DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the communication module is configured to … detect whether a control unit is included in a transportation means”. The originally filed disclosure provides support for the communication means to facilitate the communication of information between the battery pack and the transportation means, but fails to provide support for the communication means to “detect” anything. The originally filed disclosure only provides support for the processor 130 of the battery pack to detect if the transportation means includes a control unit based on the received information through the communication means. The limitation does not have support in the originally filed disclosure and is considered a new matter.
Note: for the purpose of the art rejection below, the above limitation is interpreted to represent “wherein the communication module is configured to … receive whether a control unit is included in a transportation means”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the processor is configured to … allow the control unit to control the switching module to turn on/off the power supply path, based on a detection result of the communication module”. The originally filed disclosure provides support for the processor to control the power switching module based on a detection result of the communication module. The originally filed disclosure only provides support for the processor to control the switching module and not the control unit of the transportation means. The transportation means is only allowed to provide data to the processor that can be used to control the switching means. The limitation does not have support in the originally filed disclosure and is considered a new matter.
Note: for the purpose of the art rejection below, the above limitation is interpreted to represent “wherein the processor is configured to … .
Claims 3-20 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al. [US 20200251917] in view of Funk et al. [US 20190067751] and Toya et al. [US 20170063111].
As to claim 1. Ljung discloses A battery pack managing apparatus, which manages a battery pack configured to include at least one secondary battery and supply power to an outside through a power supply path, the battery pack managing apparatus comprising:
a switching module, [fig. 2, 0023] power supply controller 13, provided on the power supply path and configured to selectively turn on/off the power supply path, [0049] including no power supply;
a communication module, [fig. 2, 0024] first interface 16, configured to communicate with a portable terminal and receive usage information of the battery pack from the portable terminal, [0060, 0065, 0067]; and
a processor, [fig. 2, 0020] processing unit 10, configured to change a setting value of at least one of voltage, current preset, [0039], for the battery pack based on the usage information received by the communication module from the portable terminal and control the switching module according to the changed setting value, [0039] configuration data set based on the type of main device the battery is connected to; [0045, 0107] wherein the processor 10 regulates the power supply based on the configuration data,
wherein the communication module is configured to:
receive information on whether the battery pack is in one of a mounted use and a non-mounted use, [0063] identify the type of main device, [0051] including a stationary use for power tools in a construction site, as the usage information of the battery pack to set the setting of the at least one of voltage, current and temperature accordingly, [0051] configuration data can be different based on the type of main device including a stationary use for power tools in a construction site, and [0019, 0039] for portable use including vehicles.
Ljung fails to disclose wherein the configuration data further includes changing a setting value of a temperature preset; wherein the usage information is received directly from the portable terminal; and wherein the communication module is further configured to detect whether a control unit is included in a transportation means for the mounted use, and wherein the processor is configured to either control the switching module to turn on/off the power supply path or allow the control unit to control the switching module to turn on/off the power supply path, based on a detection result of the communication module.
Funk teaches an apparatus and method for providing device configuration via a battery comprising a battery pack 150, a vehicle device 130, and a user equipment 180, [fig. 1, 0021]; wherein the user equipment 180 can directly communicate with the battery, [0029], and can change configuration settings of devices, [0058], and send the configuration settings to the battery, [0061]; wherein the configuration settings include operating parameters including temperature data, [0048], that are used to set various thresholds based on the configuration settings, [0056]; wherein the device includes an ECU 230 that can control initiation of the configuration settings, [fig. 2, 0033], and provide configuration information to the battery, [0030, 0060], that can be used for provisioning power to the device, [0031].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ljung with that of Funk so that the system can be protected from high temperatures that can cause damage to the battery.
The combination of Ljung and Funk fails to explicitly disclose wherein the configuration data further includes changing a setting value of a temperature preset.
