view of the teachings of Bhoge, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use polyalkyleneoxide-modified trisiloxanes, a tristyrylphenol ether phosphate and/or sulfate, and a tristyryl phenol ethoxylate, in the quantities taught by Bhoge, because Bhoge teaches that these components, when used in an herbicidal composition, can enhance the bioefficacy of pesticides and produce a surprisingly stable composition. The ordinary artisan would desire their pesticidal composition to be efficient in achieving its intended goal and to be stable, and would therefore be motivated to combine ingredients that are taught to improve both properties. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-2, 5, and 8 in view of the teachings of Horikoshi and Bhoge.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horikoshi (U.S. Patent No. 8,859,462 B2, priority to 10 March 2008, cited in IDS filed on 5 December 2025) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Chaudhry (U.S. Patent No. 10,238,104 B2, priority to 21 November 2013).
Horikoshi teaches the above.
Horikoshi does not teach the wetting agent species or amount recited in instant claim 7 nor xanthum gum in the amount recited in instant claim 10. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Chaudhry.
Chaudhry teaches an agricultural adjuvant composition that provides nutrients to plants and protects them while also reducing the required usage of agrochemicals by increasing their efficiency (Abstract and Claim 1). To achieve the above goal, Chaudry teaches their composition to comprise adjuvants including surfactants and wetting agents (column 5, lines 1-9). The one or more surfactants are taught to be present in an amount of 8-15% (column 6, lines 33-39) and may be the non-ionic surfactant sorbitan monooleate in an amount of 2-4% and/or one or more non-ionic organosilicone-based surfactants in an amount of 3-6%, which is interpreted as being equivalent to the “mixture of non-ionic surfactants” recited in instant claim 7. Chaudry further teaches their composition to comprise Xanthan Gum, which is interpreted as being equivalent to the ”Xanthum Gum” recited in instant claim 10, in an amount from 0.03-0.15% (column 6, lines 51-53).
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the quantities of non-ionic surfactants and xanthan gum taught by Chaudhry. In each case, the ranges taught by Chaudhry either significantly overlap with or fall within the ranges recited in instant claims 7 and 10, rendering them obvious.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Horikoshi and Chaudhry to arrive at the invention of claims 1-2, 7, and 10 because combining prior art elements in related inventions to impart known benefits produces predictable results. Horikoshi rendered obvious a pesticidal composition comprising diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran, in the quantities recited in instant claim 2, as well as wetting agents and binders. In view of the teachings of Chaudhry, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a mixture of non-ionic surfactants and xanthan gum in the composition of Horikoshi, in the quantities taught by Chaudhry, because Chaudhry teaches that these components, when used in an adjuvant composition, can enhance the efficiency of agrochemicals, such as pesticides. The ordinary artisan would desire their pesticidal composition to be efficient in achieving its intended goal and would therefore be motivated to combine ingredients that are taught to improve the efficiency. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-2, 7, and 10 in view of the teachings of Horikoshi and Chaudhry.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horikoshi (U.S. Patent No. 8,859,462 B2, priority to 10 March 2008, cited in IDS filed on 5 December 2025) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, and 17-18 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,517,013 B2, priority to 15 August 2018, hereafter referred to as Anderson).
Horikoshi teaches the above.
Horikoshi does not teach the anti-microbial/bacterial agent species or amount recited in instant claim 16. These deficiencies are offset by the teachings of Anderson.
Anderson teaches compositions for use in agricultural production which protect plants from pests (Abstract and Summary of the Invention). The compositions comprise, among other ingredients, fungicides, insecticides, a dispersant, xanthan gum, and fertilizers (Claim 1 and Example 2). Anderson teaches that agricultural formulations are susceptible to microbial or fungal degradation during storage and preservatives are taught to be useful in preventing or reducing these deleterious effects (column 41, lines 1-3). Examples of preservation agents include propionic acid, sorbic acid, and benzoic acid or their respective sodium salts, p-hydroxybenzoic acid sodium salt, methyl p-hydroxybenzoate, and 1,2-benzisothiazalin-3-one (BIT) (column 41, lines 3-10). The quantity of preservative is taught to be from 0.01-0.2% by weight (column 41, lines 10-19).
