Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2022 and 02/07/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-30 are pending with claims 1-15 being examined, claims 16-30 are deemed withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
As to line 2 of claim 4, the “bypass outlet” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 is rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim .
As to line 2 of claim 13, the “one respective segment capillary channel” is unclear what Applicant refers to.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fraden et al. (US 20190039071 A1; hereinafter “Fraden” previous of record).
Regarding claim 1, Fraden teaches a microfluidic device (Fraden; Abstract) comprising:
a main flow channel (Fraden; fig. 9. 1002-A); and
a partitioning chamber (Fraden; fig. 9 portion 1014-A and [0064] “through channel”) connected to a section of the main flow channel by a chamber inlet (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014-A upper end portion designated with an arrow) and a chamber outlet (Fraden; fig. 3. 1024-A restriction region), the chamber inlet comprising a chamber inlet cross section (Fraden; fig. 3. 1018-A and [0060] “junction 1018-A), the chamber outlet comprising one or more outlet capillary channels (Fraden; fig. 3. 1024-A and [0065] “fluid restriction portion 1024-A”),
wherein a portion of the main flow channel between the chamber inlet and the chamber outlet comprises a cross section (i) (Fraden; fig. 3. 1001-A) less than the chamber inlet cross section (Fraden; fig. 3. 1001-A), and (ii) greater than the cross section of each individual outlet capillary channel (Fraden; fig. 3. 1018-A, width of fluid path 1018-A is greater than the width of fluid restriction region 1024-A).
Regarding claim 2, Fraden teaches the device of claim 1 (see above) wherein the chamber outlet comprises more than one capillary channel (Fraden; fig. 3. 1024 A-C).
Regarding claim 3, Fraden teaches the device of claim 2, (see above) wherein the capillary channels are parallel to each other (Fraden fig. 3. 1024-A-c illustrates the capillary channels parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 4, Fraden teaches the device of claim 3, (see above) wherein the capillary channels are formed by one or more elements protruding into the bypass outlet (Fraden; Fig. 3. 1014, 1024 illustrates the walls of fluid path 1014 protruding in to form fluid restriction (capillary channel) 1024).
Regarding claim 5, Fraden teaches the device of claim 4, (see above) wherein the one or more elements protruding into the chamber outlet are each independently of rectangular cross section (Fraden; Fig. 3. 1014 illustrates the elements protruding into the chamber outlet are each independently of rectangular cross section).
Regarding claim 6, Fraden teaches the device of claim 1, (see above) wherein the chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel. The chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel was discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Fraden teaches the device of claim 6, (see above) wherein the chamber outlet comprising the one capillary channel is configured as an elongated neck (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014A-C, 1024A-C illustrates the chamber outlet comprising the one capillary channel is configured as an elongated neck).
Regarding claim 8, Fraden teaches the device of claim 1, (see above) wherein the chamber inlet comprises a cross section of between 50pm and 250pm (Fraden, fig. 1. 1014, 1028, and [0124] “the region may have a dimension between 50pm to 250pm”); the one or more capillary channels each independently comprise a cross section of between 7.5pm and 20pm (Fraden; fig. 1. 1024 and [0124] “a region may have a length of at least 1pm to at least 10pm”); and the cross section of the portion of the main flow channel between the chamber inlet and the chamber is between 15pm and 30pm (Fraden; [0135] “Cross-sectional area of a chamber may be from 5pm to 30 pm”).
Examiner notes that Fraden teaches regions as elements 1024 and 1028 in fig 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fraden teaches the device of claim 1, (see above) wherein the cross section of the portion of the main flow channel (Fraden; fig. 3. 1002-A) between the chamber inlet (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014-A upper end portion designated with an arrow) and the chamber outlet is (Fraden; fig. 3. 1002A) (i) constant along the length of the portion (Fraden; fig. 3. 1002-A, 1014 illustrates the cross section of the portion of the main flow channel between the chamber inlet and the chamber outlet is (i) constant along the length of the portion).
Regarding claim 10, Fraden teaches the device of claim 9, (see above) wherein in (ii) the portion of the main flow channel between the chamber inlet (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014-A and the chamber outlet (Fraden; fig. 3. 1024-A) is comprised of at least two segments wherein each segment has a different cross section (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014-A, 1024-A).
Regarding claim 11, Fraden teaches the device of claim 10, (see above) wherein the segments are connected to each other by a respective segment capillary channel wherein each the respective segment capillary channel has a cross section less than the cross section of each segment (Fraden; fig. 3. 1014-A, 1024-A, and [0006] “fluid restriction region 1024”).
Examiner will interpret the fluid restriction region as a capillary channel.
Regarding claim 12, Fraden teaches the device of claim 10, (see above) wherein the chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel configured as an elongated neck connected to a segment (Fraden; fig. 3. 1024-A, 1002-B).
Regarding claim 14, Fraden teaches the device of claim 1, (see above) wherein the material of construction for the device comprises a thermoplastic that is non-permeable to gas (Fraden; [0156] “polycarbonate”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraden et al. (US 20190039071 A1; hereinafter “Fraden” previous of record) in view of Shkolnikov et al (WO 2019013777 A1; hereinafter “Shkolnikov”).
Regarding claim 13, Fraden teaches the device of claim 11, (see above) to include a chamber outlet (see above).
Fraden fails to teach the chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel configured as an elongated neck connected to one respective segment capillary channel.
However, Shkolnikov teaches the analogous art of a microfluidic device (Shkolnikov; Title) that includes a chamber (Shkolnikov; fig. 1. 105) wherein the chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel configured as an elongated neck connected to one respective segment capillary channel (Shkolnikov; fig. 1. 105, 107 and [0029]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Fraden’s chamber outlet to comprise one capillary channel configured as an elongated neck connected to one respective segment capillary channel as taught by Shkolnikov because Shkolnikov teaches a microfluidic device (Shkolnikov; Title) that includes a chamber (Shkolnikov; fig. 1. 105) wherein the chamber outlet comprises one capillary channel configured as an elongated neck connected to one respective segment capillary channel (Shkolnikov; fig. 1. 105, 107 and [0029]).
This would allow connecting multiple chambers in a controlled manner by restricting flow.
Regarding claim 15, Fraden teaches the device of claim 14, (see above) made of a thermoplastic material (see above).
Fraden fails to teach the thermoplastic comprises a Cyclic Olefin Copolymer (COC).
However, Shkolnikov teaches the analogous art of a microfluidic device (Shkolnikov; Title) that is made of a thermoplastic material comprising a Cyclic Olefin Copolymer (COC) (Shkolnikov; [0030]).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Fraden’s thermoplastic material to be a Cyclic Olefin Copolymer (COC) as taught by Shkolnikov because Shkolnikov teaches a microfluidic device (Shkolnikov; Title) that is made of a thermoplastic material comprising a Cyclic Olefin Copolymer (COC) (Shkolnikov; [0030]).
This would allow to have a clear microfluidic device.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798