Toya teaches a battery pack and control method comprising a battery pack 50, and a smartphone as an information terminal 40, [fig. 1, 0062]; wherein the battery pack receives usage conditions directly from the information terminal 40, [fig. 2, 0098]; wherein the usage condition includes usage temperature of the battery pack in the form of a temperature range, [0077, 0090].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung and Funk with that of Toya so that the system can protect the battery from overheating.
As to claim 3. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication module is configured to receive information on a type of the transportation means to which the battery pack is mounted, as the usage information of the battery pack, [0039].
As to claim 4. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the usage information of the battery pack received by the communication module is the non-mounted use, the processor is configured to set the setting value of the at least one of voltage, current and temperature, [0039] set maximum voltage and current levels for the type of main device.
Ljung fails to disclose wherein the setting value is set to be lower than that of the mounted use.
Current application, in [0006] of the published application indicates that it is known for vehicles to require high power input.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ljung with that of the self-admitted art of the current invention to set the maximum output power of the battery to be higher when the pack is connected to a vehicle to meet the need of the vehicle.
As to claim 5. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to change a maximum allowable value for the at least one of voltage, current and temperature, based on the usage information, [0039].
As to claim 6. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to change the setting value in a state where the switching module is turned off, and turn on the switching module after the setting value is changed, [0045, 0046] power is supplied to the main device after configuration data is set.
As to claim 10. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the battery pack is configured to be mounted to a transportation means, [fig. 1, 0019], that includes a control unit configured to communicate with the communication module, the processor is configured to control the switching module based on a signal of the control unit, [0044] secure entity 27 communicate with the battery module.
As to claim 11. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein when the transportation means to which the battery pack is mounted does not include the control unit capable of communicating with the communication module or the battery pack is used without being mounted to the transportation means, the processor is configured to control the switching module based on a signal of the portable terminal, [0060].
As to claim 12. Ljung discloses The battery pack, comprising the battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, [0023].
As to claim 13. Ljung discloses A vehicle, comprising the battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, [fig. 1, 0019].
As to claim 14. Ljung discloses A portable device comprising the battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, [fig. 1, 0019].
As to claim 16. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to change a setting value of the voltage, the current and the temperature preset for the battery pack, [0039].
Ljung fails to disclose wherein the configuration data further includes changing a setting value of a temperature preset.
Funk teaches an apparatus and method for providing device configuration via a battery comprising a battery pack 150, a vehicle device 130, and a user equipment 180, [fig. 1, 0021]; wherein the user equipment 180 can directly communicate with the battery, [0029], and can change configuration settings of devices, [0058], and send the configuration settings to the battery, [0061]; wherein the configuration settings include operating parameters including temperature data, [0048], that are used to set various thresholds based on the configuration settings, [0056].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ljung with that of Funk so that the system can be protected from high temperatures that can cause damage to the battery.
As to claim 17. the combination of Ljung and Funk fail to disclose The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the temperature includes a range of operating temperatures of the battery pack.
Toya teaches a battery pack and control method comprising a battery pack 50, and a smartphone as an information terminal 40, [fig. 1, 0062]; wherein the battery pack receives usage conditions directly from the information terminal 40, [fig. 2, 0098]; wherein the usage condition includes usage temperature of the battery pack, which includes a temperature range, [0077, 0090].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung and Funk with that of Toya so that the system can be protected from high temperatures that can cause damage to the battery.
As to claim 18. Ljung fails to disclose The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the non-mounted use as the usage information of the battery pack is selectable from the portable terminal.
Funk teaches an apparatus and method for providing device configuration via a battery comprising a battery pack 150, a vehicle device 130, and a user equipment 180, [fig. 1, 0021]; wherein the user equipment 180 can directly communicate with the battery, [0029], and can change configuration settings of devices, [0058], and send the configuration settings to the battery, [0061]; wherein the system allows the user to manually select the device type via a user interface of the battery pack 150, [fig. 2, 0052]; wherein the user equipment 180 can be used to perform the individual device profiles and configuration settings performed at the battery pack 150, [0058]; wherein the device profile includes the device type, [0049].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ljung with that of Funk so that the user can manually enter the device type in case the device type cannot be identified automatically.