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the quantity of preservative taught by Anderson. The range taught by Anderson falls within the range recited in instant claim 16, rendering the range obvious.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Horikoshi and Anderson to arrive at the invention of claims 1-2 and 16 because combining prior art elements in related inventions to impart known benefits produces predictable results. Horikoshi rendered obvious a pesticidal composition comprising diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran, in the quantities recited in instant claim 2. In view of the teachings of Anderson, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use a preservative such as propionic acid, sorbic acid, benzoic acid, p-hydroxybenzoic acid sodium salt, or BIT, in the quantity taught by Anderson, because Anderson teaches that these components can either prevent or limit degradation of agricultural compositions during storage. The ordinary artisan would desire their agricultural composition to be stable during storage, and would therefore be motivated to combine ingredients that are taught to improve its stability and shelf life. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-2 and 16 in view of the teachings of Horikoshi and Anderson.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 18 March 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
From para. 1 to para. 2 of pg. 12, Applicant argues that because the Horikoshi reference states in the Abstract that their composition comprises “at least one pyripyropene derivative of formula (I)…and at least one other pest control agent” the reference teaches a binary composition. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because, as noted by the Applicant, the Abstract of the Horikoshi reference states the compositions include “at least one pyripyropene derivative of formula (I)…and at least one other pest control agent” (bold added for emphasis). This is repeated in claim 1 of Horikoshi and does not limit the compositions to a binary mixture.
Applicant further argues that the Horikoshi reference would motivate the creation of a binary rather than ternary composition (pg. 12, Roman numeral i. and ii.), the selection of a fungicide as the at least one other pest control agent rather than insecticides (pg. 12, Roman numeral iii.), and that a person skilled in the art would only be motivated to “select pyripyropene derivative with ONLY an insecticide” (pg. 12, Roman numeral iv.). Regarding numerals i. and ii., Applicant is directed to the argument above. Regarding numeral iii., the Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Horikoshi explicitly states that other genera of pesticides may be used including miticides, herbicides, and insecticides (Horikoshi, col. 17, lines 46-56). Regarding numeral iv., this numeral seems to be contradicted by numeral iii., and additionally is not persuasive because Horikoshi does teach other genera of pesticides (vide supra). As a result, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant additionally argues that because the instant application does not teach pyripyropene or its derivatives (pg. 13, para. 1 and numeral 1.), the Horikoshi reference teaches insecticides that are not one of the three in instant claim 1 (pg. 13, numeral 2.), and exemplifies “only binary compositions” (pg. 14, para. 2), it does not render obvious the claimed invention. The argument regarding binary compositions has been addressed above and is not found persuasive. Regarding the teaching of pyripyropene and its derivatives teaching away from the instant application, Applicant is directed to MPEP § 2123.II. “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The Horikoshi reference teaches that at least one pest control agent may be mixed with pyripyropene or its derivatives and that the at least one pest control agent may be diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and/or dinotefuran, therefore the reference does not teach away from the instant application and Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
In para. 3 of pg. 14, Applicant argues that their invention established surprising advantages. Guidelines on determining whether results are expected or unexpected are provided in MPEP § 716.02. To demonstrate that results are unexpected and significant, the Applicant has the responsibility of presenting evidence that establishes “that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance.” Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). “Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims” (bold added for emphasis). See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e).
The only comparison made by Applicant appears to be the ternary combination of diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran at different doses with each pesticide individually and with an untreated control in Examples 7 and 8 of the instant specification. This is not a persuasive demonstration of unexpected and surprising results because each of the pesticides is known to have pesticidal activity and would be expected to demonstrate greater activity than the untreated control. In addition, the total quantities of pesticide in the ternary composition were greater in nearly all compositions and greater pesticidal activity against white fly (Table 4) and jassids (Table 5) would also be expected with higher concentrations of pesticides.
The Applicant has also not demonstrated unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range.” In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 716.02(d). Only one example outside the claimed range has been provided – the untreated control – which is equivalent to 0% w/w of the three pesticides. The ternary compositions in Examples 7 and 8 have the same concentrations of diafenthiuron (18% w/w), dinotefuran (5% w/w), and pyriproxyfen (8% w/w), which amounts to only one value within the broad ranges recited in instant claim 2. Therefore, Applicant has not demonstrated the criticality of the claimed range.
Finally, the Applicant has not compared their invention with the closest prior art. See MPEP § 716.02(e). The comparison provided in the instant specification is the ternary combination of diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran at different doses with each pesticide individually and with an untreated control in Examples 7 and 8 of the instant specification. Horikoshi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,859,462 B2, issued 14 October 2014 was provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 5 December 2025, and teaches mixtures of pesticides, including those recited in the instant claims, in amounts that encompass the ranges recited in instant claim 2. Therefore, a comparison with the closest subject matter in the prior art should include a comparison to Horikoshi et al. As a result, Applicant’s claim of surprising results is not found to be persuasive.