As to claim 19. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the battery pack is used as a mobile power when the usage information of the battery pack is the non- mounted use, [0019] wherein the non-mounted device types are portable devices.
As to claim 20. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the battery pack is mounted to the transportation means that does not include the control unit or when battery pack is in the non-mounted use, the communication module is configured perform operation whether to control the switching module to maintain a turn-on state of the power supply path after the turn-on state has continued for a predetermine time, [0067] wherein the user can change the battery configuration data including allowing the operation of the batter outside allowed hours.
Ljung fails to disclose wherein the operation by the communication device is to query the portable terminal.
Funk teaches an apparatus and method for providing device configuration via a battery comprising a battery pack 150, a vehicle device 130, and a user equipment 180, [fig. 1, 0021]; wherein the user equipment 180 can directly communicate with the battery 150 by acting as the access point 160, [0029], and can change configuration settings of devices, [0058], and send the configuration settings to the battery, [0061]; wherein the battery 150 initiates a communication with the user equipment based on a time based trigger, [0028].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ljung with that of Funk so that the user can be allowed to extend usage times before the battery is disconnected.
Claim(s) 7-9, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung in view of Funk, and Toya as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Horito et al. [US 20160105054].
As to claim 7. Ljung discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication module is configured to detect a relative distance change, [0051] configuration data limiting the distance that can be traveled away from the last location the device was online.
The combination of Ljung and Funk fails to disclose wherein the relative distance change is between the battery pack and the portable terminal.
Horito teaches a battery management system BMS to manage the operation of a battery cell pack, [0032]; wherein the system controls the supply of power based on a micro-controller’s programming of a voltage, current and temperature settings, [0074]; wherein the system communicates with a user’s smart phone and locks the BMS when the system is beyond a certain distance from the user, [0128].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya with that of Horito so that the system can detect when the system is lost.
As to claim 8 the combination of Ljung and Horito discloses The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to turn off the switching module, when the relative distance change between the battery pack and the portable terminal is equal to or greater than a criterion change amount, Ljung [0051] operation terminated based on distance traveled; wherein the distance can be based on the separation from the mobile terminal, Horito [0128].
Horito teaches a battery management system BMS to manage the operation of a battery cell pack, [0032]; wherein the system controls the supply of power based on a micro-controller’s programming of a voltage, current and temperature settings, [0074]; wherein the system communicates with a user’s smart phone and locks the BMS when the system is beyond a certain distance from the user, [0128].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya with that of Horito so that the system can detect when the system is lost.
As to claim 9. the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya fail to disclose The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the communication module is configured to transmit warning information to the portable terminal, when the relative distance change between the battery pack and the portable terminal is equal to or greater than a criterion change amount.
Horito teaches a battery management system BMS to manage the operation of a battery cell pack, [0032]; wherein the system controls the supply of power based on a micro-controller’s programming of a voltage, current and temperature settings, [0074]; wherein the system communicates with a user’s smart phone and locks the BMS when the system is beyond a certain distance from the user, [0128].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya with that of Horito so that the system can detect when the system is lost.
As to claim 15. the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya fail to disclose The battery pack managing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the criterion amount includes a distance capable of allowing communication between the communication module and the portable terminal.
Horito teaches a battery management system BMS to manage the operation of a battery cell pack, [0032]; wherein the system controls the supply of power based on a micro-controller’s programming of a voltage, current and temperature settings, [0074]; wherein the system communicates with a user’s smart phone and locks the BMS when the system is beyond a certain distance from the user, [0128]; wherein the range can be detected based on the communication range of a near-field communication device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ljung, Funk and Toya with that of Horito so that the system can detect when the system is lost.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688