From the line that is fifth from the bottom of pg. 14 to numeral 2. of pg. 15, Applicant argues that the Horikoshi reference teaches away from the instant invention and cannot be combined with other references as a result. Regarding the latter argument, the rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 15, and 17-18 relied upon only the Horikoshi reference, not the reference combined with other prior art, and the argument is therefore considered moot. Regarding the former point, Horikoshi teaching away from the instant invention has been addressed above and is not found persuasive.
In the section titled “X. ARGUING IMPROPER RATIONALES FOR COMBINING REFERENCES” spanning pg. 15-16, Applicant argues that the obviousness rejection in view of the teachings of Horikoshi is based upon improper hindsight reasoning. Applicant additionally quotes the MPEP to state “any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper.” In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971), and again states that the Horikoshi reference confines compositions to binary mixtures, therefore the claimed invention could not be obvious. This is not found persuasive because each of the claimed species diafenthiuron, pyriproxyfen, and dinotefuran are taught by Horikoshi prior to the filing of the instant application and hindsight reasoning would not be required to combine the species. In addition, as argued above, Horikoshi does not require their compositions to be binary mixtures.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually when discussing the rejections of claims 5 and 8 (pg. 16, para. 3), claims 7 and 10 (pg. 18, para. 4), and claim 16 (pg. 19, final para.), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
From para. 3 of pg. 16 to para. 3 of pg. 17, Applicant argues that because the Horikoshi reference teaches a binary composition and the Bhoge reference teaches compositions comprising glufosinate, both references teach away from the instant invention and cannot be combined. The former argument regarding Horikoshi has been addressed above and regarding the Bhoge reference, the mere teaching of glufosinate does not teach away from the instant application. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Bhoge is directed to agrochemical compositions comprising the pesticide glufosinate, additional pesticides, a nonionic surfactant, and adjuvants which improve the bioefficacy of pesticides and are surprisingly stable (vide supra). This is considered analogous art to the claimed invention, which is directed to a pesticidal composition which may comprise adjuvants (e.g., instant claims 4-11 and 15-18), and the Bhoge reference is therefore proper to use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
From para. 4 of pg. 17 to para. 3 of pg. 18, Applicant argues that the ranges taught by the Bhoge reference cannot render obvious the ranges recited in instant claims 5 and 8 because the “essential elements” of the Bhoge reference “are ENTIRELY different” than and “constitute different scope altogether” as the instant invention. This is not found persuasive because, as state above, the Bhoge reference is analogous art and proper to use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
From para. 4 of pg. 18 to para. 3 of pg. 19, Applicant argues that the Chaudhry reference has scope that “is completely different from that of the present invention” because it teaches that adjuvants are “essential components” whereas instant claims 7 and 10 teach the adjuvants to be “non-essential active components” and that a person skilled in the art “would not consider combining the teachings from the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention”. This is not found persuasive because the mere teaching of adjuvants in compositions would not dissuade a person of ordinary skill in the art from combining them with other inventions – in fact, these teachings by the Chaudhry reference are the motivation for the use of the adjuvants non-ionic surfactants and xanthan gum in the quantities taught by Chaudhry to impart the benefit of enhanced efficacy of agrochemicals such as pesticides (see the concluding para. of the rejection of claims 7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 above).
From the final para. of pg. 19 to para. 2 of pg. 21, Applicant argues that the Anderson reference is improper to use in an obviousness rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because Anderson teaches the use of fungicides alongside insecticides, teaches insecticides that are different from those in the instant invention, and teaches the use of nanoparticles and is therefore teaching away from the claimed invention. As stated above and repeated here in brief, merely teaching other examples and preferred embodiments “do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP § 2123.II. The Anderson reference is directed to compositions for use in agricultural production which protect plants from pests and utilize antimicrobial/antifungal agents as preservatives to prevent or reduce degradation due to microbial or fungal contamination. This is analogous art to the instant invention, which is directed to a pesticidal composition which may comprise antimicrobial agents as adjuvants (e.g., instant claims 15-16), and the Anderson reference is therefore proper to use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. As a result, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
New Grounds of Objection
Claim Objections
Amended claims 4-11 are objected to for the following informalities:
In line 2 of claims 4-11, each claim has been amended to depend from claim 15. A series of singularly dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turns, refers to another preceding claim. A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim 15 succeeds each of claims 4-11 and it is therefore improper for the claims to depend from claim 15. The claims should be amended to depend from a preceding claim(s) or should be cancelled and added as new claims that succeed claim 15.
Claim 7 has also been amended to separate the wetting agents into a series of species separated by commas. In line 3, the species recited are “nonionic emulsifier, mixture of non-ionic surfactants”. The article “a” should precede the word “mixture”, resulting in the phrase reading “nonionic emulsifier, a mixture of non-ionic surfactants” (bold added for emphasis).
Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619